bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th Jun 2010, 16:53   #1
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,339
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
New Arma II: Operation Arrowhead trailer

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/gaming/...-trailer-rel/1
__________________
----------------

I was Bit-tech's Games Editor. Now I'm freelance. Find me at:

www.joemartinwords.com

@joethreepwood on Twitter
CardJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2010, 17:04   #2
StoneyMahoney
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex
Posts: 246
StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Wow! It's like Battlefield 2 with innocent civilians Wish I had a rig capable of running it on those settings... I'd charge people to look at it...
StoneyMahoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2010, 17:37   #3
pimonserry
sounds like a party.
 
pimonserry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Birmingham Uni / Somerset
Posts: 2,113
pimonserry has yet to learn the way of the Dremelpimonserry has yet to learn the way of the Dremelpimonserry has yet to learn the way of the Dremelpimonserry has yet to learn the way of the Dremelpimonserry has yet to learn the way of the Dremelpimonserry has yet to learn the way of the Dremelpimonserry has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
'Takistani army'.

I wonder what they're implying!
__________________
I'm a student, any money I might possibly have is not mine.

+REP ME FOR BEING WONDERFUL
pimonserry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2010, 18:12   #4
Ending Credits
Bunned
 
Ending Credits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Durham, Durham Moe: Maxed
Posts: 4,790
Ending Credits is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Ending Credits is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Ending Credits is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Ending Credits is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Ending Credits is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Ending Credits is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Ending Credits is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Ending Credits is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Ending Credits is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Ending Credits is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Ending Credits is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I really need to get back into ARMA II, I haven't played since my clan split up.
Ending Credits is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2010, 18:22   #5
Hovis
Supermodder
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Posts: 452
Hovis has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Can't wait for this. The word is pretty much all third party content from Arma 2 will just port right over with minimal work, so pretty soon all the old mods will be running alongside the new stuff. It's cool to see a more Afghan setting as well, I mean for a military simulator it always struck me as odd that Arma 2 wasn't set in a comparable environment to the one where most of the Western world's armies were fighting. It also seemed a bit anachronistic to pick the Russians as the enemy force. Here's hoping that chasing nutters round mountains with heavily armed drones is as fun as it looks
Hovis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2010, 20:00   #6
mi1ez
Game Boy Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,133
mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
epic trailer!
__________________
The Angel Delights?
mi1ez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2010, 20:16   #7
Chocobollz
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 122
Chocobollz has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by pimonserry
'Takistani army'.

I wonder what they're implying!
Well, that's easy to guess. Just change the "T" in "Takistani" with "P"! And there you go :-)
Chocobollz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2010, 20:36   #8
jaseuk
Modder
 
jaseuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wakefield, UK
Posts: 54
jaseuk has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yep really looking forward to this coming out. Just pre-ordered from Play.com for 16.99 which I thought was a bargain
jaseuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2010, 00:04   #9
sharpethunder
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wales
Posts: 134
sharpethunder has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
ArmA 2 is the king milsim far more fun to play than the compertion looking forward to this game p.s i looking forward to push my rig to the limit.

965 7i
128gb crusuil m225 ssd
12gb ram
2x 5870
2tb hdd
os win7
__________________
Case: Sliverstone FT02 WRI,- CPU - i7 3770k @4.7ghz,-Be Quite Dark Pro 2,- P8 Z77-V Pro Asus ,- SSD Samsung 840 EVO 1tb x2- F3 spinpoint 2tb ,- RAM corsair 16gb,- Asus GTX 780Ti x2 sli,- Corsair AX860i ,- Win7 64bit
sharpethunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2010, 04:03   #10
Redbeaver
The Other Red Meat
 
Redbeaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,763
Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Redbeaver - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
that lookd awesome. been holding on from grabbing a copy of ARMA2 since im scared itll suck too much of my life.... :P

are there any multiplayer btw?
__________________
Ophelia
ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo - Q6600 - 4GB DDR2 - NVIDIA 8800GTS 640 - WD Black 2x320Gb RAID-0 - Silverstone TJ-06 [Modded]
Perseus
ASUS Z97i-Plus - 4670K - 8GB DDR3 - NVIDIA 660Ti - Crucial MX100 256GB - Corsair 250D [Modded]
www.pecelayam.com
Redbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2010, 06:00   #11
robots
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 389
robots has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Looks brilliant. I just fear running it on my PC.
robots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2010, 09:53   #12
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbeaver
are there any multiplayer btw?
Yes, just like Arma II, it does support multiplayer.

I'm installing the gold code now so I can play it today for the upcoming bit-tech review
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jun 2010, 16:33   #13
Bloody_Pete
Technophile(and yes, thats 724Mb/s)
 
Bloody_Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Guildford born, Bristol living
Posts: 6,030
Bloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I could never get into this, it was always just too fiddly Which is a shame as I know I'd have loved it
__________________
i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz (1.28v) on custom water loop/ Watercooling how-to, Asus Maximus 5 Gene, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1600MHz (2 black, 2 red), Sapphire Radeon HD 5870, 128GB Crucial M4, 3 x Samsung F1 1TB in RAID 5, Xigmatek Elysium, Enermax Revolution 85+ 850W, Corsair K60, Corsair SP2500 speakers, Dell U2311H & Asus VK222W.
Bloody_Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jun 2010, 16:48   #14
Krikkit
Super Moderator
Moderator
 
Krikkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lincs, UK
Posts: 23,119
Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.Krikkit is definitely a rep cheat.
Looks pretty sweet, been meaning to grab a copy of ArmA2 for ages now, keep forgetting about it!
__________________
The Good, The Bad, The Ugly, The Zlad!, The Wut?!, The Kempness
Krikkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jun 2010, 20:41   #15
Krayzie_B.o.n.e.
Supermodder
 
Krayzie_B.o.n.e.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 427
Krayzie_B.o.n.e. has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Why doesn't Arma II get mentioned along other graphical Titans such as Crysis? The graphics are awesome and the vehicle and weapon details are excellent. Plus the game isn't boring and it has a better multi player.
__________________
Waiting on Sandy bridge and Bulldozer to upgrade.

AMD Phenom II X2 550 @ 3.9ghz, Gigabyte 790gp-UD4H, 2 XFX ATi HD 4890 @ 1ghz crossfire, 4gb OCZ Ram, 2 WD 250gb HD, Raidmax Smilodon, HP w233h + HP MX50
Krayzie_B.o.n.e. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jun 2010, 22:50   #16
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krayzie_B.o.n.e.
Why doesn't Arma II get mentioned along other graphical Titans such as Crysis?
We have tried benchmarking with Arma II, but it's just not stable enough for us to use as a regular benchmark unfortunately. It's a shame, as it's a great game and far more resource hungry than Crysis, so is a great way to make hardware breakdown and cry.
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jun 2010, 22:55   #17
LightningPete
Diagnosis: ARMAII-Holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: My Many Houses :)
Posts: 304
LightningPete has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
WAIT!
before you all going denouncing the what looks to be epic standalone expansion for ARMA2... do a bit of research.

I have discovered that the minimum and recommended specifications to run this game are lower than that of the original arma2. Also the graphics engine has been updated: rather than improved very much, its given a 'bolster' to help make it more streamlined as it were.

Anyone also noticed that a lot of the extras are pretty much what A.C.E. did with arma2? :P

Finally the CPU/GPU ratio has been modified for the newer standalone expansion, where the latter is given more to do and the former less to do.... This was obvious in ARMA2, where the CPU was a major factor... even an i7 920 overclocked struggled sometimes!
LightningPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:09.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.