1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Project: Cosmos S in a Black/Red theme [UPDATED AND COMPLETED]

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Ph4ZeD, 15 Jun 2010.

1. Ph4ZeD

Ph4ZeD What's a Dremel?

COMPLETED PHOTOS BELOW:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Hello everyone! This is my very first Project Log and its based around the modification and custom paint job of a Coolermaster Cosmos S. Heres a review of this case @ http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=11939&page=3.

Why did I start this mod? I'd had my Cosmos S for around 2 years and truth be told I was getting a bit bored of it. I was debating swapping it for something like an Antec 1200 or a HAF 932. However I figured it was a bit of a waste of money to buy an expensive case when I was simply 'bored' of my current one. I'd taken a keen interest in some of the modification projects and decided to give it a go myself! Please note that prior to this, I had had no experience of sanding, painting, or anything DIY, so it was a complete adventure into the unknown!

The front panels are removable to allow the installation of various drives. I have my Blu-Ray drive in my media PC for the sleek and clean front. Heres my sanding efforts on the front panels:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I sanded around 5 in the first morning and I felt like my arm was going to drop off! One of the things that I've learned from this project is that the flat panels take a long time to sand, but are very easy to paint. I purchased the sandpaper from eBay, and the primer/paint from Halfords. I used car paint:

[​IMG]

I wanted a powerful blood red colour. Heres what the front panels looked like when painted:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

And what the case looked like as I added the front panels: