bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th Jun 2010, 12:40   #1
Sifter3000
I used to be somebody
Moderator
 
Sifter3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The South Sea Bubble
Posts: 1,766
Sifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the DremelSifter3000 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Adobe kills 64-bit Flash Player

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/bits/20...flash-player/1

__________________
The Rt Hon Alex Watson.
Dennis Publishing Emerging Platforms, bit and CPC alumni.

My weblog is The Wired Jester.
Photos on Flickr.
Sifter3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 12:47   #2
BlackMage23
RPG Loving Freak
 
BlackMage23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Temple of Fiends
Posts: 259
BlackMage23 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Better to get it right I guess. Everything will move to 64 bit sooner or later
__________________
I am the Black Mage. I cast the spells that makes the peoples fall down!
BlackMage23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 13:07   #3
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,345
RichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
yes it is, have you seen flash based websites on 64bit internet explorer, red x here red x there, red x bloody everywhere.
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 13:22   #4
Sonofalich
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
Sonofalich has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Well if you use Internet Explorer, I think you have more issues than seeing red X's.
Sonofalich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 13:53   #5
zimbloggy
Genius Extraordinaire
 
zimbloggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 121
zimbloggy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
who needs a 64 bit browser?
__________________
youtube.com/zimbloggy
zimbloggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 14:10   #6
Almightyrastus
Engineering the awesome
 
Almightyrastus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 4,279
Almightyrastus is a Super Spamming SaiyanAlmightyrastus is a Super Spamming SaiyanAlmightyrastus is a Super Spamming SaiyanAlmightyrastus is a Super Spamming SaiyanAlmightyrastus is a Super Spamming SaiyanAlmightyrastus is a Super Spamming SaiyanAlmightyrastus is a Super Spamming SaiyanAlmightyrastus is a Super Spamming SaiyanAlmightyrastus is a Super Spamming SaiyanAlmightyrastus is a Super Spamming SaiyanAlmightyrastus is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I really don't get why this is taking so long for them to do. it is single handedly holding up the development of fast 64 bit browsers as so much stuff online uses flash. I have used IE x64 on occasion and with a decent connection it is so fast at rendering the page.
__________________
Lo there do I see my Father. Lo there do I see my Mother, and my Sisters and my Brothers. Lo there do I see the line of my people, back to the beginning. Lo they do call to me. They bid me take my place among them, in the halls of Valhalla where the brave may live forever.
Almightyrastus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 14:40   #7
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,345
RichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
yes 64 bit internet explorer is faster than firefox/chrome/safari at rendering a page, so long as there is no flash on the page, cos no 64bit flash support.

i wish they would hurry up, maybe they should just ask microsoft to do it, lol
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 16:22   #8
bw67958
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Gand Old Duchy of Lancashire
Posts: 46
bw67958 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
What's the benefit of 64 bit browser?
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.0 GHz, Gigabyte X58-Ud3R, 6 gig ram, Corsair H50, 2 x 5770 in crossfire, antec 650W, Corsair obsidian 700d, 2 x 74 Gb Rpator in raid 0, Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit.
bw67958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 17:21   #9
thehippoz
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 5,780
thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
yeah no doubt.. well least they're working on it
thehippoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 18:35   #10
Madness_3d
Bit-Tech/Asus OC Winner
 
Madness_3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 984
Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
As said before it's really not a big deal :-\
__________________
XFXScorpio911 PHENOM II X4 965 @ 4.02Ghz SLI GTX 480 1536MB ASUS CROSSHAIR II FORMULA 4GB OCZ REAPER 1066 5-5-4-8 2T CORSAIR HYDRO H50 CORSAIR Force 3 120GB WINDOWS 7 HP 64bit Musings On The Technical World Steam
Madness_3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 20:30   #11
ssj12
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 652
ssj12 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimbloggy
who needs a 64 bit browser?
64-bit OS users.
ssj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 20:32   #12
Madness_3d
Bit-Tech/Asus OC Winner
 
Madness_3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 984
Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Nah, you can run a 32* browser in a 64* OS. So who cares
__________________
XFXScorpio911 PHENOM II X4 965 @ 4.02Ghz SLI GTX 480 1536MB ASUS CROSSHAIR II FORMULA 4GB OCZ REAPER 1066 5-5-4-8 2T CORSAIR HYDRO H50 CORSAIR Force 3 120GB WINDOWS 7 HP 64bit Musings On The Technical World Steam
Madness_3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 21:00   #13
TSR2
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 160
TSR2 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
And you can run a 16 bit browser in a 32 bit OS
TSR2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 21:13   #14
Madness_3d
Bit-Tech/Asus OC Winner
 
Madness_3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 984
Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSR2 View Post
And you can run a 16 bit browser in a 32 bit OS
Everybody's Happy
__________________
XFXScorpio911 PHENOM II X4 965 @ 4.02Ghz SLI GTX 480 1536MB ASUS CROSSHAIR II FORMULA 4GB OCZ REAPER 1066 5-5-4-8 2T CORSAIR HYDRO H50 CORSAIR Force 3 120GB WINDOWS 7 HP 64bit Musings On The Technical World Steam
Madness_3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 21:56   #15
Vigilante
Minimodder
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 36
Vigilante has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimbloggy
who needs a 64 bit browser?
64-bit software is intrinsically more secure than 32-bit since it cannot have its memory injected to from another running application.

An example of why this is important:

Say a vulnerability is found and exploited to run a keylogger on your machine. On a 64-bit version of Windows, it will be able to inject itself into any running 32-bit application (like it could on 32-bit windows) and record keystrokes that way. the reason it would do that, is because it cannot directly capture keystrokes by hooking into the system keyboard driver, as it's protected. If your browser is 64-bit, this type of side attack is completely avoided.

A secondary example is specifically relating to Adobe: Everyone and their dog knows that flash is notoriously insecure. A simple port to 64-bit (which Adobe would have you believe is some major undertaking) would instantly tighten it up, preventing a good portion of the vulnerabilities they find so hard to keep out of their software in the first place.

A 64-bit version of flash for Windows is the only block left to move before we can finally start to see a major improvement in browser security - sandboxes and the like are great, but not perfect, in a 32-bit environment.

Hurry up Adobe, we asked you 8 years ago for this!
Vigilante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 22:16   #16
leslie
Just me!
 
leslie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 411
leslie has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleslie has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I lost faith in Adobe years ago.

They just doesn't really seem to care about Flash anymore. In fact, unless it's one of their big buck products, they don't seem to care much at all.
__________________
When in doubt, wear red. - Bill Blass

Itty Bitty File Server (mini-itx cube) - 8in alum/oak cube, 2TB, 25watts, 100% silent
Desktop - 2600k@4.2, Maximus IV Gene-Z/Gen3, 16gb Corsair DDR3-1600, XFX 6870 1GB, 2x Crucial 128 M4, PcP&C 750 Silencer, Fractal 1000, dual HP 25in, Das w/browns, G700
leslie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jun 2010, 23:05   #17
Mirceac
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Mirceac has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimbloggy View Post
who needs a 64 bit browser?
Apparently there is a version of linux 64bit that comes with a 64bit native browser... and people don't like to downgrade from it to get flash player...

I am not an apple fun but as Steve Jobs said adobe is lazy...
Where is Flash Player 64bit for Windows?
I'm not an apple fun, really I'm not! But as Steve Jobs said "Adobe is lazy"

HTML5 works on 64bit!!!

- From a web developer.
Mirceac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jun 2010, 00:04   #18
jrs77
theorycrafting
 
jrs77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,564
jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
To be fair, it's not just Adobe Flash that lacks good 64bit-support... 64bit-stuff is basically everywhere a problem... drivers, software etc.

The only reason to have a 64bit-system is to have more then 3GB RAM available, but if you don't need this, then it's a total waste of efforts so far.

__________________
...and allways remember, that the world is an orange!

Stop using your smartphone as much and look up!
jrs77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jun 2010, 00:54   #19
gavomatic57
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,088
gavomatic57 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelgavomatic57 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrs77 View Post
To be fair, it's not just Adobe Flash that lacks good 64bit-support... 64bit-stuff is basically everywhere a problem... drivers, software etc.

The only reason to have a 64bit-system is to have more then 3GB RAM available, but if you don't need this, then it's a total waste of efforts so far.

And we could still live in caves...they did the job...

The lack of 64bit Flash is possibly the reason why 64bit browsers aren't mainstream. Still, here's hoping HTML5 takes Flash out of the equation.
__________________
Core i7 920 (D0), 6GB RAM, Geforce GTX 275, Seasonic M12-600, Samsung 226BW, Ubuntu 10.04 & Vista x64 & a Macbook Pro 13" & a PS3
My Flickr
My Blog
gavomatic57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jun 2010, 02:35   #20
Krayzie_B.o.n.e.
Supermodder
 
Krayzie_B.o.n.e.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 427
Krayzie_B.o.n.e. has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It seems the weak are always holding back the strong like consoles are holding back the power of PC gaming and now Adobe is holding back IE 64 bit. I'm no fan of IE (love Google Chrome) but IE 64 is blazing fast.

I wish programmers get on the ball because I really love using my 64 bit OS
__________________
Waiting on Sandy bridge and Bulldozer to upgrade.

AMD Phenom II X2 550 @ 3.9ghz, Gigabyte 790gp-UD4H, 2 XFX ATi HD 4890 @ 1ghz crossfire, 4gb OCZ Ram, 2 WD 250gb HD, Raidmax Smilodon, HP w233h + HP MX50
Krayzie_B.o.n.e. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:55.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.