bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th Jul 2010, 11:41   #1
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,339
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
G.Skill squeezes 2GHz out of in 49GB of memory

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...-49gb-of-mem/1
__________________
----------------

I was Bit-tech's Games Editor. Now I'm freelance. Find me at:

www.joemartinwords.com

@joethreepwood on Twitter
CardJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 11:57   #2
Omnituens
Hypermodder
 
Omnituens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 951
Omnituens is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Omnituens is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Omnituens is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Omnituens is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Omnituens is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Omnituens is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Omnituens is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Omnituens is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Omnituens is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Omnituens is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Omnituens is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
It's technically a '48GB kit', but since it's really 1,024MB per gigabyte this makes it 48 x 1024 = 49,152MB, or 49GB. Hard drive makers should take note: oversell, not under.
What?

48GB = 49,152MB
49GB = 49 x 1024 = 50176MB

What you said makes no sense.
__________________
Current Rig: i7 D0 4.2GHz, X58 Sabertooth, 12GB RAM, GTX 680, Xonar D2X
Omnituens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 12:07   #3
Bindibadgi
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 34,814
Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.
It's classed and sold as a "48GB kit" - there are 12 x 4GB DIMMs.

But since 1GB is not 1,000MB, it's 1024MB, this actually makes a large difference when we get beyond small numbers. The 4GB DIMMs are actually 4,096MB in size - technically a 4.1GB DIMM if we round up.

So, 12 x 4096MB = 49,152MB or 49GB.
Bindibadgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 12:10   #4
general22
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 190
general22 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnituens
Quote:
It's technically a '48GB kit', but since it's really 1,024MB per gigabyte this makes it 48 x 1024 = 49,152MB, or 49GB. Hard drive makers should take note: oversell, not under.
What?

48GB = 49,152MB
49GB = 49 x 1024 = 50176MB

What you said makes no sense.
I think he is referring to SI standard metric gigabytes so 49GB would be 49,000,000,000 bytes. But I thought that memory and cache generally assumes a binary gigabyte (or gebibyte or what ever stupid name). The operating system would report this as 48GB.
general22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 12:10   #5
Tasslehoff
Multimodder
 
Tasslehoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Posts: 70
Tasslehoff has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I think they mean us to take it in the way below

49152/1024=48

=)
__________________
Win7 Home 64bit / Intel Q8300 / Intel DQ45CB / 4GB Crucial / Sapphire 5570 / OCZ ModXstream 500W / 2x Intel X25-V (boot/app) & Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB (storage) / Optiarc AD-7241S / Antec 300 / Akasa AK-MX010 / Acer 17"
Tasslehoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 12:27   #6
bigsharn
Officially demotivated
 
bigsharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bit-tech forums... usually
Posts: 2,603
bigsharn can run Crysisbigsharn can run Crysisbigsharn can run Crysisbigsharn can run Crysisbigsharn can run Crysisbigsharn can run Crysisbigsharn can run Crysisbigsharn can run Crysisbigsharn can run Crysis
Most people think a Gigabyte is 1000 Megabytes and this is generally accepted (this is the scale that Hard drive manufacturers use) in everyday life

A "true" Gigabyte is 1024 Megabytes, which is the standard that RAM manufactureres use
__________________
{Rolling on a 1990s Dawes Galaxy}
{Nikon D80, 18-55 f/3.5-5.6G and 50mm f/1.8}{Lomo Smena 8M}{Olympus OM10, 50mm f/1.8, 28mm f/2 and 135mm f/3.5}
bigsharn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 12:31   #7
Paradigm Shifter
de nihilo nihil fit
 
Paradigm Shifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,638
Paradigm Shifter has yet to learn the way of the DremelParadigm Shifter has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Don't round up, don't try to take a value that is base 2 (2^10) and turn it into base 10 (10^3)... it doesn't work. Just call it a 48GB kit, not "49GB of memory"... only hard drive manufacturers try the base 10 from base 2 trick, and it's annoying. You don't get "6.2GB" of memory from a 6GB setup...
__________________
Core i7 920 D0 @ 3.8GHz | 24GB Corsair 1600MHz | Gigabyte G1.Killer Guerilla | GTX680 Surround | 3TB | 5760x1200+1920x1080
Paradigm Shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 12:44   #8
rickysio
N900 | HJE900
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 964
rickysio has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Actually the proper method of representing is 49GB of RAM out of a 48GiB RAM kit.
rickysio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 13:22   #9
Meaty Pete
King of the Potato People
 
Meaty Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 69
Meaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run Crysis
I'M BUYING 24GB RAM KIT!!!
(I'm not really) I just thought I'd say so as I was looking for someone to say similar yet everyone is quibbling over what is a true gigabyte. ....yawns.
__________________
i5 2500k, Z68 Asus Maximus Gene-Z, 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red 1600mhz CAS-8-8-8, 2x ATI Radeon HD 4850 SLI, Corsair AX750, Corsair H100, Silverstone Raven RV-02E, 2x Crucial M4 64GB SSD, WD 250GB, Samsung 1.5TB, WD 2TB
Meaty Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 14:16   #10
eek
CAMRA ***.
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: in meh own little world
Posts: 1,600
eek has yet to learn the way of the Dremeleek has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindibadgi
It's classed and sold as a "48GB kit" - there are 12 x 4GB DIMMs.

But since 1GB is not 1,000MB, it's 1024MB, this actually makes a large difference when we get beyond small numbers. The 4GB DIMMs are actually 4,096MB in size - technically a 4.1GB DIMM if we round up.

So, 12 x 4096MB = 49,152MB or 49GB.
You can't mix and match a GB being 1000 or 1024 MBs! Make you're mind up and stick with it!

It's either:
4x1000x12 = 48000 => 48000 / 1000 = 48GB
OR
4x1024x12 = 49152 => 49152 / 1024 = 48GB
NOT
4x1024x12 = 49152 => 49152 / 1000 = 49GB!

Thus, it's always 48GB no matter what measure you use - so long as you're consistent!

eek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 14:28   #11
NiHiLiST
New-born car whore
 
NiHiLiST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,987
NiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run Crysis
If you work it out in bytes, which we all know are 1,024 and/or 1,000 to a KB, then it's actually 51,539,607,552 bytes, which is 51.5GB!!!!!!!!!!!1!one!!onethousandonehundredandel even

It's 48GB.
__________________
Flickr
NiHiLiST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 14:41   #12
borandi
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 128
borandi has yet to learn the way of the Dremelborandi has yet to learn the way of the Dremelborandi has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickysio
Actually the proper method of representing is 49GB of RAM out of a 48GiB RAM kit.
This is the correct usage of base 2 vs. base 10. Reporters, take note, and use the correct GB or GiB when necessary. However, this article should have stated '48GiB of memory' in the title - you incite a lot of confusion as typically writing '49GB' will garner lots of negative attention. Stick to a normal factor 2 to reduce the backlash, and use the appropriate units.
borandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 14:42   #13
crazyceo
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wirral
Posts: 563
crazyceo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yawn, tittie Yawn, tittie Yawn Yawn YAWN!

Nice article though, shame about the anal posts above!
crazyceo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 14:45   #14
NiHiLiST
New-born car whore
 
NiHiLiST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,987
NiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run CrysisNiHiLiST can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by borandi View Post
This is the correct usage of base 2 vs. base 10. Reporters, take note, and use the correct GB or GiB when necessary.
No it isn't, you're mixing units again, or assuming a MB as a base unit rather than a byte. 48GiB = 51.5GB.
__________________
Flickr
NiHiLiST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 15:20   #15
Bindibadgi
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 34,814
Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyceo View Post
Yawn, tittie Yawn, tittie Yawn Yawn YAWN!

Nice article though, shame about the anal posts above!
Thank you.
Bindibadgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 15:39   #16
wuyanxu
still wants Homeworld 3
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N London
Posts: 10,050
wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.
wooohoo for bigger memory! it's about time! i had been at stand still with my memory size since 2007.
__________________
i7 2700k \ 16GB \ gtx580 \ D2x \ z68x-UD5 \ m4 128GB +2TB \ Ax850 \ FT02-RW \ G15+G5+G51 \ U2711
X100 \ 5D mkII \ 70-200 L \ 24-105 L \ 17-40 L \ 85/1.8 \ 270ExII \ 430ExII \ X1.1a \ Hadley Pro -- Photostreamr
wuyanxu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 17:32   #17
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,340
RichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
pedants beware bindi will eat your brains, 48GB 49GB, who cares at that amount, its insane
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 17:53   #18
Bauul
Sir Bongaminge
 
Bauul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Godalming, near Guildford
Posts: 2,173
Bauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run Crysis
It's 49,152 Megabytes, which equals 48 Gigabytes at the correct 1,024 measurement or 49Gb at the incorrect 1,000 measurement. So stating 49Gb of memory in the title is incorrect imo.

Anyway, epic achievement. I worry to think of the scale of the things the guys creating if he needs that much RAM!

"I'm-a making-a super-er-computer-er!" (Italians all sound like Mario in my mind)
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K | 8Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1,600 Mhz
Gigabyte Geforce 460 GTX OC 1Gb | 1Tb + 1.5Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3 | Asrock Z68 Extreme4
Ibanez RG 470 Japanese Edition | 1991 Japanese Lo-TRS Tremolo | V7 S1 Custom V8 HSH Pickups
Bauul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 18:11   #19
bahgger
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 924
bahgger - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youbahgger - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youbahgger - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youbahgger - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youbahgger - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youbahgger - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youbahgger - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youbahgger - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youbahgger - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youbahgger - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youbahgger - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
bauul, Gb =/= GB fyi
bahgger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 18:50   #20
frontline
Punish Your Machine
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 825
frontline has yet to learn the way of the Dremelfrontline has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Is 49GB enough for Crysis?
__________________
Intel Core i7 2600K| Asus P8P67-M PRO R3 | Corsair H70 Hydro Series CPU Cooler |Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz XMS3 Memory Kit CL9 1.65V | Sapphire HD 6990 4GB GDDR5 | Crucial M225 128Gb SSD | Asus Xonar DX | LG W2261VP | Corsair GS800 PSU
frontline is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:12.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.