bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th Aug 2010, 11:27   #1
I'm_Not_A_Monster
Hey, eat this...
 
I'm_Not_A_Monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denial
Posts: 2,480
I'm_Not_A_Monster has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Can i use "server memory" in a desktop?

i'm selling my old motherboard on craigslist and a guy offered me a trade for this kind of memory to put in my new rig.

according to crucial.com, my motherboard takes PC2-6400 RAM, which is what he's offering, but i'm a little nervous because of the mention of it being server memory.

BTW, i've updated my signature to reflect my new desktop, in case you need any info about my model
__________________
CPU : P4 @ 3.2GHz RAM : 1Gb Graphics : Intel 915G Sound : SoundBlaster Audigy PSU : SeaSonic S12-380 Model : Dell Dimension 4700 BIOS : A10 Dell Service Tag : 9YH7N81
I'm_Not_A_Monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2010, 11:38   #2
robyholmes
I'm under your desk...
 
robyholmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 100
robyholmes has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I am almost 99% sure it wouldn't work due to the ECC not been supported by your mobo. But as its a dell I can't tell what your mobo is.
robyholmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2010, 11:53   #3
Burnout21
Is the daddy!
 
Burnout21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bindi's cupboard
Posts: 8,549
Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I think it'll be fine chap, its standard ECC Unbuffered stuff like all are memory.
__________________
Project log Mocha70
Workstation: Q6600, DFI P45-T2RS Plus, 8GB Reaper HPC, Quadro FX3450, 60Gb Vertex 2
Game: i7 930, GA-X58-USB3, 12GB Kingston, GTX280, 1Tb Seagate, WC
Burnout21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2010, 12:01   #4
robyholmes
I'm under your desk...
 
robyholmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 100
robyholmes has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnout21 View Post
I think it'll be fine chap, its standard ECC Unbuffered stuff like all are memory.
Shouldn't it be 'None ECC Unbuffered' were as it says:
ECC Yes
Buffered/Registered Unbuffered

I just checked some RAM on scan and it all seems to be None ECC. maybe someone else can confirm this.
robyholmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2010, 12:28   #5
saspro
Infrastructure Specialist
 
saspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston upon Thames
Posts: 8,837
saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.
Desktop RAM is non ECC unbuffered/non registered memory.
Servers use ECC and sometimes registered memory.
ECC RAM does not work on non ECC compatible motherboards
__________________
If what I've said helps you please remember to hit the rep button on the left

Missing the old meeting place? Find us here
saspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2010, 12:31   #6
Burnout21
Is the daddy!
 
Burnout21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bindi's cupboard
Posts: 8,549
Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Burnout21 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
It all depends on his motherboard, whether its ECC compatible.
__________________
Project log Mocha70
Workstation: Q6600, DFI P45-T2RS Plus, 8GB Reaper HPC, Quadro FX3450, 60Gb Vertex 2
Game: i7 930, GA-X58-USB3, 12GB Kingston, GTX280, 1Tb Seagate, WC
Burnout21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2010, 12:54   #7
murraynt
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
murraynt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Athlone,Ireland
Posts: 4,125
murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Isn't the main difference between server ram and desktop them being registered and non registered.
that ram should work perfect, I havent seen any board that supports ddr2 and no support EEC ram
murraynt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2010, 21:16   #8
I'm_Not_A_Monster
Hey, eat this...
 
I'm_Not_A_Monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denial
Posts: 2,480
I'm_Not_A_Monster has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
i've always thought ECC RAM would work in a desktop, but you would lose the ECC functionality.

maybe that has caused some confusion in this thread. i'm not asking if the ECC will work, i want to know if the RAM will function at all. i'm not going to throw these in a server so ECC isn't necessary.

i just want my RAM to go from 512Mb to 2Gb.
__________________
CPU : P4 @ 3.2GHz RAM : 1Gb Graphics : Intel 915G Sound : SoundBlaster Audigy PSU : SeaSonic S12-380 Model : Dell Dimension 4700 BIOS : A10 Dell Service Tag : 9YH7N81
I'm_Not_A_Monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:16.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.