bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th Aug 2010, 10:50   #1
julieb
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 47
julieb has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
IBM details 5.2GHz processor

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...hz-processor/1


julieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 11:08   #2
liratheal
Sharing is caring
 
liratheal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lichfield, UK
Posts: 7,661
liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I want one >.>

They look so nice!
__________________
Shadow Moses: Windows 7, Asus Sabertooth X58, 12gb Corsair XMS3, i7 950, 2x XFX 6870 1gb's, Corsair 1kw
Groznyjgrad: Storage Server 2012, Gigabyte Z77-D3h, i3 2100, 16gb DDR3, 5xWD 1tb, 5x Seagate 1tb
2008 Mondeo estate
Focus RS Mk1; Build number 1506
liratheal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 11:09   #3
r3loaded
Ultramodder
 
r3loaded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,080
r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.
And it actually won't play Crysis *at all*
__________________
Main: Silverstone FT03 | Asus P8P67-M Pro | i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz | CM 212+ | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz | XFX Radeon 7970 DD | 500GB Samsung 840 Evo | Samsung XL2270HD | KBT Race | Sidewinder X8
Mac: 13 inch MacBook Pro 2014 | 16GB RAM | Filco Minila Air | Magic Trackpad
Server: Asus M3N78-AM | Athlon II X3 400e | 4GB Corsair XMS2 | 4x 2TB Samsung F4EG (RAID-5) | LSI MegaRAID 8708EM2 | Corsair CX400 | Arch Linux
r3loaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 11:16   #4
MaverickWill
Dirty CPC Mackem
 
MaverickWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: /b/
Posts: 2,658
MaverickWill can run CrysisMaverickWill can run CrysisMaverickWill can run CrysisMaverickWill can run CrysisMaverickWill can run CrysisMaverickWill can run CrysisMaverickWill can run CrysisMaverickWill can run CrysisMaverickWill can run CrysisMaverickWill can run CrysisMaverickWill can run Crysis
Quote:
The Z196, which PC Magazine reports was announced by IBM at the Hot Chip conference earlier thi week, is designed for use in the company's Z series mainframes which tend to cost several hundred thousand pounds and are the playthings of major government departments and oil companies installing Crysis.
Fixed!
__________________
Antony's got his hat on, hip, hip, hip, hooray!
MaverickWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 11:49   #5
StoneyMahoney
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex
Posts: 246
StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!StoneyMahoney - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
My big bro works for IBM and probably gets to at least see this kinda stuff in-the-flesh all the time, if not actually use it. I sooo hate him right now....
StoneyMahoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 12:11   #6
borandi
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 128
borandi has yet to learn the way of the Dremelborandi has yet to learn the way of the Dremelborandi has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Not x86/x64 compatible. Probably be a bitch to write software for it.
borandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 12:18   #7
Dr. Strangelove
Supermodder
 
Dr. Strangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A dark & cold place, my computer room
Posts: 343
Dr. Strangelove is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Strangelove is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Strangelove is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Strangelove is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Strangelove is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Strangelove is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Strangelove is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Strangelove is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Strangelove is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Strangelove is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Dr. Strangelove is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3loaded View Post
And it actually won't play Crysis *at all*
well if you can get a windows emulator running on it.. it could probably run Crysis in "software" although I guess its been a long time since a game has had that option
__________________
If it isnít broken, fix it.
If it is broken, mod it till it looks like it's meant to be broken.
Dr. Strangelove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 12:29   #8
Elledan
Hypermodder
 
Elledan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Posts: 838
Elledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run Crysis
POWER 7 is actually pretty nice from the looks of it. They finally changed to an out-of-order execution system, giving a very nice performance boost over POWER 6. They also went with an obscene amount of L3 cache thanks to the use of eDRAM instead of the much larger (physical space-wise) than the SRAM used by Intel and others.

POWER is also a pretty nice architecture to write software for, especially in comparison with x86/x64. It does have a lot features which would be kind of overkill or useless for a desktop system, though

Also, there are cheaper versions of the POWER 7 available, where cheap means 'only a few multiples of $1,000'
__________________
"Psychology is just meta-hacking an OS that was randomly bashed out by a million monkeys on typewriters over a few billion years and runs on constantly changing, badly shielded hardware with a lot of legacy design issues. I think." - Nexxo
www.mayaposch.com - my site and blog.
www.nyanko.ws - my company's site.
Elledan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 12:41   #9
Astatine
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Astatine has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elledan
POWER 7 is actually pretty nice from the looks of it.
Err, correct me if I'm wrong, but AFAIK this isn't POWER 7. Or indeed POWER at all. It's the Z-Machine, a completely different architecture specifically made for these mainframes. IBM really are mad enough to maintain *two* of their own chip architectures and build small-run, high-cost chips for both...

Although it shares stuff with the current POWER chips, like the eDRAM cache.
Astatine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 12:52   #10
GravitySmacked
Mostly Harmless
 
GravitySmacked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aulin Enterprise
Posts: 3,495
GravitySmacked is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GravitySmacked is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GravitySmacked is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GravitySmacked is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GravitySmacked is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GravitySmacked is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GravitySmacked is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GravitySmacked is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GravitySmacked is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GravitySmacked is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GravitySmacked is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Wonder if it overclocks
__________________

GravitySmacked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 13:05   #11
Mister_Tad
Serious about coffee
Moderator
 
Mister_Tad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 8,767
Mister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by liratheal View Post
I want one >.>

They look so nice!
You really don't.

Z-Series machines are massive, heavy, power hungry and I'd be impressed if you managed to get through an IPL, let alone do anything on one
Mister_Tad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 13:18   #12
cgthomas
Cpt. Handsome
 
cgthomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 294
cgthomas has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I think I'm well connected......
__________________
Iím an AquaTuning product tester - I am........ honestly
cgthomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 14:40   #13
Unknownsock
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 444
Unknownsock has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Someone needs to 'somehow' get one of these clock it like mad and do some benchies!
Few years at the top?
Unknownsock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 14:44   #14
CharlO
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 97
CharlO has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I actually get to play... Wait, I work with one. Believe me, I love my phenom 1055 @ 4.2 twenty times what I aprecciate this machine.

Aaand besides, it's far from AMD 7.x record...
CharlO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 14:47   #15
Mister_Tad
Serious about coffee
Moderator
 
Mister_Tad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 8,767
Mister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming SaiyanMister_Tad is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknownsock View Post
Someone needs to 'somehow' get one of these clock it like mad and do some benchies!
Few years at the top?
I think it needs to be pointed out that THIS is just about as exciting as it gets on these machines.

Despite what IBM would have you believe with the shiny enclosures - Z/Series is not, and never will be sexy
Mister_Tad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 15:10   #16
Elledan
Hypermodder
 
Elledan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Posts: 838
Elledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run CrysisElledan can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astatine View Post
Err, correct me if I'm wrong, but AFAIK this isn't POWER 7. Or indeed POWER at all. It's the Z-Machine, a completely different architecture specifically made for these mainframes. IBM really are mad enough to maintain *two* of their own chip architectures and build small-run, high-cost chips for both...

Although it shares stuff with the current POWER chips, like the eDRAM cache.
Yeah, you're right: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IBM_z19...roprocessor%29

I honestly didn't know they actually had a second architecture on active duty
__________________
"Psychology is just meta-hacking an OS that was randomly bashed out by a million monkeys on typewriters over a few billion years and runs on constantly changing, badly shielded hardware with a lot of legacy design issues. I think." - Nexxo
www.mayaposch.com - my site and blog.
www.nyanko.ws - my company's site.
Elledan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 15:19   #17
liratheal
Sharing is caring
 
liratheal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lichfield, UK
Posts: 7,661
liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.liratheal is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister_Tad
Quote:
Originally Posted by liratheal View Post
I want one >.>

They look so nice!
You really don't.

Z-Series machines are massive, heavy, power hungry and I'd be impressed if you managed to get through an IPL, let alone do anything on one
Yeah, but they're pretty! Just because I'd never be able to turn it on, lift it, move it, or use it is irrelevant >.>
__________________
Shadow Moses: Windows 7, Asus Sabertooth X58, 12gb Corsair XMS3, i7 950, 2x XFX 6870 1gb's, Corsair 1kw
Groznyjgrad: Storage Server 2012, Gigabyte Z77-D3h, i3 2100, 16gb DDR3, 5xWD 1tb, 5x Seagate 1tb
2008 Mondeo estate
Focus RS Mk1; Build number 1506
liratheal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 17:29   #18
Jerz
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nipomo, CA
Posts: 18
Jerz has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
When you buy one of these mainframes, do they come with the SDK and support to program on it?
__________________
"Mau Mau"
There are no facts or answers, just opinions and ideas.
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2.../Myflclsig.jpg

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2.../hackertag.png
Jerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 17:45   #19
mctigger
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 620
mctigger has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmctigger has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I've been working with IBM mainframe for a well known bank for the last 3 months, Z-OS is nasty to use.... but it could churn through data like nobody's business! however glad the project is finished!
__________________
Desktop: E6550 @2.33 , evga Nforce 650i ultra, 2GB corsair xms2 ddr2-800mhz, XFX 8800 GTS 320Mb, freezer pro 7, corsair vx450W Antec p182 SE - will be OC very shortly
mctigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2010, 19:28   #20
[- pio -]
Multimodder
 
[- pio -]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 126
[- pio -] has yet to learn the way of the Dremel[- pio -] has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Wow, these machines are beasts! And the redundancy built into the z/Enterprise series is jaw-dropping: Each operation is computed simultaneously by two separate cores, then the results are cross-checked. If they don't match, it tries again, and if it still doesn't work, it automatically sends out a service call so that the IBM guy can come over and hot-swap(!) the processor module without interrupting operations... Even the RAM has a parity table, so the machine can survive the failure of a chip or even an entire memory channel! Of course, the power, cooling and I/O are fully redundant as well. You've gotta love that kind of engineering! (wiki)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerz View Post
When you buy one of these mainframes, do they come with the SDK and support to program on it?
I'd think so, seeing what these things cost.. You can probably get them delivered with software specially tailored for your computational needs, for that matter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister_Tad View Post
I think it needs to be pointed out that THIS is just about as exciting as it gets on these machines.
No, no, no! Just look; you can get ASCII art!
__________________

Currently surfing with a 15" MacBook Pro i7 @ 2.2 GHz with 4GB RAM and 500GB HDD
Really old school setup: Some random old server mobo, 2x PIII 933MHz, 640MB RAM, Sapphire 9600XT 256MB, 80GB Samsung spinpoint. I've actually played through HL2 a couple of times on this
[- pio -] is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:18.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.