bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd Sep 2010, 09:32   #1
julieb
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 47
julieb has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Zotac unveils four-monitor Fermi

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...onitor-fermi/1


julieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2010, 09:37   #2
Pete J
RIP Kidmod
 
Pete J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Blighty
Posts: 3,832
Pete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Hmm, why a 460? A multi display set up needs serious GPU power. It'd be more logical to go for a 470/480 - plus this would allow tri-SLI, which would be necessary at the resolution mentioned.
__________________
Lian Li PC-P80B / EVGA X79 Dark / i7 4930K @ 4.2GHz (no HT) / Corsair H80i / 4x4GB Avexir Core Blue Series @ 2400MHz 10-12-12-31-2T / 3x SLI EVGA 3GB GTX 780 @1075MHz Core 7000MHz Memory / X-Fi Titanium Professional / 2 x 250GB Samsung 840 / 120GB Vertex 2 / 480GB Vertex 2 / 2TB WD Caviar Green / Silverstone Strider 1500W / Asus PQ321QE / Dell 3007WFP-HC / Headphones TBA / Logitech MK710 and MX3200 / Sidewinder Force Feedback 2 / Datacolor Spyder3 / Win 7 Ultimate x64 / Gigabyte P34G V2
Pete J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2010, 09:38   #3
confusis
Kiwi-modder
 
confusis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,406
confusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysisconfusis can run Crysis
How did they achieve this? Does the fermi chip include multi monitor support to this level or did they add an extra chip on the card?
confusis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2010, 09:40   #4
infi
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 33
infi has yet to learn the way of the Dremelinfi has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
the news release from zotac lacks a lot of infos and is contradicting itself in some points.

- what displays are needed to run 4 displays?
do you need 3 DP compatible displays on the DP ports or active adapters like on regular ati cards if you want to drive more than 1 ... 2... ?
(ati cards need a DP monitor or active adapter if you want to run 3 displays on a non-eyefinity-dedicated card)
- does an DVI monitor with a passive adapter run on the DP ports AT ALL?
- what resolution is supported on the DP port if there are not 3 displays connected?
- what resolution is supported on the DVI port if there is a monitor connected to the DP ports... at how many monitors it drops to 1600x1200?

Quote:
The ZOTAC GeForceฎ GTX 460 3DP packs three DisplayPort and one dual-link DVI connectors that are capable of driving up to four independent displays simultaneously with a combined resolution up to 6400x1200. Three DisplayPort connectors enable the ZOTAC GeForceฎ GTX 460 3DP to support resolutions up to 4800x1200 across three independent displays for true spanned triple-monitor computing.
what does this mean? that you can only span a game over 3 monitors and not 4?

Quote:
Other hardware features
Triple simultaneous independent displays
what now zotac... 4 or 3 ...?
infi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2010, 09:47   #5
sb1991
Supermodder
 
sb1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 425
sb1991 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelsb1991 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelsb1991 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelsb1991 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelsb1991 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Sounds like the screens themselves will be limited to 1600x1200 or below, which isn't really ideal. It looks like all this card does is splits two 2650x1600 capable graphics pipelines between 4 outputs. Great if you've got lots of smaller monitors, but it doesn't really rival eyefinity.
__________________
Lian Li PC A05NB - AMD 955BE@3.8GHz - XFX ATI HD5850 - 8GB DDR3@1333MHz - 2x1TB Spinpoint F3 - Corsair Force 3 120GB - Enermax Modu82+625W - Asus Xonar D2X - Dell 2408wfp (A02) - Filco Majestouch II Ninja (browns) - Mackie MR5 x2
sb1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2010, 10:01   #6
mi1ez
Game Boy Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,133
mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
why 4 monitors? great for productivity, sure, but you wouldn't buy a gaming card for that.
__________________
The Angel Delights?
mi1ez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2010, 10:47   #7
r3loaded
Ultramodder
 
r3loaded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,076
r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.
I'd say 3 monitors is better than 4 for gaming, especially for FPS games - otherwise, your targeting reticle will be exactly on the border of the centre two monitors. I'm also inclined to agree with Nvidia's decision to restrict 3+ monitors to SLI setups - there's no way a 460 can power four monitors at an acceptable frame rate.
__________________
Main: Silverstone FT03 | Asus P8P67-M Pro | i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz | CM 212+ | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz | XFX Radeon 7970 DD | 500GB Samsung 840 Evo | CM Silent Pro Gold 600W | Samsung XL2270HD | KBT Race (brown switches) | Sidewinder X8 | Arch Linux + Windows 8.1
Server: Asus M3N78-AM | Athlon II X3 400e | 4GB Corsair XMS2 | 4x 2TB Samsung F4EG (RAID-5) | LSI MegaRAID 8708EM2 | Corsair CX400 | Arch Linux
r3loaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2010, 11:08   #8
cgthomas
Cpt. Handsome
 
cgthomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 294
cgthomas has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I don't think you can expect seriously high fps from this. But this card is a welcome surprise to designers working across multiple displays and not wanting to buy 2 card just to do that
__________________
I’m an AquaTuning product tester - I am........ honestly
cgthomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2010, 13:09   #9
yakyb
i hate the person above me
 
yakyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,056
yakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysis
would be a great card to own for gaming then to retire to a work box in a few years
__________________
Mumblings of a prospective indie Game Developer Blog
My Games Website
yakyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2010, 13:34   #10
Xir
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Xir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saxony / Germany
Posts: 3,969
Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.
Would it be possible to span over monitors that are not the same?

19"-24"-19" as they are about the same physical height
1280x1024 - 1920x1080 - 1280x1024

would give 4480x1024
__________________
SN25P
A64 3700+ (San Diego)
2 GB DDR400 OCZ Platinum EL 2-3-2-5 1T
X1800XT 512mb Sapphire
200GB Samsung SP2004C 24" Asus something 1920x1080
Xir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2010, 19:38   #11
HourBeforeDawn
a.k.a KazeModz
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cali, USA
Posts: 2,637
HourBeforeDawn has yet to learn the way of the DremelHourBeforeDawn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I have to admit, although I still think 3d stuff is still a bit of a nitch it would be nice to see AMD side do something, ya its hype but a lot of people are buying into that hype so showing something would be good at least on a PR level WITHOUT the need for special third party drivers and monitors.
__________________
Current Rig: Project STEALTH
• DimasTech Test Bench • Black ICE Triple 120 Rad • Dual Bay Res/Pump • DD Fill Port & Res • D-Tek FuZion 2 CPU Block • ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe Mobo • AMD Phenom II 3ghz @ 4ghz • 8gb DDR2-1100 Memory • (2) AMD 6870 XFire • (2) WD Black 640gb Raid 0 • (2) 1.5TB SEAGATE • Blu-Ray/HD DVD Drive • ASUS XONAR DX2 • 30" DOUBLESIGHT LCD • (2) 23" ASUS LCD • ZALMAN 8 FAN CONTROLLER • (4) NOCTUA P12 • (2) NOCTUA P14 • 1000W ZALMAN PSU • WINDOWS 7 PRO 64 •
HourBeforeDawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2010, 07:47   #12
Adnoctum
Kill_All_Humans
 
Adnoctum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 482
Adnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for president
I don't see a problem with this solution, because you can get 1600x1200 - 4:3 monitors just about everywhere.
I mean, they are more popular than 16:9 monitors now. And cheaper!

__________________
Main Rig: Amiga A1200 - Motorola 68EC020@14.2MHz + 68030@50MHz Acc. Card - Lisa Graphics - 2+8MB RAM - 80MB HDD
LAN Rig: Amiga A500 - Motorola 68000@8MHz - Denise Graphics - 512+512KB RAM
Adnoctum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2010, 09:20   #13
Xir
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Xir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saxony / Germany
Posts: 3,969
Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adnoctum View Post
I don't see a problem with this solution, because you can get 1600x1200 - 4:3 monitors just about everywhere.
I mean, they are more popular than 16:9 monitors now. And cheaper!

Was that sarcastic?
__________________
SN25P
A64 3700+ (San Diego)
2 GB DDR400 OCZ Platinum EL 2-3-2-5 1T
X1800XT 512mb Sapphire
200GB Samsung SP2004C 24" Asus something 1920x1080
Xir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2010, 10:54   #14
infi
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 33
infi has yet to learn the way of the Dremelinfi has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adnoctum View Post
I don't see a problem with this solution, because you can get 1600x1200 - 4:3 monitors just about everywhere.
I mean, they are more popular than 16:9 monitors now. And cheaper!

yeah and not to forget that all of those have display ports!
infi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2010, 11:23   #15
Adnoctum
Kill_All_Humans
 
Adnoctum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 482
Adnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for president
Quote:
Originally Posted by infi
yeah and not to forget that all of those have display ports!
Dell is having an incredible deal on 20" LED monitors at the moment: 1600x1200, 1ms G2G, 120Hz S-IPS panel, 360ฐ viewing angles, 120,000:1 Dynamic Contrast, Multi connections (DVI/VGA/HDMI/DP/Comp/SVid/DB23), <20w power consumption, all for $140 delivered.

And Samsung has recently announced that they will be releasing a 4:3 panel with ultra-thin bezels for gamers.

Mark my words, 4:3 is the ratio of the future!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xir View Post
Was that sarcastic?



Last edited by Adnoctum; 23rd Sep 2010 at 14:53.
Adnoctum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2010, 16:18   #16
Tyinsar
6 screens 1 card since Nov 17 2007
 
Tyinsar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: AB.CA
Posts: 2,271
Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.
Through two TH2G units and "spanning" in XP I was running six 19" monitors (3840*2048) off a 7950GX2 in 2007 (though it would only use one GPU). Just for fun I even tried running it on a 6600GT and it ran all six screens fine - in 2D. As for 3D it all depends on the game. I wouldn't think of trying to run the latest FPS but the 7950 was fine for your typical MMO. Ive also had this on a 260GTX and now on a 5770 (Vista & 7 didn't support nVidia's span mode) and it's still great for older games and the one MMO I play (Guild Wars).

All that to say that a 460 is not a bad start.
__________________
Regardless of what you believe there is someone at least as smart, or smarter, than you who believes something you think is stupid (and it's not just because you know something they don't).
Tyinsar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2010, 11:35   #17
Xir
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Xir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saxony / Germany
Posts: 3,969
Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adnoctum View Post
Del
Mark my words, 4:3 is the ratio of the future!
If only
__________________
SN25P
A64 3700+ (San Diego)
2 GB DDR400 OCZ Platinum EL 2-3-2-5 1T
X1800XT 512mb Sapphire
200GB Samsung SP2004C 24" Asus something 1920x1080
Xir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2010, 17:10   #18
Tyinsar
6 screens 1 card since Nov 17 2007
 
Tyinsar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: AB.CA
Posts: 2,271
Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.Tyinsar is definitely a rep cheat.
Actually I wish they'd stop going wider and shorter. It's great for marketing because the diagonal dimensions get longer - but the loss vertical in vertical resolution is not good. It's at the point where, for forums and such, I think it's better to use the 16:9 HD monitors rotated 90 degrees (tall & narrow).
16:9 is terrible for viewing photos if you have a mix of wide and tall photos.
__________________
Regardless of what you believe there is someone at least as smart, or smarter, than you who believes something you think is stupid (and it's not just because you know something they don't).
Tyinsar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2010, 19:25   #19
dangerman1337
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 253
dangerman1337 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dangerman1337 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dangerman1337 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dangerman1337 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dangerman1337 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dangerman1337 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dangerman1337 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dangerman1337 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dangerman1337 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dangerman1337 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dangerman1337 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Wouldn't a lower powered comsupmtion card like the 460/450 be better as this seems to be aimed at professionals rather than gaming?
dangerman1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:39.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.