1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blogs Site-Seeing: Walk It

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by CardJoe, 3 Oct 2010.

1. CardJoe

CardJoe Freelance Journalist

2. karolis

karolis Code Monkey

I'll give it a shot. I am a bit low tech when it comes to navigation though. I love the fact that these days you can get a map of your location pretty much anywhere, but i still plan the route myself.

3. Krikkit

Krikkit All glory to the hypnotoad! Super Moderator

I think you're a bit paranoid about Camden. :p

4. DarkBanana

DarkBanana What's a Dremel?

Lol. I think most of those calories goes into simply keeping you alive :p

Exercise is a really poor way of burning calories but it builds muscle which have a calorie 'upkeep' all the time :)

5. pimonserry

pimonserry sounds like a party.

^ what he said. Most of your energy just goes into keeping you ticking over.

6. October

October Mariachi Style

Maybe the carbons saved are calculated by your extra weight not being on the tube, and it therefore not having to work as hard to keep moving :thumb: :lol:

7. Farting Bob

Farting Bob What's a Dremel?

That would be impressive for someone to work out per person. I suppose it would need to know your weight, or if you caught your bag in the door and held up the train momentarily, or if you jumped up and down all the time so your weight counted for less.
    So many variables to consider!

Also, while this service looks pretty clever, it really needs sat nav voice over and take advantage of your phones GPS to be really great. Still, as a version 1, still pretty useful. Lived in london a while and walked most places, generally working out where i was by finding tube stations and working out which direction i was heading. Didnt take maps with me, rarely got lost.

8. Krikkit

Krikkit All glory to the hypnotoad! Super Moderator