bit-tech.net

Old 11th Oct 2010, 10:33   #1
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
LG N2B1D Review

This NAS box has a memory card reader, Blu-ray drive and a Bit-Torrent client, but is it any good?

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/net...n2b1d-review/1
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Oct 2010, 11:21   #2
Sgt.Bilko
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Sgt.Bilko has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hi there, is it just me or, does this review only seem half finished.
Where are the temps, application access/usability evaluation for iTunes etc, the build quality and finally the conclusion?
I was just getting into it, and it was over.
Sgt.Bilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Oct 2010, 12:02   #3
hbeevers
Yes, it can play crysis!
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 29
hbeevers has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yeah it is pretty short, also you say that 'the fact that the N2B1D costs just £200 is quite a commercial feat' yet you only gave it 6/10 for value?!
__________________
Core i5 750 @ 3.2Ghz @ 1.096V | 4GB ram @ 1600MHz | GTX 460 Gainward GLH @ 897/ 2000/ 1794 @ 1.987V
hbeevers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Oct 2010, 12:05   #4
vampalan
Multimodder
 
vampalan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London
Posts: 225
vampalan has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Looks strangely like a Shuttle PC
__________________
Project Log: HAL Obelisk
Project Log: Cardboard box
Photos: Flickr Site
vampalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Oct 2010, 12:33   #5
mrbens
Supermodder
 
mrbens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 511
mrbens has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yes I thought it was strange ending with graphs instead of a conclusion and why is the score on the first page instead of at the end like normal?

Anyway, not here to moan, I wouldn't mind getting one of these NAS boxes but think I'm going to put all my hard drives in a seperate PC case and access them from my main PC and just have my SSD in my main PC as normal hard drives make too much noise.
__________________
My SilverStone TJ07B PC: Haswell i5 4670K | MSI Z87-G45 Gaming mobo | 8GB Corsair Vengeance Pro Red 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz | MSI GTX 760 Twin Frozr 2GB | Seasonic X-Series 750W PSU | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | Crucial M225 128GB SSD | OCZ Solid 3 120GB SSD
Sound: Epiphany Acoustics' E-DAC & O2 Heahphone Amp | Little Dot MK III Tube Headphone Amp | Beyerdynamic DT880 Premium 600ohm Headphones (music) | Onkyo HT-S3305B AV Receiver + 5.1 speakers (movies)
mrbens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Oct 2010, 12:55   #6
matee
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 71
matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.
Drop the BD, lower the price and I might consider one..
matee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Oct 2010, 13:02   #7
GW42
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 23
GW42 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Netgear Stora - £50 @ ebuyer at the moment. Takes 2 drives, and out of the box that's limited to mirroring. However, with the recent official firmware update you can either do RAID 1 or JBOD (no raid 0 but obviously fairly pointless in a NAS that's speed limited by the network controller rather than the drives).

Speeds I'm getting are pretty much the same as these. Tends to be about 20-23MB/s for large video files, was about 10-13MB/s for a large folder of 1-4MB photos last night. I'm guessing for smaller files it would be similar speeds to this LG.

The stora is not perfect by any means. Certainly anyone on this website should look at it carefully before buying as the flexibility is quite limited. But if all you want is a low power NAS that you can map as network drives on >1 pc without bells & whistles (& personally I prefer to keep it simple and not install extra software), then for £50 it's worth looking at.

EDIT: I am assuming the LG is without drives. The linked product page on CC Online is bare NAS box only. Should go without saying that the £50 stora is just the box with no drives!
GW42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Oct 2010, 18:41   #8
jimbok11
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
jimbok11 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
"However, if you donít want or need an optical drive in your NAS box then it might be worth holding off till you see what else we've tested recently as there are much faster and easier to use NAS boxes out there."...such as?

Alternatives would be nice...unless they are linked somewhere and I'm just being idiotic...
jimbok11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2010, 05:29   #9
Adnoctum
Kill_All_Humans
 
Adnoctum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 482
Adnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for president
The BD burner is quite a good idea. I suppose there are people who would want to backup to an optical BD straight from the NAS, but it is a bit of a niche product. Still, anything to differentiate your product.
The DVD drive version is incredibly pointless. Can you imagine backing up your files from a multi-TB NAS to optical disk 4.7/8.5GB at a time? It would be hell.

Personally, I'm a recent Synology convert.

My NAS needs used to be supplied by a Buffalo Linkstation in RAID 1 and a custom built server running Server 2003 with a hardware RAID card and multiple HDD. I found a need to change when I needed more space. Although the Buffalo supported 1.5TB drives in RAID 1, it was very unstable and sloooww. And the server box was a former desktop machine that sucked down the juice to no real purpose. So a replacement was sought.

After much research and thought I chose the Synology DS410j for a good, affordable, full featured home NAS.
Best choice I could have made!
Couldn't be simpler to set up a 3x1.5TB RAID 5 array, as well as user accounts and mapping network drives. Really, my mum could have done it with guidance from me over the phone (not quite autonomous enough for networking!). Bit slow building the array, but that is to be expected.
So much easier than my old Buffalo box, not to mention the Netgear crap I once had to work with.
It was immediately obvious that someone had put some thought into creating the UI and documentation, which from my experience is unusual for a Taiwanese technology company as they all seem to enjoy getting their pimply work experience youth with unmedicated ADHD to design their UI.

How good is this? Synology has created a live demonstration of their NAS UI online, so you can log in and try it out before buying, playing with settings and making user accounts. It really went a long way to making up my mind up and buying Synology over QNAP and Thecus alternatives. I also got to try out QNAP's live demo version as well. I don't think Thecus does something similar.

The single bay DS110j is about £110 or so.
The 2-bay DS210j is about £150 or so.
The 4-bay DS410j is about £250 or so.
__________________
Main Rig: Amiga A1200 - Motorola 68EC020@14.2MHz + 68030@50MHz Acc. Card - Lisa Graphics - 2+8MB RAM - 80MB HDD
LAN Rig: Amiga A500 - Motorola 68000@8MHz - Denise Graphics - 512+512KB RAM
Adnoctum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2010, 12:31   #10
Burdman27911
Modder
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 57
Burdman27911 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Does this (or the synology Adnoctum mentioned) support 2TB drives? I convinced myself to pickup up a Netgear ReadyNAS (one of the higher end ones used from a friend) but then the deal fell through so I'm back to looking for a good NAS.

I'd definitely be interested in seeing more of these NAS reviews (and more detail would be nice, but I understand).
Burdman27911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2010, 13:25   #11
Adnoctum
Kill_All_Humans
 
Adnoctum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 482
Adnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for president
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burdman27911 View Post
Does this support 2TB drives?
The LG N2B1D spec sheet says it only supports 1.5TB drives.

The Synology DS210j recommended drive list states support for 2TB drives. My drives (WD15EARS) aren't explicitly listed, but they work fine.
__________________
Main Rig: Amiga A1200 - Motorola 68EC020@14.2MHz + 68030@50MHz Acc. Card - Lisa Graphics - 2+8MB RAM - 80MB HDD
LAN Rig: Amiga A500 - Motorola 68000@8MHz - Denise Graphics - 512+512KB RAM
Adnoctum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2010, 13:26   #12
Andy Mc
I *am* a Dremel
 
Andy Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: In a house.
Posts: 1,631
Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.
Personally I'd rarther spend the money building an itx freenas box. More flexiblity (I could use ZFS) and it would get faster network transfer rates.
__________________

Andy Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Oct 2010, 14:22   #13
Adnoctum
Kill_All_Humans
 
Adnoctum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 482
Adnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for president
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Mc View Post
Personally I'd rarther spend the money building an itx freenas box. More flexiblity (I could use ZFS) and it would get faster network transfer rates.
Or you could do what I did:
- Get NAS.
- Fit HDD.
- Set NAS to build array.
- Watch new episode of Chuck + comfy pants + beverage of choice.
- Fill NAS with ???

Normally I wouldn't be caught dead buying a pre-built box because they are all either pitifully weak or stupidly over priced compared to what I could build (plus, I actually like building systems). But I thought that once I'd purchased an ITX board (cheaper Atom boards don't have a 1000 NIC) and 4-port RAID card (and assuming I could recycle a desktop case) it would be similar in price and features to buying a good NAS device.

It's all horses for courses, isn't it? For me, I'd done the custom storage box build before and I just wanted something that was quick and easy and which I didn't need to think about.
It uses less power, is quieter, looks good in any environment (desk, office, living room, reclining provocatively on a bed) and is just as fully featured as FreeNAS, while it required no fiddling to get working (I plugged it in and it just worked). And all I had to sacrifice was the higher transfer speeds that a custom solution would offer, but then I'm not using it all the time to care.
__________________
Main Rig: Amiga A1200 - Motorola 68EC020@14.2MHz + 68030@50MHz Acc. Card - Lisa Graphics - 2+8MB RAM - 80MB HDD
LAN Rig: Amiga A500 - Motorola 68000@8MHz - Denise Graphics - 512+512KB RAM
Adnoctum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Oct 2010, 02:15   #14
Adnoctum
Kill_All_Humans
 
Adnoctum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 482
Adnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for president
She was all flirty when I went into the study today. I'll see if she will let me take some glamour shots of her and I'll post them in the forum.

http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=196095
__________________
Main Rig: Amiga A1200 - Motorola 68EC020@14.2MHz + 68030@50MHz Acc. Card - Lisa Graphics - 2+8MB RAM - 80MB HDD
LAN Rig: Amiga A500 - Motorola 68000@8MHz - Denise Graphics - 512+512KB RAM

Last edited by Adnoctum; 13th Oct 2010 at 04:58. Reason: Linky
Adnoctum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Oct 2010, 11:26   #15
Cleggmeister
Of reasonable knowledge...
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Glasgow, but my heart is in Dunwall..
Posts: 1,062
Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Am I alone in thinking... "Why doesn't the bluray drive act as a ripper, thereby allowing users to rip and store their movie and music collections on the NAS"?

Currently I'm aware of only a couple of products that do this; the Tranquil AVA RS3 and the RipNAS. Both are priced above £650, but at least include the ripping and serving software that most users need.
__________________
Pooting: Antec 300, P6T SE, i7 920 (3.20), Corsair F120SSD, 3x1TB HDD, 9Gb (1600XMP), GTX560Ti 2Gb (880/1760/2100), Win7 x64. Raspberry Pi B with OpenElec.
Grooving: Linn LP12, Klimax DS, Klimax Kontrol, Aktiv Akubariks. Linn Sekrit DSI +104's + Velodyne sub
Watching: Raspberry Pi running OpenELEC to 50" Panasonic.
Serving: HP Proliant Microserver N40L running Openmediavault.
Cleggmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Nov 2010, 12:00   #16
bsevern
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
bsevern has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleggmeister
Am I alone in thinking... "Why doesn't the bluray drive act as a ripper, thereby allowing users to rip and store their movie and music collections on the NAS"?

Currently I'm aware of only a couple of products that do this; the Tranquil AVA RS3 and the RipNAS. Both are priced above £650, but at least include the ripping and serving software that most users need.
Actually you can use the blu-ray burner as a ripper which is exactly why I bought this. Use iSCSI and the drive shows up on your local PC as a local drive . A LG BH10NS30 to be exact, which is a 10X BD writer, or a 12X DVD writer. It works on my GE network quite well with just about any DVD software, the iSCSI is quite a brilliant design as long as your network is fast (wouldn't recommend it over wireless, even 802.11N).

Also as of the 2557 firmware update it officially supports 2TB drives (actually I believe there's even a 2.5TB drive listed on the LG drive compatibility list).

I picked this up with a 1TB drive a couple of weeks ago for $249 USD and also got a $35 gift card with it...perfect for my first order of blank blu-ray discs
bsevern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:21.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.