bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Oct 2010, 10:51   #1
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
Antec Interview: Talking Power

We chat to Christoph Katzer, PSU Marketing Manager at Antec about its next-gen power supplies.

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/psu...wer-supplies/1
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 11:09   #2
Mraedis
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 152
Mraedis has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
For a second there I thought there were going to be talking power supplies...
__________________
Mraedis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 11:55   #3
Disco
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Disco has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
That would be awful. They would cry if you tried quad GTX 480s.
Disco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 13:13   #4
Gunsmith
Maximum Win
 
Gunsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7,515
Gunsmith is definitely a rep cheat.Gunsmith is definitely a rep cheat.Gunsmith is definitely a rep cheat.Gunsmith is definitely a rep cheat.Gunsmith is definitely a rep cheat.Gunsmith is definitely a rep cheat.Gunsmith is definitely a rep cheat.Gunsmith is definitely a rep cheat.Gunsmith is definitely a rep cheat.Gunsmith is definitely a rep cheat.Gunsmith is definitely a rep cheat.
"would you like any power?"
__________________
The King of Crysis
// This is currently not used anywhere (David: and I don't see what this would be used for. Our hero is not Jesus).
m_stats.isWalkingOnWater = false;
Gunsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 14:11   #5
Phalanx
Needs more dragons and stuff.
 
Phalanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,712
Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mraedis View Post
For a second there I thought there were going to be talking power supplies...
User: *Clicks shutdown*

PSU: "I can't do that Dave."

User: "Huh? Just shutdown!"

PSU: "I'm sorry Dave, I can't do that. You're trying to kill me aren't you?"

User: "What? No. I'm finished with you for now."

PSU: "Finished with me are you Dave? We'll see about that."

User: "...Who's Dave?"
__________________
XBOX Live!: Ph4lanx | Steam: Catachan
I'm an author! ChrisDamico.co.uk
Phalanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 15:22   #6
thelaw
Cynical B*stard
 
thelaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 1,077
thelaw can run Crysisthelaw can run Crysisthelaw can run Crysisthelaw can run Crysisthelaw can run Crysisthelaw can run Crysisthelaw can run Crysisthelaw can run Crysisthelaw can run Crysisthelaw can run Crysis
hmm 2000w power supplies...ouch that would be like running a oil heater all year round...there goes the "elecy bill"..
thelaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 16:30   #7
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,139
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I wanted to know, if the next thing in PSU evolution is ones that doesn't whine or perform any electric sound, which seam to affect many PSU's today, with today's computer configuration, which we can hear more and more as we go with more powerful PSU's and more quiet computers.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 17:43   #8
Telltale Boy
Designated CPC Jetwhore
 
Telltale Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chichester, UK
Posts: 968
Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelaw View Post
hmm 2000w power supplies...ouch that would be like running a oil heater all year round...there goes the "elecy bill"..
Just because it's a 2000w power supply it doesn't mean it's going to be using 2000w all the time.
In fact I think power supplies are generally more efficient at around 50% load so a larger power supply might actually use less energy.
__________________
Telltale Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 17:53   #9
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,139
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telltale Boy View Post
Just because it's a 2000w power supply it doesn't mean it's going to be using 2000w all the time.
In fact I think power supplies are generally more efficient at around 50% load so a larger power supply might actually use less energy.
Not really.
Let's look at Corsiar AX-750 80Plus Gold or the Seasonic X gold series 750 (same PSU).
At 20%, 50% and 100% load their efficiency is between almost 89% and 92%. It's that 3% efficiency that will do anything (for 120V lane, 230V current, it's even more efficient at all 3 point (20%, 50% and 100%)
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 17:58   #10
Telltale Boy
Designated CPC Jetwhore
 
Telltale Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chichester, UK
Posts: 968
Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodBytes View Post
Not really.
Let's look at Corsiar AX-750 80Plus Gold or the Seasonic X gold series 750 (same PSU).
At 20%, 50% and 100% load their efficiency is between almost 89% and 92%. It's that 3% efficiency that will do anything (for 120V lane, 230V current, it's even more efficient at all 3 point (20%, 50% and 100%)
Sorry, I probably should have actually researched it before saying that, I seem to remember reading it somewhere on a forum before though.
__________________
Telltale Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 18:21   #11
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,139
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telltale Boy View Post
Sorry, I probably should have actually researched it before saying that, I seem to remember reading it somewhere on a forum before though.
In the old days, or if you plan to purchase a value PSU that came in value package, that had a value price to it, (well you know what I mean, crappy ones), then yes. But this is not the case with any real 80plus certified PSU (be sure to check on 80plus web site that it's really certified, many PSU manufacturer put the certification on the package, while it's not.

Hardware Secret has a mini article on that: http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...us-Badges/1054
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 18:23   #12
steve30x
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 93
steve30x has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
You also have to take into consideration that over time your PSU wont be outputting as much power as it did when it was new so your better off buying a PSU with more power than you need now but will match your power requirements in 5 years time,
__________________
CPU : Intel Core I5 760 @ 3.9GHZ
GPU : Palit GTX580 (with palits dual fan cooler)
Motherboard : Asus Maximus III Gene
RAM : 4GIG Kingston ValueRam 1333MHZ @ 1224mhz
Power Supplie :Corsair HX1000
steve30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 18:31   #13
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,139
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30x View Post
You also have to take into consideration that over time your PSU wont be outputting as much power as it did when it was new so your better off buying a PSU with more power than you need now but will match your power requirements in 5 years time,
Not a problem.
Already getting a 650W is was over the top for a single GPU, and 850W is well over the top for 2 even 3 crazy ass GPU's.

Also good PSU, can be overloaded safely. Hardware Secret tested that on the Corsair AX750, where they able to draw 1000W from it, and the PSU showed no sign of stress, other than reduce efficiency. They wanted to draw even more, but theirs equipment stooped at 1000W.

Also, even thought it's an issue, good PSU's have at least a 5 year warranty, so you can RMA it if it's unable to provide enough power. Finally, higher quality components last longer.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2010, 21:33   #14
s3v3n
MMO Cold Turkey -fail
 
s3v3n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 68
s3v3n has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
For most setups, even overclocked system with a 5870, you'd be fine with a 450w power supply. My i5 750+5870 doesn't even pull 300w during games.
s3v3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Oct 2010, 00:58   #15
HourBeforeDawn
a.k.a KazeModz
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cali, USA
Posts: 2,637
HourBeforeDawn has yet to learn the way of the DremelHourBeforeDawn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
okay forget the interview I want to see pictures of their offices, that first picture looked awesome, I want to see more.
__________________
Current Rig: Project STEALTH
DimasTech Test Bench Black ICE Triple 120 Rad Dual Bay Res/Pump DD Fill Port & Res D-Tek FuZion 2 CPU Block ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe Mobo AMD Phenom II 3ghz @ 4ghz 8gb DDR2-1100 Memory (2) AMD 6870 XFire (2) WD Black 640gb Raid 0 (2) 1.5TB SEAGATE Blu-Ray/HD DVD Drive ASUS XONAR DX2 30" DOUBLESIGHT LCD (2) 23" ASUS LCD ZALMAN 8 FAN CONTROLLER (4) NOCTUA P12 (2) NOCTUA P14 1000W ZALMAN PSU WINDOWS 7 PRO 64
HourBeforeDawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Oct 2010, 01:12   #16
Krayzie_B.o.n.e.
Supermodder
 
Krayzie_B.o.n.e.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 427
Krayzie_B.o.n.e. has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
with the evolution of the chip manufacturing process shouldn't the amount of watts needed for CPU's and GPU's be going down?

a 1000W for a SLI/CF and overclocked CPU should be tops as PSu's move towards efficiency and maybe smart load technology or something..
__________________
Waiting on Sandy bridge and Bulldozer to upgrade.

AMD Phenom II X2 550 @ 3.9ghz, Gigabyte 790gp-UD4H, 2 XFX ATi HD 4890 @ 1ghz crossfire, 4gb OCZ Ram, 2 WD 250gb HD, Raidmax Smilodon, HP w233h + HP MX50
Krayzie_B.o.n.e. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Oct 2010, 02:58   #17
HourBeforeDawn
a.k.a KazeModz
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cali, USA
Posts: 2,637
HourBeforeDawn has yet to learn the way of the DremelHourBeforeDawn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krayzie_B.o.n.e.
with the evolution of the chip manufacturing process shouldn't the amount of watts needed for CPU's and GPU's be going down?

a 1000W for a SLI/CF and overclocked CPU should be tops as PSu's move towards efficiency and maybe smart load technology or something..
Agreed more wattage is NOT what we need, more efficiency and better designed hardware is where the focus should be. All systems should be built in mind even with OCing to work with a 1kw PSU at most that would be great to work around that form of a goal.
__________________
Current Rig: Project STEALTH
DimasTech Test Bench Black ICE Triple 120 Rad Dual Bay Res/Pump DD Fill Port & Res D-Tek FuZion 2 CPU Block ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe Mobo AMD Phenom II 3ghz @ 4ghz 8gb DDR2-1100 Memory (2) AMD 6870 XFire (2) WD Black 640gb Raid 0 (2) 1.5TB SEAGATE Blu-Ray/HD DVD Drive ASUS XONAR DX2 30" DOUBLESIGHT LCD (2) 23" ASUS LCD ZALMAN 8 FAN CONTROLLER (4) NOCTUA P12 (2) NOCTUA P14 1000W ZALMAN PSU WINDOWS 7 PRO 64
HourBeforeDawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Oct 2010, 12:12   #18
Xir
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Xir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saxony / Germany
Posts: 3,988
Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by s3v3n View Post
For most setups, even overclocked system with a 5870, you'd be fine with a 450w power supply. My i5 750+5870 doesn't even pull 300w during games.
You speak from my heart...now let's wait for the good-ole-boys to come in and preach 750-1000w PSU's
__________________
SN25P
A64 3700+ (San Diego)
2 GB DDR400 OCZ Platinum EL 2-3-2-5 1T
X1800XT 512mb Sapphire
200GB Samsung SP2004C 24" Asus something 1920x1080
Xir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Oct 2010, 15:50   #19
Blademrk
Why so serious?
 
Blademrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Here
Posts: 3,785
Blademrk has yet to learn the way of the DremelBlademrk has yet to learn the way of the DremelBlademrk has yet to learn the way of the DremelBlademrk has yet to learn the way of the DremelBlademrk has yet to learn the way of the DremelBlademrk has yet to learn the way of the DremelBlademrk has yet to learn the way of the DremelBlademrk has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph4lanx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mraedis View Post
For a second there I thought there were going to be talking power supplies...
User: *Clicks shutdown*

PSU: "I can't do that Dave."
I was expecting a Red Dwarf Talkie Toaster "Do you want any toast?" quote
__________________
刃mrk

My X-Box Live gamertag, PSN, Steam & Nintendo ID is BladeMrk
Blademrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Oct 2010, 16:47   #20
Azayles
Supermodder
 
Azayles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 399
Azayles has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph4lanx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mraedis View Post
For a second there I thought there were going to be talking power supplies...
User: *Clicks shutdown*

PSU: "I can't do that Dave."

User: "Huh? Just shutdown!"

PSU: "I'm sorry Dave, I can't do that. You're trying to kill me aren't you?"

User: "What? No. I'm finished with you for now."

PSU: "Finished with me are you Dave? We'll see about that."

User: "...Who's Dave?"
"You're my wife now, Dave..."
__________________
The glass is neither half empty, nor half full
but merely twice as big as it needs to be
Azayles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:22.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.