bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Modding > Project Logs

Reply
 
Thread Tools View Mode
Old 4th Nov 2010, 19:08   #1
slipperyskip
Member
 
slipperyskip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,134
slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Level Twelve

I know. Pretty lame name. I do however like how both words have so many letters in common just like Level Eleven. There won't be a Level Thirteen, I promise you.

Anyway, this is a case mod. The case is a very small mini tower case that has the optical drive mounted vertically. It has space for a single 3.5" hard drive and two low-profile expansion slots.

The goal for this project is to replace everything with much higher-end components, improve the cooling system and enclose it in something special...hopefully. It has to be finished by December 15th so this is going to happen fast.

I was cornered to quickly come up with a design idea so I quickly copped-out and traced a photo of Level Eleven.



I exactly doubled L11's dimensions which makes this a 2/3 scale version of Thermaltake's Level 10. The idea is to make a slide-in "cartridge" style enclosure-type system like my Mission and Mid-Century Madness projects.


Gutted, looking at it from behind. PSU in top hole and expansion slots on the bottom.


Interior space. Fairly well made with no sharp edges. Made from steel so the Dremel will be working hard on this project.


The stock motherboard (left) is being replaced with a Gigabyte GA-H55N-USB3 mini-ITX motherboard. The stock board is non-standard sized that is wider than a mini-ITX and appears to be the same length as a microATX board. Using the Gigabyte board allows me to use a double-slot video card instead of a single slot. It also gives me USB 3.0 which will be important later.


The stock power supply (gutted on the right) is rated at 180W and incorporates the original system's only case fan. It is a non-standard size. I did a lot of research to find another non-standard PSU that comes close in size. What I got is a 350W Antec MT-352 that came out of an Antec HTPC case. A little modding and it should fit perfect.


1/4" Baltic Birch plywood being cut with my handle-less X-Acto razor saw. Some things never change.







Thanks for looking. I welcome any and all feedback. Standard rules apply.
__________________
slipperyskip.com

Last edited by slipperyskip; 11th Dec 2010 at 20:49.
slipperyskip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2010, 19:19   #2
Gtek
Doesn't raise the bar; he IS the bar.
 
Gtek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/SK
Posts: 472
Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
nice start, the same mobo as mine. any ideas about the cpu cooling yet?
__________________
Gtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2010, 19:37   #3
slipperyskip
Member
 
slipperyskip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,134
slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gtek View Post
nice start, the same mobo as mine. any ideas about the cpu cooling yet?
Thanks. I was originally going to use a Corsair H50 but there is no room for the inflexible hoses. I've decided to go with a Scythe Shuriken instead. There was some good feedback on Newegg where a guy used the same board and had no RAM/Vid card clearance issues. How is that Akasa working for you or have you tested it yet?
__________________
slipperyskip.com
slipperyskip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2010, 19:50   #4
Gtek
Doesn't raise the bar; he IS the bar.
 
Gtek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/SK
Posts: 472
Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Gtek is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Sound like a plan Yeah Akasa works, gave me stable overclock of 4.2Ghz today, just not that quiet
__________________
Gtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2010, 23:07   #5
voigts
Hypermodder
 
voigts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 828
voigts is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.voigts is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.voigts is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.voigts is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.voigts is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.voigts is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.voigts is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.voigts is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.voigts is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.voigts is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.voigts is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
cool. another neat slipperyskip build to watch. I'll be tuning in to this one.
__________________
Project Log: Zenith Antique Radio Scratch Build
Project Log: Project Quintessence
voigts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Nov 2010, 10:33   #6
Kumo
Hypermodder
 
Kumo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Madrid, SP
Posts: 698
Kumo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Looks like a nice project. Good luck.
Kumo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Nov 2010, 15:46   #7
slipperyskip
Member
 
slipperyskip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,134
slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gtek View Post
Sound like a plan Yeah Akasa works, gave me stable overclock of 4.2Ghz today, just not that quiet
Not much Akasa on this side of the pond. I had to smuggle some Akasa TIM Cleaner across the border several years ago.

Quote:
Originally Posted by voigts View Post
cool. another neat slipperyskip build to watch. I'll be tuning in to this one.
Thanks! Wood rules, plastic drools.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kumo View Post
Looks like a nice project. Good luck.
Hopefully. Thanks.




To free up some space I'm relocating the optical drive and 3.5" HDD(s) to the support box. In their place I'll be using this Crucial C300 256GB SSD as a system drive.




Oops. Wrong CPU. I'll have to send this one back.


8" wide quarter-matched Bird's Eye Maple.


Back to the saw mill after having a little fun.

Thanks for looking.
__________________
slipperyskip.com
slipperyskip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Nov 2010, 15:58   #8
BigBazz
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15
BigBazz has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Wrong CPU pfft yeah right as if any one would give that back a future project in sight hmmm look forward to see what you do with this project.
BigBazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Nov 2010, 18:33   #9
./^\.Ace./^\.
Supermodder
 
./^\.Ace./^\.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 250
./^\.Ace./^\. has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
If you don't need that i7 980x I will gladly have it.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 920 | RAM: 6GB OCZ Reaper HPC DDR3 1866MHz | Mother Board: Asus P6T | GPU: Dual BFG GeForce GTX295 rev.B(Quad SLI) | PSU Antec TPQ-1000 | CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i | HDD: 1TB Segate SSHD, 500GB WD Caviar Black & 1TB WD Carviar Green | ODD: Pioneer DVR-216D | Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 | Monitor: LG W2343T 23" | OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit |
i7 Builds #1, #2, #3
./^\.Ace./^\. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Nov 2010, 23:05   #10
its
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 138
its has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Wrong CPU? C'mon.. You didn't notice it and simply put it in the computer I would never send that little neat piece back haha.
__________________
iMac 21.5" 2011 | 2.5GHz (up to 3.8) i5-2500 | 12GB 1333MHz | Wireless Keyboard & Magic Mouse

Monitor speakers: KRK Rokit G2 RP5
Headphones: Pioneer HDJ-2000, Sony MDR-V700DJ & Sennheiser HD205
its is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2010, 00:11   #11
stonedsurd
Is a cackling Yuletide Belgian
 
stonedsurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Delhi, India
Posts: 7,555
stonedsurd is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.stonedsurd is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.stonedsurd is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.stonedsurd is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.stonedsurd is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.stonedsurd is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.stonedsurd is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.stonedsurd is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.stonedsurd is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.stonedsurd is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.stonedsurd is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Skip, I'm sending you my address. You know where to send that CPU
__________________
stonedsurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2010, 02:56   #12
slipperyskip
Member
 
slipperyskip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,134
slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!slipperyskip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBazz View Post
Wrong CPU pfft yeah right as if any one would give that back a future project in sight hmmm look forward to see what you do with this project.
Wrong mainly because it is the wrong socket. Even Intel gets confused now and then with all the different sockets.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ./^\.Ace./^\. View Post
If you don't need that i7 980x I will gladly have it.
No!

Quote:
Originally Posted by its View Post
Wrong CPU? C'mon.. You didn't notice it and simply put it in the computer I would never send that little neat piece back haha.
I was hoping to have Intel as a sponsor for more than just one project. I find that companies that make these kind of mistakes tend to not want the "error" back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stonedsurd View Post
Skip, I'm sending you my address. You know where to send that CPU
No. I'm going to turn it into a paperweight.

After talking to Intel it has been decided that I get to keep the 980X for my next project. Honesty pays once again.


Today's UPS haul. A Scythe Shuriken, Powercolor 5750 and a Vantec USB 3.0 Hub. USB Hub? WTF?


New knowledge. USB 3.0 ports are coded in blue.


It's not modding unless you are voiding warranties. The plastic case will go in the trash.


Cute little video card. Smaller than I pictured in my head. (Did I just say cute? Damn.)


6-pin PCIE power plug means there is a little heat under the tiny hood.


Nice match size-wise for a mini-ITX board. A single stick of memory to help check for clearance issues.




The cooling fans face downward. I'll be cutting out a huge portion of bottom of this case to help these fans get direct fresh air.


I love Scythe products. This low-profile cooler has six heat-pipes and a 100mm x 12mm fan.



Back to sawing. Thanks for looking.
__________________
slipperyskip.com
slipperyskip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2010, 04:18   #13
Wicked_Sludge
My eyes! The goggles do nothing!
 
Wicked_Sludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: C:\USA\Washington
Posts: 2,227
Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
im liking this collection of parts. sub'd
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3|Intel Core i7-870 @ 4.0Ghz|12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600|AMD 7970GHz Edition|2x Barracuda 1TB RAID 1
Wicked_Sludge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2010, 11:15   #14
Dot_Kappa
100% Puppet
 
Dot_Kappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 194
Dot_Kappa has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Interesting this vga low profile


/OT
Slipper , no watermarks for your pictures....?
Dot_Kappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2010, 11:20   #15
Attila
still thinking....
 
Attila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,250
Attila is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Attila is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Attila is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Attila is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Attila is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Attila is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Attila is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Attila is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Attila is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Attila is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Attila is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Another 'level' mod. You've got my attention. Gotta love those small boards, I
can see a couple of those in my future.
__________________
stillthinking
Attila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2010, 16:54   #16
Tangster
Butt-kicking for goodness!
 
Tangster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: York, UK
Posts: 3,046
Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.
There's another modder out there wondering why Intel have sent them a 1156 CPU instead of a 980X. :P Nice going so far.
__________________
The Box:i7 2700K@5.3GHz|EK Supreme LT+Coolstream XT 360|16GB HyperX DDR3@1866MHz|EVGA GTX780 ti+EK FC780ti|MSI P67A-GD55||M5 512|BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 750W|U3011|Raven RV-02E|KBT Pure+Perixx MX2000 + Intuos 4M
Audio: PC->TosLink->TEAC UD-501->Fostex TH600|InEar LivePro 3|Truth B2030A Monitors
BT Feedback
Tangster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2010, 17:09   #17
murraynt
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
murraynt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Athlone,Ireland
Posts: 4,234
murraynt should be considered for presidentmurraynt should be considered for presidentmurraynt should be considered for presidentmurraynt should be considered for presidentmurraynt should be considered for presidentmurraynt should be considered for presidentmurraynt should be considered for presidentmurraynt should be considered for presidentmurraynt should be considered for presidentmurraynt should be considered for presidentmurraynt should be considered for president
You jammy devil, lovely little build you have going.
Any plans for the case yet?
murraynt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2010, 22:27   #18
bobisgod
Modder
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Palo Alto, California
Posts: 61
bobisgod has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Can't wait to see what you're gonna do with it! Are you going to use any wood?
@Chiller
seriously? trying to get attention in someone else's buildlog? There's a rule about that iirc
bobisgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2010, 23:07   #19
BLUEHORSESTUDIOS
I haven't lost a finger yet!
 
BLUEHORSESTUDIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver, Wash
Posts: 273
BLUEHORSESTUDIOS should be considered for presidentBLUEHORSESTUDIOS should be considered for presidentBLUEHORSESTUDIOS should be considered for presidentBLUEHORSESTUDIOS should be considered for presidentBLUEHORSESTUDIOS should be considered for presidentBLUEHORSESTUDIOS should be considered for presidentBLUEHORSESTUDIOS should be considered for presidentBLUEHORSESTUDIOS should be considered for presidentBLUEHORSESTUDIOS should be considered for presidentBLUEHORSESTUDIOS should be considered for presidentBLUEHORSESTUDIOS should be considered for president
oh man , this is gonna be insane.Cant wait to see more of this.
BLUEHORSESTUDIOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Nov 2010, 00:03   #20
its
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 138
its has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
@Chiller1: C'mon That's pathetic.
__________________
iMac 21.5" 2011 | 2.5GHz (up to 3.8) i5-2500 | 12GB 1333MHz | Wireless Keyboard & Magic Mouse

Monitor speakers: KRK Rokit G2 RP5
Headphones: Pioneer HDJ-2000, Sony MDR-V700DJ & Sennheiser HD205
its is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slipperyskip, wood case mod

Thread Tools
View Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:28.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.