bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 13:31   #1
Claave
You Rebel scum
 
Claave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 691
Claave has yet to learn the way of the DremelClaave has yet to learn the way of the DremelClaave has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Asus Eee PC 1015T Review

AMD's Nile platform gets squeezed into a 10.1in Asus Eee PC netbook.

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/lap...1015t-review/1

__________________
Enter the 2011 Reader Survey to win 730 of hardware.

Win more things with CPC and bit-tech
Claave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 13:34   #2
yakyb
i hate the person above me
 
yakyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,056
yakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysisyakyb can run Crysis
i was going to bitch and moan that you didn't include a minecraft benchmark

but you did so kudos to Bit Tech.

Very interested in this product
__________________
Mumblings of a prospective indie Game Developer Blog
My Games Website
yakyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 14:49   #3
Xir
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Xir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saxony / Germany
Posts: 4,058
Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.
it IS sold in Germany...
the HDMI is a very welcome addition (as the signal quality* of the VGA port is shameful on my 1001P), shame it doesn't work properly.
Maybe in time, the drivers will mature.
For Win7 2GB should probably be standart (but MS/Intel don't allow it, I believe?) OR you could revert to WinXP, which fits the light performance profile with 1GB better.
The body is the same as the 1005P/1001P, though these have lost the shiny edge around the non-glare display some time ago, strange that it's back.

Does the expressgate run @ 1024x600 at last?

*shame that VGA signal quality isn't tested anymore. Normally no problem, as DVI/HDMI is used, but with devices with VGA only...
__________________
SN25P
A64 3700+ (San Diego)
2 GB DDR400 OCZ Platinum EL 2-3-2-5 1T
X1800XT 512mb Sapphire
200GB Samsung SP2004C 24" Asus something 1920x1080
Xir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 14:58   #4
docodine
killed a guy once
 
docodine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,071
docodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for president
"With 1GB of memory Modern Warfare 2 was barely playable with 1GB of memory."

This is true with 1GB of memory it is with 1GB of memory.
docodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 15:10   #5
javaman
May irritate Eyes
 
javaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,528
javaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for president
Seems like the perfect netbook with the 2gb ram, good balance between power and performance. Only problem is its a bit redundant since bobcat is ever nearing. I would rather hold out until then. When netbooks can handle light gaming such as oblivion, TF2, halflife 2 etc. With a good battery that lasts nearly all day ill get excited then. Its the only thing that will let them survive the tablet onslaught. Personally, ebooks (kindle), tv catch up, the mini games and touch interface are all major wins for tablet devices.
Either way mobile computing is certainly looking very good
javaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 15:21   #6
Bindibadgi
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 34,814
Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.
Xir - HDMI worked fine and the drivers can be updated for the chipset. As for d-sub, no, it's not something I tested sorry.
Bindibadgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 17:15   #7
Madness_3d
Bit-Tech/Asus OC Winner
 
Madness_3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 984
Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
I've said it before and I'll say it again. My Compaq Mini 311 is ~300, N270 + ION (512MB) with 3GB of Ram. I've got a custom Bios so the CPU is OC'd to 2.25Ghz, the chipset is OC'd using Nvidia System Tools. I've got a 9 Cell battery so I get up to 9 hrs of battery life and it has a lovely 11.6" 1366x768 screen.

In XP I use it for playing Medieveal II Total war, KOTOR, All sorts of slightly more classic games that the 16 OC'd shader Cores absolutely rip through. In my opinion It is the pinacle of Netbook gaming. THe M11X is far more powerful of course, but its really 12" and weighs 2kg and costs alot more than the standard "netbook" market aims at.
__________________
XFXScorpio911 PHENOM II X4 965 @ 4.02Ghz SLI GTX 480 1536MB ASUS CROSSHAIR II FORMULA 4GB OCZ REAPER 1066 5-5-4-8 2T CORSAIR HYDRO H50 CORSAIR Force 3 120GB WINDOWS 7 HP 64bit Musings On The Technical World Steam
Madness_3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 18:27   #8
Lazy_Amp
Entry AMD Engineer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 91
Lazy_Amp has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I'm waiting for a fusion Zacate platform honestly. Two cores and twice the Stream Processors for the same wattage as the graphics on this alone.

Unfortunately, probably not going to be out until next year.
Lazy_Amp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 18:55   #9
frontline
Punish Your Machine
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 825
frontline has yet to learn the way of the Dremelfrontline has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazy_Amp
I'm waiting for a fusion Zacate platform honestly. Two cores and twice the Stream Processors for the same wattage as the graphics on this alone.

Unfortunately, probably not going to be out until next year.
Zacate still due 4th quarter 2010 - apparently

__________________
Intel Core i7 2600K| Asus P8P67-M PRO R3 | Corsair H70 Hydro Series CPU Cooler |Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz XMS3 Memory Kit CL9 1.65V | Sapphire HD 6990 4GB GDDR5 | Crucial M225 128Gb SSD | Asus Xonar DX | LG W2261VP | Corsair GS800 PSU
frontline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 21:13   #10
bobwya
Custom PC Migrant
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 193
bobwya has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
ASUS do appear to be churning out laptops and netbooks with no discernible market window... Just kind of hoping something sticks I guess!! Also they need to get their s**t together wrt battery life and cooling...
bobwya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 23:15   #11
CowBlazed
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 253
CowBlazed has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Would be interesting to see how the Acer 1.7ghz Athlon II Neo with 4225 would compare versus this longer battery life single core version.
CowBlazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2010, 23:20   #12
Lazy_Amp
Entry AMD Engineer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 91
Lazy_Amp has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by frontline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazy_Amp
I'm waiting for a fusion Zacate platform honestly. Two cores and twice the Stream Processors for the same wattage as the graphics on this alone.

Unfortunately, probably not going to be out until next year.
Zacate still due 4th quarter 2010 - apparently

It has shipped in Q4, yes, but not due out on the market until, sadly, January.

http://techreport.com/discussions.x/19948
Lazy_Amp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Nov 2010, 10:57   #13
Xir
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Xir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saxony / Germany
Posts: 4,058
Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindibadgi View Post
Xir - HDMI worked fine and the drivers can be updated for the chipset. As for d-sub, no, it's not something I tested sorry.
Hmmm, let me put it another way, having a HDMI output that's not limited (so puts out 1080) is great, but if you still have to play movies at 720, it's not "Fine"

Not testing D-Sub. No problem, in this case as it does have a digital output. Why bother with the analogue one?
I wouldn't use it.
Most OTHER netbooks however only have an analogue output...and those haven't been tested either. (not just by you, analogue signal quality has died as a topic of interest since digital outputs prevailed)
__________________
SN25P
A64 3700+ (San Diego)
2 GB DDR400 OCZ Platinum EL 2-3-2-5 1T
X1800XT 512mb Sapphire
200GB Samsung SP2004C 24" Asus something 1920x1080
Xir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Nov 2010, 11:04   #14
Bindibadgi
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 34,814
Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.
I mean, the quality was fine - it worked just like a normal graphics card. Playback was another issue altogether :P

WRG to Zacate/Ontario: everything is launching at CES.

Ev-er-y-th-ing

/Gary Oldman in Leon.




(And, yes, I know he said 'everyone' really).
Bindibadgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Nov 2010, 21:29   #15
frontline
Punish Your Machine
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 825
frontline has yet to learn the way of the Dremelfrontline has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindibadgi
I mean, the quality was fine - it worked just like a normal graphics card. Playback was another issue altogether :P

WRG to Zacate/Ontario: everything is launching at CES.

Ev-er-y-th-ing

/Gary Oldman in Leon.




(And, yes, I know he said 'everyone' really).
__________________
Intel Core i7 2600K| Asus P8P67-M PRO R3 | Corsair H70 Hydro Series CPU Cooler |Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz XMS3 Memory Kit CL9 1.65V | Sapphire HD 6990 4GB GDDR5 | Crucial M225 128Gb SSD | Asus Xonar DX | LG W2261VP | Corsair GS800 PSU
frontline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Nov 2010, 23:20   #16
Lockon Stratos
I Will Snipe You!
 
Lockon Stratos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 111
Lockon Stratos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
One of the Biggest features of this netbook that puts it a cut above the rest is the ability to see 4Gb of RAM. Intels 'new' Intel N550 still cant see 4Gb and even though we have to factor in the cost of 4gb of ram - it will bring a huge much needed leap in performance in any netbook - so the V105 might be only single core but coupled with 4Gb it will take a lot of pressure off the already slow hard drive and enable it to be a little more responsive when doing a little multitasking.

the ability to use 4Gb of ram alone is enough of a reason to buy this netbook. (oh - and the V105 supports 64bit computing also!!)
Lockon Stratos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2010, 03:23   #17
Bindibadgi
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 34,814
Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.Bindibadgi is definitely a rep cheat.
4GB and multitasking on single channel memory and a 1.2GHz single core will kill it tbh. It's still a netbook. You need even basic Athlon Neo standards for that.
Bindibadgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2010, 20:45   #18
Lockon Stratos
I Will Snipe You!
 
Lockon Stratos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 111
Lockon Stratos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Im not talking about heavy multitasking mind you. but 4Gb will help Windows 7 run more smoother and makes W7 ultimate a much tastier option then sticking with w7 basic
Lockon Stratos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2010, 02:19   #19
javaman
May irritate Eyes
 
javaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,528
javaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for president
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lockon Stratos View Post
Im not talking about heavy multitasking mind you. but 4Gb will help Windows 7 run more smoother and makes W7 ultimate a much tastier option then sticking with w7 basic
Even at that the 32-bit isn't as heavy.

Out of interest does intel graphics benifit from having more memory assigned to them like some onboard graphics. Tom's done a random article on ram and concluded that more than four gb of ram is still useful in a 32 bit enviroment if you set the ram up as a ram disk or something like that. TBH a netbook should never be doing anything that needs that much memory or level of response. If it does your into mid range laptops.
javaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2010, 03:53   #20
Lockon Stratos
I Will Snipe You!
 
Lockon Stratos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 111
Lockon Stratos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by javaman
Out of interest does intel graphics benifit from having more memory assigned to them like some onboard graphics. Tom's done a random article on ram and concluded that more than four gb of ram is still useful in a 32 bit enviroment if you set the ram up as a ram disk or something like that. TBH a netbook should never be doing anything that needs that much memory or level of response. If it does your into mid range laptops.
yes - read bit-techs review again and you will see that they compared performance between a stock 1015T and one with 2Gb installed - it does make a difference - and the more you can allocated to the built in graphics - the better the performance though there still is a limit and just adding extra ram wont allow you to play crysis on it - but if it could, it would be one of the best netbooks ever made
Lockon Stratos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:01.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.