bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th Nov 2010, 12:01   #1
Lizard
@ Scan R&D
 
Lizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,890
Lizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run CrysisLizard can run Crysis
ATI launches Radeon HD 6500M, 6300M

ATI has officially launched the Radeon HD 6500M and 6300M mobile GPUs.

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...-6500m-6300m/1
Lizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 12:30   #2
The_Jonas
\m/
 
The_Jonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UAE and Belgium
Posts: 25
The_Jonas has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Awesome, this is why I've been waiting to get a new laptop Not that I knew this would come but I was secretly hoping for new hardware >
__________________
\m/
The_Jonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 12:31   #3
tristanperry
Hypermodder
 
tristanperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 833
tristanperry is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tristanperry is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tristanperry is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tristanperry is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tristanperry is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tristanperry is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tristanperry is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tristanperry is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tristanperry is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tristanperry is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tristanperry is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Looks promising for sure. Depending on their price they could be very popular.

But (getting there first ): ATI have launched these? The article doesn't actually reference AMD once? (Apart from in the picture)
__________________
Antec 300 | Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD2 | Core i5 750 @ 3.6ghz | Corsair XMS3 4GB 1,600Mhz | XFX HD5850 | 120 GB Corsair Series Force 3 SSD | 2x 1TB Samsung F3 | Titan Fenrir | BenQ G2220HD 21.5" Widescreen | Corsair VX550W
tristanperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 12:32   #4
matee
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 71
matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.
Thats good news. If only they would create an equivalent of Optimus..
matee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 12:35   #5
Picarro
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Picarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 3,331
Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Guys, could you start calling these AMD 6500 and 6300? Please?
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 5gHz -:- Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 -:- 2x4 gbCorsair Vengeance 1,5v 1600mHz -:- Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 670 -:- Crucial M4 128 gb -:- Samsung F3 Spinpoint 640 gb -:- Corsair H60 with 2x Gentle Typhoon 1850 in push-pull -:- Corsair HX650 -:- Lian Li A05FN -:- Dell U2410 flanked by 2x Dell U2001FP -:- BenQ W1000+ -:-
Picarro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 12:44   #6
SaNdCrAwLeR
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Posts: 118
SaNdCrAwLeR has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
will these be as crappy as most ATI mobile GPUs?
seriously only had problems with my ATI GPU laptop =/
SaNdCrAwLeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 12:52   #7
Elton
Proud Model M User
 
Elton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 8,506
Elton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming SaiyanElton is a Super Spamming Saiyan
So essentially HD4650/HD4670 performance?
__________________
There's good ideas and then there's terribly great ideas.
Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 12:55   #8
xaser04
Ba Ba Ba BANANA!
 
xaser04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somerset
Posts: 1,717
xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.
6500M sounds tasty.

Its performance should be noticably better than the HD5650 when GDDR5 is used and similar when GDDR3 is used.

EDIT: how have they calculated the GFlops performance, the 6300 seems dissproportionatly lower than the 6500.
__________________
Daedalus - Clevo P170SM | i7 4700MQ @ 3.4Ghz | GTX780M 4GB @980/6000 | 16GB DDR3 | 17.3" 1920x1080 |
ZPM Hive Mini - Corsair 250D | i7 4770S | GTX690 @ 1050/6000 | 4GB DDR3 | 3 x LG IPS231P 5888x1080 |
Consoles / Retro - PS4 | PS3 | Xbox One x2 | Dreamcast x2 (VGA) & lots more |

Last edited by xaser04; 29th Nov 2010 at 13:04.
xaser04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 14:02   #9
Hustler
Hypermodder
 
Hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Dark Side
Posts: 622
Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
"or around 650 million polygons per second."


What an utterly meaningless figure.....

650million polygons.......at what size?....with what effects...?....with how many light sources?......etc,etc,etc.
Hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 14:07   #10
Senilex
Not a Troll. Honest.
 
Senilex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 55
Senilex has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
While ur at it Bit-Tech you might as well call Nvidia PhysX, Ageia Physx.
Get over yourselves already Bit-Tech, your not big or clever, just plain unprofessional in your persistence with the ATI naming.
Senilex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 14:20   #11
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,390
RichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
ati, amd who gives a f**k, most people know its really ati, just amd decided to change the company name, for more cudos i would imagine, as its the ati stuff thats bringing in the money.
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 14:21   #12
SMIFFYDUDE
Supermodders on my D
 
SMIFFYDUDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Saddleworth
Posts: 2,435
SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Senilex
While ur at it Bit-Tech you might as well call Nvidia PhysX, Ageia Physx.
Get over yourselves already Bit-Tech, your not big or clever, just plain unprofessional in your persistence with the ATI naming.
http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=27522

AMD are forgetting the new name too
__________________
Cooler Master HAF 932 | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | i7 930@4.1 | Corsair H50 | 12GB OCZ PC3-12800 Gold | x2 Palit GTX 560Ti 2GB | XFX Pro 750W XXX | HP LP2475w | Speedlink Medusa NX 5.1 | CM Storm Inferno | Logitech G27 | Windows 7 Home Premium

Steam: SMIFFY
SMIFFYDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 14:44   #13
Tulatin
The Froggy Poster
 
Tulatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,154
Tulatin has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Alas, Mobile gaming is such a broken market; consumers get a few choices of which cards they want soldered to their system boards, and if they want something better, they can pay a premium for a laptop with MXM slots that weighs a lot more and eats batteries for breakfast...
Tulatin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 14:48   #14
Passarinhuu
I huffs cats
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 19
Passarinhuu has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by matee
Thats good news. If only they would create an equivalent of Optimus..
I've been using my Acer laptop with integrated graphics + dedicated Radeon 5650 with no problem whatsoever. Switchable graphics with no rebooting and great battery life.
And I prefer this manual switching mode to the Optimus auto switch depending on the app being used because it gives me control over when to use the dedicated card (don't know if Optimus supports manual mode switching but probably it does too).
Only thing I can point as needing more work is the graphics support that is manufacturer dependent and Acer seems to like skipping driver releases from time to time (although you can still install ATI releases by disabling the integrated graphics in the BIOS, so it's not a big deal if you need the latest driver release)
Passarinhuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 15:02   #15
kylew
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 214
kylew has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Senilex View Post
While you're at it Bit-Tech, you might as well call Nvidia PhysX, Ageia PhysX.
Get over yourselves already Bit-Tech, you're not big or clever, just plain unprofessional in your persistence with the ATI naming.
Fixed, as you weren't looking so big or clever yourself.
kylew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 15:28   #16
Denis_iii
Ultramodder
 
Denis_iii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,224
Denis_iii has yet to learn the way of the DremelDenis_iii has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
are these replacing the 5650? fingers cross for fast adoption
Denis_iii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 15:53   #17
dyzophoria
Supermodder
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 366
dyzophoria has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
will these be as crappy as most ATI mobile GPUs?
seriously only had problems with my ATI GPU laptop =/
I only had problems with my NVIDIA GPU Laptop (XPS m1330, had to return it 3 times, and another one with a 9600)
__________________
[FONT=Lucida Console]picture this..[/FONT] // [FONT=Tahoma][FONT=Fixedsys]picture that..[/FONT][/FONT]
dyzophoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 16:08   #18
schmidtbag
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 819
schmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
i think i'd care about this more if building your own laptop was easier to do
__________________
4.4GHz FX-6300 (on an AM3 board) with C'n'Q on, 8GB of RAM, R9 290, ADATA SP900 64GB SSD, Arch Linux 64 bit.
schmidtbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 16:22   #19
CharlO
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 97
CharlO has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Will there be a 13" with 6500?? WAAAAAANT!
CharlO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2010, 17:08   #20
Aracos
Elite
 
Aracos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Posts: 1,337
Aracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylew
Quote:
Originally Posted by Senilex View Post
While you're at it Bit-Tech, you might as well call Nvidia PhysX, Ageia PhysX.
Get over yourselves already Bit-Tech, you're not big or clever, just plain unprofessional in your persistence with the ATI naming.
Fixed, as you weren't looking so big or clever yourself.
I think he was being sarcastic, either that or he is a 100% complete dickhead.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubisoft CEO
Our clear goal today is to come more regularly with our top brands
Ragnarok: i5 750 @ 3200MHz | Titan Fenrir | MSI P55-GD65 | 8GiB Vengence 1600MHz CAS 9 | 1GiB 6950 DirectCU II | 60GB Crucial M4 | Samsung F3 500GB | Samsung F3 1TB | Seasonic X-750 | X-Fi XtremeGamer | HAF932 | Win 7 Pro | openSUSE
Aracos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:40.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.