bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Jan 2011, 11:14   #1
arcticstoat
Who is the Milkman?
 
arcticstoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 916
arcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysis
Can Corsair Succeed Where Nvidia failed?

Anyone remember ESA? Nvidia's attempt at making the PC platform its own with the 'Enthusiast Systems Architecture' software? Well, Corsair's got a similar idea that's exclusive to Corsair's own products....

http://www.bit-tech.net/blog/2011/01...nvidia-failed/
__________________
Ben Hardwidge
Custom PC Editor
arcticstoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2011, 11:22   #2
wuyanxu
still wants Homeworld 3
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N London
Posts: 10,050
wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.
i don't know about other enthusiastics, i setup my overclocking, and then just forgets about it.

why does a computer need more looking after than a baby? it's a computer, you can set it up so it monitors itself!

with that rant, it's safe to say this is one feature this Corsair sucker won't be buying into.
(another feature is USB headphones, stupid waste of system resource)
__________________
i7 2700k \ 16GB \ gtx580 \ D2x \ z68x-UD5 \ m4 128GB +2TB \ Ax850 \ FT02-RW \ G15+G5+G51 \ U2711
X100 \ 5D mkII \ 70-200 L \ 24-105 L \ 17-40 L \ 85/1.8 \ 270ExII \ 430ExII \ X1.1a \ Hadley Pro -- Photostreamr
wuyanxu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2011, 11:56   #3
B1GBUD
A Paragon of Virtue.... Apparently
 
B1GBUD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Guildford
Posts: 2,213
B1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming SaiyanB1GBUD is a Super Spamming Saiyan
The only thing I monitor is temps after a new build, to make sure everything is cooled sufficiently. Speedfan does everything I need it to do, but then if you have a OCD then I guess this is right up your alley.
__________________
Teh unofficial Bit-Tech proof reader
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teelzebub View Post
( Kid you dont want either only bud is any good lol )
B1GBUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2011, 12:18   #4
Xir
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Xir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saxony / Germany
Posts: 4,037
Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
In fact, you would only need a Corsair graphics card, sound card and motherboard in order to make an entirely Corsair PC.
You forgot the CPU...but who needs that anyway
__________________
SN25P
A64 3700+ (San Diego)
2 GB DDR400 OCZ Platinum EL 2-3-2-5 1T
X1800XT 512mb Sapphire
200GB Samsung SP2004C 24" Asus something 1920x1080
Xir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2011, 12:25   #5
GFC
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 118
GFC has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuyanxu
i don't know about other enthusiastics, i setup my overclocking, and then just forgets about it.

why does a computer need more looking after than a baby? it's a computer, you can set it up so it monitors itself!

with that rant, it's safe to say this is one feature this Corsair sucker won't be buying into.
(another feature is USB headphones, stupid waste of system resource)
Totally agree. I do the same. Don't really see a point in constantly monitoring your system if its perfectly stable.
GFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2011, 12:30   #6
mrbens
Supermodder
 
mrbens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 511
mrbens has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by B1GBUD
if you have a OCD
Actually, it's an OCD

I don't think we need to worry that Corsair will kill off the competition just by having a monitoring app.
__________________
My SilverStone TJ07B PC: Haswell i5 4670K | MSI Z87-G45 Gaming mobo | 8GB Corsair Vengeance Pro Red 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz | MSI GTX 760 Twin Frozr 2GB | Seasonic X-Series 750W PSU | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | Crucial M225 128GB SSD | OCZ Solid 3 120GB SSD
Sound: Epiphany Acoustics' E-DAC & O2 Heahphone Amp | Little Dot MK III Tube Headphone Amp | Beyerdynamic DT880 Premium 600ohm Headphones (music) | Onkyo HT-S3305B AV Receiver + 5.1 speakers (movies)
mrbens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jan 2011, 16:43   #7
thehippoz
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 5,780
thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
yeah I agree with wu in a way.. but cpu usage is one I can't give up- I like seeing it realtime
thehippoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2011, 00:20   #8
Rocket_Knight64
Multimodder
 
Rocket_Knight64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: With the Berks
Posts: 216
Rocket_Knight64 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It would be nice to have assuming the software is good and not your typical oem junk. But even then I'm would not go out of my way for it.

What I wish for more then anything else in the pc world is a modern smart control unit for fans/pumps/lights and/or bits like motors or tecs. An evolved tbalancer/aquaero with decent maybe even open source software. /sigh
__________________
Q9550 E0 @ stock under TRUE : Maximus II Formula : 4Gb Corsair Dominator : HD4870 512Mb (790/1100) + Accelero S1
120Gb G.Skill Falcon : 300Gb VelociRaptor : 1Tb Samsung F1 : Auzentech Prelude
AE Aego M 2.1 : Hazro HZ24Wi LCD : G15 v1 KB : G5 Mouse : Lian-Li PC-A17
Rocket_Knight64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2011, 00:31   #9
Fanatic
Monimidder
 
Fanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: In Stasis
Posts: 850
Fanatic - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fanatic - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fanatic - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fanatic - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fanatic - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fanatic - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fanatic - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fanatic - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fanatic - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fanatic - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fanatic - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Will periodically check everythings okay but am not someone who needs to sit and stare at sensor readings for hours unless physically altering things somewhere.

Kind of enjoy finding utilities to monitor different things - half the fun!
__________________
i5 2700k@4.5ghz, ASRock Extreme7 Gen3, 2 x 7970 Crossfire, 16GB GSkill RipjawZ 2133Mhz, Seasonic x-850W, 250GB Samsung EVO, 2TB Seagate, Dell U2711
Custom Water Loop: XSPC Razor 7970v2 x2, XSPC Raystorm CPU Block, 3x180MM Radiator, D5 Vario with Bitspower Mod Kit, White BP fittings, Primochill Compression Res
Fanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2011, 02:59   #10
Madness_3d
Bit-Tech/Asus OC Winner
 
Madness_3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 984
Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Is it bad that as I read this article I have HWMonitor Pro running in the taskbar, just checking that everything is "just so" :-P
__________________
XFXScorpio911 ¦ PHENOM II X4 965 @ 4.02Ghz ¦ SLI GTX 480 1536MB¦ ASUS CROSSHAIR II FORMULA ¦ 4GB OCZ REAPER 1066 5-5-4-8 2T¦ CORSAIR HYDRO H50 ¦ CORSAIR Force 3 120GB ¦ WINDOWS 7 HP 64bit ¦ Musings On The Technical World ¦ Steam
Madness_3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2011, 14:23   #11
Bloody_Pete
Technophile(and yes, thats 724Mb/s)
 
Bloody_Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Guildford born, Bristol living
Posts: 6,048
Bloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming SaiyanBloody_Pete is a Super Spamming Saiyan
All I monitor is the temps for my CPU/GPU, as I know exactly their loads from the temp :P I can see my Cyclone res, so I know my pumps still working, and I can see my fans so I know they're working...
__________________
i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz (1.28v) on custom water loop/ Watercooling how-to, Asus Maximus 5 Gene, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1600MHz (2 black, 2 red), Asus 780 Posiedon Platinium, 512GB Crucial Mx1000, 3 x Samsung F1 1TB in RAID 5, Xigmatek Elysium, Enermax Revolution 85+ 850W, Corsair K60, Corsair SP2500 speakers, Dell U2311H & Asus VK222W.
Bloody_Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2011, 17:18   #12
Nexxo
Whatever's Geek.
 
Nexxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 26,162
Nexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming Saiyan
All the important stuff (courtesy of Speedfan and Samurize) is on a 5" TFT in the bezel of my PC. I have a flow sensor pretending it's a fan to the mobo so I can see the coolant flow in litres per minute.

Not that I need to. I like my PC setup "run and forget". I want to do things on it, not to it all the time.
__________________
In memory of Kidmod-Southpaw (1997 - 2014)
a fellow geek, modder, dreamer of dreams
https://www.justgiving.com/kidmod
Nexxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2011, 08:34   #13
DarkLord7854
Pew pew lazerz
 
DarkLord7854's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 4,643
DarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run Crysis
I actually have a few ESA certified components, and on the rare occasion that I need to check things, it comes in quite handy.

Otherwise though, it's useless and I don't even have it plugged in unless I need to use it for something, granted, that's only if I remember I have the ESA stuff at the time
__________________
Asus P9X79 Deluxe | i7 3930K | 2x Asus GTX760 | 3x OCZ Agility3 240GB SSD - 1x WB Black 1Tb | G.Skill Ripjaws Z 32GB DDR3-1866 | Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi | Thermaltake Level10GT
DarkLord7854 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2011, 12:38   #14
Black Eyed
Mammifère blanc et noir
 
Black Eyed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Black Eyed has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I like the idea of everything integrated but just can't ever be bothered to check. If it doesn't crash, I don't complain these days. I'm not sure why ESA failed, anyone know?

Nexxo - wouldn't that data be more useful on your desktop, or at least in front of you though, rather than down on your PC?
Black Eyed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:10.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.