bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23rd Jan 2011, 11:53   #1
arcticstoat
Who is the Milkman?
 
arcticstoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 916
arcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysis
Synology DiskStation DS211j Review

The successor to the excellent DS210j doesn't disappoint.

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/sto...s211j-review/1
__________________
Ben Hardwidge
Custom PC Editor
arcticstoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2011, 12:09   #2
Technobod
Finally bought a desktop :D
 
Technobod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sussex <UK>
Posts: 234
Technobod is definitely a rep cheat.Technobod is definitely a rep cheat.Technobod is definitely a rep cheat.Technobod is definitely a rep cheat.Technobod is definitely a rep cheat.Technobod is definitely a rep cheat.Technobod is definitely a rep cheat.Technobod is definitely a rep cheat.Technobod is definitely a rep cheat.Technobod is definitely a rep cheat.Technobod is definitely a rep cheat.
Suprisingly quick compared to the much more expensive Qnap boxes. I just wonder how an old home pc with FreeNAS on it would compete...
__________________
[i5-4690K][RANGER][16GB][AX760][2xM4 128GB (RAID0)][450D][8.1-Pro][U2414H]
[EK Supremacy][EK X3 150][D5 Vario EK Top][EK 240+ST30 360]
[HP N40L][Neo@1.5GHz][6GB][4x3TB (RAIDZ2)][2TB+250GB][UbuntuServer]

[Weihrauch HW100S .22 + HW100KT .177 + HW97K .22][Hawke Panoramas 4x-12x x3]
Technobod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2011, 12:16   #3
Matticus
...
 
Matticus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,271
Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.
In power consumption and volume alone, the DS211j would be the winner for me.

Why are there no power consumption graphs? I assume the specified power consumption is quite accurate with such a closed system, but it would be nice to see at a glance.
__________________
::i5 - 750::P55M-UD2::8GB Corsair::5850::CM Silent Pro Gold::F3 1TB::OCZ Vertex 2E::
::giffgaff::
Matticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2011, 12:20   #4
Glider
/dev/null
 
Glider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,173
Glider is definitely a rep cheat.Glider is definitely a rep cheat.Glider is definitely a rep cheat.Glider is definitely a rep cheat.Glider is definitely a rep cheat.Glider is definitely a rep cheat.Glider is definitely a rep cheat.Glider is definitely a rep cheat.Glider is definitely a rep cheat.Glider is definitely a rep cheat.Glider is definitely a rep cheat.
I have a DS410, best NAS ever!
__________________
There Are 10 Types Of People, Those Who Know Binary and Those Who Don't
Glider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2011, 13:31   #5
wuyanxu
still wants Homeworld 3
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N London
Posts: 10,055
wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glider View Post
I have a DS410, best NAS ever!
and i have the Ds410j, cheaper model, still best NAS ever!

the best part about Synology NAS is that no matter which model you buy, you will always get the fantastic DSM firmware. it's so easy to use, with so many options. it does everything you'll ever need from a NAS.
__________________
i7 2700k \ 16GB \ gtx580 \ D2x \ z68x-UD5 \ m4 128GB +2TB \ Ax850 \ FT02-RW \ G15+G5+G51 \ U2711
X100 \ 5D mkII \ 70-200 L \ 24-105 L \ 17-40 L \ 85/1.8 \ 270ExII \ 430ExII \ X1.1a \ Hadley Pro -- Photostreamr
wuyanxu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2011, 15:55   #6
The Bodger
Supermodder
 
The Bodger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 421
The Bodger has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matticus View Post
Why are there no power consumption graphs? I assume the specified power consumption is quite accurate with such a closed system, but it would be nice to see at a glance.
I had a look on the Synology website and found the following data published for the DS211j:

Power Consumption: 25W(Access); 10W(HDD Hibernation). These numbers include the power used by two Seagate 750GB ST3750640NS hard drives. While I admit that real - world power consumption testing from Bit - Tech would be nice, I would like to think that the manufacturers specs were realistic, and I am pleased to see that Synology saw it fit to publish them.

I've been looking for a simple, affordable NAS box for some time now, and low power consumption is one of my key specifications. After all, in a home environment, the NAS is going to spend most of its life asleep, wasting whatever power it uses while in standby. Whilst this is not as low - power as the home brew NAS bos I have built around a 1 - 2 Watt ARM processor and ARM Linux, I have to admit that I am very tempted to buy this due to its superior performance, ease of use and long list of useful features, which would take me a very long time to implement and debug using my current solution.
The Bodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2011, 21:18   #7
Cthippo
Can't mod my way out of a paper bag
 
Cthippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 6,218
Cthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobod View Post
Suprisingly quick compared to the much more expensive Qnap boxes. I just wonder how an old home pc with FreeNAS on it would compete...
Mine is a Via C7 based system that does everything this box does, and has a GB NIC. I didn't spend much more than this, either. These stand-alone NICs are quicker and easier than a DIY one, but not necessarily better. A decent older PC running FreeNAS will go a long ways.

I think my power consumption is something like 40W with everything running and 15W in standby.
__________________
Notice: If we see you flaming we will assume you are on fire and take appropriate measures
- The Bit-Tech Fire Brigade.
Cthippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2011, 23:49   #8
Andy Mc
I *am* a Dremel
 
Andy Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: In a house.
Posts: 1,644
Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.
How can this score so highly with such poor network speeds?
__________________

Andy Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2011, 00:39   #9
Sterkenburg
To mod or not to mod...
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61
Sterkenburg has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The network performance is inherently included in each of the tests, because it's a NAS. Why do you think there are network speed issues?
__________________
i7 920 | Asus P6T | 6GB OCZ 1333 | 1TB Spinpoint F1 | Corsair 750w | HD 5770 1GB | NEC 23" IPS x2 | Fractal Design Define R3
Sterkenburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2011, 01:11   #10
Andy Mc
I *am* a Dremel
 
Andy Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: In a house.
Posts: 1,644
Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sterkenburg
The network performance is inherently included in each of the tests, because it's a NAS. Why do you think there are network speed issues?
The large file write speed,35.1MB/sec

On a gig network that write speed is terrible in my opinion. I got write speeds of 50+MB/sec on an old box I used for downloads. This was over ftp for large files and that was on an old P3 (900mhz with 384mb SD ram). Yes it had more memeory but it was slower ram, slower cpu and was running a full Xubuntu install too.
I really cant justify getting a consumer NAS over any old PC hardware built as a NAS.
__________________


Last edited by Andy Mc; 24th Jan 2011 at 01:24.
Andy Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2011, 02:08   #11
Cleggmeister
Of reasonable knowledge...
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Glasgow, but my heart is in Dunwall..
Posts: 1,074
Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Cleggmeister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Yawn, it copies files at xx mb per sec. What media server apps does it employ, how are they, will it act as a proper uPnP media server?... Come on bit tech, post a proper review FFs.
__________________
Pooting: Antec 300, P6T SE, i7 920 (3.20), Corsair F120SSD, 3x1TB HDD, 9Gb (1600XMP), GTX560Ti 2Gb (880/1760/2100), Win7 x64. Raspberry Pi B with OpenElec.
Grooving: Linn LP12, Klimax DS, Klimax Kontrol, Aktiv Akubariks. Linn Sekrit DSI +104's + Velodyne sub
Watching: Raspberry Pi running OpenELEC to 50" Panasonic.
Serving: HP Proliant Microserver N40L running Openmediavault.
Cleggmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2011, 10:43   #12
Phalanx
Needs more dragons and stuff.
 
Phalanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,712
Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I've had this NAS for about 3 months now and it's simply amazing. I've recommended it over and over again. Synology are quickly becoming the go-to people for these kinds of things.
__________________
XBOX Live!: Ph4lanx | Steam: Catachan
I'm an author! ChrisDamico.co.uk
Phalanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2011, 11:01   #13
RonanH
mod-envious
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 88
RonanH has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I have the older DS210J and I can vouch for the reliability, ease of use and general all round amazingness of these NAS boxes.

As someone said these NAS all use the same software which is a delight to use. Very simple to set up and use and has more options that you could ever want all at the click of a mouse. I use mine as a bit torrent station and media streamer.

There are apps to control downloads via Android and iPhone, and stream audio to these too. It has a built in web server with php and sql. It's an FTP server, iSCSI server, itunes server, uPnP server, the list goes on and on...
RonanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2011, 11:38   #14
kenco_uk
I unsuccessfully then tried again
 
kenco_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bourne, Lincolnshire, UK
Posts: 9,696
kenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Why are the transfer speeds generally so limited on nas boxes? It should be limited purely by hdd speeds, surely? Transferring to a 7200rpm 3.5" drive should saturate a gigabit connection these days.

I have a WHS server and a desktop and over a gigabit network, I can get around 75MB/s which is limited by the speed of the drive in the server (a 2.5" sata).
__________________
formaggio gāteau
kenco_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2011, 13:30   #15
Salty Wagyu
moo
 
Salty Wagyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 449
Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenco_uk View Post
Why are the transfer speeds generally so limited on nas boxes? It should be limited purely by hdd speeds, surely? Transferring to a 7200rpm 3.5" drive should saturate a gigabit connection these days.

I have a WHS server and a desktop and over a gigabit network, I can get around 75MB/s which is limited by the speed of the drive in the server (a 2.5" sata).
Most premade NAS boxes seem to have bad transfer rates, probably because of the cheapo specs they use. Although if some of them have jumbo frame support you can use that to increase throughput and decrease CPU utilization, but I haven't tested this. Downside is your switch and other PCs will need Jumbo frames enabled too to benefit from this.

I'm going for an easier route though with the i3 HTPC I'm building next month, I'm popping a 2TB drive in there so I can be sure I'll get 90-110 MB/sec transfer rates.
__________________
Main System & HTPC Specs
Salty Wagyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2011, 21:48   #16
Cthippo
Can't mod my way out of a paper bag
 
Cthippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 6,218
Cthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming SaiyanCthippo is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I think a lot of the NAS boxes also use very low spec processors, which becomes a bottleneck. Even an old low-end CPU has more computational grunt than what these boxes do, and if you're using a lightweight NAS OS then nearly all of the CPU is available to the box.
__________________
Notice: If we see you flaming we will assume you are on fire and take appropriate measures
- The Bit-Tech Fire Brigade.
Cthippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jan 2011, 20:29   #17
Nelviticus
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Nelviticus has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The main reason that the cheaper NAS boxes are slower is so that they don't cut into sales of the more expensive NAS boxes.
Nelviticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2011, 01:28   #18
Ciber
Multimodder
 
Ciber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 100
Ciber has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Can this NAS be used as a squeezebox server?
__________________
BF3 - Maxson
BFBC2 - CiberWulf
Ciber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2011, 03:01   #19
Phalanx
Needs more dragons and stuff.
 
Phalanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,712
Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Yes it can. You download the squeezebox attachment from their site and implement it. Job done.
__________________
XBOX Live!: Ph4lanx | Steam: Catachan
I'm an author! ChrisDamico.co.uk
Phalanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:25.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.