bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Feb 2011, 14:44   #1
arcticstoat
Who is the Milkman?
 
arcticstoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 916
arcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysis
AMD rejects smartphone market

AMD's temporary CEO reveals AMD's strategy for tablets, smartphones and APUs.

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...phone-market/1
__________________
Ben Hardwidge
Custom PC Editor
arcticstoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 15:07   #2
Unicorn
Uniform November India
 
Unicorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 11,913
Unicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Seifert
not developing a baseband [telephone] chip because we can't compete with the manufacturers who supply Apple, Blackberry and Samsung with their mobile chips and this is costing us millions ...AMD couldn't successfully enter the smartphone space if they threw everything they had at it....’
Fixed that for you Thomas.

I'm not putting them down, I love AMD as a company and personally use, sell and recommend many of their products but I just don't see them even making a dent in the smartphone market. They're about 18 months (at the least?) too late to even think about trying it, which is a shame because if they had got their foot in the door they'd have provided a great product and made a lot of money on it, possibly even wiping Intels eye a little.

[edit]

Sorry, I just realized that the phrase "Wipe your eye" is primarily a Northern Irish expression. It means "to get the better of" or "upstage"
__________________

"For every stalwart bit-tech-worthy tech out there, another 2 cretinous arse-scratchers are out there pulling your patches and reconfiguring your ****." - Krikkit

Last edited by Unicorn; 18th Feb 2011 at 15:21.
Unicorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 16:37   #3
Snips
I can do dat, giz a job
 
Snips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: wiv me kids
Posts: 1,897
Snips is a Super Spamming SaiyanSnips is a Super Spamming SaiyanSnips is a Super Spamming SaiyanSnips is a Super Spamming SaiyanSnips is a Super Spamming SaiyanSnips is a Super Spamming SaiyanSnips is a Super Spamming SaiyanSnips is a Super Spamming SaiyanSnips is a Super Spamming SaiyanSnips is a Super Spamming SaiyanSnips is a Super Spamming Saiyan
"Has the Sandy Bridge chipset flaw prompted you to wait until the Llano launch before upgrading?"

Errrrr???? No

Tom Seafart "1 Chicken...2 Chickens.....3 Chickens.....4 Chickens.....wow this is easy"

His PA "But Tom, you're counting easter eggs!"

Tom Seafart "Yes I know damn it but by the time they hatch, I would have already resigned!"
Snips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 16:48   #4
blink
stay cold
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Illinois, U.S.
Posts: 26
blink has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
"Interestingly, Seifert also claims that this chip architecture is ‘vastly superior' to Intel’s Sandy Bridge CPUs. While Seifert discussed a demonstration of a quad-core Llano APU running at 1.8GHz, a representative from AMD told PC Mag that ‘Seifert did not mean to imply that that was the speed that Llano would run at.’ This is a shame, as a 1.8GHz processor that could match the epic performance of a 3GHz+ Sandy Bridge CPU really would be exciting."

What does this even mean then? What is vastly superior about it? Because there is not a reality that I can conceive of in which a 1.8GHz AMD APU can get anywhere close to a 3GHz+ Intel chip in terms of processing power. Are we talking about video superiority again? I am getting tired of waiting around for what I am becoming increasingly fearful will be another major let-down from AMD. They need to put out some numbers and in a hurry too or I am simply going to assume they are full of **** and move on. What speed are the chips going to run at and how does it compare? What is the power consumption going to be like, etc.? All of these grandiose proclamations are wearing thin.
blink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 18:14   #5
Unicorn
Uniform November India
 
Unicorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 11,913
Unicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming SaiyanUnicorn is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Did you think Phenom X6 was a disappointment, or are you referring to an earlier architecture?
__________________

"For every stalwart bit-tech-worthy tech out there, another 2 cretinous arse-scratchers are out there pulling your patches and reconfiguring your ****." - Krikkit
Unicorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 18:32   #6
Krayzie_B.o.n.e.
Supermodder
 
Krayzie_B.o.n.e.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 427
Krayzie_B.o.n.e. has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
AMD should concentrate on what they are doing now, and concentrate a little harder. Even with the bad Sandy Bridge chipsets I have Zero interest in Bulldozer. AMD makes a great product at a great price but when it comes to wanting the best, AMD can't compete with Intel.
__________________
Waiting on Sandy bridge and Bulldozer to upgrade.

AMD Phenom II X2 550 @ 3.9ghz, Gigabyte 790gp-UD4H, 2 XFX ATi HD 4890 @ 1ghz crossfire, 4gb OCZ Ram, 2 WD 250gb HD, Raidmax Smilodon, HP w233h + HP MX50
Krayzie_B.o.n.e. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 18:37   #7
Krayzie_B.o.n.e.
Supermodder
 
Krayzie_B.o.n.e.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 427
Krayzie_B.o.n.e. has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unicorn
Did you think Phenom X6 was a disappointment, or are you referring to an earlier architecture?
Yes I think it's a disappointment. It's still second fiddle to the age old Core i7 920 and even a Core i5 can surpass it in a lot of test. Overclocking performance? The X6 can't keep up. Now on the other hand it does an awesome job for a great price but if you own a Core i5 i7 or a AMD x4 965 then you never needed to upgrade.
__________________
Waiting on Sandy bridge and Bulldozer to upgrade.

AMD Phenom II X2 550 @ 3.9ghz, Gigabyte 790gp-UD4H, 2 XFX ATi HD 4890 @ 1ghz crossfire, 4gb OCZ Ram, 2 WD 250gb HD, Raidmax Smilodon, HP w233h + HP MX50
Krayzie_B.o.n.e. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 19:08   #8
dicobalt
Multimodder
 
dicobalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 167
dicobalt has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Llano superior to Sandy Bridge? He probably means the GPU portion is superior. I wouldn't place any bets that the CPU portion of Llano is faster than Sandy Bridge. Honestly if I want a real GPU I will use a discreet chip, integrated graphics always have and always will suck in comparison.

Last edited by dicobalt; 18th Feb 2011 at 19:18.
dicobalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 20:10   #9
frontline
Punish Your Machine
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 825
frontline has yet to learn the way of the Dremelfrontline has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I guess that being an interim CEO gives you the opportunity to say what you want without worrying about any repercussions!

Personally, i think that AMD have got enough irons in the fire aimed at various markets for them not to have to get involved with yet another market that they would be starting from scratch on. It makes sense for them to concentrate on the low power Netbook/Ultra-portable sector, the server market and then home PC's.

I see their new ad campaign has a less than subtle dig at Sandy Bridge's chipset woes

http://sites.amd.com/us/promo/sub/Pa...ng-stable.aspx

I should get an annual bonus of some sort at the end of March, so if a fixed Sandy Bridge is out by then, i may well be tempted by an upgrade.
__________________
Intel Core i7 2600K| Asus P8P67-M PRO R3 | Corsair H70 Hydro Series CPU Cooler |Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz XMS3 Memory Kit CL9 1.65V | Sapphire HD 6990 4GB GDDR5 | Crucial M225 128Gb SSD | Asus Xonar DX | LG W2261VP | Corsair GS800 PSU
frontline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 20:17   #10
Xyllian
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 21
Xyllian has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Amd should add this to the ad:

AMD INTEL
Working chipset YES NO

Just to throw a punch at Intel ^^
Xyllian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2011, 23:21   #11
bobwya
Custom PC Migrant
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 193
bobwya has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
What does this even mean then? What is vastly superior about it? Because there is not a reality that I can conceive of in which a 1.8GHz AMD APU can get anywhere close to a 3GHz+ Intel chip in terms of processing power. ...[/QUOTE]

3.0 Ghz P4 (northwood) vs 1.8 Ghz Llano II (4-core) - AMD wins in current (cough) simulation runs :-)
bobwya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 01:29   #12
mattbailey
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 120
mattbailey has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
AMd need be realistic - you can power my calculator.......
mattbailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 06:01   #13
l3v1ck
really joined on Dec 24th 2004.
 
l3v1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Right Side of the Pennines
Posts: 12,895
l3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
This statement from AMD makes perfect sense to me.
If they wanted to get into smart phones, they have to:

A) Design their own architecture from scratch - Very very expensive, with no guarentee it would be more powerful/power efficient than ARM.
or

B) License ARM and build their chips, a bit like Nvidia has - But then AMD spun off all it's manufacturing plants as Global Founderies. It can't make them itself. Why would they waste money slapping an AMD logo on an ARM designed chip (that's manufactured by somebody) else when the market is already floded with ARM chips?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sifter3000
We swung the banhammer in his little stupid spamming face
The old Dennis Forums (CPC, PC Pro, Mac User etc) - Meeting Place lives on. You're welcome to visit it HERE
l3v1ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 19:25   #14
Turbotab
I don't touch type, I tard type
 
Turbotab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,222
Turbotab has yet to learn the way of the DremelTurbotab has yet to learn the way of the DremelTurbotab has yet to learn the way of the DremelTurbotab has yet to learn the way of the DremelTurbotab has yet to learn the way of the DremelTurbotab has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
These higher-end APUs are going to be almost pointless, too weak graphically for HD level - AA enabled gaming, where a discrete card will still be needed, yet complete overkill for flash acceleration / media encoding, at which Intel's quicksync already does a good job.

Now the low power Bobcat, that is a different ballgame. One of those in a netbook, with a 720p screen would be funky. Just a shame that it's 2011 not 2009 and everybody wants a tablet / uberphone for mobile computing.
Turbotab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Feb 2011, 03:28   #15
McSteel
Shape Memory Alloy
 
McSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 40
McSteel has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I'm usually able to be a smartass and claim how I'd do this and that differently, thus making <company or brand> much better and hugely successful... In AMD's case, no matter how much money and freedom in decision making they gave me, I just can't see how I could help them pull out of continual failing. They have managed to accumulate around 2 years of lag, and that's ETERNITY in IT, for all intents and purposes. This, of course, goes for their CPU business. Their GPU division might have a fight on their hands right now, but their sales are steady, and their team competent, so all is well...
McSteel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Feb 2011, 09:50   #16
The_Beast
I like wood ಠ_ಠ
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,379
The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!The_Beast - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krayzie_B.o.n.e. View Post
AMD should concentrate on what they are doing now, and concentrate a little harder. Even with the bad Sandy Bridge chipsets I have Zero interest in Bulldozer. AMD makes a great product at a great price but when it comes to wanting the best, AMD can't compete with Intel.
Even with the sandy bridge error, I'm still looking to upgrade to a SB system rather than a AMD system
__________________
- i7 3770k - MSI Z77A-GD65 - EVGA GTX 570 - 8Gb G.Skill Sniper (1.25v) - Fractal R3 Black - Corsair H50 - Corsair 750HX - Samsung 830 128Gb SSD - 6 Samsung F4EG 2TB - 2 WD Black 1TB - 2 WD Black 750GB - Dell UltraSharp U2410 - WASD V1 Custom - IBM Model M SSK - KBC Poker (Ergo-Clears) - Logitech Mx518 & G500 - Audio Technica AD700 - Logitech Z4 - Windows 7 Pro -
The_Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Feb 2011, 18:22   #17
beholder143
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
beholder143 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicobalt View Post
Llano superior to Sandy Bridge? He probably means the GPU portion is superior. I wouldn't place any bets that the CPU portion of Llano is faster than Sandy Bridge. Honestly if I want a real GPU I will use a discreet chip, integrated graphics always have and always will suck in comparison.
I am fairly sure he was referring to the GPU portion.
beholder143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:31.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.