bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th Jun 2011, 12:47   #1
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,339
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Blizzard hiring PS3 developers for Diablo 3

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/gaming/...for-diablo-3/1
__________________
----------------

I was Bit-tech's Games Editor. Now I'm freelance. Find me at:

www.joemartinwords.com

@joethreepwood on Twitter
CardJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 12:53   #2
jcb121
Modder
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 62
jcb121 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Looks lame.
jcb121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 13:13   #3
Salty Wagyu
moo
 
Salty Wagyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 449
Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Err well I hope this doesn't dumb down the PC version of Diablo 3. Crysis 2 anyone?
__________________
Main System & HTPC Specs
Salty Wagyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 13:15   #4
JonBoyJ
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
JonBoyJ has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
no your lame lol
JonBoyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 13:23   #5
FelixTech
Robot
 
FelixTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London
Posts: 346
FelixTech has yet to learn the way of the DremelFelixTech has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
'fuelling speculation'? Seems like a pretty clear statement of intention! Although it may be quite Blizzard-like to have a go at porting it and then give up if they're not happy with the port.
__________________
Use ClickMechanic for car repairs and servicing!
Play Animal Shogi for free on Android!
FelixTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 13:30   #6
docodine
killed a guy once
 
docodine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,071
docodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for president
There go any chances of Diablo III being good.
docodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 13:46   #7
Faunus
Multimodder
 
Faunus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 87
Faunus can run CrysisFaunus can run CrysisFaunus can run CrysisFaunus can run CrysisFaunus can run CrysisFaunus can run CrysisFaunus can run CrysisFaunus can run CrysisFaunus can run CrysisFaunus can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by docodine
There go any chances of Diablo III being good.
Not so. D3 afaik has been under dev for the PC for many years. What this indicates is that the PC release is winding up and the PS3 version is going to be based on the PC version, rather than the other way around.

I have confidence that Blizzard aren't going to console-trend this game.
__________________
My hardware changes so frequently, there is almost no point in posting my specs. Instead, know that I own too many computers, that are nearly always turned on, and nearly never under any load.

$ chown -R nobody:nobody /
Faunus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 14:24   #8
tozsam
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 80
tozsam has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
do PS owers even know what Diablo is?
tozsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 14:28   #9
Tomhyde1986
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Guildford, UK
Posts: 311
Tomhyde1986 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tomhyde1986 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tomhyde1986 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tomhyde1986 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tomhyde1986 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tomhyde1986 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tomhyde1986 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tomhyde1986 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tomhyde1986 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tomhyde1986 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tomhyde1986 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I don't really see this as a bad thing. Diablo 3 will still be great.

Torchlight turned out fine on consoles. It kinda proved with enough effort and care a point and click RPG can be made to work on a control pad.

From a graphical point of view I doubt there will be a massive difference between a console and the PC due to the stylized nature of the graphics.

I guess having it on two platforms also gives me more opportunities to play with my mates as they aren't PC gamers.

Mostly its a win win situation as far as I can see. It just depends on how the port is handled.
Tomhyde1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 14:52   #10
Digi
The not-so-funny Cockney
 
Digi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Only cockney in DK
Posts: 1,451
Digi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run CrysisDigi can't run Crysis
Just bring out the bloody game already! Gah...!
__________________
i5 3570k with a H100 on top / Asus Sabertooth Z77 / EVGA GTX 670 2gb SC / 8gb Corsair Veng 1866 / 128gb Crucial M4 / Seasonic 80+ 750w / Fractal R3 / 1TB Samsung F3 x2


A member of a mystical group of master-gamers. Find them hiding at www.tunedgaming.co.uk
Digi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 14:54   #11
Speed
I'm all you need!
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Yate near Bristol SW England
Posts: 2,990
Speed is definitely a rep cheat.Speed is definitely a rep cheat.Speed is definitely a rep cheat.Speed is definitely a rep cheat.Speed is definitely a rep cheat.Speed is definitely a rep cheat.Speed is definitely a rep cheat.Speed is definitely a rep cheat.Speed is definitely a rep cheat.Speed is definitely a rep cheat.Speed is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tozsam View Post
do PS owers even know what Diablo is?
Yeah, its called xBox...
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 14:59   #12
Picarro
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Picarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 3,331
Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
No. NO NO NO. No. NOOOOOO. **** this.
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 5gHz -:- Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 -:- 2x4 gbCorsair Vengeance 1,5v 1600mHz -:- Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 670 -:- Crucial M4 128 gb -:- Samsung F3 Spinpoint 640 gb -:- Corsair H60 with 2x Gentle Typhoon 1850 in push-pull -:- Corsair HX650 -:- Lian Li A05FN -:- Dell U2410 flanked by 2x Dell U2001FP -:- BenQ W1000+ -:-
Picarro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:14   #13
Arkanrais
Supermodder
 
Arkanrais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wangamadness, New Zealand
Posts: 406
Arkanrais has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Am I the only one who played the original Diablo on the playstation and saw the original Starcraft on the N64?
Blizzard have done console games before, and they didnt harm the games PC release at all. I remember wondering whether it was worth saving my game on diablo and having the save data take up a whole memory card, or if to just save my character and only use 1 memory block. I also remember playing 2 player coop Diablo on the ps1 and it worked just fine.
I didnt play starcraft 64 though, but knowing blizzard, they most likely pulled it off pretty well on the system.

Maybe if they're going to go the extra mile, they'll support keyboard/mouse for PS3 with Diablo 3 or whatever diablo game they're releasing.
__________________
Visit my youtube page or I'll make you squeal like a piggy and throw a spatula at you.
FEAR THE SPATULA!
What the hell part of a chicken is the nugget?! goddamn McDonalds and their LIES!
Arkanrais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 16:53   #14
flipman
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
flipman has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I played diablo 1 back when i had a ps1 so i think they know diablo on playstation. LoL
I don't like to play these games with a remote i only want a keyboard and mouse for this like the first 2 games was for me, because the ps1 i played didn't feel good when i tried killing the Butcher the first time it was bad
flipman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 17:30   #15
Puzzu
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London
Posts: 73
Puzzu has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I wonder if it would be possible to play with other players on a Console/ PC coop?
Puzzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 17:47   #16
themax
Ultramodder
 
themax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,060
themax has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by tozsam View Post
do PS owers even know what Diablo is?
I remember neither knowing of, nor caring about Blizzard and their games (especially on PC) until I played Diablo on PSOne at a friend's house.
__________________
PSN: Nyne07
Xbox Live: Nine07 (RIP XBOX 360 5/8/2010)
Wii Codes: Too damn many to remember
CoD4 Class "Ghost" - MP5 Silenced/ UAV Jammer/ Silent Step
Shhh be very very qwuiet....I'm hunting snipers....
themax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 20:42   #17
Sloth
#yolo #swag
 
Sloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, US
Posts: 5,634
Sloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I don't see the huge deal for once. It's not like Diablo 3 was setting itself to be graphically sutnning, its current graphics looks like they could easy be scaled down for a PS3 version and, let's be honest, it's not like Diablo games have complex input that would be hindered by consoles. You effectively use two buttons, the rest is just menus.

Not saying that I, as a PC and PS3 ownder, would want to buy the console version over the PC version, just that a port of this game likely wouldn't have many negative side effects.
__________________
Intel i5 2500k | Gelid Tranquillo | ASUS P8P67 | G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB | XFX 7970 Black Edition | SeaSonic X650 | Intel X25-M 160GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | CoolerMaster HAF922
Dell U2412M | 2x Samsung Syncmaster 931B | SteelSeries Siberia V2 | Razer DeathAdder 2013 | Leopold FC200RR/AB | Leopold FC200RC/AB
Sloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 23:06   #18
Emoticon Fury
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 32
Emoticon Fury has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
News flash idiots and haters, Diablo 1 came out for PS1 and it was a fine game for both platforms (I played both)...

http://pwned.com/gamecovers/playstat...835-Diablo.jpg
Emoticon Fury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jun 2011, 16:56   #19
XXAOSICXX
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 528
XXAOSICXX is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitXXAOSICXX is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitXXAOSICXX is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitXXAOSICXX is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitXXAOSICXX is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitXXAOSICXX is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitXXAOSICXX is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitXXAOSICXX is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitXXAOSICXX is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitXXAOSICXX is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitXXAOSICXX is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
News flash, short sighted individuals living in the past...

The last 5 years has seen countless perfectly good (and some perfectly average) games made perfectly unplayable by horrific consolification. Not that I'm suggesting that Blizzard/Activillain won't do a good job of it, by the way...they've developed for PC first and are NOW talking about consoles...

..but...the trend (particularly amongst the big boys - EA/Ubi/Acti/Bioware) is to develop with stupid console controllers in mind and produce menu and user interfaces that would make grown men weep.

Thus, people (PC gamers) are justifiably concerned. And do bear in mind that Blizzard weren't Activision back when they made Diablo 1/2.

</rant>
XXAOSICXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:50.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.