bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th Jun 2011, 14:56   #1
arcticstoat
Who is the Milkman?
 
arcticstoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 916
arcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysis
Silverstone shows off massive TJ12 concept case

Huge concept case from Silverstone takes a ridiculous number of expansion cards.

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...concept-case/1
__________________
Ben Hardwidge
Custom PC Editor
arcticstoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:03   #2
Jipa
Avoiding the "I guess.." since 2004
 
Jipa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 6,285
Jipa can run CrysisJipa can run CrysisJipa can run CrysisJipa can run CrysisJipa can run CrysisJipa can run CrysisJipa can run CrysisJipa can run CrysisJipa can run CrysisJipa can run CrysisJipa can run Crysis
Just the thing for all of us with six graphic cards!

Wait... wat?
__________________
Half a dozen operational setups and truckloads of spare parts.
AllTheMods - MetkuMods - LedCalc - Flickr - BF:BC2
Jipa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:03   #3
Zurechial
Elitist
 
Zurechial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,038
Zurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run CrysisZurechial can run Crysis
I already like the aesthetics of it and it looks to have plenty of surface-space for radiators (which matters more to me than space to accomodate an SR2 or a folding farm's worth of graphics cards).
It's just a shame that, knowing Silverstone, it's likely to very well-made but incredibly expensive.
__________________
Main: CM Cosmos II <-> i7 4770k <-> EVGA GTX 780Ti SC <-> Sabertooth Z87 <-> 16GB DDR3 <-> Samsung 840 Pro <-> Crucial M4 <-> Dell U2410 <-> HP ZR24w
Laptop: Core i7 2670QM<-> GTX 570M <-> 8GB DDR3 <-> Crucial M4 <-> XMG P511
Zurechial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:04   #4
tonyd223
king of nothing
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hull
Posts: 316
tonyd223 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
1p - talking point, not consumer focussed... When you think there's so much more they could have showed as a concept other than a big box - poor showing. Two 3 x 120 rads in the base? So where does the airflow go - up or down?
tonyd223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:05   #5
Pete J
The upgrade bug biteth...
 
Pete J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Blighty
Posts: 3,822
Pete J is definitely a rep cheat.Pete J is definitely a rep cheat.Pete J is definitely a rep cheat.Pete J is definitely a rep cheat.Pete J is definitely a rep cheat.Pete J is definitely a rep cheat.Pete J is definitely a rep cheat.Pete J is definitely a rep cheat.Pete J is definitely a rep cheat.Pete J is definitely a rep cheat.Pete J is definitely a rep cheat.
For all you crazy folders out there!
__________________
Lian Li PC-P80B / EVGA X79 Dark / i7 4930K @ 4.2GHz (no HT) / Corsair H80i / 4x4GB Avexir Core Blue Series @ 2400MHz 10-12-12-31-2T / 3x SLI EVGA 3GB GTX 780 @1075MHz Core 7000MHz Memory / X-Fi Titanium Professional / 2 x 250GB Samsung 840 / 120GB Vertex 2 / 480GB Vertex 2 / 2TB WD Caviar Green / Silverstone Strider 1500W / Asus PQ321QE / Dell 3007WFP-HC / Headphones TBA / Logitech MK710 and MX3200 / Sidewinder Force Feedback 2 / Datacolor Spyder3 / Win 7 Ultimate x64 / Gigabyte P34G V2
Pete J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:07   #6
Phalanx
Needs more dragons and stuff.
 
Phalanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,712
Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyd223
So where does the airflow go - up or down?
I would imagine up by default, unless you flip the fans. However the FT02 showed that the flow system in use is really good... For air cooling at least.
__________________
XBOX Live!: Ph4lanx | Steam: Catachan
I'm an author! ChrisDamico.co.uk
Phalanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:13   #7
r3loaded
Ultramodder
 
r3loaded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,076
r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.
Ol' Mac Donald had a folding farm, E-I-E-I-O.
And on that farm he had some GTX 580s, E-I-E-I-O!
__________________
Main: Silverstone FT03 | Asus P8P67-M Pro | i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz | CM 212+ | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz | XFX Radeon 7970 DD | 500GB Samsung 840 Evo | CM Silent Pro Gold 600W | Samsung XL2270HD | KBT Race (brown switches) | Sidewinder X8 | Arch Linux + Windows 8.1
Server: Asus M3N78-AM | Athlon II X3 400e | 4GB Corsair XMS2 | 4x 2TB Samsung F4EG (RAID-5) | LSI MegaRAID 8708EM2 | Corsair CX400 | Arch Linux
r3loaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:14   #8
DriftCarl
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 523
DriftCarl has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Looks like an ideal case where a home user could mine some bitcoins on 6 AMD cards.
DriftCarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:21   #9
Parge
ITX FTW
 
Parge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9,228
Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.
If I was rich I'd buy an atom board and put it in this for comedy value.
__________________

Parvum ITX - 3570k - GTX 770 - Asus P8Z77-I ITX - 8GB Tactical Tracer - 256GB SSD - 480GB SSD - H80
Parge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:31   #10
Christopher N. Lew
Folding in memory of my father
 
Christopher N. Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,344
Christopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for president
Only one exhaust fan on the top, but two intakes below the graphics cards. What's supposed to happen to all the hot air?

Last edited by Christopher N. Lew; 6th Jun 2011 at 15:47. Reason: spelling
Christopher N. Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:32   #11
lilgoth89
Captin Calliope
 
lilgoth89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lichfield UK
Posts: 1,694
lilgoth89 is definitely a rep cheat.lilgoth89 is definitely a rep cheat.lilgoth89 is definitely a rep cheat.lilgoth89 is definitely a rep cheat.lilgoth89 is definitely a rep cheat.lilgoth89 is definitely a rep cheat.lilgoth89 is definitely a rep cheat.lilgoth89 is definitely a rep cheat.lilgoth89 is definitely a rep cheat.lilgoth89 is definitely a rep cheat.lilgoth89 is definitely a rep cheat.
^^^ HAHAH rep to you sir (parge)

i know this is a concept...but i really...really want one...
not that it would fit on my desk, nor do i have a system that would half fill it...
but it looks AWESOME!!
i hope they put some 3.5in bays in, and some optical drive bays would be nice to
lilgoth89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:32   #12
Hakuren
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 128
Hakuren has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Not only for folders! You can put HDD modules instead of VGAs for "mega-uber-storage-whoring" system.
Hakuren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:33   #13
Phalanx
Needs more dragons and stuff.
 
Phalanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,712
Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher N. Lew View Post
Only one exhaust fan on the top, but two inputs below the graphics cards. What's supposed to happen to all the hot air?
It works. The FT02 has the same setup. The pressure inside the case keeps it moving perfectly fine.
__________________
XBOX Live!: Ph4lanx | Steam: Catachan
I'm an author! ChrisDamico.co.uk
Phalanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:36   #14
matee
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 71
matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.matee is definitely a rep cheat.
Will it play Crysis 3?
matee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:40   #15
Diosjenin
Thinker, Tweaker, Et Cetera
 
Diosjenin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lost in thought
Posts: 777
Diosjenin has yet to learn the way of the DremelDiosjenin has yet to learn the way of the DremelDiosjenin has yet to learn the way of the DremelDiosjenin has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Six dual-slot GPUs with room in between each and only 2.5" drive mounts? What this case would be effing amazing for is a high-powered folding rig.

The only problem I see is the lack of a second PSU mount in stock configuration. Right now you're forced to choose between one PSU and up to six GPUs (not enough power if you get higher-end GPUs) or two PSUs and four GPUs (unnecessary you could power four higher-end GPUs with only one higher-end PSU if you wanted to). Putting two PSU mounts side by side would fix this potential problem, and I think could be done without altering the height of this particular case.

Looks awesome, though. If I was ever building a folding rig, this case would be at the top of my list.


- Diosjenin -
__________________
well that post sucked
Diosjenin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:41   #16
CashMoney
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
CashMoney has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I'm I the only one wondering why a this behemoth of a case, running an awesome 6 graphics cards, no doubt for some huge monster graphics .... is using a DVI to VGA adapter?!?
CashMoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:46   #17
thom804
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 121
thom804 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Can you say the first "mass market 1000 case"?

It's probably not the first, but if it does make it to production, by god will it be expensive!
__________________
Asus P67 Sabertooth // Intel 2500k @4.6ghz // 8gb Corsair Vengeance @1600 // XFX 7870 2GB DD edition // 60GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD // 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 HDD // Gelid Tranquillo // Corsair HX 750w PSU // Silverstone FT02B-W
thom804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:49   #18
thom804
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 121
thom804 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3loaded
Ol' Mac Donald had a folding farm, E-I-E-I-O.
And on that farm he had some GTX 580s, E-I-E-I-O!
With a whoosh whoosh here and a whoosh whoosh there,
Here a whoosh there... wh...eve.. oosh whoosh.

Hang on, I can't even sing the song in my head just thinking about the noise this'll produce!
__________________
Asus P67 Sabertooth // Intel 2500k @4.6ghz // 8gb Corsair Vengeance @1600 // XFX 7870 2GB DD edition // 60GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD // 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 HDD // Gelid Tranquillo // Corsair HX 750w PSU // Silverstone FT02B-W
thom804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:51   #19
Unknownsock
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 444
Unknownsock has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
This is completely impractical for my use, but i wants it anyway!
Unknownsock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jun 2011, 15:52   #20
Stotherd-001
Knows what a dremel is. Shock.
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NI.
Posts: 223
Stotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by CashMoney
I'm I the only one wondering why a this behemoth of a case, running an awesome 6 graphics cards, no doubt for some huge monster graphics .... is using a DVI to VGA adapter?!?
No. All that power.... going to VGA. Thats just wasteful. I'm guessing the cards are dedicated to farming rather than actual graphics though.
__________________
I play with lots of phones and watch youtube on them all day. And I get paid an engineers wage for it.

Yeah.
Stotherd-001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:30.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.