1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Budget Build Final Thoughts

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Comrade Penguin, 4 Jul 2011.

1. Comrade Penguin

Comrade Penguin What's a Dremel?

I've previously asked for build advice here and got lots of great advice. Given that was a couple of months ago and things have changed a bit I thought I'd start a new thread rather than bumping the old one.

Budget: About £600 including tower and OS. Being a student I can get Windows 7 for a smidge under £40 leaving around £560 for everything else

Main uses of intended build: Just gaming initally. I have an aging iMac that I'm currently dual booting which is more than capable of doing my web browsing, word processing etc. so I'll keep that for day to day stuff and the new one can be just for gaming plus storage.

Monitor resolution:1920x1080. I'm planning on getting an LG IPS231P to go with this.

Will you be overclocking I imagine I will at some point but I doubt I'll be doing anything too extravagant. However having the option so I can extend the period before another upgrade is very attractive.

So given all that what I'm currently thinking is the following (prices from Scan):

Processor: i5 2500K Retail £163.40
    Motherboard: MSI P67A-GD53 £104.00 (OOS)
    RAM: 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600 XMS3 £28.99
    PSU: 450W XFX P1-450S-XXB9 Core Edition £37.18
    HDD: Samsung F3 1TB £39.56
    GPU: XFX HD 6870 BE £129.59 (Today Only)
    Case: Xigmatek Asguard Black £29.98
    Other: DVD drive +wifi card £20.46
    Total: 555.96