bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th Jul 2011, 08:56   #1
arcticstoat
Who is the Milkman?
 
arcticstoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 916
arcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysis
The Problem with Real World Benchmarking

With Nvidia, VIA and AMD exiting from BAPCo, we take a look at real world benchmarking.

http://www.bit-tech.net/bits/softwar...benchmarking/1
__________________
Ben Hardwidge
Custom PC Editor
arcticstoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 09:05   #2
Nexxo
Whatever's Geek.
 
Nexxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 26,507
Nexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming Saiyan
It's overcomplicating things. Why not simply ask:

But can it run Crysis?

EDIT: Oh, and in response to Tularin's post (#4): First!
__________________
In memory of Kidmod-Southpaw (1997 - 2014)
a fellow geek, modder, dreamer of dreams
https://www.justgiving.com/kidmod


Current project: Metaversa 02 Ada.

Last edited by Nexxo; 6th Jul 2011 at 19:39.
Nexxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 09:18   #3
Apocalypso
Fully armed and operational.
 
Apocalypso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Alderaan places.
Posts: 1,141
Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexxo View Post
It's overcomplicating things. Why not simply ask:

But can it run Crysis?
I could justify upgrading our entire estate based on that
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k | ASUS HD 7970 DirectCU II | 8GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz | Crucial M4 128GB | F3 1TB x 2 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | Corsair HX1050 | HAF 932 | Dell U3011
EK Supreme HF | XSPC RX360 | Scythe AP-14's | MCP355
ARCAM rDAC | Matrix M-Stage | KRK RP5 G2 | KRK 10s | Beyerdynamic DT990 600Ω
Apocalypso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 09:21   #4
Tulatin
The Froggy Poster
 
Tulatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,154
Tulatin has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
"But can it run Crysis?"
Congratulations, you're responsible for making the 4,877,921,204th post containing this joke. Unfortunately, it's now less funny than "lolcats". You could have at least wasted your comment by partaking in Internet tradition, spewing "First!" meaninglessly into the world.

If only we could have a time when people contribute meaningful discussion to articles, perhaps wondering if Intel influences Bapco's habit of only focusing on a tiny sliver of the real world?
Tulatin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 09:25   #5
Pete J
RIP Kidmod
 
Pete J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Blighty
Posts: 3,886
Pete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming Saiyan
As pointed out by the article, it's unsurprising that Nvidia and AMD walked out because *puts on whinny voice* 'it doesn't represent GPGPU usage'.

What is typical PC usage? Most of the time I'm using an internet browser with about 10 pages open, outlook, three or so word documents, a few PDFs, an excel spreadsheet with perhaps only 300 cells being used and a couple of paint files. Do I need the latest and greatest hardware to do this? Of course I bloody don't!
__________________
Lian Li PC-P80B / EVGA X79 Dark / i7 4930K @ 4.2GHz (no HT) / Corsair H80i / 4x4GB Avexir Core Blue Series @ 2400MHz 10-12-12-31-2T / 3x SLI EVGA 3GB GTX 780 @1075MHz Core 7000MHz Memory / X-Fi Titanium Professional / 2 x 250GB Samsung 840 / 120GB Vertex 2 / 480GB Vertex 2 / 2TB WD Caviar Green / Silverstone Strider 1500W / Asus PQ321QE / Dell 3007WFP-HC / Headphones TBA / Logitech MK710 and MX3200 / Sidewinder Force Feedback 2 / Datacolor Spyder3 / Win 7 Ultimate x64 / Gigabyte P34G V2
Pete J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 09:28   #6
Apocalypso
Fully armed and operational.
 
Apocalypso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Alderaan places.
Posts: 1,141
Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulatin View Post
"But can it run Crysis?"
Congratulations, you're responsible for making the 4,877,921,204th post containing this joke. Unfortunately, it's now less funny than "lolcats". You could have at least wasted your comment by partaking in Internet tradition, spewing "First!" meaninglessly into the world.

If only we could have a time when people contribute meaningful discussion to articles, perhaps wondering if Intel influences Bapco's habit of only focusing on a tiny sliver of the real world?
Benchmarking Crysis is a necessary tool in the hardware reviewers arsenal and relevant to this article.
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k | ASUS HD 7970 DirectCU II | 8GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz | Crucial M4 128GB | F3 1TB x 2 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | Corsair HX1050 | HAF 932 | Dell U3011
EK Supreme HF | XSPC RX360 | Scythe AP-14's | MCP355
ARCAM rDAC | Matrix M-Stage | KRK RP5 G2 | KRK 10s | Beyerdynamic DT990 600Ω
Apocalypso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 09:41   #7
[USRF]Obiwan
I *am* a Dremel
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,703
[USRF]Obiwan is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[USRF]Obiwan is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[USRF]Obiwan is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[USRF]Obiwan is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[USRF]Obiwan is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[USRF]Obiwan is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[USRF]Obiwan is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[USRF]Obiwan is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[USRF]Obiwan is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[USRF]Obiwan is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[USRF]Obiwan is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I agree with Pete, If you want basic stuff you could do with everything with a PC from 6 years ago. If you want to play the latest games just put in a middle segment recent video-cart and you can play it fine.

I on the other hand have just a amd quadcore with 8gb of ram and a GTX460, all more then capabple to furfill my needs. Like movie editing, fast unpacking of downloaded movies and series, playing games and other regular stuff you normally do. I call that a wise investment.

Why on earth do i want to have a 1200watt PSU feeding quad sli with a i7 990X processor on 32BG ram and a 400 dollar motherboard with lights and knobs on it which i will never use once it is inside the case and a 160GB SSD for which I can buy 6x 2TB drives.

So I can read my mail faster or start my PC faster? yeah right..

For the record, my PC is en sleep-mode 24/7 and starts in 3 seconds with the move of a mouse

When I was young and naive I always wanted the latest and the best. I even bought newer revision of a motherboard, Yeah crazy! I know better now...
__________________
Mascleta: "The most accurate simulation of thunder, humans can simulate..."
The answer is 42, so... whats the question again?
If you know what 'Peek' and 'Poke' represents, then you are probably as old as me.
In 1982 I was addicted to Lady Bug and played it in the local arcade (every day) And yes i'm proud I did that!
[USRF]Obiwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 10:00   #8
Telltale Boy
Designated CPC Jetwhore
 
Telltale Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chichester, UK
Posts: 971
Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.Telltale Boy is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete J View Post
As pointed out by the article, it's unsurprising that Nvidia and AMD walked out because *puts on whinny voice* 'it doesn't represent GPGPU usage'.

What is typical PC usage? Most of the time I'm using an internet browser with about 10 pages open, outlook, three or so word documents, a few PDFs, an excel spreadsheet with perhaps only 300 cells being used and a couple of paint files. Do I need the latest and greatest hardware to do this? Of course I bloody don't!
Says the guy with tri-sli 580s.
__________________
Telltale Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 10:15   #9
DbD
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 285
DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
This is the same benchmark that Intel has had the same say in for many years. It's one that AMD championed for much of that time - making it the standard for government purchasing orders in America. Why did they do that? - because the A64 was a great cpu, it did well in BABCO and hence AMD could win some deals over Intel despite it being the smaller player.

So why are now are they really pulling out?

The strong suspicion is because bulldozer is weak, because if those same government dept's that keep using BABCO AMD will sell nothing. Hence it's not really to do with break down, or gpu compute or any of that it's to do with selling bulldozer. AMD need to minimise use of BABCO for competitive benchmarks of Xeon/SB vs bulldozer. It's all smoke, mirrors and marketing.
DbD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 10:36   #10
SexyHyde
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 458
SexyHyde has yet to learn the way of the DremelSexyHyde has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by DbD
This is the same benchmark that Intel has had the same say in for many years. It's one that AMD championed for much of that time - making it the standard for government purchasing orders in America. Why did they do that? - because the A64 was a great cpu, it did well in BABCO and hence AMD could win some deals over Intel despite it being the smaller player.

So why are now are they really pulling out?

The strong suspicion is because bulldozer is weak, because if those same government dept's that keep using BABCO AMD will sell nothing. Hence it's not really to do with break down, or gpu compute or any of that it's to do with selling bulldozer. AMD need to minimise use of BABCO for competitive benchmarks of Xeon/SB vs bulldozer. It's all smoke, mirrors and marketing.
and nvidia and via walked out, just to show amd some support. buttom line is tech is changing with more cores/threads and some software does run better on gpgpu FACTS and benchmarks should reflect that. why did amd champion it before? because they had better cpus? yes, but everything ran on the cpu back then.
SexyHyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 10:46   #11
Pete J
RIP Kidmod
 
Pete J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Blighty
Posts: 3,886
Pete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming SaiyanPete J is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telltale Boy View Post
Says the guy with tri-sli 580s.
Notepad is very hard to run I'll have you know!

In all seriousness though, if I didn't need to do CAD, I could probably still get away with using my first PC I ever got - 14 years ago. Ah, the good old days of Windows 95.
__________________
Lian Li PC-P80B / EVGA X79 Dark / i7 4930K @ 4.2GHz (no HT) / Corsair H80i / 4x4GB Avexir Core Blue Series @ 2400MHz 10-12-12-31-2T / 3x SLI EVGA 3GB GTX 780 @1075MHz Core 7000MHz Memory / X-Fi Titanium Professional / 2 x 250GB Samsung 840 / 120GB Vertex 2 / 480GB Vertex 2 / 2TB WD Caviar Green / Silverstone Strider 1500W / Asus PQ321QE / Dell 3007WFP-HC / Headphones TBA / Logitech MK710 and MX3200 / Sidewinder Force Feedback 2 / Datacolor Spyder3 / Win 7 Ultimate x64 / Gigabyte P34G V2
Pete J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 10:51   #12
r3loaded
Ultramodder
 
r3loaded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,083
r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.
Here's an idea - how about task-specific benchmarks, with their own individual scores? Interested in video editing? Run a test of VideoMark. Are you running complex financial calculations in Excel or Matlab? Run CalcMark. Do a lot of editing in Photoshop/Lightroom? PhotoMark will help you decide. You get the idea.
__________________
Main: Silverstone FT03 | Asus P8P67-M Pro | i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz | CM 212+ | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz | XFX Radeon 7970 DD | 500GB Samsung 840 Evo | Samsung XL2270HD | KBT Race | Sidewinder X8
Mac: 13 inch MacBook Pro 2014 | 16GB RAM | Filco Minila Air | Magic Trackpad
Server: Asus M3N78-AM | Athlon II X3 400e | 4GB Corsair XMS2 | 4x 2TB Samsung F4EG (RAID-5) | LSI MegaRAID 8708EM2 | Corsair CX400 | Arch Linux
r3loaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 10:57   #13
Autti
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 152
Autti has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Why didn't Bit-tech mention the fact that if you change VIA's cpu ID (which you can) to Intel it gets a higher score (not in 2012 but it was occurring, so to with PC Mark 2005) and it becomes blatantly clear why companies want to leave.

Intel cheat. Flat out. Now i've only ever bought Intel CPU's so fanboi accusations won't work, but its just a fact. Have a look at register and compiler optimizations for Intel in older versions of SuperPi as well.
__________________
Zen and the Art of Modding: an Amateur Foray
2 days since last hospital visit
Autti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 10:57   #14
DbD
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 285
DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.DbD is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SexyHyde
and nvidia and via walked out, just to show amd some support. buttom line is tech is changing with more cores/threads and some software does run better on gpgpu FACTS and benchmarks should reflect that. why did amd champion it before? because they had better cpus? yes, but everything ran on the cpu back then.
Bulldozer doesn't have a gpu.
DbD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 11:02   #15
bob_lewis
Lurker extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 101
bob_lewis is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.bob_lewis is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.bob_lewis is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.bob_lewis is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.bob_lewis is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.bob_lewis is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.bob_lewis is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.bob_lewis is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.bob_lewis is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.bob_lewis is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.bob_lewis is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Good article, thanks BT.
bob_lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 11:16   #16
wuyanxu
still wants Homeworld 3
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N London
Posts: 10,092
wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.
SysMark has always been a CPU benchmark, you want GPGPU, use something else.

call me cynical, but i thought the reason AMD walked out was due to their new processor was unable to compete.


then there's the matter of real world benchmarks. if simple task is all you will do, then why even buy latest CPU or GPU based on benchmarks? how about just buy a tablet? fast-enough computing doesn't need benchmarks, all it needs is a simple user feedback of "can it handle my facebook page".


in summery, i think people focus on the benchmarks way too much. call me Apple fanboy, i value user experience more than underlying hardware, a fast-enough system is the same as fastest system when the software is the same. Also, benchmarks can only tell you A is faster than B at task C. it can never tell / has never told anyone A is always better than B. so what's all the commotion about?
__________________
i7 2700k \ 16GB \ GTX 970 \ D2x \ Z68x-UD5 \ m4 128GB +2TB \ S12G-550 \ FT02-RW \ G15+G5+G51 \ U2711
X100 \ 5D mkII \ 70-200 L \ 24-105 L \ 17-40 L \ 85/1.8 \ 270ExII \ 430ExII \ X1.1a \ Hadley Pro -- Photostreamr
wuyanxu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 11:22   #17
SexyHyde
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 458
SexyHyde has yet to learn the way of the DremelSexyHyde has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by DbD
Quote:
Originally Posted by SexyHyde
and nvidia and via walked out, just to show amd some support. buttom line is tech is changing with more cores/threads and some software does run better on gpgpu FACTS and benchmarks should reflect that. why did amd champion it before? because they had better cpus? yes, but everything ran on the cpu back then.
Bulldozer doesn't have a gpu.
Never said it did. And wouldn't that mean if the score did include gpgpu bulldozer would score less? Amd have a range of cpus, including gpgpu would give a more rounded performance benchmark, excluding it gives a less honest result.
SexyHyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 11:34   #18
Xir
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Xir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saxony / Germany
Posts: 4,160
Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.Xir is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
’When was the last time you completed a 35,000 row spreadsheet?’
Yesterday (no that's a lie, it was only 20,000 rows representing 3 months data)
Quote:
a knowledge worker who mainly spends their time processing email, creating spreadsheets, presentations and other similar documents, as well as web browsing, social networking and viewing YouTube videos
Web browsing, social networking and Youtube are either barely allowed (web browsing) or blocked (social networking and youtube)
Quote:
optical character recognition (OCR) and file compression activities − things an average user will rarely if ever do.
Very true.
Quote:
After all, many businesses are still using Internet Explorer 6, let alone version 8 or 9, and you could also argue that not many people are using GPGPU acceleration on a regular basis yet
Yup, updating on a business scale is a giant pain.
Quote:
The same applies to spreadsheets: how many people run massive calculations on a daily basis?
Well it IS called a business benchmark, not a Joe-average-looking-for-lolcats-videos-benchmark
...
Anyway, a Office and email productivity benchmark would be right for businesses (okay, incorporate SAP maybe)
For "average-user-Joe" we'd need a different benchmark, I agree.
__________________
SN25P
A64 3700+ (San Diego)
2 GB DDR400 OCZ Platinum EL 2-3-2-5 1T
X1800XT 512mb Sapphire
200GB Samsung SP2004C 24" Asus something 1920x1080
Xir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 12:37   #19
Tattysnuc
Thinking about which mod to do 1st.
 
Tattysnuc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,271
Tattysnuc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tattysnuc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tattysnuc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tattysnuc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tattysnuc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tattysnuc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tattysnuc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tattysnuc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tattysnuc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tattysnuc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Tattysnuc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
35k rows in Excel is not unusual. How else do you validate millions of rows of data when building databases, or building reports. It's a valid measure for those of us that use massive amounts of data in our day job.

Benchmarks should be selected based on their appropriateness to you. A portable computer that'll play Crysis may well not yield the battery life that work users crave. It's simply a metric to guide users. Manufacturers have always picked and chosen the grounds on which to pitch their marketing fights, and this is no exception.

If the perfect piece of hardware that does EVERYTHING fastest had been invented, then this wouldn't even be being discussed. Until then, we have to learn to look for trustworthy sourced that bench using applications that are relevant to us. That's why I have a suite of short-cuts to different sites to read their opinions/results.
Tattysnuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2011, 12:48   #20
Saivert
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 381
Saivert has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
okay who is this mystical "average user" you guys are constantly talking about?

Also, for a work PC I got an AMD quad core with 4GB RAM and a GeForce 210 card powering dual 1080p monitors. I mostly do customer support, and registrartion so I need to use Excel a lot, Outlook, several web browsers, PuTTY and other small tools here and there. I also run VMWare to run some older operating systems in case some customer runs older software.

All except VMware would probably fly on a older single core computer with only 1GB RAM.
But this ensures I never have to wait, ever on anything running locally.

I'm nor sure how Sysmark gauges this type of workflow. You would have to have some benchmark framework that would allow you to set up your own tasks to run.
__________________
- I'm the troll who bumps page 2 topics -
Saivert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:42.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.