bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th Aug 2011, 11:17   #1
Baz
I work for Corsair
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Reading
Posts: 1,796
Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Why so many Core i7-2600 flavours?

http://www.bit-tech.net/blog/2011/08...2600-flavours/

Clive asks why there are so many variants of Intel's Core i7-2600 CPU, and why Intel has removed useful features from its high end parts.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 11:33   #2
r3loaded
Ultramodder
 
r3loaded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,080
r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.
I too came across the lack of VT-d on the 2500K while analysing CPU specifications on Intel ARK. The 2500 has it, but the 2500K doesn't. I eventually decided that overclocking and gaming were more important to me than virtualisation, so I chose the 2500K. Doesn't make it any less annoying though.
__________________
Main: Silverstone FT03 | Asus P8P67-M Pro | i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz | CM 212+ | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz | XFX Radeon 7970 DD | 500GB Samsung 840 Evo | Samsung XL2270HD | KBT Race | Sidewinder X8
Mac: 13 inch MacBook Pro 2014 | 16GB RAM | Filco Minila Air | Magic Trackpad
Server: Asus M3N78-AM | Athlon II X3 400e | 4GB Corsair XMS2 | 4x 2TB Samsung F4EG (RAID-5) | LSI MegaRAID 8708EM2 | Corsair CX400 | Arch Linux
r3loaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 11:52   #3
RedFlames
is not KidMod
 
RedFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The northern wastes of Geordieland
Posts: 4,153
RedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming Saiyan
there are 4 flavours of 2500, just to make things even more complicated...

the K - overclocking, better igp, lacks some business-orientated bits [vPro, VT-d]

the vanilla

the S - lower TDP, lower speed [same turbo speed]

the T - even lower TDP, even lower speed [and lower Turbo], lower igp frequency

EDIT: mis-read, you're on about the 2600, the above still applies, except there is no T version of the 2600
__________________
I have the heart of a child... in a jar... on my desk...

RedFlames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 11:52   #4
Ph4ZeD
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,806
Ph4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run Crysis
Welcome to lack of competition Intel's decisions do seem nonsensical, but they know they can get away with it.
Ph4ZeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 12:00   #5
PQuiff
Supermodder
 
PQuiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 557
PQuiff has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
close your eyes. out stretch both arms. start spinning.......stop, choose a chip name/features.

Thats how intel does it.
PQuiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 12:05   #6
wuyanxu
still wants Homeworld 3
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N London
Posts: 10,050
wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.wuyanxu is definitely a rep cheat.
just checked, my CPU can overclock AND also have the said two features

competition Bulldozer can't get here soon enough
__________________
i7 2700k \ 16GB \ gtx580 \ D2x \ z68x-UD5 \ m4 128GB +2TB \ Ax850 \ FT02-RW \ G15+G5+G51 \ U2711
X100 \ 5D mkII \ 70-200 L \ 24-105 L \ 17-40 L \ 85/1.8 \ 270ExII \ 430ExII \ X1.1a \ Hadley Pro -- Photostreamr
wuyanxu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 12:06   #7
Madness_3d
Bit-Tech/Asus OC Winner
 
Madness_3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 984
Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Because you're not looking at their complete range. The 2600K is not their fastest chip. The new 2011 chips will hit the top of the range. Everything below the extreme version will have some level of compromise
__________________
XFXScorpio911 ¦ PHENOM II X4 965 @ 4.02Ghz ¦ SLI GTX 480 1536MB¦ ASUS CROSSHAIR II FORMULA ¦ 4GB OCZ REAPER 1066 5-5-4-8 2T¦ CORSAIR HYDRO H50 ¦ CORSAIR Force 3 120GB ¦ WINDOWS 7 HP 64bit ¦ Musings On The Technical World ¦ Steam
Madness_3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 14:23   #8
mclean007
Officious Bystander
 
mclean007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Nodnol
Posts: 2,009
mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.mclean007 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madness_3d
Because you're not looking at their complete range. The 2600K is not their fastest chip. The new 2011 chips will hit the top of the range. Everything below the extreme version will have some level of compromise
Fine, but (a) they're not available now, so in the consumer space you're forced to choose between overclocking and VT-d/TXT, not both (the better IGP probably isn't a big concern at the high end); and (b) given the different feature sets, why do they share the 2600 name? If it was just that one was unlocked (2600-K) and the other (2600) not, that would be fair, but since the 2600-K also lacks something in the 2600, it seems a bit misleading.
__________________
mclean007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 14:28   #9
mucgoo
I *am* a Dremel
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,574
mucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for president
I think the strangest decision is putting the better IGP within enthusiast K edition hardware while not putting it in the basic versions were the IGP will be used.

Intel realise a 2500k without IGP and use some of that production saving to cut prices by £10?
mucgoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 15:02   #10
Roskoken
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 240
Roskoken is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Roskoken is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Roskoken is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Roskoken is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Roskoken is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Roskoken is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Roskoken is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Roskoken is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Roskoken is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Roskoken is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Roskoken is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Its pretty simple, if your a busines paranoid about security use VT-d

If your a gamer, overclock with a K

Thats about it really.
Roskoken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 15:30   #11
Glix
Left Thumb Stick in the mud.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 278
Glix has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
K for cut?
Glix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 15:37   #12
lamboman
I *am* a Dremel
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,509
lamboman has yet to learn the way of the Dremellamboman has yet to learn the way of the Dremellamboman has yet to learn the way of the Dremellamboman has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It can be confusing, but not misleading IMO.

I've thought it was a bit obvious myself to be honest, with the letters representing different features. They're essentially different ranges, just a bit jumbled. From Wiki:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wikipedia
  • S processors feature lower-than-normal TDP (65 W on 4-core models).
  • T processors feature an even lower TDP (45 W on 4-core models or 35 W on 2-core models).
  • K processors have unlocked turbo multiplier and are designed for overclocking. Other processors will have limited turbo overclocking on a P67 chipset. K processors don't have Intel VT-d and TXT technologies support.
They should have put the letters before the name, but as I said, view them as separate ranges and it isn't a problem. So I completely disagree with the article on that front.

They should have left the virtualisation features on the K models, however.
lamboman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 17:05   #13
azrael-
I'm special...
 
azrael-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 3,805
azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
One could also argue why Intel gets away with selling the Cougar Point chipset in 57 different flavours (like Heinz ketchup), when there's really only one, and bits get fused off as needed ("market demand").
__________________
It's not the end of the world ...but you can see it from here.

Xeon E3-1245 v2 3.4 GHz | ASUS P8C WS | 16GB Kingston ECC DDR3 | Samsung 830 256GB | eVGA GTX670 2GB | SB Audigy | Seasonic X-560 | Corsair Obsidian 550D | Dell 2209WA
azrael- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 17:40   #14
thehippoz
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 5,780
thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
yeah that's pretty lame you have to choose between overclocking and having virtualization support

heck even the g6950 has virtualization. I use it all the time too
thehippoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 17:44   #15
RedFlames
is not KidMod
 
RedFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The northern wastes of Geordieland
Posts: 4,153
RedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming Saiyan
the K does still have VT-x, but not VT-d
__________________
I have the heart of a child... in a jar... on my desk...

RedFlames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 18:01   #16
thehippoz
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 5,780
thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!thehippoz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
oh nm.. your right red
thehippoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2011, 23:51   #17
ZERO <ibis>
Supermodder
 
ZERO <ibis>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 446
ZERO <ibis> has yet to learn the way of the DremelZERO <ibis> has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
If I am buying a xeon I likely am using a SSD for my c:/ drive so why would I need smart response....
__________________
965 @ 4.26GHz-P6T DELUXE-GTX 280@750&1307-DDR3 Triple Channel@1001 MHz-RAID 0 Cheta 15.6k SAS-All Water cooled
IBIS GAMING
ZERO <ibis> is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Aug 2011, 02:28   #18
moo123
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
moo123 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
"The problem is due to Bright’s desire to make a future-proof, fast PC that can run Visual Studio and Battlefield 3 easily."

Intel didn't design Sandy Bridge to be the jack-of-all-trades, this was obviously some marketing decision intended to increase volumes by having "specialized" processors. Either way, I've never been a fan of using a single computer for both work and game.There's just some comfort in having another computer with all your confidential files/designs/etc that your friends and family know not to touch.
moo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Aug 2011, 03:49   #19
Madness_3d
Bit-Tech/Asus OC Winner
 
Madness_3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 984
Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Madness_3d - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by mucgoo View Post
I think the strangest decision is putting the better IGP within enthusiast K edition hardware while not putting it in the basic versions were the IGP will be used.

Intel realise a 2500k without IGP and use some of that production saving to cut prices by £10?
They would save very little if any money. Chances are if the Chip is good enough to be highly overclockable (remember Intel are binning all their Sandybridges) then the IGP also works solidly. It would be pointless to disable bits of it if they're good chips, it wouldn't gain them anything or save them anything. At least this way, anyone who is just out for CPU performance (they do exist) also gets the gain of having all 12 EU's available, even if it is only for Video Encoding or the like. Makes more sense now that Z68 is out and we can see the bigger picture.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mclean007 View Post
Fine, but (a) they're not available now, so in the consumer space you're forced to choose between overclocking and VT-d/TXT, not both (the better IGP probably isn't a big concern at the high end); and (b) given the different feature sets, why do they share the 2600 name? If it was just that one was unlocked (2600-K) and the other (2600) not, that would be fair, but since the 2600-K also lacks something in the 2600, it seems a bit misleading.
I see your point. Technically Intel's leading chip atm is the 990X which supports VT-d but not TXT. As has been said they're catering to more than just the consumer market and you've also got to put it in perspective as a relative scale. Of the S chips, this is the 2600 of the S Series, it supports such and such. The S for example, also has embedded options available and so really can't be put in the same box as other normal chips. All that considered it shares alot with the normal 2600. By the same logic you could say that the i7-2620M should be faster and have the same feature set as the desktop 2600's. But again it's relative to other M chips.
Anyway, on the feature front, what Intel are really saying is, If you want VT-d, TXT and Overclocking then you're going to have to pay "Extreme" prices for it when they're released, and they can do that because they have such massive market dominance in the high performance sector.
__________________
XFXScorpio911 ¦ PHENOM II X4 965 @ 4.02Ghz ¦ SLI GTX 480 1536MB¦ ASUS CROSSHAIR II FORMULA ¦ 4GB OCZ REAPER 1066 5-5-4-8 2T¦ CORSAIR HYDRO H50 ¦ CORSAIR Force 3 120GB ¦ WINDOWS 7 HP 64bit ¦ Musings On The Technical World ¦ Steam

Last edited by Madness_3d; 12th Aug 2011 at 03:57.
Madness_3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Aug 2011, 04:12   #20
jrs77
theorycrafting
 
jrs77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,564
jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.jrs77 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
The biggest mistake was to have the HD3000 only in the K-versions. It's a no-brainer that people who buy the K-version will use a dedicated GPU. The HD3000 would be a perfect match for an i3-2100T tho, as this would be an awesome CPU for a HTPC.
And can someone explain, why all of the notebook-parts have the HD3000 in that regard, while the desktop-parts do not?

It's all a total mess, and that doesn't count for intel alone.
__________________
...and allways remember, that the world is an orange!

Stop using your smartphone as much and look up!
jrs77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:32.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.