bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th Aug 2011, 13:32   #1
Claave
You Rebel scum
 
Claave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 691
Claave has yet to learn the way of the DremelClaave has yet to learn the way of the DremelClaave has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Crucial boosts M4 SSD speed

Crucial's new 0009 firmware claims to improve performance of its M4 SSDs.

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...ance-with-fi/1

__________________
Enter the 2011 Reader Survey to win £730 of hardware.

Win more things with CPC and bit-tech
Claave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 13:34   #2
Ph4ZeD
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,806
Ph4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run Crysis
OOOOO will definitely take a look!
Ph4ZeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 13:36   #3
Ph4ZeD
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,806
Ph4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run Crysis
http://www.derbench.de/index.php/com...ienen?Itemid=0

Read speeds increased to 529MB/s!!!
Ph4ZeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 14:26   #4
TheStockBroker
King Battletoad
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 1,298
TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TheStockBroker is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I can only hope OCZ follow suit, I need moar speed from my Vertex 3!

TSB
__________________
Corsair Carbide 540 / Asus Maximus VI Hero / 4670K / Corsair H80 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1600Mhz DDR3 / EVGA GTX 780 / Asus Xonar DX / 512GB OCZ Vertex 4 / Seasonic X-650 / Dell U2711
TheStockBroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 14:31   #5
Meaty Pete
King of the Potato People
 
Meaty Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 69
Meaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run CrysisMeaty Pete can run Crysis
Be changing the firmware when I get home. Does that mean it can beat the vertex 3 now?
__________________
i5 2500k, Z68 Asus Maximus Gene-Z, 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red 1600mhz CAS-8-8-8, 2x ATI Radeon HD 4850 SLI, Corsair AX750, Corsair H100, Silverstone Raven RV-02E, 2x Crucial M4 64GB SSD, WD 250GB, Samsung 1.5TB, WD 2TB
Meaty Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 14:33   #6
Stotherd-001
Knows what a dremel is. Shock.
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NI.
Posts: 227
Stotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the DremelStotherd-001 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Got one of these the other day... think I'll update the firmware before installing anything on it though.
__________________
I play with lots of phones and watch youtube on them all day. And I get paid an engineers wage for it.

Yeah.
Stotherd-001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 14:35   #7
bdigital
Is re-building his PC again
 
bdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,338
bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.
Edit: read the posted link properly now.

I did a bench last night, so il update the firmware and run another this week!
__________________
My photography website: http://www.polarityphoto.co.uk Please share! || Follow me @polarityphoto on Twitter|| My Flickr ||Facebook||

Check out my Apline White TJ07 - Case Mod and Water cooled build. http://www.flickr.com/photos/6188486...7631486959032/
bdigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 14:42   #8
kenco_uk
I unsuccessfully then tried again
 
kenco_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bourne, Lincolnshire, UK
Posts: 9,696
kenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyankenco_uk is a Super Spamming Saiyan
http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=215639

I updated mine on day of release. Ensure you have backed up any important info, just in case. You need to have the sata port it's connected to set to ide and all other sata ports set to IDE/Compatible temporarily (or disable those that the ssd isn't connected to), otherwise the bootable cd update sticks on finding the drive.

I know my speeds went up a fair bit, but I guess it needs to run trim to get the full benefit. Is there a way to manually run it on these drives? Like how you can with the Intel SSD Toolbox on Intel drives?
__________________
formaggio g‚teau

Last edited by kenco_uk; 30th Aug 2011 at 14:55.
kenco_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 14:50   #9
Ph4ZeD
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,806
Ph4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run CrysisPh4ZeD can run Crysis
I can't actually get the firmware updated for my drive yet
Ph4ZeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 15:24   #10
AstralWanderer
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 749
AstralWanderer has yet to learn the way of the DremelAstralWanderer has yet to learn the way of the DremelAstralWanderer has yet to learn the way of the DremelAstralWanderer has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The price has really dropped for the 128GB drives recently - there are a few other vendors offering good prices also (better once you take free delivery into account) for those who can't stomach Overclockers.
AstralWanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 16:02   #11
Vo0Ds
Fake potato
 
Vo0Ds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Co. Armagh, N.Ireland
Posts: 294
Vo0Ds has yet to learn the way of the DremelVo0Ds has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Seems SSD's are still climbing sharply in speed and capacity, think I'll wait 'till next year to partake...
__________________

Masara: i5 2500@4.2Ghz | Asus P8P67LE | EVGA GTX460SC | 8Gb Corsair 1600 | 1TB WD-C BLACK | Fractal R3 | LG 23" IPS
LEGO Ghetto HTPC: Broken-ass laptop pulled apart, now a HTPC... made of LEGO. UNDER CONSTRUCTION
Vo0Ds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 16:49   #12
salesman
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 234
salesman has yet to learn the way of the Dremelsalesman has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I did this and it took me 5 minutes. Quite easy and painless, took longer to burn the iso to disc then it did to update the firmware. I read the 20 steps crucial has and I followed like 5 of them. Download, burn, restart, type yes, restart.

Bad part for me is I have the 64gb setup using SATA II port so I really do see a difference in boot times. One day I will have the SATA III port, one day.
__________________
E8400 3.0GHz | ASRock P45X3 Deluxe | EVGA 570 GTX | 8 GB GSkill memory | Crucial M4 64GB Boot Drive | 3x Samsung F3 1TB Raid 0 | 2x Samsung F4EG 1.5TB Raid 0 | Corsair AX750 PSU | Noctua NH-U12P | Antec P180 | M-Audio Audiophile 192 | Marantz PM5004 | Cambridge Soundworks Speakers | Duckey Shine | Dell U2410 |
salesman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 17:02   #13
samkiller42
For i AM Cheesecake!!
 
samkiller42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portchester
Posts: 5,894
samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.
I'm with salesman, Using a X58 UD5 things a re a little slower than our Sata 3 counterparts, but the update has made a difference, it is quicker than before.

+rep to Crucial.

Sam
__________________

The Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, SB i3 2350m, 8GB DDR3, 256GB 830 SSD, Intel 6235 Wifi N/BT 4.0, Dell 5550 3G/GPS
The Server: Phenom 2 x6, 8GB DDR3, 3TB Seagate, 2TB WD Green, 2*1TB Samsung F1
samkiller42 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 17:24   #14
Chris_Waddle
Another World Cup let down
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The land of overpaid footballers
Posts: 571
Chris_Waddle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Chris_Waddle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Chris_Waddle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Chris_Waddle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Chris_Waddle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Chris_Waddle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Chris_Waddle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Chris_Waddle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Chris_Waddle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Chris_Waddle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Chris_Waddle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Just wondering; I have a 256gig version in my main machine and a 128gig in another machine. Can I use the same ISO for both drives or is it capacity specific too?

I'm pretty sure that the capacity doesn't matter, but better to be safe than sorry.
Chris_Waddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 17:36   #15
r3loaded
Ultramodder
 
r3loaded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,080
r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.
Here's a quick guide for updating the firmware from a USB drive.
  1. Format a USB drive with FAT/FAT32.
  2. Download Syslinux and extract the syslinux.exe file from either the Win32 or Win64 folder
  3. Run syslinux -m -a X: where X is the drive letter of your USB drive.
  4. Extract the contents of the BOOT folder in the firmware ISO to the root of the USB drive.
  5. Rename ISOLINUX.CFG to SYSLINUX.CFG
  6. Boot from the USB drive, and it'll ask for confirmation to upgrade the firmware. In my experience, it'll successfully update even if the controller is in AHCI mode.

I've seen a slight improvement in general loading times on the Thinkpad with this new firmware.
__________________
Main: Silverstone FT03 | Asus P8P67-M Pro | i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz | CM 212+ | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz | XFX Radeon 7970 DD | 500GB Samsung 840 Evo | Samsung XL2270HD | KBT Race | Sidewinder X8
Mac: 13 inch MacBook Pro 2014 | 16GB RAM | Filco Minila Air | Magic Trackpad
Server: Asus M3N78-AM | Athlon II X3 400e | 4GB Corsair XMS2 | 4x 2TB Samsung F4EG (RAID-5) | LSI MegaRAID 8708EM2 | Corsair CX400 | Arch Linux
r3loaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 18:27   #16
DirtyH
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 38
DirtyH has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
worked perfectly!!


made a bootable usb stick with YUMI http://www.pendrivelinux.com/yumi-mu...t-usb-creator/

followed instructions and updated firmware

results:

before (firmware 0002)


after (firmware 0009)
__________________
"Reality continues to ruin my life."
DirtyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 18:34   #17
Waynio
Mmmm Donuts
 
Waynio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,958
Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph4ZeD View Post
http://www.derbench.de/index.php/com...ienen?Itemid=0

Read speeds increased to 529MB/s!!!
Wow that's a nice surprise for owners . I took the plunge & gamble for a corsair force 3 though but so far so good .

I was a bit worried going for a sandforce drive after seeing so much negative about them but mine seems nice, didn't bother updating the bios on it either, thought I'd see if it's fine before doing that & it seems to be with good speeds.

Last edited by Waynio; 30th Aug 2011 at 18:40.
Waynio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 18:35   #18
PabloFunky
Ultramodder
 
PabloFunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,165
PabloFunky is definitely a rep cheat.PabloFunky is definitely a rep cheat.PabloFunky is definitely a rep cheat.PabloFunky is definitely a rep cheat.PabloFunky is definitely a rep cheat.PabloFunky is definitely a rep cheat.PabloFunky is definitely a rep cheat.PabloFunky is definitely a rep cheat.PabloFunky is definitely a rep cheat.PabloFunky is definitely a rep cheat.PabloFunky is definitely a rep cheat.
The speeds are a nice bonus, but the fact that the drive actually works correct from cold boots, is worth 100 speed increases .
PabloFunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 18:53   #19
mrbens
Supermodder
 
mrbens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 511
mrbens has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by salesman
Bad part for me is I have the 64gb setup using SATA II port so I really do see a difference in boot times. One day I will have the SATA III port, one day.
Get a PCI-E card for about £17 that has 2x SATA 6G/b ports
__________________
My SilverStone TJ07B PC: Haswell i5 4670K | MSI Z87-G45 Gaming mobo | 8GB Corsair Vengeance Pro Red 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz | MSI GTX 760 Twin Frozr 2GB | Seasonic X-Series 750W PSU | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | Crucial M225 128GB SSD | OCZ Solid 3 120GB SSD
Sound: Epiphany Acoustics' E-DAC & O2 Heahphone Amp | Little Dot MK III Tube Headphone Amp | Beyerdynamic DT880 Premium 600ohm Headphones (music) | Onkyo HT-S3305B AV Receiver + 5.1 speakers (movies)
mrbens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2011, 19:51   #20
cgthomas
Cpt. Handsome
 
cgthomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 294
cgthomas has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
[QUOTE=mrbens]
Quote:
Originally Posted by salesman
Bad part for me is I have the 64gb setup using SATA II port so I really do see a difference in boot times. One day I will have the SATA III port, one day.
Get an ASUS U3S6, only £24 and has 2 SATA III and 2 USB III and works like a charm with Crucial SSD's.

If, like me, you have a PCIe card with SATA III you will need to diconnect your SSD and plug it into your mobo SATA (even if it's SATAII - it doesn't matter). When you're done you can reconnect to your SATA III card.

Using ATTO benchmark, before the upgrade I reached approx. 360 MB/s burst. Now I reach 400 MB/s
And I do notice that my programs open a bit quicker now
__________________
Iím an AquaTuning product tester - I am........ honestly
cgthomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:59.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.