1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning Zen and the Art of Modding: an Amateur Foray - SketchUp

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Autti, 1 Sep 2011.

1. Autti

Autti What's a Dremel?

Zen and the art of Modding: an Amateurs Foray

As you can see, my title is based of a somewhat famous book, I haven’t read it but the title is cool. Technically I’m not judging a book by its cover; I’m just judging the cover, semantics anyhow.

I need a hobby. I’m a young commerce student halfway through my degree with a well paying job working 20 hours a week and studying hard all the while and getting good-ish grades. Lovely. Well sort of, its great but work and more work gets a bit boring and drinking pints all weekend while fun lacks a certain – I don’t know – productiveness? Fulfilment?

So this brings me to the start of my journey. Well actually I started a while back when I was looking for a good hobby, and being a barista and a self confessed foodie I thought as all young adolescents do: ALCOHOL! But homebrew is boring and overdone so I went hardcore. Spirits. Then I found out that distilling in Australia is very much illegal and frowned upon. Then I thought screw it and did it anyway, with the help of a friend who is a brewer we made our own still and Vodka was flowing. But distilling, while great fun and makes you a popular man (who wouldn’t want to be friends with that guy who makes vodka for $7 a bottle, yeah everyone does) ultimately ends the same as drinking pints all weekend. But replace the beer with vodka, and the hangover with well, you get the jist.