bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th Oct 2011, 15:36   #1
arcticstoat
Who is the Milkman?
 
arcticstoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 916
arcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysis
Rumour: Intel discovers Sandy Bridge E bug

Intel has reportedly discovered a VT-d bug in its forthcoming LGA2011 processors.

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...bridge-e-bug/1
__________________
Ben Hardwidge
Custom PC Editor
arcticstoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 15:42   #2
l3v1ck
really joined on Dec 24th 2004.
 
l3v1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Right Side of the Pennines
Posts: 12,895
l3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Again? Intel's quality control really has been slipping for the last few releases. At least it hasn't been released yet, unlike last time.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sifter3000
We swung the banhammer in his little stupid spamming face
The old Dennis Forums (CPC, PC Pro, Mac User etc) - Meeting Place lives on. You're welcome to visit it HERE
l3v1ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 15:43   #3
javaman
May irritate Eyes
 
javaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,531
javaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for president
Intel are so far ahead of the competition that even delaying these processors wouldn't be a big deal. Hats off the developed a c2 stepping so quickly tho.
javaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 15:53   #4
pingu666
Supermodder
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 274
pingu666 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelpingu666 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelpingu666 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelpingu666 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelpingu666 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
the quality control was fine in this case, caught the issue before release...
pingu666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 15:57   #5
PlayedStation
Possessed like an apostrophe
 
PlayedStation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 64
PlayedStation has yet to learn the way of the DremelPlayedStation has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The cynic in me says this increase in manufacturing costs is marketing hyperbole to justify a price hike
PlayedStation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 15:59   #6
Hakuren
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 128
Hakuren has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It is massive bug not a little one.

X79 is targeted at server/workstation market where VT-d is absolutely crucial. Right now running my X58 with VT-d enabled and frankly I can't imagine using PC without it as long as I need legacy software/test stuff with different OSes using VM. If VT-d is screwed in the first batch of the chips then the only solution (apart from scraping) for Intel is to ship those CPUs into OEM market where VT-d is not important.

" which isnít likely to be much of a problem for home users (breathe a large sigh of relief)"
It is purely nonsensical statement considering how many people using VT-d at home. Some because work require it, some because they need something so trivial like XP Mode on W7.

With every news X79 looks less and less worthwhile investment. If someone need more space for storage then spend money on new RAID card, if you need proper SAS support - spend that money on RAID card. If you need dual CPU and lots of RAM then there is plethora of Xenon 1366 boards around. There is absolutely no need to blow hard earned cash on X79 for what 10-15% better performance (even when they fix VT-d). I said in 2008 that S1366 will be new S775. Looks like a fact ATM. There is plenty of life left in X58.
Hakuren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 16:00   #7
GuilleAcoustic
Ook ? Ook !
 
GuilleAcoustic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: France
Posts: 2,977
GuilleAcoustic is definitely a rep cheat.GuilleAcoustic is definitely a rep cheat.GuilleAcoustic is definitely a rep cheat.GuilleAcoustic is definitely a rep cheat.GuilleAcoustic is definitely a rep cheat.GuilleAcoustic is definitely a rep cheat.GuilleAcoustic is definitely a rep cheat.GuilleAcoustic is definitely a rep cheat.GuilleAcoustic is definitely a rep cheat.GuilleAcoustic is definitely a rep cheat.GuilleAcoustic is definitely a rep cheat.
I do care about virtualization ... take your time Intel
__________________
Forum threads: Amiga reborn - GuilleAcoustic's audio thread

i5 4570 - Asus Z87 Gryphon + Thermal Armor - 8GB - Sandisk Extreme II 240GB - EVGA GTX770 - PC-V353A
GuilleAcoustic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 16:07   #8
l3v1ck
really joined on Dec 24th 2004.
 
l3v1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Right Side of the Pennines
Posts: 12,895
l3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by pingu666
the quality control was fine in this case, caught the issue before release...
Quote:
...although these aren’t likely to hit retailers until after the launch
Well, sort of.
They might not have to do a recall if people/companies know what they're buying, but if the replacement chips aren't available until after launch, then quality control wasn't good enough as they didn't pick it up in time.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sifter3000
We swung the banhammer in his little stupid spamming face
The old Dennis Forums (CPC, PC Pro, Mac User etc) - Meeting Place lives on. You're welcome to visit it HERE
l3v1ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 16:14   #9
azazel1024
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA
Posts: 487
azazel1024 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.azazel1024 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.azazel1024 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.azazel1024 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.azazel1024 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.azazel1024 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.azazel1024 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.azazel1024 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.azazel1024 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.azazel1024 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.azazel1024 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
There is plenty of life left in a lot of older intel chipsets and processors. Most generations only see a 10-15% improvement, so its not like we are seeing a world of change moving up. However, it is an improvement, and if you need it, great.

The top end chipsets and processors from Intel are always expensive. Going from X58 to X79 doesn't look like it is going to be THAT much more expensive. An extra $14-20 for the board because of a more expensive chipset isn't that big a deal when you are talking a 4-8% increase in MoBo/CPU combined price. Processor cost looks like it is going to be roughly where X58 was when it came out. So you are looking at a small increase in cost, for generally a 10-15% improvement in processor power (with a few cases where they is much, much more improvement). Doesn't sound like a bad deal if you are upgrading from an even older chipset and processor. If you are already on X58, it doesn't sound like it makes a whole lot of sense, but it rarely does to move just one generation forward unless you HAVE to have the extra increment in performance.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E7500, MSI P43-C51, 2x2GB G.Skill Eco DDR3 1600 Cas 7, OCZ Vertex 60GB, Vertex 30GB, Samsung F3 500GB, Samsung F4 2TB, Powercolor Go Green ATI 5570
azazel1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 16:25   #10
Blarte
Moderate Modder
 
Blarte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North West England
Posts: 1,576
Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
I just read through vt-d from Intels web pages .. and am still non the wiser to what its actually for
__________________
Watering down PC's since 2009....
Blarte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 16:31   #11
BlackRaven
Freaking printers!
 
BlackRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dublin
Posts: 89
BlackRaven has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
That is definitely not a small problem. How do you think most people test new apps and do their coursework for certifications at home...
BlackRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 16:42   #12
schmidtbag
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 814
schmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blarte
I just read through vt-d from Intels web pages .. and am still non the wiser to what its actually for
it's meant for immensely improving virtualization. the amd-v instruction set is pretty much the exact same thing. try running something like virtualbox with and without vt-d/amd-v enabled and you'll see a day and night difference in performance.
__________________
4.4GHz FX-6300 (on an AM3 board) with C'n'Q on, 8GB of RAM, R9 290, ADATA SP900 64GB SSD, Arch Linux 64 bit.
schmidtbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 16:46   #13
Bob1234
Modder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 53
Bob1234 has yet to learn the way of the DremelBob1234 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blarte
I just read through vt-d from Intels web pages .. and am still non the wiser to what its actually for
It provides direct access to hardware for virtualised environments.

Think VMWares ESXi and Microsofts Hyper-V, where you virtualise everything, and VT-d allows the virtual machines to directly access parts of the host PCs hardware.
Bob1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 17:15   #14
Anneon
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Falkirk
Posts: 95
Anneon has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hmmm.. I was holding out upgrading my old Q6700 machine for the sandy bridge-e. I guess i will buy up some old stock 2500k now.

oh wait.. yea my q6700 still kicks ass at 3.7ghz
Anneon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 17:29   #15
r3loaded
Ultramodder
 
r3loaded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,081
r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.
Can anyone tell me what the difference between VT-x and VT-d is?
__________________
Main: Silverstone FT03 | Asus P8P67-M Pro | i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz | CM 212+ | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz | XFX Radeon 7970 DD | 500GB Samsung 840 Evo | Samsung XL2270HD | KBT Race | Sidewinder X8
Mac: 13 inch MacBook Pro 2014 | 16GB RAM | Filco Minila Air | Magic Trackpad
Server: Asus M3N78-AM | Athlon II X3 400e | 4GB Corsair XMS2 | 4x 2TB Samsung F4EG (RAID-5) | LSI MegaRAID 8708EM2 | Corsair CX400 | Arch Linux
r3loaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 17:34   #16
MjFrosty
Hypermodder
 
MjFrosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Surrey UK
Posts: 853
MjFrosty - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youMjFrosty - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youMjFrosty - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youMjFrosty - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youMjFrosty - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youMjFrosty - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youMjFrosty - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youMjFrosty - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youMjFrosty - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youMjFrosty - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youMjFrosty - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
That is definitely NOT just a small problem. It's an inconvenience to home users as well, and I'd like to think it worked on C1 when I've just spent close to £800 on a CPU. Somebody needs a thump and a P45 their way.

I like wasting cash on new platforms, however the closer x79 comes to it's release the more and more it seems it's a complete waste of time, and an interim to the changes they will make in early 2012.

Just because you've no competition in the market sector is not an excuse for sloppy and quite frankly half arsed hardware - which from what I'm gathering is purely to meet the needs of the corporate system builders.
__________________
Fast
MjFrosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 17:36   #17
Blarte
Moderate Modder
 
Blarte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North West England
Posts: 1,576
Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob1234 View Post
It provides direct access to hardware for virtualised environments.

Think VMWares ESXi and Microsofts Hyper-V, where you virtualise everything, and VT-d allows the virtual machines to directly access parts of the host PCs hardware.


ah ha Laymans terms ... gotchya
__________________
Watering down PC's since 2009....
Blarte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 17:37   #18
Blarte
Moderate Modder
 
Blarte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North West England
Posts: 1,576
Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Blarte - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3loaded View Post
Can anyone tell me what the difference between VT-x and VT-d is?
20 other letters?
__________________
Watering down PC's since 2009....
Blarte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 18:59   #19
Action_Parsnip
Hypermodder
 
Action_Parsnip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Exeter
Posts: 719
Action_Parsnip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Action_Parsnip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Action_Parsnip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Action_Parsnip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Action_Parsnip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Action_Parsnip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Action_Parsnip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Action_Parsnip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Action_Parsnip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Action_Parsnip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Action_Parsnip - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by MjFrosty
...however the closer x79 comes to it's release the more and more it seems it's a complete waste of time...
This. x79 looks nowhere near as good as x58 was. Where is the value prospect ala i7 920??
__________________
"Ooh he card read good!"

Q6700@3.475ghz 9x386mhz, Asus P5-B Deluxe WIFI-AP, 2x2gb Kingston 1066 @965mhz 5-5-5-15, western Digital Caviar Black 1tb HDD, Titan Fenrir, PC Power&Cooling 750w, XFX 4890
Action_Parsnip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2011, 18:59   #20
KayinBlack
Terminal is a state of mind
 
KayinBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jasper, AL
Posts: 5,002
KayinBlack is definitely a rep cheat.KayinBlack is definitely a rep cheat.KayinBlack is definitely a rep cheat.KayinBlack is definitely a rep cheat.KayinBlack is definitely a rep cheat.KayinBlack is definitely a rep cheat.KayinBlack is definitely a rep cheat.KayinBlack is definitely a rep cheat.KayinBlack is definitely a rep cheat.KayinBlack is definitely a rep cheat.KayinBlack is definitely a rep cheat.
Get it together Intel, you've not shown me anything that would make me leave my beloved Lynnfield. Still running like a boss today. 2.8 to 4.4 works for me.
__________________
I don't feed the trolls...

Quit chopping up the locals to make tools.-Cheapskate
KayinBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:28.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.