bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Custom PC and bit-tech Folding Team

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th Aug 2011, 07:48   #1
finch-beast
Minimodder
 
finch-beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 20
finch-beast has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
z68 gigabyte + i7 2600k overclock

Can some one point out a good tutorial how to overclock a z68 gigabyte + i7 2600k + g.skill ddr3 to its stable limits without crashing and blue screens?

Also can someone kindly explain these and suggest their values?:
Turbo Power Limit in watts
Core current limit in amps
PWM Frequency control
Multiple steps load line
CPU Vcore
QPI Vtt Voltage
System agent voltage

Last edited by finch-beast; 4th Aug 2011 at 08:15.
finch-beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2011, 09:19   #2
Leroyingo
Multimodder
 
Leroyingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 178
Leroyingo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Try this guide:

http://www.clunk.org.uk/forums/overc...beginners.html

Should help with most your questions and the overclock. Very simple to follow. I have just bought myself a 2600k today, so tomorrow i will be giving it a go myself.

Just remember every chip is slightly different and what one person can get on certain settings wont necessarily be what the next will get.
__________________
Folding stats

i7-2600k @ 4.5 & i3-540 @ 4.4/ 1 x GTX 275 / 1x 8800GTX (all 24/7)
i7-920 @ 4.0 / 1 x GTX 580 SOC / 1 x GTX 275 (occasional folders, mainly for gaming)
Leroyingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2011, 17:56   #3
HackJoe
Supermodder
 
HackJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 417
HackJoe is definitely a rep cheat.HackJoe is definitely a rep cheat.HackJoe is definitely a rep cheat.HackJoe is definitely a rep cheat.HackJoe is definitely a rep cheat.HackJoe is definitely a rep cheat.HackJoe is definitely a rep cheat.HackJoe is definitely a rep cheat.HackJoe is definitely a rep cheat.HackJoe is definitely a rep cheat.HackJoe is definitely a rep cheat.
I followed the same Clunk guide (Great site) and took my 2600K upto 4.5Ghz 1.26v on a Z68 chipset.

J.
__________________
Folding stats
HackJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2011, 11:01   #4
Chebob
Multimodder
 
Chebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 72
Chebob has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
System instability is to be expected when overclocking, so dont worry about that. To get a nice stable overclock you might want to look into an aftermarket heatsink/fan, if you havn't alredy.
Chebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2011, 23:26   #5
finch-beast
Minimodder
 
finch-beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 20
finch-beast has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Overclocking results:
Bluescreens
Corupted Win7(reinstall)
No clue
finch-beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2011, 00:30   #6
Leroyingo
Multimodder
 
Leroyingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 178
Leroyingo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I had to give mine a little bit more voltage then in the guide. Had to go to 1.28V to get stable at 4.5Ghz. Have you run a stress test at stock voltage first to make sure everything is okay?
__________________
Folding stats

i7-2600k @ 4.5 & i3-540 @ 4.4/ 1 x GTX 275 / 1x 8800GTX (all 24/7)
i7-920 @ 4.0 / 1 x GTX 580 SOC / 1 x GTX 275 (occasional folders, mainly for gaming)
Leroyingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2011, 05:58   #7
finch-beast
Minimodder
 
finch-beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 20
finch-beast has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
yes sure its stable @ stock but all overclocking i do results in vein. what mainboard are you using Leroyingo?
finch-beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2011, 07:27   #8
One_Box
Folder of the month April 2012
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 601
One_Box has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
If you are having trouble overclocking I would start with the Gigabyte OC tool.

Make sure all the bios values you have altered are returned to AUTO before using it.

Try the first level, run PRIME95 (blend) for a stability check. If all OK go to the next level and repeat. Report back with your experience before you attempt manual OC.

Are you folding as finch-king by the way?
__________________
Folding stats
Folding stats
One_Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2011, 10:19   #9
finch-beast
Minimodder
 
finch-beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 20
finch-beast has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yes that's my folding user name. I use a different one cause I started folding on my ps3 first (and finch is my nickname so I added something else to work with). After my final OC from the bios with no results except for blue screens, the OS didn't want to boot anymore. I loaded the defaults and still no booting. Then I disabled the Turbo boost feature from the bios because there was the current and wattage limit and the OS booted. I don't know why but it worked.

My main problem is that I have a vcore voltage option and a qpi/vtt voltage option in the bios and I don't know which one is the real CPU voltage although when I increase the qpi/vtt voltage to say 1.25v the Core voltage in the CPUZ is 1.25v so I believe that the real core voltage for a gigabyte bios is the qpi/vtt. Still it doesn't make sense and I hope I didn't damage anything. Has any one had any experience with the latest gigabyte mainboard?
finch-beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2011, 12:07   #10
BJS
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 37
BJS has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Check this link for a basic explanation.


http://www.masterslair.com/357/vcore...e-core-voltage


The settings quoted are for LGA1156 and you have LGA1155 so double check the maximums for your board.
__________________
Folding stats
BJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2011, 15:24   #11
Leroyingo
Multimodder
 
Leroyingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 178
Leroyingo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The qpi/vtt voltage should be your memory not your cpu. The Vcore is your CPU voltage. If your are setting the qpi/vtt to 1.25 its no wonder you are getting bluescreens, as it should be 1.5-1.65v depending on ram.
__________________
Folding stats

i7-2600k @ 4.5 & i3-540 @ 4.4/ 1 x GTX 275 / 1x 8800GTX (all 24/7)
i7-920 @ 4.0 / 1 x GTX 580 SOC / 1 x GTX 275 (occasional folders, mainly for gaming)
Leroyingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2011, 19:18   #12
One_Box
Folder of the month April 2012
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 601
One_Box has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Sorry, I think you are approaching this the wrong way.

You have absolutely no need to enter manual values for voltages or anything else to obtain a modest overclock on your board - trust me on this - the bios WILL adjust things as necessary.

Whatever you have found necessary to do on previous generations of boards forget for Sandy Bridge.

Lets talk about the QPI voltage. Just set it on AUTO as I've already said.

You will find that on this AUTO setting the actual voltage will be 1.05V (BTW it's not the memory voltage).

Lets hope you haven't damaged your board!!

You should be able to achieve 4.3GHz with everything on AUTO.

Do not turn turbo off !!!

Do the following in the bios : -

MB Intelligent Tweaker - Advanced Frequency Settings - CPU clock ratio - now set this to 40 as a start which will give you a CPU speed of 4GHz.

You do not need to do anything else at this stage just run Prime95 and check the CPU speed with CPU-z or something similar.

I do have a GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 among other SB rigs and have been playing with these mobos since March when the P67 B3 chipset first came out. IMO a lot of the OC guides (produced round about January) need to treated with a great deal of caution.

Have fun and get back if you need further help.
__________________
Folding stats
Folding stats
One_Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2011, 22:26   #13
finch-beast
Minimodder
 
finch-beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 20
finch-beast has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Thanks for all the help guys. I have tried some overclocking soon after i built this system and with some testing here and there i started to understand thing. i like to experiment a bit and this is what i achieved so far (Stable):
4.5Ghz
Vcore 1.36v
load line level 7
all the other settings are auto
finch-beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2011, 01:35   #14
Leroyingo
Multimodder
 
Leroyingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 178
Leroyingo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Thanks One-box for correcting my mistake, shows that you probably shouldnt write in the forum at 12:30am after attending a wedding and drinking a fair bit. I got my voltages mixed up as well

Hey finch, how are the temperatures on the processor?
__________________
Folding stats

i7-2600k @ 4.5 & i3-540 @ 4.4/ 1 x GTX 275 / 1x 8800GTX (all 24/7)
i7-920 @ 4.0 / 1 x GTX 580 SOC / 1 x GTX 275 (occasional folders, mainly for gaming)
Leroyingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2011, 07:00   #15
One_Box
Folder of the month April 2012
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 601
One_Box has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by finch-beast View Post
Thanks for all the help guys. I have tried some overclocking soon after i built this system and with some testing here and there i started to understand thing. i like to experiment a bit and this is what i achieved so far (Stable):
4.5Ghz
Vcore 1.36v
load line level 7
all the other settings are auto
Look forward to seeing your Folding output on the increase, well done
__________________
Folding stats
Folding stats
One_Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2011, 07:01   #16
One_Box
Folder of the month April 2012
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 601
One_Box has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroyingo View Post
Thanks One-box for correcting my mistake, shows that you probably shouldnt write in the forum at 12:30am after attending a wedding and drinking a fair bit. I got my voltages mixed up as well

Hey finch, how are the temperatures on the processor?
No problem, an easy mistake to make.
__________________
Folding stats
Folding stats
One_Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2011, 10:51   #17
finch-beast
Minimodder
 
finch-beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 20
finch-beast has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
these are my current results:
4.7 Ghz
Vcore 1.428v
Temp 78Celcius (average for four cores. also it's summer here and gets a little hot too)
I have an H60 water cooling.
Last time I saw the PPD on FAHMON was 32K (what do you think good/bad/can improve?)
finch-beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2011, 14:17   #18
One_Box
Folder of the month April 2012
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 601
One_Box has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by finch-beast View Post
these are my current results:
4.7 Ghz
Vcore 1.428v
Temp 78Celcius (average for four cores. also it's summer here and gets a little hot too)
I have an H60 water cooling.
Last time I saw the PPD on FAHMON was 32K (what do you think good/bad/can improve?)
I would be inclined to back it off a bit for 24/7 folding duties.

4.5Ghz is a known sweet spot which will reduce the thermal load on your processor and your electricity bill.

You may also wish to consult the Intel website to determine the safe thermal limit for a 2600K ... (72.4DegC from memory)
__________________
Folding stats
Folding stats
One_Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2011, 17:03   #19
TaRkA DaHl
I *am* a Dremel
 
TaRkA DaHl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,629
TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by finch-beast View Post
these are my current results:
4.7 Ghz
Vcore 1.428v
Temp 78Celcius (average for four cores. also it's summer here and gets a little hot too)
I have an H60 water cooling.
Last time I saw the PPD on FAHMON was 32K (what do you think good/bad/can improve?)
Definately drop it back, personally I wouldn't be wanting to sit above 1.35V for 24x7 use, 1.428V is pretty high.

Also, I don't suggest going above 72 degrees for 24x7 use either.

Have you completed over 10 units yet and are you using a passkey? As if that is what you are getting when just folding it is a tad low, I get around 38k PPD with a 2600k@4.5Ghz.

Just so you know, I am only using 1.295V to hold steady at 4.5Ghz, got lucky with me chip I thinks.
TaRkA DaHl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2011, 20:34   #20
finch-beast
Minimodder
 
finch-beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 20
finch-beast has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
i don't know if i folded 10 wu because i started folding with my ps3 first but i'm using the passkey. currently i'm at 4.5ghz, 1.368v, 70dCelcius. what load line level have you set in your bios TaRkA DaHl or is it just enable/disable?
finch-beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:25.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.