bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Mar 2012, 03:16   #1
dadoftriplets
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 42
dadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
2GB DDR3 or 1GB DDR5 on GPU

I have around £80-90 to spend on a GPU for my new build pc (i5 2400, P8Z68V-LX,4GB Ram, Corsair Cx430 PSU with optional CiT 550 which is in the old pc, 1TB + 500GB + 160GB HDD's running with a 22" LG LED Monitor@1920x1080)

Intended uses are general Web browsing, video editting, Google sketchup work, a bit of gaming (current games running on old pc - athlon IIx2 240 w/3GB Ram and HD5450 installed - Burnout Paradise, Football Manager 2010, Battlefield 2, Train Simulator 2012) All these I would like to trnasfer to the new pc and possibly some other newer FPS - COD, BF3 etc etc

I have been looking around at GPU's and have come to the conclusion that I have no idea whats good these days - I have built PC's a few years ago, but this is the first since my triplets were born! I have the option of a few what I think are decent cards, with 2GB GDDR3 onboard or 1GB GDDR5 - obviously GDDR5 is better and more the better I suppose, but what would be better for the games listed above and for playing some newer games at a reasonable, playable frame rate, maybe with some setting turned down or off (Anti Aliasing, I'm looking at you)?

Ebuyer are currently doing this Gigabyte GTS 450 w/ 1GB ddr5 for £75.99 reduced from £94http://www.ebuyer.com/238428

Any other suggestions that are better than this card, and UNDER my budget, would be most appreciated. BTW I would much prefer BRAND NEW Cards, so please do not suggest using the marketplace on BT.
dadoftriplets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Mar 2012, 06:20   #2
noizdaemon666
I'm Od, Therefore I Pwn
 
noizdaemon666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,635
noizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Get the 450 with GDDR5. Having more memory which is slower won't help at your resolution.
__________________
AMD A4 5300 ¦ 4GiB Patriot Black Mamba 1600 ¦ 2 x 500GB HDD ¦ BeQuiet! L8 400w PSU¦ Pioneer 12x Blu-Ray Drive

Corsair Graphite 230T ¦ Athlon X4 760K @ 4.8GHz ¦ ASRock A88X Extreme6+ ¦ Corsair H100 ¦ 8GB Patriot 1600 ¦ No SSD ¦ 250GB HDD ¦ MSI 6770 1GB @ 950/1200 ¦ OCZ 700W
noizdaemon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Mar 2012, 06:46   #3
PocketDemon
I *am* a Dremel
 
PocketDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 1,862
PocketDemon is a Super Spamming SaiyanPocketDemon is a Super Spamming SaiyanPocketDemon is a Super Spamming SaiyanPocketDemon is a Super Spamming SaiyanPocketDemon is a Super Spamming SaiyanPocketDemon is a Super Spamming SaiyanPocketDemon is a Super Spamming SaiyanPocketDemon is a Super Spamming SaiyanPocketDemon is a Super Spamming SaiyanPocketDemon is a Super Spamming SaiyanPocketDemon is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Keeping it new & completely within your budget then it's probably the best option...

...though (keeping it new) you'd gain a lot by going slightly above the £100 (~£110) mark with either a GTX 460 or an AMD 6850 - the latter generally being the quicker card at your res afaik... ...though there's always the odd game where a similar nVidia card will win out just because it's an nVidia card.

& if you can push it to ~£130 then there's the AMD 6870 which is better again - or the GTX 560 which is slightly more expensive but roughly equivalent.

(prices are solely based upon a very quick Google shopping search rather than looking for promotions)
PocketDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Mar 2012, 09:48   #4
adam_bagpuss
Have you tried turning it off/on ?
 
adam_bagpuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South yorkshire
Posts: 3,949
adam_bagpuss - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!adam_bagpuss - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!adam_bagpuss - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!adam_bagpuss - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!adam_bagpuss - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!adam_bagpuss - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!adam_bagpuss - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!adam_bagpuss - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!adam_bagpuss - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!adam_bagpuss - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!adam_bagpuss - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
personally id drop for the 6850 as its considerably quicker than 450 and only £10-20 more.
__________________
FFXIV - Blackstarr Strife on Cerebus. Add me fellow bit-techers.
Got new hardware, put XP on it ?, then you dont deserve help
adam_bagpuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Mar 2012, 10:39   #5
j4mi3
Ultramodder
 
j4mi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,033
j4mi3 can run Crysisj4mi3 can run Crysisj4mi3 can run Crysisj4mi3 can run Crysisj4mi3 can run Crysisj4mi3 can run Crysisj4mi3 can run Crysisj4mi3 can run Crysis
get the gddr5

it will be fine for 1080p
__________________
BF3: Pr0_snipe

i7 2600k @ 4.6 | Asus P8P67 Deluxe | Asus GTX 670 Direct CUII TOP | Gskill Ripjaws x 16gb 2200mhz | Noctua nh-d14 | Antec 1200 | Enermax Revolution87+ 850w | Samsung 840 Pro 128gb | Crucial M4 64gb | WD Caviar Black 500gb | Dell U2711 |
j4mi3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Mar 2012, 12:01   #6
Blogins
Panda have Guns
 
Blogins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,006
Blogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadoftriplets View Post
Any other suggestions that are better than this card, and UNDER my budget, would be most appreciated. BTW I would much prefer BRAND NEW Cards, so please do not suggest using the marketplace on BT.
Tough!

If you can find an older GTX 460 with 256-Bit memory bandwidth for around £80 used that'll knock the socks off a GTX 450. Just read around the reviews and most of them will state 'It's not a GTX 460'! Also beware of the cheaper second generation GTX 460 cards; most available through retail now have a limited 192-Bit memory bandwidth. So why pay more for less?
__________________
|Fractal Design Define R3, Black Pearl (Case)|ASUS P8P67 Deluxe (Motherboard)|Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (Processor)|
|G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1600mhz Sniper 1.25v (Memory)|PNY GTX 780 Ti (Graphics)|
|Corsair Professional Series Gold AX 850W (Power Supply Unit)|Asus Xonar D2X PCI-Express (Sound Card)|
|OCZ Vertex 3 120GB (Solid State Drive - Boot)|OCZ Vertex 3 240GB (Solid State Drive - Games)|
Blogins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Mar 2012, 14:07   #7
mikeyman198
Lets pretend this is hilarious.
 
mikeyman198's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stafford, Staffordshire
Posts: 588
mikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/1gb-s...2x-dvi-hdmi-dp
mikeyman198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Mar 2012, 23:32   #8
leslie
Just me!
 
leslie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 411
leslie has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleslie has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
More memory is better, IF the card can take advantage. In this case, it won't, so get the faster memory.

I also agree, if you can move up to the 6870, do it. It's a fantastic card.
__________________
When in doubt, wear red. - Bill Blass

Itty Bitty File Server (mini-itx cube) - 8in alum/oak cube, 2TB, 25watts, 100% silent
Desktop - 2600k@4.2, Maximus IV Gene-Z/Gen3, 16gb Corsair DDR3-1600, XFX 6870 1GB, 2x Crucial 128 M4, PcP&C 750 Silencer, Fractal 1000, dual HP 25in, Das w/browns, G700
leslie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2012, 11:25   #9
dadoftriplets
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 42
dadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Thanks for the replies so far. Didn't realise there were responses as I didn't get an email from BT so apologies this reply hasn't come sooner than now.

Back OT, taking the responses above into account, would this be a better bet? ASUS HD6850 @ ebuyer Will the PSU already installed (brand new Corsair CX430) be able to handle this card?

Regarding budget - I still have to purchase a copy of Win7 64 bit, so the above card @ £98 is really pushing it if I'm honest - I have £160 atm to buy the GPU and OS, but may have to push it a little further to get a retail copy of Win7 as I shouldn't buy an OEM copy.
dadoftriplets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2012, 12:46   #10
Williz
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 382
Williz is definitely a rep cheat.Williz is definitely a rep cheat.Williz is definitely a rep cheat.Williz is definitely a rep cheat.Williz is definitely a rep cheat.Williz is definitely a rep cheat.Williz is definitely a rep cheat.Williz is definitely a rep cheat.Williz is definitely a rep cheat.Williz is definitely a rep cheat.Williz is definitely a rep cheat.
An OEM is fine too. Why can't you get it?
Williz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2012, 22:04   #11
dadoftriplets
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 42
dadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Williz View Post
An OEM is fine too. Why can't you get it?
I can't remember who, but someone on BT basically told me that by using an OEM when the computer isn't being sold onto an unknown 3rd party, is by definition in breach of MS T&C and that I should only buy retail!

regarding the GPU I linked to before - if the PSU I have installed (Corsair CX430) will be able to handle the Asus HD6850 as the CX430 is the second PSU i've bought for this build as, again, someone on Bit-tech said the CiT (550w) one I had originally purchased was a pile of crap and would blow the new pc up and that IO should just throw it in the bin without using it!. Funny that, considering it is powering the pc I'm using to type this message with absolutely no issues whatsoever!!
dadoftriplets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2012, 22:25   #12
noizdaemon666
I'm Od, Therefore I Pwn
 
noizdaemon666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,635
noizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
PSUs are a funny thing. On everyday sort of bog standard builds, any old PSU will generally be fine as not a lot ofpower is being pulled from the 12V rails. However, most PCs on this forum draw a shedload from the 12V rails, something cheap PSUs can't handle as they're not designed for it. So yeah, the CX430 is a very good PSU and can powermost mid range graphics cards with ease

Also, OEM is fine. You do technically break the Microsoft EULA but they're hardly gonna come round your house and check. Save some money and go for OEM (I have had OEM on allof my PCs)
__________________
AMD A4 5300 ¦ 4GiB Patriot Black Mamba 1600 ¦ 2 x 500GB HDD ¦ BeQuiet! L8 400w PSU¦ Pioneer 12x Blu-Ray Drive

Corsair Graphite 230T ¦ Athlon X4 760K @ 4.8GHz ¦ ASRock A88X Extreme6+ ¦ Corsair H100 ¦ 8GB Patriot 1600 ¦ No SSD ¦ 250GB HDD ¦ MSI 6770 1GB @ 950/1200 ¦ OCZ 700W
noizdaemon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2012, 23:46   #13
mucgoo
I *am* a Dremel
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,574
mucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for president
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/1gb-s...2x-dvi-hdmi-dp

/thread

Your'll not find better value new.
mucgoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2012, 03:36   #14
t4n6o
You know when you've been tangoed
 
t4n6o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Leeds
Posts: 880
t4n6o is definitely a rep cheat.t4n6o is definitely a rep cheat.t4n6o is definitely a rep cheat.t4n6o is definitely a rep cheat.t4n6o is definitely a rep cheat.t4n6o is definitely a rep cheat.t4n6o is definitely a rep cheat.t4n6o is definitely a rep cheat.t4n6o is definitely a rep cheat.t4n6o is definitely a rep cheat.t4n6o is definitely a rep cheat.
I definatly agree with the OEM savoe yourself the money, if you are deciding to sell up later down the line just remove windows. How many people do you think are running pirate copies of windows 7 and surely thats got to be worse
__________________
My i5:HAF X|P8Z68-V|i5 2500K @ 4.5 Ghz|H2O 620|Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB|Force Series 3 120GB SSD|WD 2TB Caviar Green|EVGA GTX 670 4GB SC|Corsair HX1050|Windows 7 Home Premium.
t4n6o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2012, 06:40   #15
leslie
Just me!
 
leslie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 411
leslie has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleslie has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
OEM just means OEM packaging, I.E. no box or documentation.
You can get processors and hard drives that way as well.

Definitely go OEM on Windows.
__________________
When in doubt, wear red. - Bill Blass

Itty Bitty File Server (mini-itx cube) - 8in alum/oak cube, 2TB, 25watts, 100% silent
Desktop - 2600k@4.2, Maximus IV Gene-Z/Gen3, 16gb Corsair DDR3-1600, XFX 6870 1GB, 2x Crucial 128 M4, PcP&C 750 Silencer, Fractal 1000, dual HP 25in, Das w/browns, G700
leslie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2012, 09:08   #16
dadoftriplets
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 42
dadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I've always bought OEM software - the OS on the current pc is OEM, the software on the pc before that was OEM so was surprised when soomeone told me I shouldn't be buying it (on a technicality) Will be picking up an OEM copy of Win7 64bit OEM when I get the GPU.

mucgoo - do you reckon that card will be the same price next week? I'm going away tomorrow to my brothers wedding so if I place an order now, it will sit in the couriers system for the weekend, probably being used as a football or something knowing my luck! so I'm not planning on ordering until Sunday night/Monday morning when I get back.
dadoftriplets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2012, 12:09   #17
noizdaemon666
I'm Od, Therefore I Pwn
 
noizdaemon666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,635
noizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyannoizdaemon666 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by leslie View Post
OEM just means OEM packaging, I.E. no box or documentation.
Not quite. OEM Windows requires you to ring Microsoft if you change the motherboard/reload on a different PC in order to reactivate Windows. But again, it only adds 2 minutes to activation time, so saving money on OEM is the right way to go.
__________________
AMD A4 5300 ¦ 4GiB Patriot Black Mamba 1600 ¦ 2 x 500GB HDD ¦ BeQuiet! L8 400w PSU¦ Pioneer 12x Blu-Ray Drive

Corsair Graphite 230T ¦ Athlon X4 760K @ 4.8GHz ¦ ASRock A88X Extreme6+ ¦ Corsair H100 ¦ 8GB Patriot 1600 ¦ No SSD ¦ 250GB HDD ¦ MSI 6770 1GB @ 950/1200 ¦ OCZ 700W
noizdaemon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2012, 15:51   #18
mucgoo
I *am* a Dremel
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,574
mucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for presidentmucgoo should be considered for president
Phone up Scan and ask?
mucgoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2012, 17:33   #19
dadoftriplets
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 42
dadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremeldadoftriplets has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by mucgoo View Post
Phone up Scan and ask?
it was a stupid question to ask you I do admit!

Anyway, been having a look at scan, at their daily deals - found the HD7750 - seems to be the same spec as the 6850? If not, whats the difference and which is better? Links below

Sapphire HD7750

ScanFX HD6850

Probably just going to order one of these and be done with it. Oh yeah, and a copy of win7.
dadoftriplets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2012, 17:42   #20
mikeyman198
Lets pretend this is hilarious.
 
mikeyman198's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stafford, Staffordshire
Posts: 588
mikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremelmikeyman198 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
6850 > 7750 by a mile. Just look at the bit-tech review of the 7750
mikeyman198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:42.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.