bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th Apr 2012, 02:08   #1
Whindog
Supermodder
 
Whindog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 351
Whindog has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
EVGA Oc scanner and precision X

Hi guys,

Anyone out there use these 2 tolls for there OC.

I currently use afterburner in conuction with 3dMark however saw the precision reference in the NVidia driver update and from that also found OC scanner.

It seems pretty handy to have an artifact catcher, cause the one thing i hate about chaing my oc is watching it for artifacts.......

Anyone out there use these programs and how are you finding them?

If you have used them, please share your thoughts on these programs.

Cheers All
__________________
i5-2500k | Thermaltake Jing | 8Gb Vengence | 1TB WD Black Caviar | Asus P8P67 Pro | Gigabyte GTX460 OC | Xonar DX | Fractal Design Refine R3 | - Quiet as a mouse
Whindog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Apr 2012, 04:12   #2
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,043
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
RivaTuner, MSI AfterBurner, EVGA Precision, EVGA OC scanner, are all the same. They all uses NvAPI (Nvidia drivers API) to get information about the graphic card, and to set a clock speed your specify.

You can make your own C++ program like GPU-Z, EVGA Scanner using the publicly available NvAPI here: http://developer.nvidia.com/nvapi

To change the clock of your graphic card, you need to access to the advance NvAPI library, which is only available to approved developers, and you need to sign a NDA. You can register as a developer here: http://developer.nvidia.com/nvidia-r...eloper-program

So in other words, assuming that all software are updated to support the latest NvAPI (in conjunction with the latest drivers), you basically pick your program skin.

I know all this, because I am working on my overclock software (but unlike these software, it works differently. You create/modify overclock/downclock profiles, and have it all switch automatically based on what game or application you run. Other advantages is to reduce the graphic card heat, noise, and on laptops, increase battery life by forcing the GPU at minimum speed all the time, no mater what you do on Windows. But have it clock to normal speed when you play a game, for example. And have some of your games clock to an overclock profile. It comes built-in various system, such as overheating protection, which will momentarily throttle the GPU to allow it to cool down, and return back to normal operation (or back to overclock profile), so it won't crash your game, or system.
The list of games and application will be based on a community supported database. So as you add your games, if it's not there already, everyone else will have it. So basically, you only need to add a game or application if you are the first one using my software with the game. Also, the idea of the software is be non-intrusive at all, and auto-manages itself. It also considers if your system is on battery or plugged in, to maximize battery life.

My desktop is quieter, yet lose no performance in games (as everything goes normal when I play my games. No interaction of my part needed), and I gain ~1 hour of battery life of actual usage on my laptop. Passing from 9h of battery life to ~10h, under Windows 7 64-bit.

I expect to be done with it, in summer.

The only advantage is that if you have an EVGA card with with EVGA overclock utility, it MIGHT be able to provide a bit of overclockability or get more information as they can add their own sensor, and provide the graphic card BIOS communication. So it can play better with voltages or something. And that IF they even bothered doing so. Same for MSI.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB

Last edited by GoodBytes; 11th Apr 2012 at 04:34.
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Apr 2012, 05:14   #3
erratum1
Needs a new avatar !
 
erratum1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,848
erratum1 is definitely a rep cheat.erratum1 is definitely a rep cheat.erratum1 is definitely a rep cheat.erratum1 is definitely a rep cheat.erratum1 is definitely a rep cheat.erratum1 is definitely a rep cheat.erratum1 is definitely a rep cheat.erratum1 is definitely a rep cheat.erratum1 is definitely a rep cheat.erratum1 is definitely a rep cheat.erratum1 is definitely a rep cheat.
Doesn't afterburner have a furry msi artifact thing as well (kombuster?).

But yea they're all the same and the artifact things are tech from furmark.
erratum1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Apr 2012, 05:29   #4
Whindog
Supermodder
 
Whindog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 351
Whindog has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I'v used kombustor.....however Iv never seena program give a report on the number of detected artifacts...

That is really the only stadout feature that seperates it....(if it works the way it say's)

Or do kombustor have that and i'v never seen it?
__________________
i5-2500k | Thermaltake Jing | 8Gb Vengence | 1TB WD Black Caviar | Asus P8P67 Pro | Gigabyte GTX460 OC | Xonar DX | Fractal Design Refine R3 | - Quiet as a mouse
Whindog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Apr 2012, 05:34   #5
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,043
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Is looking at your screen to detect artifact THAT hard?
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Apr 2012, 05:41   #6
Whindog
Supermodder
 
Whindog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 351
Whindog has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
lol....

no. But its the one thing I hate doing when i OC my GPU.

If i can set my GPU temp alarm up, and have a artifact capture "thingy" then i can OC it, begin stress test, go make dinner, watch TV.....spend time with the fiance. Rather than watchin a screen for artifacts.

Listen for alarm....and either chk after an hour or randomly take a peak to see if its stable.......

Personally for me that would be ideal.

And in this modern day age of everything being handed to everyone in a cerial box......Iw ant my OC'ing to be easy and hassle free

Can I live without it....yes......do i really want to not have to watch the screen......hell yea i dont.

But thats just me ;p
__________________
i5-2500k | Thermaltake Jing | 8Gb Vengence | 1TB WD Black Caviar | Asus P8P67 Pro | Gigabyte GTX460 OC | Xonar DX | Fractal Design Refine R3 | - Quiet as a mouse
Whindog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Apr 2012, 05:47   #7
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,043
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
You should see artifact right away.
Either on Windows (as since Vista, with Aero, everything is rendered by the GPU and not mainly the CPU), or when you start your test. Rarely it shows after (based on my experience).
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2012, 14:59   #8
andyb123
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
andyb123 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
kombustor is just furmark with a skin on it aswell
andyb123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:41.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.