bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Apr 2012, 10:28   #1
brumgrunt
Ultramodder
 
brumgrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,009
brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Microsoft reveals Windows 8 editions

Microsoft has announced Windows 8, Pro, Enterprise and RT ahead of the OS's launch.

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/bits/20...s-8-editions/1
brumgrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 10:47   #2
Guinevere
Mega Mom
 
Guinevere's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,015
Guinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming Saiyan
So Windows RT won't have an encrypted filesystem / BitLocker? And they want Windows 8 ARM tablets to convince the pros they don't want iPads?

Professionals are already adopting iPads, from airlines to doctors. You think a corporate IT department is going to allow tablets that can't be encrypted? Okay maybe when x86 tablets come out with good batter life etc it'll all be okay with Windows 8 Pro installed on them. But why cripple RT?

Am I missing something?
Guinevere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 10:51   #3
NGRhodes
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
NGRhodes has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I read Media Center will be paid-for add-on to Win 8 Pro. I don't understand why it has to depend on the Pro version - this will see a lot of existing MC users looking at the numerous (cost-free) alternatives.
NGRhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 10:57   #4
Gareth Halfacree
WIIGII!
bit-tech Staff
 
Gareth Halfacree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 3,911
Gareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guinevere View Post
So Windows RT won't have an encrypted filesystem / BitLocker? And they want Windows 8 ARM tablets to convince the pros they don't want iPads?
Windows RT doesn't have a tick in the encrypted filesystem box because it's the only Windows 8 release to feature whole-device encryption instead - which is a separate box.
__________________
Author, Raspberry Pi User Guide Third Edition, 21 Brilliant Projects for the Raspberry Pi and more | gareth.halfacree.co.uk | twitter
bit-tech news correspondent, Custom PC columnist, other things to other people
I'm a filthy freelancer! Hire me!
Gareth Halfacree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 11:23   #5
deathtaker27
Backups ... Its a way of life
 
deathtaker27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,683
deathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Glad to see the ammount of different versions cut down, one business and one home at the most basic level
deathtaker27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 11:34   #6
Noob?
Dremel?
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,847
Noob? is a Super Spamming SaiyanNoob? is a Super Spamming SaiyanNoob? is a Super Spamming SaiyanNoob? is a Super Spamming SaiyanNoob? is a Super Spamming SaiyanNoob? is a Super Spamming SaiyanNoob? is a Super Spamming SaiyanNoob? is a Super Spamming SaiyanNoob? is a Super Spamming SaiyanNoob? is a Super Spamming SaiyanNoob? is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I can't believe there will be only a few editions. Good choice IMO.

Bit-Tech, you don't have info on pricing do you?
Noob? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 11:35   #7
popcornuk1983
Cake or Death?
 
popcornuk1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 249
popcornuk1983 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Question.

Is there any reason to upgrade to win 8 from win7 x64?

The only massive change seems to be the metro UI which is designed for touchscreen devices, not a keyboard/mouse. I've tried it myself and don't like it at all.

Is that the only major change for the general gamer/tech enthusiast? Or am I missing something big?
__________________
|| Intel i5 3570K @ 4.2Ghz || 8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance CAS9 1600Mhz || Asus Direct CUII 660 Ti @1200core 6400mem || Gigabyte ga-Z77-D3H ||
popcornuk1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 11:37   #8
arcticstoat
Who is the Milkman?
 
arcticstoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 916
arcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysisarcticstoat can run Crysis
Hmm, no mention of Windows Media Center - wonder if that's getting dropped now.
__________________
Ben Hardwidge
Custom PC Editor
arcticstoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 11:46   #9
azrael-
I'm special...
 
azrael-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 3,805
azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcticstoat View Post
Hmm, no mention of Windows Media Center - wonder if that's getting dropped now.
From the Windows 8 blog:
Quote:
Windows Media Center will be available as an economical “media pack” add-on to Windows 8 Pro.
But for me it's all a moot point as long as Metro isn't made optional on the desktop.
__________________
It's not the end of the world ...but you can see it from here.

Xeon E3-1245 v2 3.4 GHz | ASUS P8C WS | 16GB Kingston ECC DDR3 | Samsung 830 256GB | eVGA GTX670 2GB | SB Audigy | Seasonic X-560 | Corsair Obsidian 550D | Dell 2209WA
azrael- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 11:53   #10
Waynio
Mmmm Donuts
 
Waynio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,932
Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.Waynio is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by popcornuk1983 View Post
Question.

Is there any reason to upgrade to win 8 from win7 x64?

The only massive change seems to be the metro UI which is designed for touchscreen devices, not a keyboard/mouse. I've tried it myself and don't like it at all.

Is that the only major change for the general gamer/tech enthusiast? Or am I missing something big?
You answered something I was unsure about, someone who doesn't like metro with it being primarily for touch screens & tried it & still doesn't like it, cheers popcornuk1983, saved me the bother of trying it.

Long live keyboards & mice.

Good question you put up though & I'd also like to know the answer to that.

Personally I really think it's a bad decision to try force touch screen stye on desktop PC's & they should do 2 versions, desktop or metro.
Waynio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 12:10   #11
[PUNK] crompers
Dremedial
 
[PUNK] crompers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of the Wall
Posts: 2,739
[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.[PUNK] crompers is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
It'll have a desktop "app" but since that will basically be W7 i see no reason to upgrade
__________________
| Main Rig | TJ07B-W | 2600k @ 4.7Ghz | Sabertooth Z77 | 8GB Corsair Vengance | EVGA FTW 670 @ 1305Mhz | Samsung 830 128GB |1TB Samsung F3 | EK Supremacy CSQ | EK FC680 CSQ | Corsair HX650W | U2711 | Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless | Xonar Essence STX | Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro 250ohm |
| HTPC | Lian Li Q11-B | AMD A10 5800k | ASRock FM2A75M-ITX | 8GB XMS3 2000 | 1TB Seagate | SFX 350W |
[PUNK] crompers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 12:13   #12
Bauul
Sir Bongaminge
 
Bauul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Godalming, near Guildford
Posts: 2,173
Bauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by popcornuk1983
Question.

Is there any reason to upgrade to win 8 from win7 x64?

The only massive change seems to be the metro UI which is designed for touchscreen devices, not a keyboard/mouse. I've tried it myself and don't like it at all.

Is that the only major change for the general gamer/tech enthusiast? Or am I missing something big?
There's the funky auto-RAID feature called Storage Spaces that I'm quite keen on. Currently all my files/programs are scattered across three harddrives. I rather like the idea of automatically merging them all into a big group. Extra speed, extra reliability, and less clutter for me. Win win!

That said, it's not a day-one purchase feature, and there is a lot else that's wrong with Win8 that counteracts the good bits.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K | 8Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1,600 Mhz
Gigabyte Geforce 460 GTX OC 1Gb | 1Tb + 1.5Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3 | Asrock Z68 Extreme4
Ibanez RG 470 Japanese Edition | 1991 Japanese Lo-TRS Tremolo | V7 S1 Custom V8 HSH Pickups
Bauul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 12:16   #13
3lusive
Ultramodder
 
3lusive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,089
3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
I'm glad they've reduced the number of consumer editions, but I still can't see myself upgrading any time soon to an OS which is by design unsuitable and impractical for a desktop environment. Aero and metro on one OS? No thanks.

Come back when you've given us proper multi-monitor support, not this gimmicky metro crap that you're only doing to try to compete with Apple.

I'm predicting a fail for Win8 on desktops, and Win9 will be the proper successor to Win7, with the removal of the metro UI for desktop versions.
__________________
Antec 300 | Asus P8H67-M Pro R3 | i5 2500K | 16GB XMS3 RAM | GT 430 Zone | 60GB F60 SSD | 1TB F3 + 500GB HDD | CX430W PSU | Logitech G500 + C510 | Win7 Ultimate x64
QNIX QX2710 LED Evolution ll 27" 2560x1440 x2
3lusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 12:23   #14
Chicken76
Hypermodder
 
Chicken76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Romania
Posts: 730
Chicken76 - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Chicken76 - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Chicken76 - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Chicken76 - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Chicken76 - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Chicken76 - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Chicken76 - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Chicken76 - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Chicken76 - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Chicken76 - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Chicken76 - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Is there any info whether the x86 editions will be in both 32 and 64 bit variants, or has 32 bit been dropped?
Chicken76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 13:30   #15
Brooxy
Like a boss (but not a boss)
 
Brooxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sussex
Posts: 2,059
Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.Brooxy is definitely a rep cheat.
Is Metro really as bad as the general consensus make it out to be? (I'm unable to test it due to the lack of a spare machine at home)

On topic, it's good to see that MS have gone back to a simpler set of editions - should make it a bit more consumer friendly for the average joe that doesn't know a lot about computers.

@Chicken76 - According to the link below, it will be availble for 32bit systems - odd though, I thought MS were going to drop support for it.

http://www.techradar.com/news/comput...ffered-1076296
Brooxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 13:36   #16
Phalanx
Needs more dragons and stuff.
 
Phalanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,712
Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I'll wait for Windows 9 I think.
__________________
XBOX Live!: Ph4lanx | Steam: Catachan
I'm an author! ChrisDamico.co.uk
Phalanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 13:43   #17
Coltch
Multimodder
 
Coltch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oxford
Posts: 214
Coltch has yet to learn the way of the DremelColtch has yet to learn the way of the DremelColtch has yet to learn the way of the DremelColtch has yet to learn the way of the DremelColtch has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Metro is awful on the desktop, it's designed for touch enabled devices - end of!

Not too pleased about WMC being a paid for add-on, looks like Win7 or XBMC for the new HTPC
__________________
Main Rig: C= Amiga A1200, ACA1231 (68030 @ 42MHz, 64MB RAM), 4GB CF HDD
HTPC: E8400, HD5830, 4GB RAM, EK blocks, 1.5TB HDD's
Coltch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 13:44   #18
Tangster
Butt-kicking for goodness!
 
Tangster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: York, UK
Posts: 2,943
Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phalanx
I'll wait for Windows 9 I think.
Agree wholeheartedly. Not enough reasons to upgrade and I'm personally hoping the metro interface will crash and burn.
__________________
Uni Box:i7 2700K@5.3GHz|EK Supreme LT+Coolstream XT 360|16GB HyperX DDR3@1866MHz|EVGA GTX780 ti+EK FC780ti|MSI P67A-GD55||M5 512|BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 750W|U3011|Raven RV-02E|KBT Pure+Perixx MX2000 + Intuos 4M
Audio: PC->TosLink->TEAC UD-H01->Schiit Asgard-> Fostex TH600|InEar LivePro 3|Truth B2030A Monitors
BT Feedback
Tangster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 13:54   #19
misterd77
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Glen Bogle, Great Haggis Reserve
Posts: 96
misterd77 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
here was me thinking windows 8 was about cross platform unity, ms sucks baws, bigtime, I guess I will be sticking with win 7 ultimate x64, and buying an ipad......
misterd77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 14:24   #20
Zombie
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chesham
Posts: 40
Zombie has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltch
Metro is awful on the desktop, it's designed for touch enabled devices - end of!
Nonsense, it works happily with mouse / keyboard. I've had a VM running since the dev preview, even developed a couple of internal applications.

Most of the complaints are due to the 'newness' of the interface - people just don't like change. I'm old enough to remember the Win 3.11 -> 95 kerfuffle, the hatred at the time of the start menu! Then came the idea of 'desktop' rather than going to your c: for everything. Every change is met with resistance, and for a company like MS they really suffer - they're either 'not innovative' or alienate some long term users.

Once you get your head round it you'll end up liking it, then you'll be just in time to complain about how much windows 9 sucks because it's different!
__________________
Thomas Garrard
http://www.tgcreate.com
Zombie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1/

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:59.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.