bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th May 2012, 10:29   #1
brumgrunt
Ultramodder
 
brumgrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,009
brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Zyxel PLA4201 500mbps Powerline Adaptor Review

We pitch Zyxel's new sub 50 500Mbps powerline adaptor set against the competition

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/net...aptor-review/1
brumgrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 10:48   #2
Phalanx
Needs more dragons and stuff.
 
Phalanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,712
Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Would these be any good for streaming HD Netflix to a HTPC? It would be coming through from a gigabit router.
__________________
XBOX Live!: Ph4lanx | Steam: Catachan
I'm an author! ChrisDamico.co.uk
Phalanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 11:12   #3
Spraduke
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Warrington
Posts: 82
Spraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
Hmm my devolo 200mbps might soon become a bottle neck when virgin boost my 30 mb to 60mb. Time to do some speed tests!
Spraduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 11:25   #4
sandys
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 2,146
sandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for president
I use the Zyxel and get ~180Mbps from one part of the house and ~130 from another, only dropped to ~100Mbs when I am simultaneously copying big files to both locations, so not sure what is up with yours.

EDIT- Just realized these are the mini, I have the PL4205 Oops, I also use the 4225 which has a in built 4 port hub well handy for behind the TV, perfect for Netflix streaming etc by the way.
sandys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 11:33   #5
Phalanx
Needs more dragons and stuff.
 
Phalanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,712
Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Thanks sandys.
__________________
XBOX Live!: Ph4lanx | Steam: Catachan
I'm an author! ChrisDamico.co.uk
Phalanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 11:47   #6
Combatus
Custom PC/bit-tech modding sections
Moderator
 
Combatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 1,882
Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.
Netflix needs a maximum of just over 5Mbps (0.64MB/sec) for streaming in HD (they state up to 2.3GB/hr) so even 200Mbps adaptors will be fine.
__________________
My Mods Project: SFX | How to photograph your project | Join the Case Mod Index and WIN PRIZES! | Mod of the Month March 2014 is here! Vote now!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattmc91 View Post
Is the res loud, like, constantly making you need a piss loud?
Combatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 11:48   #7
Phalanx
Needs more dragons and stuff.
 
Phalanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,712
Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Phalanx is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Fair enough then. Thanks.
__________________
XBOX Live!: Ph4lanx | Steam: Catachan
I'm an author! ChrisDamico.co.uk
Phalanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 12:05   #8
Blackshark
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Blackshark has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
So in a few years time, as marketing teams increase the 'theoretical' speed on the packaging a gazillion times, we will have powerline plugs that offer 10Gigabits (1GB per second) but will offer 30MB/s. When will someone like the Trade Description people step in?

I can understand transfer loses - but these manufactureres should have to prove in lab tests that even in perfect world, they can live up to what? 90% of the claim?

When I buy a car with a 180bhp 2.2 litre enginer, I dont expect it to arrive with a 40bhp 0.8L engine!
Blackshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 12:16   #9
sandys
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 2,146
sandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for president
That is single stream performance.

You can achieve good throughput generally, it used to be that the more powerline adaptors you added the lower your transfer, now you can add more and the tranfer rate of the network is still quite high, so you can have multiple network streams and the bandwidth doesn't drop which is the big improvement the 500 gear gives you.

Check figure 15 here

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/lanwa...oundup?start=2

One of my reasons for upgrading since backups to my NAS take forever if you were also streaming other stuff on the old gear to other machines, but to be honest the old gear was great, though ran hot, new stuff nice and cool plus its faster.

Last edited by sandys; 25th May 2012 at 12:30.
sandys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 12:40   #10
Pookie
What's My Age Again?
 
Pookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newton Abbot (originally from Wantage)
Posts: 1,344
Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.
Nice review, good to see reviews of networking kit for a change.
__________________
Fractal R4/ GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 920@3.8Ghz / Corsair H60 (2013 Model) with 2 x Corsair SP120 / Corsair Force GT 120 SSD /Sapphire R9 290X / 12GB (3x4GB)Corsair Dominator 1600mhz with Airflow Kit / AOC i2757fm 27" IPS Monitor/ Razer Lachesis.
Rotel RA-02 Amplifier/ B&W DM601 S3/ QED XT350 With Airlock plugs/All QED Interconnects.

http://www.compucare.co.uk/
Pookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 15:40   #11
GeorgeK
Bit-Tech Keyboard Overlord
Moderator
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ashford, Kent
Posts: 5,154
GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackshark View Post
So in a few years time, as marketing teams increase the 'theoretical' speed on the packaging a gazillion times, we will have powerline plugs that offer 10Gigabits (1GB per second) but will offer 30MB/s. When will someone like the Trade Description people step in?

I can understand transfer loses - but these manufactureres should have to prove in lab tests that even in perfect world, they can live up to what? 90% of the claim?

When I buy a car with a 180bhp 2.2 litre enginer, I dont expect it to arrive with a 40bhp 0.8L engine!
I agree - I've been looking into cabling vs powerline recently and I could find no evidence to support the fact that 'gigabit' powerline adapters would offer me any more throughput than my current wireless connection (which gives me a max of about 8 MB/s on large files) unless they happen to be used to network two things in the same room...
__________________
Main Rig: i7-4770K | Z87 Sabertooth | H100i | EVGA GTX780 SC SLI | 16GB HyperX Beast 2400 | 256GB 840 Pro | 480GB Seagate 600 SSD | 2TB SSHD | X-1050 | Air 540 | U2713HM | Xonar STX | SP2500s
Keyboards: Black Filco TKL - Stickered, Lubed Reds | White Filco TKL - Browns | Filco MiniLA - Browns | Poker w/Plate, Alu Case - Stickered, Lubed 65g Ergo-Clears | Cherry G80-3000 - Browns | Cherry G80-3700 w/Plate - Lubed 65g Ergo-Clears | IBM Model M SSK - Bolt & Floss Modded | HHKB Pro 2 Type-S
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 16:11   #12
sandys
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 2,146
sandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for president
Both of mine go across the house in different directions, do a test on your wireless and see if you can sustain 12.5MB a second to two computers at the same time, your wireless will probably half.

Before I updated my powerline I bought 450Mb 3x3 wireless N gear as this stuff exists in or laptops/phones etc and as I didn't really want to continue using powerline when wireless is so convenient and I have limited sockets, it couldn't handle my usage scenario

Was only good for one stream at full speed really any more and the missus complained that the internet didn't work

Last edited by sandys; 25th May 2012 at 18:18. Reason: put the correct MB in
sandys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 16:59   #13
dunx
ITX is where it's at !
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Deep in the rhubarb triangle
Posts: 444
dunx can run Crysisdunx can run Crysisdunx can run Crysisdunx can run Crysisdunx can run Crysisdunx can run Crysisdunx can run Crysisdunx can run Crysisdunx can run Crysis
So how do you measure multi-streaming performance ?

I don't need it, yet... but can they cope with 2x loading say between 2 pairs of PC's ?

dunx
__________________
Asus P6T7 WS Revo. + Asus U3S6 - i7-960 @ 3.8 GHz - Corsair H70 - 6 GB Corsair DDR3 @ 1600 MHz - 64 GB Cucial M4 SSD - Dual WD Caviar Black 1TB SATA III HD's - HD 5870 + GTX 480 - Coolermaster 1250W PSU - ANTEC P280 - 4 x 240 V server fans - Griffin Powermate
dunx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 17:34   #14
Pookeyhead
It's big, and it's clever.
 
Pookeyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackpool, UK. Cheesecake!
Posts: 10,627
Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.
Am I missing something obvious with these powerline adaptors? How is 19MB/sec = 500Mbsec? Why is it a 500Mb/sec adaptor? 500Mb/sec = around 60 MB/sec doesn't it?
__________________
MAIN RIG |Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHz Asus Rampage IV Extreme 16Gb Mushkin DDR3 2133 512GB Samsung 830 SSD 4TB of HDD Storage 4GB EVGA GTX670 Superclocked SLI Corsair 650D Eizo ColorEdge CG303W & Dell 2007FP Logitech Z623
EARTH| Celeron E3200 Gigabyte G31M-ES2L LSI SAS9260-8i 3TB RAID5 Headless - VNC administered
MOON | Thecus N3200pro 3TB RAID5
Pookeyhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 18:04   #15
GeorgeK
Bit-Tech Keyboard Overlord
Moderator
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ashford, Kent
Posts: 5,154
GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeK is definitely a rep cheat.
^ Exactly - even in 'ideal conditions' (read: same room), they don't even manage 1/3 of the stated speed....
__________________
Main Rig: i7-4770K | Z87 Sabertooth | H100i | EVGA GTX780 SC SLI | 16GB HyperX Beast 2400 | 256GB 840 Pro | 480GB Seagate 600 SSD | 2TB SSHD | X-1050 | Air 540 | U2713HM | Xonar STX | SP2500s
Keyboards: Black Filco TKL - Stickered, Lubed Reds | White Filco TKL - Browns | Filco MiniLA - Browns | Poker w/Plate, Alu Case - Stickered, Lubed 65g Ergo-Clears | Cherry G80-3000 - Browns | Cherry G80-3700 w/Plate - Lubed 65g Ergo-Clears | IBM Model M SSK - Bolt & Floss Modded | HHKB Pro 2 Type-S
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 18:14   #16
sandys
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 2,146
sandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for presidentsandys should be considered for president
It is one of those unfortunate marketing things that networking companies seem to get away with where they add up and down plus multiple streams in best case scenario to come up with the number.

Bit techs review misses the multi stream test that is the benefit of these adaptors beyond raw single stream pace

Last edited by sandys; 25th May 2012 at 18:49.
sandys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 20:21   #17
MSHunter
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,338
MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.MSHunter is definitely a rep cheat.
Waiting for a full review in next CP mag to include other brands like Solwise which use the same chip as the Delovo's and cost much less. some review sites say they are so much of the same that the auto encrypt button works when linking delovo to Solwise adapter. (got to love it when standards are followed)
__________________
PC: Silverstone TJ08B-E, 2500K, Corsair H80, 256 GB Samsung 830,GENE-Z , Corsair V. LP 16GB, Gigabyte 1.5GB GTX 580 Super Overclock. U2711

PC Audio: AKG 271 mk II + Samson Go mic. + Asus Xonar D2X
Amp: DENON PMA510AE, Speakers: TANNOY MERCURY F1
MSHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2012, 09:25   #18
jjthorne
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
jjthorne has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I use 3 of these Powerline adapters in my use, as I live in a built up area where if I do a scan of the Wi-Fi channels I pick up 10 different signals so gaming via the W-Fi is no good, I have the 200mbps connected to a ADSL modem, the ADSL is connected ATM at 9.306 doanload and 1.025 upload, Wireless I don't get anything near this just simply Pinging the router via the Wireless I get on min/avg/max/mdev = 1.477/3.078/70.950/8.198 ms through the the Powerline I get a 3ms at all time, as their is no interference from other house's.

So aslong as you get a set of adapters that are faster then your broadband then their will not be a bottle neck, the downgrade of the of the bandwidth if A) the quality of your powerline cables in your house, and B) the length of the transmission, 'cause if its going from one room to another on different flip switch's then the signal needs to go right down to the switch box then back up to the other adapter. but its cuts out all the interference from other people WIFI which i was getting.
jjthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 20:39   #19
TheDitherer
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Grim(and it is)by
Posts: 8
TheDitherer has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjthorne View Post
the length of the transmission, 'cause if its going from one room to another on different flip switch's then the signal needs to go right down to the switch box then back up to the other adapter.
This must be TCP/IP packet loss or Ethernet frame loss. There's no way a signal, travelling at about 0.5c, is appreciably slowed by a dozen yards of copper wire and a fusebox.

But why is there any loss at all? This cabling carries (13Ax240V) 3.1kW, surely it can manage a bit of Ethernet?

There are much techier people on here, so I await enlightenment (and probably being made an idiot of )
TheDitherer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jun 2012, 00:27   #20
PeteDemiSwede
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
PeteDemiSwede has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I recently upgraded my broadband to Virgins 100mbit and my old Devolo 200mbit power line adapters were too slow. Bought the solwise 500mbit ones and they do the job nicely, and they give me at least 100mbit. They were a lot cheaper than the Devolo equivalents but work very well and I have had zero dropped connections. I used to regularly get dropped connections with the Devolo adapters wasting a huge amount of time.
PeteDemiSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:39.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.