bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Aug 2012, 06:28   #1
Wicked_Sludge
My eyes! The goggles do nothing!
 
Wicked_Sludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: C:\USA\Washington
Posts: 2,220
Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Why is this laptop overheating?

i received this gateway w340ui from a friend some time ago because it started acting up on her. she had already replaced it with another laptop so i stuck it in the corner and didnt mess with it for a long time.

lately ive been trying to get it working and its been fighting me but i may have it tracked down to a cooling issue. ive tested the RAM with memtest overnight with no errors, and the CPU fan cycles like normal (it doesnt run full blast constantly, indicating overheating) so i dont think its the ram or the cpu that are overheating. everything but the CPU is passively cooled and i have the motherboard out and laying on the desk in the open so i wouldnt think cooling would be an issue, but i wasnt able to get it to run long enough to install windows until i pointed a large desk fan at the motherboard and shut the computer down to cool every time windows installer wanted to reboot the system.

ive been feeling the chips on the board and the only one that even gets slightly warm is the GPU, which does not have a heat sink. i need to install drivers before i can run any stress tests on it to see if it piles up under load but it seems odd to me that any of the passively cooled chips would be overheating with the board laying out in the open like it is?

__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3|Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0Ghz|12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600|XFX HD6990|2x Barracuda 1TB RAID 1
Wicked_Sludge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2012, 06:56   #2
dancingbear84
error 404
 
dancingbear84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: A house in Devon
Posts: 1,927
dancingbear84 is definitely a rep cheat.dancingbear84 is definitely a rep cheat.dancingbear84 is definitely a rep cheat.dancingbear84 is definitely a rep cheat.dancingbear84 is definitely a rep cheat.dancingbear84 is definitely a rep cheat.dancingbear84 is definitely a rep cheat.dancingbear84 is definitely a rep cheat.dancingbear84 is definitely a rep cheat.dancingbear84 is definitely a rep cheat.dancingbear84 is definitely a rep cheat.
Why do you think it is a cooling issue? Have you checked the hdd for errors or bad sectors? Have you cleaned the exhaust vent of the cpu cooler. In my experience the gap between the heat sink and fan can get filled with a "blanket" of fluff a couple of mil thick.
__________________
It doesn't matter if you make a mistake, it only matters if you don't learn from it
dancingbear84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2012, 07:04   #3
Wicked_Sludge
My eyes! The goggles do nothing!
 
Wicked_Sludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: C:\USA\Washington
Posts: 2,220
Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
as i said, i believe its a cooling issue because the system would not stay stable enough to even install windows until i pointed a desk fan at it and shut it down to cool periodically during install.

i did scan the HDD (its clean) as well as trying a second drive which produced a similar failure. i have reseated the cooler twice using AC5. the cooler and board are immaculate.
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3|Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0Ghz|12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600|XFX HD6990|2x Barracuda 1TB RAID 1
Wicked_Sludge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2012, 10:06   #4
Xahl
Your mum's a Dremel
 
Xahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Conwy, Wales, UK
Posts: 176
Xahl has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
hmm I had a similar-ish problem where my laptop would just reboot after a period (as if overheating) until the point where it just wouldn't turn on, which is a motherboard - power supply problem usually. I ended up having to get a new machine, which unfortunately doesn't help you but it might help indicate where the problem might be...
__________________
i5 2500k @ ghz | Corsair H80 | Asus HD 6850 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600mhz | Corsair Force Series 3 60GB SSD | Intel Z68 | Corsair Builder Series 500w | Corsair Obsidian 550D | Logitech G15 & G400
Xahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2012, 15:50   #5
ferret141
Ultramodder
 
ferret141's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Behind J00 sumware, London
Posts: 1,129
ferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Some hardware fault is probably the issue. But hs anyone ever considered cooked thermal compound.
ferret141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2012, 16:12   #6
lancer778544
isnt really an ultramodder...
 
lancer778544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 2,093
lancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Might be worth booting to a Linux distro and checking temps from in there if it can last the boot process.
__________________
AMD FX-8320 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro | 2x 4GB EVGA GTX 680 Classified SLI | 256GB Samsung 840 Pro | 1TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair AX860i | CM Storm Trooper | Enermax Dreambass Sound Card
lancer778544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2012, 16:54   #7
The_Crapman
MD of M.Z.A. Inc and Weasel Pimp
 
The_Crapman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Birmingham, England
Posts: 1,944
The_Crapman is a Super Spamming SaiyanThe_Crapman is a Super Spamming SaiyanThe_Crapman is a Super Spamming SaiyanThe_Crapman is a Super Spamming SaiyanThe_Crapman is a Super Spamming SaiyanThe_Crapman is a Super Spamming SaiyanThe_Crapman is a Super Spamming SaiyanThe_Crapman is a Super Spamming SaiyanThe_Crapman is a Super Spamming SaiyanThe_Crapman is a Super Spamming SaiyanThe_Crapman is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferret141 View Post
But hs anyone ever considered cooked thermal compound.
ta da!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked_Sludge View Post
i have reseated the cooler twice using AC5. the cooler and board are immaculate.
__________________
i5 3570K@4.3, ASUS Maximus 5 Gene, EVGA GTX 970 Cheesecake, 4GB 1600MHz G.Skill RipjawsX CL6@2133, Enermax Revolution 1050W, WD Raptor 150GB , Fractal Arc Midi R2.
XSPC Twin DDC Dual Bay Res, 2x Laing DDC-1T Plus, Alphacool NexXxoS XP³ Light - Acetal Edition, Alphacool NexXxoS NVXP GTX760 Full Cover Copper Block, Alphacool Heatmaster II, 2x 240mm Alphacool ST30 Full Copper Rads, 5x
Xigmatec CLF Red 120mm Fans
The_Crapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2012, 00:07   #8
ferret141
Ultramodder
 
ferret141's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Behind J00 sumware, London
Posts: 1,129
ferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Crapman View Post
ta da!
Sorry for not reading thoroughly enough.
ferret141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2012, 13:47   #9
Blogins
Panda have Guns
 
Blogins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,102
Blogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming Saiyan
My initial thought would be a faulty laptop PSU adapter or connection, the most common fault. Does the system have any problem sitting in the BIOS screen for a good few hours without stability issues?
__________________
|Fractal Design Define R3, Black Pearl (Case)|ASUS P8P67 Deluxe (Motherboard)|Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (Processor)|
|G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1600mhz Sniper 1.25v (Memory)|PNY GTX 780 Ti / EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC (Graphics)|
|Corsair Professional Series Gold AX 850W (Power Supply Unit)|Asus Xonar D2X PCI-Express (Sound Card)|
|OCZ Vertex 3 120GB (Solid State Drive - Boot)|OCZ Vertex 3 240GB (Solid State Drive - Games)|
Blogins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2012, 19:48   #10
Wicked_Sludge
My eyes! The goggles do nothing!
 
Wicked_Sludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: C:\USA\Washington
Posts: 2,220
Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
i havnt been able to run any 3d graphics tests. furmark just crashes on launch and 3dmark requires directx 10 which i guess this ati Xpress 200M does not support. i did successfully run the WEI test.

i just ran prime95 with speedfan going and it froze within 3-4 minutes with the following temp readings:
temp1 - 55
core0 - 46
core1 - 45

based on that im even more sure its not a CPU heat problem (but i have no way of monitoring the GPU). i must now let the system cool off for a while because when i try to power it on, i just get a black screen. no POST or anything. once it cools off i will let it sit on the BIOS screen and see if it freezes (im pretty sure it does though).

i suspect the power supply is OK. ive used it with two other laptops and they both work OK...
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3|Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0Ghz|12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600|XFX HD6990|2x Barracuda 1TB RAID 1
Wicked_Sludge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2012, 20:20   #11
Blogins
Panda have Guns
 
Blogins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,102
Blogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming SaiyanBlogins is a Super Spamming Saiyan
The only thing I can suggest is attach a copper heatsink to the ATI chip. Just do a soft install with some TIM and see if that helps. Doesn't have to be anything pretty, as long as it's adaptable to fit it'll do for testing!
__________________
|Fractal Design Define R3, Black Pearl (Case)|ASUS P8P67 Deluxe (Motherboard)|Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (Processor)|
|G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1600mhz Sniper 1.25v (Memory)|PNY GTX 780 Ti / EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC (Graphics)|
|Corsair Professional Series Gold AX 850W (Power Supply Unit)|Asus Xonar D2X PCI-Express (Sound Card)|
|OCZ Vertex 3 120GB (Solid State Drive - Boot)|OCZ Vertex 3 240GB (Solid State Drive - Games)|
Blogins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2012, 21:17   #12
lancer778544
isnt really an ultramodder...
 
lancer778544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 2,093
lancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyanlancer778544 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked_Sludge View Post
ati Xpress 200M
I'm gonna put money on that being the culprit. I've had to replace a couple of motherboards with that exact chipset due to garbled graphics outputs when warm.
__________________
AMD FX-8320 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro | 2x 4GB EVGA GTX 680 Classified SLI | 256GB Samsung 840 Pro | 1TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair AX860i | CM Storm Trooper | Enermax Dreambass Sound Card
lancer778544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2012, 21:21   #13
hughwi
Ultramodder
 
hughwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,419
hughwi should be considered for presidenthughwi should be considered for presidenthughwi should be considered for presidenthughwi should be considered for presidenthughwi should be considered for presidenthughwi should be considered for presidenthughwi should be considered for presidenthughwi should be considered for presidenthughwi should be considered for presidenthughwi should be considered for presidenthughwi should be considered for president
Quote:
Originally Posted by lancer778544 View Post
I'm gonna put money on that being the culprit. I've had to replace a couple of motherboards with that exact chipset due to garbled graphics outputs when warm.
Seconded, this chipset seems to get FUBAR'd after a few years of running in a lappy with no heatsink.
__________________
Main Rig: i7 D0 920 - Gigabyte X58A-UD7 - Ati HD 4890 - 6GB Dominator PC1600 RAM - 1x Intel 80GB SSD - 1x Samsung F2 1TB - LG CH08LS10 Blu Ray Burner - Samsung 2433 TFT
hughwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2012, 09:57   #14
Wicked_Sludge
My eyes! The goggles do nothing!
 
Wicked_Sludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: C:\USA\Washington
Posts: 2,220
Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Ive also been leaning toward a bad GPU pretty much this whole time, i just have no way to confirm it. i dont have a heatsink small enough to fit the chip, but i did stick a half-height PCI bracket to it to act as a sink of sorts but the system still acts up. im starting to think it may be toasted from previous overheating
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3|Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0Ghz|12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600|XFX HD6990|2x Barracuda 1TB RAID 1
Wicked_Sludge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2012, 10:06   #15
Deders
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Here and there, mostly there
Posts: 3,734
Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.
How old is the laptop? it could be another chip that doesn't have active cooling or it may be because some of the solder has gone bad causing resistance.
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Logitech G19 - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2012, 08:32   #16
Wicked_Sludge
My eyes! The goggles do nothing!
 
Wicked_Sludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: C:\USA\Washington
Posts: 2,220
Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
so for the past 2 days i couldnt get anything but a blank screen out of this thing. finally, tonight i disconnected and reconnected what i assume to be some kind of small battery (red circle) and it POSTed and i got to the BIOS screen. i dont believe this is the cmos battery, which i have circled in blue.



the system sat for 3 hours on the BIOS screen and was still operational. as soon as i tried to boot into windows, it froze on the starting windows screen. ditto when i tried again. it seems any load at all is enough to lock it up when the system is warm.

i think this machine was given to me in '07. it would have only been about a year old at that point and since ive had it its spent most of its years collecting dust.
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3|Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0Ghz|12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600|XFX HD6990|2x Barracuda 1TB RAID 1
Wicked_Sludge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2012, 08:35   #17
Deders
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Here and there, mostly there
Posts: 3,734
Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.
Could try looking up the part or serial number on the battery?

Most laptops have a lifespan of about 5 years unfortunately
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Logitech G19 - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2012, 08:46   #18
Wicked_Sludge
My eyes! The goggles do nothing!
 
Wicked_Sludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: C:\USA\Washington
Posts: 2,220
Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
good call. it appears to be the modem (i was way off!).

id say unplugging it and the machine coming back is coincidental, but its not the first time ive gotten it to boot by doing that.

just for fun, i started it up with the modem removed. the system booted into windows and i managed to run prime95 for 3 minutes before it locked up. i attribute being able to boot this time to it cooling down for 5-10 minutes.
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3|Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0Ghz|12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600|XFX HD6990|2x Barracuda 1TB RAID 1
Wicked_Sludge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2012, 08:49   #19
Deders
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Here and there, mostly there
Posts: 3,734
Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.
Have you checked the soldering for dry joints? Capacitors etc for bulges?
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Logitech G19 - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2012, 08:51   #20
Wicked_Sludge
My eyes! The goggles do nothing!
 
Wicked_Sludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: C:\USA\Washington
Posts: 2,220
Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Wicked_Sludge is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
theres only a handful of caps on this board and they all look good. as for solder joints, theres a metric ****ton on this board. ive glanced it over but studying even half of those connections boggles the mind!
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3|Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0Ghz|12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600|XFX HD6990|2x Barracuda 1TB RAID 1
Wicked_Sludge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gateway, laptop, naked, overheating

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:51.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.