bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th Aug 2012, 11:15   #1
brumgrunt
Ultramodder
 
brumgrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,009
brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.brumgrunt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Dark Souls PC Preview

http://www.bit-tech.net/gaming/pc/20...s-pc-preview/1
brumgrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 11:59   #2
kingred
Surfacing sucks!
 
kingred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,295
kingred - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youkingred - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youkingred - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youkingred - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youkingred - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youkingred - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youkingred - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youkingred - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youkingred - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youkingred - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youkingred - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
PLEASE REMEMBER THIS IS FROM SOFTWARES FIRST EVER PC GAME OH GOD PLEASE DONT OVERHYPE THIS.
kingred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 12:08   #3
law99
Custom User Title
 
law99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 2,077
law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.
did you read it?

The whole thing put me off buying it.

At first I was like: "Hey. Awesome. The game I missed on the PC that I really wanted to pick up is being made on PC! Which is freaking awesome coz that means it is possible going to be much better!"

But then I was like: "$*#%. P.O.S. I'm not buying till someone has confirmed whether it is playable."

And that is from reading the article.
__________________
3570k WC @ 4.7giggles | 8gb Kingston 2133mhz | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | R9 290 (awaiting wc block... ) | Seasonic x-660w | NZXT 810 switch | Crucial M4 128gb | 2x F3 1tb Raid 1 | NZXT Sentry 6ch 50w fan controller | eyefinity 4112x1024
law99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 13:17   #4
Bauul
Sir Bongaminge
 
Bauul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Godalming, near Guildford
Posts: 2,173
Bauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run Crysis
Lucky bugger! And where was my invite?

Interesting thoughts though. Dark Souls jutters a fair bit on console anyway (famously Blightown runs at single digit FPS). The feedback from other previews is that whilst the judders aren't gone, it does perform better on PC than it did on the consoles, but I guess if you've not played the console version asking for a comparison isn't going to help!

Two questions if you don't mind Joe:
1) Was anyone able to play it with a keyboard and mouse, and did they comment on whether it was any good?
2) Was it obvious the internal resolution is capped at 1024x720? As in, did it look particularly bad or was it OK to play up-close?

I'll buy it for sure, even though I only got the console version quite recently.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K | 8Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1,600 Mhz
Gigabyte Geforce 460 GTX OC 1Gb | 1Tb + 1.5Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3 | Asrock Z68 Extreme4
Ibanez RG 470 Japanese Edition | 1991 Japanese Lo-TRS Tremolo | V7 S1 Custom V8 HSH Pickups

Last edited by Bauul; 15th Aug 2012 at 13:38.
Bauul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 13:31   #5
ChaosDefinesOrder
Vapourmodder
 
ChaosDefinesOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 626
ChaosDefinesOrder is definitely a rep cheat.ChaosDefinesOrder is definitely a rep cheat.ChaosDefinesOrder is definitely a rep cheat.ChaosDefinesOrder is definitely a rep cheat.ChaosDefinesOrder is definitely a rep cheat.ChaosDefinesOrder is definitely a rep cheat.ChaosDefinesOrder is definitely a rep cheat.ChaosDefinesOrder is definitely a rep cheat.ChaosDefinesOrder is definitely a rep cheat.ChaosDefinesOrder is definitely a rep cheat.ChaosDefinesOrder is definitely a rep cheat.
"and decapitated - and that's just off the top of my head"

I see what you did there! :-P
ChaosDefinesOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 13:38   #6
TFSakon
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
TFSakon has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Oh I wish they'd take their time, it would be pointless to have a half-baked barely playable version that required mods to get it up to spec on release.
TFSakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 13:40   #7
Stefarooh
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Stefarooh has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
This is getting more worrying and worrying as the relase date approaches. I would have been happy to sit with the bare bones graphic options but I run an MSI 670 I7 3610QM with aN Nvidia GTX 675m and 12gigs or ram and if this game hits framereate issues I am going to burst a few bloodvessels. This very well may end my pre-odering days and just sit out and wait for the envitable sales where I can pick the stuff up for $5 dollars of steam.

I am sorry but I couldnt give a rats ass if they have limited PC knowledge...either you seek help or you hold it back until its in a fitter state for release.
Stefarooh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 13:41   #8
Stefarooh
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Stefarooh has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefarooh
This is getting more worrying and worrying as the relase date approaches. I would have been happy to sit with the bare bones graphic options but I run an MSI GT70 I7 3610QM with aN Nvidia GTX 675m and 12gigs or ram and if this game hits framereate issues I am going to burst a few bloodvessels. This very well may end my pre-odering days and just sit out and wait for the envitable sales where I can pick the stuff up for $5 dollars of steam.

I am sorry but I couldnt give a rats ass if they have limited PC knowledge...either you seek help or you hold it back until its in a fitter state for release.
Stefarooh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 13:43   #9
Bauul
Sir Bongaminge
 
Bauul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Godalming, near Guildford
Posts: 2,173
Bauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by law99 View Post
At first I was like: "Hey. Awesome. The game I missed on the PC that I really wanted to pick up is being made on PC! Which is freaking awesome coz that means it is possible going to be much better!"
It's an interesting point this. Should we, as PC players, expect PC ports to be graphically better than the original console version, even if the game doesn't require it?

Dark Souls is not a game that relies on graphics (it's all about the art and design of the thing), and it certainly doesn't need any kind of graphical improvement, so I wonder why so many PC gamers have kicked off that the port doesn't have any kind of extra wizardry included?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K | 8Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1,600 Mhz
Gigabyte Geforce 460 GTX OC 1Gb | 1Tb + 1.5Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3 | Asrock Z68 Extreme4
Ibanez RG 470 Japanese Edition | 1991 Japanese Lo-TRS Tremolo | V7 S1 Custom V8 HSH Pickups
Bauul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 14:08   #10
Showerhead
Ultramodder
 
Showerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 1,110
Showerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bauul
Quote:
Originally Posted by law99 View Post
At first I was like: "Hey. Awesome. The game I missed on the PC that I really wanted to pick up is being made on PC! Which is freaking awesome coz that means it is possible going to be much better!"
It's an interesting point this. Should we, as PC players, expect PC ports to be graphically better than the original console version, even if the game doesn't require it?

Dark Souls is not a game that relies on graphics (it's all about the art and design of the thing), and it certainly doesn't need any kind of graphical improvement, so I wonder why so many PC gamers have kicked off that the port doesn't have any kind of extra wizardry included?
Probably because it is so barebones. No resoulution options means it will look off if your monitor resolution is higher than the games maximum. Framerate cap at 30 fps if true will look stuttery if you're used to playing at 60 fps all the time. Both things to my knowledge are really easy to implement to, removing the framerate cap would probably be removing one line of code.
Showerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 14:59   #11
dolphie
ken sent me
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
dolphie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dolphie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dolphie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dolphie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dolphie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dolphie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dolphie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dolphie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dolphie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dolphie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.dolphie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
If it fails they can just blame it on piracy ;p
dolphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 15:35   #12
Bauul
Sir Bongaminge
 
Bauul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Godalming, near Guildford
Posts: 2,173
Bauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Showerhead

Probably because it is so barebones. No resoulution options means it will look off if your monitor resolution is higher than the games maximum. Framerate cap at 30 fps if true will look stuttery if you're used to playing at 60 fps all the time. Both things to my knowledge are really easy to implement to, removing the framerate cap would probably be removing one line of code.
As far as I know there are plenty of resolution options, it's just the internal framebuffer that's limited, but I'm hopeful Joe can shed some more like on how it looked to play.

I suspect there's a good reason for limiting the FPS (at least I bloody hope so!). I've heard other developers talk about capping framerates in order to maintain the physics calculations underneath. Apparently things can go squiffty with some implementations if you let the FPS run too fast. I guess we won't ever know for sure unless From tells us.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K | 8Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1,600 Mhz
Gigabyte Geforce 460 GTX OC 1Gb | 1Tb + 1.5Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3 | Asrock Z68 Extreme4
Ibanez RG 470 Japanese Edition | 1991 Japanese Lo-TRS Tremolo | V7 S1 Custom V8 HSH Pickups
Bauul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 15:37   #13
law99
Custom User Title
 
law99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 2,077
law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bauul
Quote:
Originally Posted by law99 View Post
At first I was like: "Hey. Awesome. The game I missed on the PC that I really wanted to pick up is being made on PC! Which is freaking awesome coz that means it is possible going to be much better!"
It's an interesting point this. Should we, as PC players, expect PC ports to be graphically better than the original console version, even if the game doesn't require it?

Dark Souls is not a game that relies on graphics (it's all about the art and design of the thing), and it certainly doesn't need any kind of graphical improvement, so I wonder why so many PC gamers have kicked off that the port doesn't have any kind of extra wizardry included?
Yeah... true. But the thing is you expect that with the power of PC hardware, you will be able to smooth out any performance related woes.

The fact is though, it may end up worse!!! I have a PS3 so I could just play it on that... but I'd rather it was on my pc.

I may revisit and purchase on PS3, but if it is better on PC I'd rather that - especially if we are looking at 60fps, native @ 1080p and anti-aliasing... it is a no brainer. I'd even pay more for that, which would be one fo the points surely of a PC port?
__________________
3570k WC @ 4.7giggles | 8gb Kingston 2133mhz | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | R9 290 (awaiting wc block... ) | Seasonic x-660w | NZXT 810 switch | Crucial M4 128gb | 2x F3 1tb Raid 1 | NZXT Sentry 6ch 50w fan controller | eyefinity 4112x1024
law99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 16:08   #14
rollo
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,222
rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.
capped fps are usaully in relation to how the game is coded with physics and AI implementation.

Stuttery on a laptop isnt really a huge worry a beefy alienware means what exactly 560m sli gpus? or are we talking 7970 crossfire m gpus.

huge performance dif between them both have been sold by alienware in the last 12months.

crysis was the worst programed pc game of all time its still not really maxable out to this day.

id like to know what it runs like on a normal pc 560 ti graphics ect not on a beefy alienware laptop that doesnt tell us out really. as peoples may define beefy as alot different than others.
rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 16:56   #15
law99
Custom User Title
 
law99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 2,077
law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.
I'm pretty sure Crysis is max out-able nowadays. Unless you are talking about surround or eyefinity and other crazy resolutions. http://www.anandtech.com/bench/GPU11/188 < and those results aren't the latest gen cards either.

Plus, stuttery at medium isn't exactly a good sign? I mean, unless of course the base gfx settings are those of the PS3... but from the tone of the article, I don't think there is much of a push being made for optimal gfx settings on powerful hardware.

These are extrapolations I know... almost wild conjecture when compared with the info we do know, but all the same, not positive for a PC version.
__________________
3570k WC @ 4.7giggles | 8gb Kingston 2133mhz | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | R9 290 (awaiting wc block... ) | Seasonic x-660w | NZXT 810 switch | Crucial M4 128gb | 2x F3 1tb Raid 1 | NZXT Sentry 6ch 50w fan controller | eyefinity 4112x1024
law99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 17:31   #16
Showerhead
Ultramodder
 
Showerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 1,110
Showerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run Crysis
Actually i'd say crysis was a better programmed game but it's just demanding resource wise. If it was poorly programmed you'd expect massive varaitions in framerate and low fps for what's presented neither of which is true.

I've never got why they choose to program a way where the fps affects the physics calculations. Surely this will just cause problems if in a few years time you come back to play it with newer hardware yet are still forced to play at a low fps. Kinda like if anyone has tried emulating old arcade games without a framecap and landed up with the a.i. moving at light speed.
Showerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 17:31   #17
Eiffie
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 364
Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
In an interview with one of the lead developers he stated that the PC version will not receive any optimizations and blighttown will still be LAGTOWN, that made me shut my wallet. Still gonna buy the DLC on console when it comes out but the PC version won't really be any better as far as I know. This game rocks my socks though, I'm just a trophy or two away from having them all. New Game++++!!!
__________________
I5-750 @ 4GHz - MSI P55-GD65 - 8GB Crucial DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX 680 2GB - 1 Western Digital Black 1TB - 2 Western Digital Green 2TB - 700W Silverstone PSU - H50 Water Cooling Unit - Win7 64-Bit - Logitech G400 - Cooler Master QuickFire Pro MX Brown - Steelseries Icemat V2 - Blue Microphone Snowball - Logitech C920 Webcam
Eiffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 17:33   #18
Eiffie
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 364
Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
http://www.forbes.com/sites/erikkain...abyss-details/ - so sorry, he's a producer, not a developer but if you fancy a read.
__________________
I5-750 @ 4GHz - MSI P55-GD65 - 8GB Crucial DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX 680 2GB - 1 Western Digital Black 1TB - 2 Western Digital Green 2TB - 700W Silverstone PSU - H50 Water Cooling Unit - Win7 64-Bit - Logitech G400 - Cooler Master QuickFire Pro MX Brown - Steelseries Icemat V2 - Blue Microphone Snowball - Logitech C920 Webcam
Eiffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 18:58   #19
Sloth
#yolo #swag
 
Sloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, US
Posts: 5,634
Sloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming SaiyanSloth is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I have to say, I'm too much of a fan to be put off! I guess there's always got to be someone who gets it regardless and reports on the status of things!

It's a truly amazing game and my fingers are crossed that some extra work will be put in before release or soon after in updates. From Software has really started using online updates more and more with their newer games like Dark Souls and Armored Core 5.

Also, for anyone really interested in playing but worried about the PC release: the new content is also coming to consoles in October.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eiffie View Post
http://www.forbes.com/sites/erikkain...abyss-details/ - so sorry, he's a producer, not a developer but if you fancy a read.
Thanks for the link, really interesting article!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forbes
For experienced players, the three new areas should take about ten hours to get through
Challenge accepted.
__________________
Intel i5 2500k | Gelid Tranquillo | ASUS P8P67 | G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB | XFX 7970 Black Edition | SeaSonic X650 | Intel X25-M 160GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | CoolerMaster HAF922
Dell U2412M | 2x Samsung Syncmaster 931B | SteelSeries Siberia V2 | Razer DeathAdder 2013 | Leopold FC200RR/AB | Leopold FC200RC/AB
Sloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2012, 20:18   #20
B_HERB
What is this..A CENTER FOR ANTS?!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 190
B_HERB has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I've already pre-ordered. Spent well over 500 hours on Dark Souls....over 1000 hours on Demon's Souls and Dark Souls combined. This is flat out the best RPG I've ever played in terms of gameplay and balance. Combat is amazing, the levels are challenging, and this game DOES NOT hold your hand. It is an old school rpg in its purest form and once you all start playing it....you won't care about consolified graphics or a crappy framerate in Blighttown (awesome area of the game btw).

For those of you playing....I will be invading you all so beware
B_HERB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:32.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.