bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th Aug 2012, 12:39   #1
Gareth Halfacree
WIIGII!
bit-tech Staff
 
Gareth Halfacree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 4,234
Gareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Microsoft sets Windows 8 upgrade pricing

Thankfully not the originally-claimed 40:
http://www.bit-tech.net/news/bits/20...win8-upgrade/1
__________________
Author, Raspberry Pi User Guide Third Edition, 21 Brilliant Projects for the Raspberry Pi and more | gareth.halfacree.co.uk | twitter | keybase.io
bit-tech news correspondent, Custom PC columnist, other things to other people
I'm a filthy freelancer! Hire me!
Gareth Halfacree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 12:53   #2
Bauul
Sir Bongaminge
 
Bauul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Godalming, near Guildford
Posts: 2,173
Bauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run CrysisBauul can run Crysis
MS really are pulling out all the stops to get people to upgrade. Given 99% of the PC world runs Windows anyway, they've effectively selling Win 8 at 24.99 to everyone.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K | 8Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1,600 Mhz
Gigabyte Geforce 460 GTX OC 1Gb | 1Tb + 1.5Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3 | Asrock Z68 Extreme4
Ibanez RG 470 Japanese Edition | 1991 Japanese Lo-TRS Tremolo | V7 S1 Custom V8 HSH Pickups
Bauul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 12:59   #3
runadumb
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 395
runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
That's not so bad if you are on XP or Vista. I won't be upgrading my Win7 desktop but if I had a decent old laptop I probably would. Not worth doing it on my Netbook, piece of crap that it is.

Shame they didn't do a special release price like they did with 7. It was only 45
runadumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 13:03   #4
CrapBag
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
CrapBag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,780
CrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming SaiyanCrapBag is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Now I would be happily paying this if there was a graphics driver for my laptop.

I used the beta for about 2 months on my laptop but got fed up with it looking so crap I ditched it and went back to... GULP....Vista a few days ago.
CrapBag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 13:04   #5
Jaffo
Modder
 
Jaffo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Jaffo has yet to learn the way of the DremelJaffo has yet to learn the way of the DremelJaffo has yet to learn the way of the DremelJaffo has yet to learn the way of the DremelJaffo has yet to learn the way of the DremelJaffo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Pretty impressive pricing. Install Classic Shell and it's good to go!

Quote:
Originally Posted by runadumb
Not worth doing it on my Netbook, piece of crap that it is.
One of the annoyances with W8 is that the Metro apps won't work below 1024x768 which rules out most netbooks so mine will be sticking with W7.
Jaffo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 13:07   #6
r3loaded
Ultramodder
 
r3loaded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,081
r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaffo
Pretty impressive pricing. Install Classic Shell and it's good to go!

Quote:
Originally Posted by runadumb
Not worth doing it on my Netbook, piece of crap that it is.
One of the annoyances with W8 is that the Metro apps won't work below 1024x768 which rules out most netbooks so mine will be sticking with W7.
It's still worth throwing Windows 8 on there purely for the speed improvements though.
__________________
Main: Silverstone FT03 | Asus P8P67-M Pro | i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz | CM 212+ | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz | XFX Radeon 7970 DD | 500GB Samsung 840 Evo | Samsung XL2270HD | KBT Race | Sidewinder X8
Mac: 13 inch MacBook Pro 2014 | 16GB RAM | Filco Minila Air | Magic Trackpad
Server: Asus M3N78-AM | Athlon II X3 400e | 4GB Corsair XMS2 | 4x 2TB Samsung F4EG (RAID-5) | LSI MegaRAID 8708EM2 | Corsair CX400 | Arch Linux
r3loaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 13:14   #7
murraynt
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
murraynt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Athlone,Ireland
Posts: 4,134
murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
I'm going to upgrade as soon as I can. If I can't get used to metro I'll just do the reg tweaks and run a normal desktop layout.
__________________
I5 2500K @ 4.8ghz l MSI GD53l 8GB corsair 1600mhz l Asus 5870 v2 NZXT Phantom Red l Zalman X10 Quiet l 60GB Crucial M4l F3 1TB Spinner l X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty l 700Watt Thermaltake l Samsung IPS231 l
Steam: murraynt
murraynt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 13:21   #8
Nexxo
Whatever's Geek.
 
Nexxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 26,361
Nexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming SaiyanNexxo is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Epic value for money. I'm in.
__________________
In memory of Kidmod-Southpaw (1997 - 2014)
a fellow geek, modder, dreamer of dreams
https://www.justgiving.com/kidmod
Nexxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 13:35   #9
SpAceman
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 265
SpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
Whenever I see how cheap it will be to upgrade I always get excited. I cant wait to spend so little to get a full upgrade.

Then I remember I have access to MSDNAA through uni. Derp.
__________________
i7 4770K | Asus Z87-Pro | 16GB Gskill DDR3-1866 | EVGA GTX 760
Silverstone Raven RV02 | Coolermaster V8 | Crucial M4 256GB | Corsair TX750
Dell U2412M | LG W2253TQ | Ducky DK9008 Pro PBT MX Cherry Greens | Naos 7000 | Logitech X-540 5.1 | Logitech G930
SpAceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 13:40   #10
V3ctor
Tech addict...
 
V3ctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Figueira da Foz, Portugal
Posts: 570
V3ctor has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I can't get used to it... I tried, but just can't... Win7 for me for along time :/
__________________
Intel Core i3 3220 / ASUS P8B75-M LX / 2x4Gb DDR3 Gskill Sniper 1866Mhz / MSI GTX 750Ti 2Gb GDDR5 / Viewsonic VX922 / Samsung 470 128Gb / Corsair CX600 / CM 690
Intel Core i7 2670QM 2.2~3.1Ghz / 10Gb DDR3 / nVidia GT550M 2Gb / Intel 330 180Gb
Intel Core i7 4770K@4.5Ghz / ASUS Sabertooth Z87 / 2x4Gb Gskill Trident X 2400Mhz / 2x ASUS Matrix Platinum 7970 3Gb / Samsung T260 / 2x Corsair Force GT 240Gb raid0/ Corsair HX-850W/ Silverstone FT02R-Wi
V3ctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 14:08   #11
ya93sin
Minimodder
 
ya93sin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Gerrards Cross, Bucks
Posts: 44
ya93sin has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Can't see myself paying for the upgrade when I have Windows 7 which has been ever so reliable for me since I installed it.
ya93sin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 14:25   #12
xaser04
Ba Ba Ba BANANA!
 
xaser04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somerset
Posts: 1,708
xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.
Great news, I have a couple of XP licences which I can use to upgrade to Windows 8. Perfect for my wife's netbook and her main machine which is currently running Win 8 RP.

Is there anymore news on this? I.E. Can I simply download the Win8 ISO (direct from Microsoft like the CP/RP) and install it directly or do I have to have XP installed in the first instance?
__________________
Daedalus - Clevo P170SM | i7 4700MQ @ 3.4Ghz | GTX780M 4GB @980/6000 | 16GB DDR3 | 17.3" 1920x1080 |
ZPM Hive Mini - Corsair 250D | i7 4770S | GTX690 @ 1050/6000 | 4GB DDR3 | 3 x LG IPS231P 5888x1080 |
Consoles / Retro - PS4 | PS3 | Xbox One x2 | Dreamcast x2 (VGA) & lots more |
xaser04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 14:44   #13
Guinevere
Mega Mom
 
Guinevere's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,101
Guinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming SaiyanGuinevere is a Super Spamming Saiyan
So how many computers can I upgrade for my 24.99? Are they sticking with the old Microsoft way of doing things and requiring one licence per machine, or can I, like with my macs, install the OS on more than one? (I think I already know the answer).

Basically given that I have two windows machines (One is a HTPC running nothing but XBMC, and the other is my bootcamp partition of my macbook for gaming) how could Microsoft ever expect me to pony up for an upgrade?
Guinevere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 14:48   #14
aramil
Keeping it Kerbal.....
 
aramil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: between the furture & the past
Posts: 620
aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xaser04 View Post
Great news, I have a couple of XP licences which I can use to upgrade to Windows 8. Perfect for my wife's netbook and her main machine which is currently running Win 8 RP.

Is there anymore news on this? I.E. Can I simply download the Win8 ISO (direct from Microsoft like the CP/RP) and install it directly or do I have to have XP installed in the first instance?
It's an upgrade so a valid xp vista or seven install has to be on already to use it.

26th Oct an installer will be released which does the work for you. Also allows you to create a DVD or USB backup.

Sent on my CM10 JB powered i9100 by TapaTalk 2
__________________
System: Intel i5 3570K delidded CLU @ 4.6Ghz | Asus Stabertooth Z77 (2003) | Asus GTX560-TI Direct cuII | OCZ Agility 3 120Gb | Samsung 1Tb F2 | WD 500Gb | Corsair 750TX v2 | 8Gb (2x4) Corsair Vengence | Corsair K90 Keyboard | XSPC-Raystorm-750-RS2400 (2 X Akasa viper) | Casecom 5288 | Samsung LS24B300HL / LE46C750 | Windows 10 64bit | Audio: Linn Classik & Keilidh Speakers
aramil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 14:53   #15
stothiptonypE
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
stothiptonypE has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
What does it means?=)
stothiptonypE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 15:06   #16
[-Stash-]
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Woodnesborough, Kent
Posts: 73
[-Stash-] has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
This is a fantastic deal and exactly what MS should be doing to encourage people to upgrade.
[-Stash-] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 15:15   #17
Platinum
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 230
Platinum has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Any word yet on how to get Windows 8 if you have a PC with no OS on it? (I have a retail boxed version of W7 that I plan to move to my media PC)
Platinum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 15:20   #18
murraynt
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
murraynt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Athlone,Ireland
Posts: 4,134
murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xaser04 View Post
Great news, I have a couple of XP licences which I can use to upgrade to Windows 8. Perfect for my wife's netbook and her main machine which is currently running Win 8 RP.

Is there anymore news on this? I.E. Can I simply download the Win8 ISO (direct from Microsoft like the CP/RP) and install it directly or do I have to have XP installed in the first instance?
With windows 7 upgrade you could do a clean install without a problem. With any luck this will be the same.
__________________
I5 2500K @ 4.8ghz l MSI GD53l 8GB corsair 1600mhz l Asus 5870 v2 NZXT Phantom Red l Zalman X10 Quiet l 60GB Crucial M4l F3 1TB Spinner l X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty l 700Watt Thermaltake l Samsung IPS231 l
Steam: murraynt
murraynt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 15:28   #19
Zinfandel
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Zinfandel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Egham
Posts: 3,206
Zinfandel is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitZinfandel is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitZinfandel is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitZinfandel is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitZinfandel is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitZinfandel is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitZinfandel is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitZinfandel is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitZinfandel is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitZinfandel is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitZinfandel is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
25 is pretty good. For that I'll just pick it up to test it out. If it's awful, back to Win 7!

Although... does it have adverts on your desktop? Because yeah, I wont be partaking in that.
__________________
I request you to interact on this forum in a streetwise style without going against the Data Protection Act.
Zinfandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2012, 15:39   #20
gcwebbyuk
Dib Dabbler
 
gcwebbyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 1,247
gcwebbyuk is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.gcwebbyuk is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.gcwebbyuk is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.gcwebbyuk is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.gcwebbyuk is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.gcwebbyuk is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.gcwebbyuk is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.gcwebbyuk is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.gcwebbyuk is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.gcwebbyuk is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.gcwebbyuk is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
I am just about to upgrade 2 workstations to Windows 7 Pro - is there any way to get a good upgrade price from XP to 7? The PCs (and their users) would not cope with 8 unfortunately.
__________________
I got all the gear, but I got no idea

My Flickr Photostream
gcwebbyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
windows 8, windows 8 upgrade

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:35.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.