bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Custom PC and bit-tech Folding Team

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Sep 2012, 20:18   #21
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,238
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
thanks for the info tarka dahl... interesting

slowlemon they are at 200 x 19 with turbo on, x 18 without it on.

would be nice with 24 threads and they should oc well
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, 7970 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Sep 2012, 21:20   #22
coolamasta
Folding@Home CC Captain 2010/11/12
 
coolamasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sunny Brizzol!
Posts: 2,483
coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.coolamasta is definitely a rep cheat.
3.8ghz is a pretty good overclock mate, trick on the SR2 to get them stable is to stress each CPU 1 at a time, I assume you have installed the EVGA "ELeet Tune" overclocking tools in windows to keep an eye on temps but mainly to adjust the BIOS settings from windows?

Start off with running LinX using max amount of memory and then in windows task manager change the Affinity of the LinX exe to run on cores 0-7 and stress it for a good few hours, if it fails then tweak up the core voltage/QPI etc until its stable then once its stable, do the same thing but this time change the affinity to cores 8-15 and repeat.

You will find that each CPU will end up with slightly different voltages to make it stable because at the end of the day every CPU is different, will take a bit of messing about but trust me its the only way to make them both truly stable!

Oh and I've got a pair of X5650's in my SR2 doing 4.2ghz under water with 1.3100v on one CPU and 1.3250v on the other from memory, cooled with 2 radiators and nether CPU's go over 65 degrees even in a warm environment
__________________
Folding statsFolding stats
My Main Rigs:~ H2O'd i7 3770K @ 4.5 - 16GB - H2O'd GTX 670 | Asus Z9PE-W8, EP-Xeon 2670 @ 3.2 - 16GB
| ~~~ My Current Dual EP-Xeon 2670 Project ~~~ | ~~~ My Mitsubishi Evo Track Car Project ~~~ |
coolamasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Sep 2012, 21:43   #23
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,238
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolamasta View Post
3.8ghz is a pretty good overclock mate, trick on the SR2 to get them stable is to stress each CPU 1 at a time, I assume you have installed the EVGA "ELeet Tune" overclocking tools in windows to keep an eye on temps but mainly to adjust the BIOS settings from windows?

Start off with running LinX using max amount of memory and then in windows task manager change the Affinity of the LinX exe to run on cores 0-7 and stress it for a good few hours, if it fails then tweak up the core voltage/QPI etc until its stable then once its stable, do the same thing but this time change the affinity to cores 8-15 and repeat.

You will find that each CPU will end up with slightly different voltages to make it stable because at the end of the day every CPU is different, will take a bit of messing about but trust me its the only way to make them both truly stable!

Oh and I've got a pair of X5650's in my SR2 doing 4.2ghz under water with 1.3100v on one CPU and 1.3250v on the other from memory, cooled with 2 radiators and nether CPU's go over 65 degrees even in a warm environment

Hi mate,

Yes I have eleet tune but I don't like it, has it seem to lock the system up if I use it lol,

The vcore of 1 cpu is 1 notch higher than the other too ,

And I can't test at the speed I want as it doesn't boot

Sent from my BlackBerry 8520 using Tapatalk
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, 7970 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Sep 2012, 11:06   #24
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,238
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Right peeps

im going to do what coolamaster has suggested in the morning when the WU has finished.


the only problem im having is that she wont boot if the bclk is above 200....

now im sure there is away round this... i just need to figure it out lol

if i use evga E-leet and up the bclk more than 2-3 it freezes even if i bump up the vcore..

when i try and boot with the bclk above 200 it hangs while posting with the debug led at D4 or C0.

the only time i managed to get it to boot above 200bclk was when i change the QPI Link Data Rate from fast to slow mode...

but when i did that the system ran very slow, as if it was at full load even tho it wasnt
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, 7970 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2012, 09:43   #25
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,238
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
when i try and change the affinity of ITB i get access denied even if i run it as admin....

well im stressing with prime 95 at 4.0GHz

but the ram speed is only 1266Mhz... il try and up it a bit

EDIT: ram is at 1688MHz
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, 7970 OC'd, Custom loop,

Last edited by kirk46; 22nd Sep 2012 at 10:49.
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2012, 12:52   #26
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,238
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
UPDATE

Right guys...

it was running prime without any issues...

i started a WU and it was extremely slow at folding...

WU was P6971 and the first frame took 15mins!!

ive since backed the OC off to 3.8GHz and the TPF is now around 1min 40s

im pretty certain its to do with my changing the QPI data rate from fast mode to slow mode...

i will have to leave it till i upgrade the xeons

Also windows cant seem to connect to the folding rig for HFM hmmmm

on a lighter note my full size radiator has arrived today with 6 AC F12 fans
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, 7970 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2012, 14:13   #27
Ben Lamb
Modder
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 65
Ben Lamb has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk46 View Post
Right guys...

it was running prime without any issues...

i started a WU and it was extremely slow at folding...

WU was P6971 and the first frame took 15mins!!

ive since backed the OC off to 3.8GHz and the TPF is now around 1min 40s

im pretty certain its to do with my changing the QPI data rate from fast mode to slow mode...

i will have to leave it till i upgrade the xeons

Also windows cant seem to connect to the folding rig for HFM hmmmm

on a lighter note my full size radiator has arrived today with 6 AC F12 fans
Hi kirk try this - in signal tweaks set qpi0 to -86 and qpi1 to -16

You need to up the ioh volts to about 1.375 and the vtt to about the same to get stable at the crazy fsb speeds. 4ghz is pretty nice though !
Ben Lamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2012, 14:51   #28
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,238
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Hi Ben,

I have tried messing with the signals with no success.

I will give it a shot tho

Sent from my BlackBerry 8520 using Tapatalk
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, 7970 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Sep 2012, 15:52   #29
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,238
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
well i gave it a try and it hung while posting with LED code C0

booted if i changed the QPI rate to slow mode but it ran very slow
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, 7970 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2012, 17:57   #30
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,238
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Finally have finished pics




decided to turn the psu the other way round so the wires went straight out the back of the mobo tray











Unfortunately the 3 tops fans make a horrible loud whinging noise because there sucking air though the mesh of the case, which i forgot about

so those fans are set the the minimum speed and the bottom fans are on full speed.

highest core is between 48-50c the first cpu in the loop is obviously quite abit cooler also

Pulls about 415w from the wall
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, 7970 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2012, 18:48   #31
One_Box
Folder of the month April 2012
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 601
One_Box has yet to learn the way of the DremelOne_Box has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Very impressive Kirk
__________________
Folding stats
Folding stats
One_Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Sep 2012, 20:14   #32
Scorpuk
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 546
Scorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run Crysis
+1
__________________

Folding Summary
Phantek Enthoo Primo; Asus Sabertooth X79; i7-3930K; 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN BLACK Hydro Copper Signature; 16GB DDR3 2400MHz; Silverstone SilverStone SST-ST1200-G; Samsung 500GB 840 Evo; 2TB HDD; Windows 7 Ult. 64bit.
Scorpuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:15.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.