bit-tech.net

Old 22nd Oct 2012, 00:56   #1
javaman
May irritate Eyes
 
javaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,531
javaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for president
Phenom ii 955

I recently upgraded my pc with a phenom ii 955. Ive folded a few wus but What sort of ppd should i expect? I seem to be getting around 1k ppd.
javaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Oct 2012, 10:39   #2
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,238
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
IIRC i had a Phemon II 950 at stock speed and i was getting 5-6k ppd
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, 7970 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Oct 2012, 11:27   #3
Taffy
Folding for Margaret 17/3/2011 RIP
 
Taffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Exiled in Staffordshire
Posts: 561
Taffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaffy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
My PhenomII 955 gave about 6k fairly consistently with no overclock
__________________
1) MSI 790FX-GD70, AMD PH.II X4 955, 4GB Corsair DDR3, 1 x GTX 760, 1000W PSU in Lian Li 2100. 2) Alienware M17x-R2 folding on i5 520M
Folding stats
Taffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Oct 2012, 14:56   #4
javaman
May irritate Eyes
 
javaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,531
javaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for president
Im gonna have to look into my client then somethings definitely amiss. The GTX460 is producing about 2 WU's a day@ 5.7K each. So 11K PPD is coming from that, every 2days or so im get an extra WU produced @ 1.6K.

Last edited by javaman; 22nd Oct 2012 at 15:10.
javaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Oct 2012, 00:48   #5
Ben Lamb
Modder
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 65
Ben Lamb has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by javaman View Post
Im gonna have to look into my client then somethings definitely amiss. The GTX460 is producing about 2 WU's a day@ 5.7K each. So 11K PPD is coming from that, every 2days or so im get an extra WU produced @ 1.6K.
An x4 phenom should be producing at least 6k ppd sounds like the graphics card is holding the cpu back. I recommend running virtual box in windows so you can fold using linux and use the GPU tracker sofware to fold using the GPU in windows. This stops the GPU holding the CPU back as much, virtual box hogs all the cpu power unless you run it at low priority in windows task manager. It has a feature to allow windows to use a percentage of the cpu cycles so you can provide your GPU with a bit of cpu power to fold. I recon you should be able to get a min of 18k+ ppd with your setup so its pretty good realy. I like phenom cpus so much better than those terrible bulldozers, shame they are hard to get hold of now.
Ben Lamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2012, 01:10   #6
javaman
May irritate Eyes
 
javaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,531
javaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for presidentjavaman should be considered for president
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Lamb View Post
An x4 phenom should be producing at least 6k ppd sounds like the graphics card is holding the cpu back. I recommend running virtual box in windows so you can fold using linux and use the GPU tracker sofware to fold using the GPU in windows. This stops the GPU holding the CPU back as much, virtual box hogs all the cpu power unless you run it at low priority in windows task manager. It has a feature to allow windows to use a percentage of the cpu cycles so you can provide your GPU with a bit of cpu power to fold. I recon you should be able to get a min of 18k+ ppd with your setup so its pretty good realy. I like phenom cpus so much better than those terrible bulldozers, shame they are hard to get hold of now.
Cheers, I'll look into doing it that way. Might be a while tho before I report back since I'll only be home for a short time the next couple of weeks. Was hoping to experiment with VB anyway and now I have a goal for it =)

Yea, I was really hoping for a phenom x6 but they really do seem like gold dust now! Ended up settling for a 955 which is a nice upgrade from the athlon 6000.
Next up, dual/tri PCI-e lane mobo and reinstall my gtx260 lol. I think there's a little bug on the go again =/
javaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Oct 2012, 08:06   #7
Ben Lamb
Modder
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 65
Ben Lamb has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by javaman View Post
Cheers, I'll look into doing it that way. Might be a while tho before I report back since I'll only be home for a short time the next couple of weeks. Was hoping to experiment with VB anyway and now I have a goal for it =)

Yea, I was really hoping for a phenom x6 but they really do seem like gold dust now! Ended up settling for a 955 which is a nice upgrade from the athlon 6000.
Next up, dual/tri PCI-e lane mobo and reinstall my gtx260 lol. I think there's a little bug on the go again =/
They had some cheap x6 at scan, I drove down to buy one as they were showing in stock but they didnt have any. They tried to sell me a bulldozer - no thanks ! Phenoms are sweet, best thing to do now is get a motherboard with loads of pcie slots for GPUs and a big PSU because multi gpu folding is coming soon with monsta points !
Ben Lamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:21.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.