bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Misc > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools View Mode
Old 1st Feb 2015, 18:28   #1
Kronos
As simple as that,well I never
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 8,691
Kronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Changing prepay Electricity meter.

Now for reasons I will not go into we have a prepay electricity meter. I have finally convinced my partner that we really do need to go on to a credit meter, or whatever the usual one are called. After yet again running out of credit and suddenly being cut off. unfortunately the beep on the meter indicating low credit is so quiet a pin dropping would make more noise.

Getting the meter changed by British Gas is not going to be a problem and is free but right after I do I am going to be looking to change suppliers as I have with the gas side of our energy needs who were also BG.

My question is by changing the meter am I then tied to some contract for an X amount of time? Am I stuck with BG until this contact if it exists ends.

I moved to Daligas and have been really pleased with the service any advice on electricity providers preferably with decent customer service which I would imagine rules out the big 6.
__________________
Custom Parvum /Gigabyte Sniper M3/I5 2500K / 8GB Crucial Ballistix/Tundra TD03 /OCUKGTX 980/128GB Crucial m4/2 x 1TB HDD/ SST-ST60F-P PSU/Dell U2711/Ducky Shine YotD (browns)/Logitech G400s/.
Silverstone GD05B/ MSI B751A-E33/G840/2x2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 Red LED/Evga 660/Kingston 60GB/500GB WD/Corsair CX500/Dell U2410/IBM KB 7935/PRO Logitech/M518.
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2015, 11:34   #2
Sp!
Ultramodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hemel
Posts: 1,429
Sp! is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Sp! is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Sp! is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Sp! is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Sp! is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Sp! is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Sp! is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Sp! is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Sp! is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Sp! is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Sp! is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I think you'll probably find that getting your meter changed will involve credit checks and signing up to a 12 month contract. But the easiest way to find out is to ask your current supplier.

Then I figure you have two options, either decide on a new supplier and see if they can fit you a new meter or just stick with the current supplier and make sure you choose the best tariff they have for you.

In my experience of changing energy suppliers.... it's never the hundreds of pounds savings you see on the adverts. There may well be a massive price gap between the tariff you've defaulted to because you haven't changed in years and the best tariff from any supplier, but the difference between the best tariff from any supplier and and best tariff from your current supplier is often 10's of pounds over the year so not really worth the effort in changing (IMHO).
Sp! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2015, 11:45   #3
Arboreal
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The basement, Gershon's Haus of Sausage
Posts: 535
Arboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming SaiyanArboreal is a Super Spamming Saiyan
The meter is usually the property of the local electricity distributor, not your provider.
My experience is in the commercial arena, and we have had meters upgraded in our properties and tenants have changes suppliers independent of this.
Whether a prepay meter is tied to a provider, I don't know but would suggest that the situation would be as above.
HTH
Arboreal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2015, 11:45   #4
Margo Baggins
I'm good at Soldering
Moderator
 
Margo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brighton
Posts: 5,406
Margo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I'm not sure that's entirely true - I've changed from EDF to First Utility and I'm effectively paying 2/3rds per unit that I was previously. That being said though - I don't have Gas and I have an economy 7 meter, so maybe it's a little different to duel fuel.
__________________
My Imgur

Get a Geek Box

i7 3820 4.3ghz - 8GB 2133mhz - GTX 970
keyboards.
Margo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2015, 15:34   #5
Kronos
As simple as that,well I never
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 8,691
Kronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Turns out that my supplier will change the meter for free, no credit check needed as we have a history with British gas and as far as I can make out though not sure as the customer service rep knowledge on much of BG's policies was sadly lacking.

If I had moved supplier Ovo for instance I would have had to remain on a pre payment meter for a year before they would change it.

So meter getting changed in a months time then it will be time to bail as BG ranks as one of the worst companies to do business with in my experience.
__________________
Custom Parvum /Gigabyte Sniper M3/I5 2500K / 8GB Crucial Ballistix/Tundra TD03 /OCUKGTX 980/128GB Crucial m4/2 x 1TB HDD/ SST-ST60F-P PSU/Dell U2711/Ducky Shine YotD (browns)/Logitech G400s/.
Silverstone GD05B/ MSI B751A-E33/G840/2x2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 Red LED/Evga 660/Kingston 60GB/500GB WD/Corsair CX500/Dell U2410/IBM KB 7935/PRO Logitech/M518.

Last edited by Kronos; 2nd Feb 2015 at 16:23.
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2015, 15:39   #6
Margo Baggins
I'm good at Soldering
Moderator
 
Margo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brighton
Posts: 5,406
Margo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming SaiyanMargo Baggins is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kronos View Post
Turns out that my supplier will change the meter for free, no credit check needed as we have a history with British gas and as far as I can make out though not sure as the customer service rep knowledge on much of BG's policies was sadly lacking.

If I had moved supplier Ovo for instance I would have had to remain on a pre payment meter for a year before they would change it.

So metre getting changed in a months time then it will be time to bail as BG ranks as one of the worst companies to do business with in my experience.
I would stay well clear of EDF when you are looking for a new supplier - they have consistently got things wrong in houses I've lived in over the last decade, and normally it's cost me money in some way or another.

I'm now with First Utility and I think they are ace, really great web portal, great customer service and cheap.
__________________
My Imgur

Get a Geek Box

i7 3820 4.3ghz - 8GB 2133mhz - GTX 970
keyboards.
Margo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2015, 16:24   #7
Kronos
As simple as that,well I never
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 8,691
Kronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming SaiyanKronos is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Bookmarked, thanks.
__________________
Custom Parvum /Gigabyte Sniper M3/I5 2500K / 8GB Crucial Ballistix/Tundra TD03 /OCUKGTX 980/128GB Crucial m4/2 x 1TB HDD/ SST-ST60F-P PSU/Dell U2711/Ducky Shine YotD (browns)/Logitech G400s/.
Silverstone GD05B/ MSI B751A-E33/G840/2x2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 Red LED/Evga 660/Kingston 60GB/500GB WD/Corsair CX500/Dell U2410/IBM KB 7935/PRO Logitech/M518.
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2015, 20:36   #8
Jim
Ineptimodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 296
Jim is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Jim is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Jim is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Jim is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Jim is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Jim is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Jim is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Jim is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Jim is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Jim is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Jim is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kronos View Post
Now for reasons I will not go into we have a prepay electricity meter. I have finally convinced my partner that we really do need to go on to a credit meter, or whatever the usual one are called. After yet again running out of credit and suddenly being cut off. unfortunately the beep on the meter indicating low credit is so quiet a pin dropping would make more noise.

Getting the meter changed by British Gas is not going to be a problem and is free but right after I do I am going to be looking to change suppliers as I have with the gas side of our energy needs who were also BG.

My question is by changing the meter am I then tied to some contract for an X amount of time? Am I stuck with BG until this contact if it exists ends.

I moved to Daligas and have been really pleased with the service any advice on electricity providers preferably with decent customer service which I would imagine rules out the big 6.
I recently got my meter switched from Economy 7 to standard by BG. I checked first off that there were no restrictions, and have initiated switch a few days after the changeover.
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
View Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:09.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.