bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st Nov 2012, 12:00   #1
Gareth Halfacree
WIIGII!
bit-tech Staff
 
Gareth Halfacree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 4,409
Gareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming Saiyan
VIA launches world's smallest quad-core PC

Tiny pico-ITX-style box packs impressive power.
http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...01/via-a1250/1
__________________
Author, Raspberry Pi User Guide Third Edition, 21 Brilliant Projects for the Raspberry Pi and more | gareth.halfacree.co.uk | twitter | keybase.io
bit-tech news correspondent, Custom PC columnist, other things to other people
I'm a filthy freelancer! Hire me!
Gareth Halfacree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Nov 2012, 12:11   #2
l3v1ck
really joined on Dec 24th 2004.
 
l3v1ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Right Side of the Pennines
Posts: 12,895
l3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremell3v1ck has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I'm always curious to know how these sort of systems compare to older existing stsyems.
For example: My parents have an Athlon X2 PC at home. Would this new tiny system offer lower, similar or better performance? (Assuming both had the same SSD) The clock kspeed is much lower, but then it's a newer design and it has twice as many cores? Given that they only do office stuff and web browsing, I'm assuming this system would be enough.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sifter3000
We swung the banhammer in his little stupid spamming face
The old Dennis Forums (CPC, PC Pro, Mac User etc) - Meeting Place lives on. You're welcome to visit it HERE
l3v1ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Nov 2012, 13:12   #3
John_T
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 443
John_T has yet to learn the way of the DremelJohn_T has yet to learn the way of the DremelJohn_T has yet to learn the way of the DremelJohn_T has yet to learn the way of the DremelJohn_T has yet to learn the way of the DremelJohn_T has yet to learn the way of the DremelJohn_T has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3v1ck
I'm always curious to know how these sort of systems compare to older existing systems.
For example: My parents have an Athlon X2 PC at home. Would this new tiny system offer lower, similar or better performance? (Assuming both had the same SSD) The clock speed is much lower, but then it's a newer design and it has twice as many cores? Given that they only do office stuff and web browsing, I'm assuming this system would be enough.
I wonder the same thing, as I reckon systems like this would probably cover 90%+ of the time people actually spend on their PC's. I always feel a little guilty with my big power PC whirring away while I spend hours just surfing the web / sending email / doing very basic office work...
John_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Nov 2012, 15:26   #4
Sc0rian
Here comes the farmer
 
Sc0rian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 3,542
Sc0rian can run CrysisSc0rian can run CrysisSc0rian can run CrysisSc0rian can run CrysisSc0rian can run CrysisSc0rian can run CrysisSc0rian can run CrysisSc0rian can run CrysisSc0rian can run CrysisSc0rian can run CrysisSc0rian can run Crysis
shame it does not have dual nic, would be a awesome pfsense box.
__________________
\o/
Sc0rian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Nov 2012, 16:50   #5
cornelius1729
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
cornelius1729 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Sounds like an ace HTPC box.
cornelius1729 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Nov 2012, 18:41   #6
asura
jack of all trades
 
asura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: scotland
Posts: 1,286
asura is definitely a rep cheat.asura is definitely a rep cheat.asura is definitely a rep cheat.asura is definitely a rep cheat.asura is definitely a rep cheat.asura is definitely a rep cheat.asura is definitely a rep cheat.asura is definitely a rep cheat.asura is definitely a rep cheat.asura is definitely a rep cheat.asura is definitely a rep cheat.
The question ultimately will be one of availability... If you're in the UK and want a Pico-ITX board from VIA that isn't 5 years old, then you have to get it from far afield. From the USA on ebay seems to be the easiest way. And pay circa forty pounds for the postage, then VAT, import duty and a handling charge to get it released to you once it hits the UK adding (I guess, number pulled out of thin air) about another forty to sixty pounds... with postage, VAT, duty and handling fees coming to approximately fifty percent of the value of the product, it becomes madness.
asura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Nov 2012, 19:40   #7
PingCrosby
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sunny Redcar in Cleveland
Posts: 390
PingCrosby is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.PingCrosby is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.PingCrosby is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.PingCrosby is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.PingCrosby is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.PingCrosby is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.PingCrosby is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.PingCrosby is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.PingCrosby is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.PingCrosby is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.PingCrosby is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
If I was Inch High Private Eye I'd buy one
PingCrosby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Nov 2012, 22:10   #8
schmidtbag
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 819
schmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3v1ck
I'm always curious to know how these sort of systems compare to older existing stsyems.
For example: My parents have an Athlon X2 PC at home. Would this new tiny system offer lower, similar or better performance? (Assuming both had the same SSD) The clock kspeed is much lower, but then it's a newer design and it has twice as many cores? Given that they only do office stuff and web browsing, I'm assuming this system would be enough.
It will likely be more power efficient, quieter, and produce less heat, but I highly doubt it'll be much faster, if at all. First of all, VIA's processors have never been known to be fast. But secondly, depending on what you do, a dual core is all you really need. Even single cores can be enough for the average user. Tablets are good proof of this - they're popular because they appeal to the average person who wants to just sit back and browse the internet, so single core ARM processors (which generally perform worse clock-per-clock compared to x86 processors) often work just fine.


While I think parallel processing is becoming more of a reality in the future, a cheap quad core for a web browsing and email computer can potentially be a worse decision. If you only have maybe 3 tabs open at a time (or a browser that uses 1 process for all tabs), you'd likely get better performance out of a 3GHz dual core than a 1.5GHz quad core of the same architecture.
__________________
4.4GHz FX-6300 (on an AM3 board) with C'n'Q on, 8GB of RAM, R9 290, ADATA SP900 64GB SSD, Arch Linux 64 bit.
schmidtbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2012, 17:46   #9
Ploo
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Ploo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It's really difficult to judge if we don't know the price.
Ploo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Nov 2012, 17:27   #10
Jimbob
Modder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 68
Jimbob has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It doesnt look any smaller than my old Zotax Zbox, great litle PC that has spent the last couple of yeas woring behind my bedrom TV as a HTPC. Wit a SSD it's quick and totally silent. (-:
Jimbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2012, 17:37   #11
Kacela
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 29
Kacela has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ploo
It's really difficult to judge if we don't know the price.
Price in the US starts @$320 : http://bit.ly/VPelKQ
Kacela is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
a1250, artigo, artigo a1250, embedded, quadcore e-series, via artigo, via cpu, vx11h

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:17.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.