bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > bit-tech Folding Team

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th Nov 2012, 10:06   #1
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Folding rig rebooting/freezing

Hi all,

i've come into issues with my SR-2 folding rig either freezes requiring a hard reboot,

or it reboots its self at least once a day now...

i've just pulled the HDD and ran error checks with HD tune pro and all is fine...

with it being a really old HDD i thought that maybe the issue but its not

i upped the vcore a notch or 2 to see if it was a stability issue but that didnt solve it either

the rig has been munching bigbeta WU's for a few months now with no issues so i'm not sure where to start now
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2012, 13:25   #2
BeauchN
Hypermodder
 
BeauchN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
Posts: 676
BeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming Saiyan
It may be worth checking the PSU, if it's not putting out a stable voltage that could give issues like this
__________________
Elite 130 | Pentium Anniversary Edition | Z97i Plus | 8GB 2133MHz RAM | H60 | MSI GTX 670 OC | 512GB Vertex 4


Folding stats
BeauchN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2012, 14:06   #3
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
How would I check the psu?

I do have a spare one I can swap it with?

Sent from my BlackBerry 8520 using Tapatalk
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2012, 14:57   #4
BeauchN
Hypermodder
 
BeauchN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
Posts: 676
BeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming SaiyanBeauchN is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I'd swap in the spare (as long as it has the right number of EPS plugs) and see if you have the same issue. Otherwise I recall that Scan sell a PSU tester.
__________________
Elite 130 | Pentium Anniversary Edition | Z97i Plus | 8GB 2133MHz RAM | H60 | MSI GTX 670 OC | 512GB Vertex 4


Folding stats
BeauchN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Nov 2012, 18:16   #5
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
just swapped the PSU and started it folding...

will see what happens
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2012, 11:09   #6
Scorpuk
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 679
Scorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run Crysis
Good luck.

Did you run a memory check?
__________________
Folding stats
Folding Summary
Phantek Enthoo Primo; Asus Maximus VIII Formula; i7-6700K; EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti Hydro Copper; 16GB DDR4 3200MHz; SuperFlower Platinum 1200W; Samsung 950 Pro 512GB M.2 ; 4TB HDD; Windows 10 Pro.
Scorpuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2012, 17:10   #7
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scorpuk View Post
Good luck.

Did you run a memory check?
no i didnt...

can do tho

shes still folding... not complete a WU yet tho.
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 08:37   #8
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Just checked my folding summary and its hung

Sent from my BlackBerry 8520 using Tapatalk
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 15:48   #9
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
it has rebooted its self.... but was stuck on the Ubuntu welcome screen

running memtest now....

2 passes ok?
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 16:44   #10
Speed
I'm all you need!
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Yate near Bristol SW England
Posts: 3,725
Speed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Indeed 2 passes is usually enough. Temps ok?

Random reboots are usually memory, heat or power related. Although I'd take it back to stock clocks to rule that out completely.
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 17:16   #11
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Indeed 2 passes is usually enough. Temps ok?

Random reboots are usually memory, heat or power related. Although I'd take it back to stock clocks to rule that out completely.
its fully water cooled temps are ~50c

so far its done 1 memtest pass and at 75% on the second

ive changed the PSU still the same....

will have to set it to stock speed..... i wont be able to run bigbeta WU's so the rig will get a 'rest' more often with smp? hmmmm

unless i run a bigbeta WU and just take the ppd hit?
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 17:29   #12
Speed
I'm all you need!
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Yate near Bristol SW England
Posts: 3,725
Speed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Or stress test it with something heavy like LinX / Intel burntest without any changes first. If you can reliably recreate the issue with stress testing software it will make testing easier and there's no need to mess with anything folding related, while you hunt for the route cause.

If it reboots while stress testing, then you can remove the overclock and retest.
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 17:35   #13
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Or stress test it with something heavy like LinX / Intel burntest without any changes first. If you can reliably recreate the issue with stress testing software it will make testing easier and there's no need to mess with anything folding related, while you hunt for the route cause.

If it reboots while stress testing, then you can remove the overclock and retest.


hmmm i dont have a HDD with windows on to stress test it

EDIT: i think i do have one lol
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 17:53   #14
Speed
I'm all you need!
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Yate near Bristol SW England
Posts: 3,725
Speed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpeed is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Are there not any Linux compatible stress testing applications you can download?
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 20:08   #15
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Are there not any Linux compatible stress testing applications you can download?
no idea...

i only run Linux to fold
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 11:37   #16
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Its been running SMP for 24 hours with no issues :/

Sent from my BlackBerry 8520 using Tapatalk
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 2012, 10:45   #17
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
right guys....

its been running SMP for several days with no problems at all

i swapped back to bigbeta and it froze at 64% complete :/

ive backed off the OC by 100MHz and started again.

its a pita because if i dont catch it within a few hours then i lose my QRB

anyway im thinking of investing in a E5 setup as i can set one up for around 600 for the board and cpu's off ebay hmmmmm

or add loads of gpu's to the SR2 for the beta WU's
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Dec 2012, 10:19   #18
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,263
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
right peeps....

since ive backed off the OC 100MHz its completed 2 8101 WU's with no issues

now if i up the OC back to what it was and give them more vcore will it be ok hmmmm
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, GTX980 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:07.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.