bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th Nov 2012, 12:15   #1
Gareth Halfacree
WIIGII!
bit-tech Staff
 
Gareth Halfacree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 4,127
Gareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Nvidia launches GeForce 310.64 Beta for Far Cry 3

Beta driver boosts performance by up to 38%.
http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...vidia-310-64/1
__________________
Author, Raspberry Pi User Guide Third Edition, 21 Brilliant Projects for the Raspberry Pi and more | gareth.halfacree.co.uk | twitter | keybase.io
bit-tech news correspondent, Custom PC columnist, other things to other people
I'm a filthy freelancer! Hire me!
Gareth Halfacree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 12:56   #2
GeorgeK
Bit-Tech Keyboard Overlord
Moderator
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ashford, Kent
Posts: 5,380
GeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Not a shoddy performance boost but from what I can tell the Far Cry 3 bump is the only difference between this and the previous 310.61 beta drivers - I'll stick with those unless I find the cash to get FC3...
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 12:58   #3
phinix
Say it! Who's your dremel?!
 
phinix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Scotland, Sin City
Posts: 4,232
phinix is definitely a rep cheat.phinix is definitely a rep cheat.phinix is definitely a rep cheat.phinix is definitely a rep cheat.phinix is definitely a rep cheat.phinix is definitely a rep cheat.phinix is definitely a rep cheat.phinix is definitely a rep cheat.phinix is definitely a rep cheat.phinix is definitely a rep cheat.phinix is definitely a rep cheat.
Wait, so GTX670 will only pull around 25fps in FarCry3 in 1920x?
__________________
rig ::: 4670K :: GTX780 :: 256GB M.2 SSD :: Asus Z97I-PLUS:: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP :: SST-SX600-G :: Hazro 27" :::
other devices ::: Topre Realforce 45g TKL :: Zowie EC2 Evo :: Oculus Rift DK2 !!! :::
modding ::: “PHINIX CUBE” ::: "PHINIX NANO TOWER" ::: "PHINIX AURORA" ::: "PHINIX CHIMERA" :::
star citizen :::
ARBITER: Origin Jumpworks 325A LTI
phinix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 12:58   #4
Griffter
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 380
Griffter - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Griffter - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Griffter - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Griffter - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Griffter - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Griffter - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Griffter - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Griffter - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Griffter - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Griffter - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Griffter - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
cool!
Griffter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 13:02   #5
GeorgeK
Bit-Tech Keyboard Overlord
Moderator
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ashford, Kent
Posts: 5,380
GeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by phinix View Post
Wait, so GTX670 will only pull around 25fps in FarCry3 in 1920x?
To quote Nvidia's website

Quote:
Using the most popular gaming resolution, 1920x1080, we maxed out Far Cry 3's many graphics options, selected SSAO Ambient Occlusion (an excellent balance between performance and fidelity), set the game's version of Transparency Supersampling to "Standard", and enabled 8xMSAA to eliminate those pesky jaggies. As you can see below, today's 310.64 beta driver boosted performance significantly, helping the GTX 670 and GTX 680 achieve playable frame rates at this demanding detail level. Please note that we expect improvements of varying degrees to be seen on any system utilizing a GeForce GTX 400, 500, or 600 series GPU, but due to time constraints we were unable to run comprehensive, in-depth tests ahead of the driver's release
They've obviously cranked the eye-candy right up, but that's a good spot - even with the new drivers they weren't hitting 40fps with a 670 or a 680
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 13:08   #6
Shirty
V BURN MY EYES V
 
Shirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saaf Inglund
Posts: 9,693
Shirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming Saiyan
So this is basically essential if you have the game on an Nvidia system.
__________________
3770K | Z77E-ITX | Liqtech 120X | EVGA GTX 980 | 8GB | 1TB M550 | Node 304 | Passive Seasonic 460W | Dell S2740L | KBP V60 (blues) | Logitech G500
Shirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 13:37   #7
Xtheblackfox
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 21
Xtheblackfox has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Its bizar how low the fps in this game is :s I was confident my 7950 would own it. Dam console porting
Xtheblackfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 15:34   #8
GeorgeK
Bit-Tech Keyboard Overlord
Moderator
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ashford, Kent
Posts: 5,380
GeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming SaiyanGeorgeK is a Super Spamming Saiyan
It should run ok with some of the settings turned down - I'd be interested to see how AMD cards fared with the settings cranked up
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 16:06   #9
rollo
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,276
rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.
8x mxaa is the problem straight away

reduce it to 4 and you would see 60 fps np.
rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 16:08   #10
runadumb
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 395
runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtheblackfox
Its bizar how low the fps in this game is :s I was confident my 7950 would own it. Dam console porting
Console porting or does the game just look F'king awesome? Genuine question, haven't played it. The console version may be the equivalent of low settings.
runadumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 18:30   #11
The Infamous Mr D
We like beans & cheesecake
 
The Infamous Mr D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 125
The Infamous Mr D has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Is this actually a boost? Or a really urgent driver fix dressed up and spun to look like Nvidia are awesome and can magic performance out of its bum?
__________________
I <3 Aquatuning & Enermax long time!

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz, Asus P5E, Patriot Viper 4GB PC2-6400 DDR2, XFX Radeon HD5870 1GB
2x Maxtor DiamondMax 21 80GB in RAID 0, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 PSU, all in a Coolermaster Cosmos PURE
The Infamous Mr D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 18:34   #12
Shirty
V BURN MY EYES V
 
Shirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saaf Inglund
Posts: 9,693
Shirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I think most driver optimisations are "clean" nowadays. Both the green and red teams have learned from history that subtly reducing image quality to eke out extra performance will always be an own goal.
__________________
3770K | Z77E-ITX | Liqtech 120X | EVGA GTX 980 | 8GB | 1TB M550 | Node 304 | Passive Seasonic 460W | Dell S2740L | KBP V60 (blues) | Logitech G500
Shirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 18:46   #13
Saivert
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 381
Saivert has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
This better fix graphics corruption in Battlefield 3 which is evident in their current WHQL driver (306.97).
Like yellow color on the ground in certain places.

Also I get ~60fps@1920x1080 with Ultra and no MSAA in Battlefield 3 with my GeForce GTX 560Ti.
This card just doesn't like AA much at higher resolutions.
__________________
- I'm the troll who bumps page 2 topics -
Saivert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 18:48   #14
Shirty
V BURN MY EYES V
 
Shirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saaf Inglund
Posts: 9,693
Shirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming SaiyanShirty is a Super Spamming Saiyan
That's just urine from your cowering foes...
__________________
3770K | Z77E-ITX | Liqtech 120X | EVGA GTX 980 | 8GB | 1TB M550 | Node 304 | Passive Seasonic 460W | Dell S2740L | KBP V60 (blues) | Logitech G500
Shirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 19:43   #15
grimerking
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 385
grimerking has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I got Far Cry 3 bundled with my ATI 7850. Are you now telling me that it won't even play it on max?

What is the point in that?
grimerking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 20:41   #16
BlueFalcon
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
BlueFalcon has yet to learn the way of the DremelBlueFalcon has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
grimerking,

HD7850 wouldn't be able to max out Hitman Absolution, Sleeping Dogs or Far Cry 3. Would you rather get a free ugly looking console port like Black Ops 2 as opposed to a good game with great graphics? I'd rather take Far Cry 3 and have to tone down settings on a 7850 than get a free Assassin's Creed 3 and then be stunned how a game that ugly can run so bad with MSAA.

The more frightening development is that all these new games barely look better than Crysis Warhead from 4 years ago but perform much worse. It seems the next level of graphics will require 5-10x the GPU power we have today as GTX680/HD7970Ghz are already not enough for 60 fps in the latest games at 1080P. None of these games are even true next gen DX11 games...ouch. I have a feeling Crysis 3 and Metro Last Light will make current high-end cards look like toys.
BlueFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 21:10   #17
ssj12
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 652
ssj12 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimerking
I got Far Cry 3 bundled with my ATI 7850. Are you now telling me that it won't even play it on max?

What is the point in that?
They want you to crossfire/SLi to max it? Who knows?
ssj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 23:15   #18
rollo
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,276
rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.
Alot of games are sold bundled with graphics cards that they will never have a hope of maxing once you go above 720p resolution.

Borderlands 2 was recently given away with most Nvidia cards but if you crank the settings up to max you will be below 30fps on anything below the 660ti.

Far cry 3 is part of AMDs game bundle among other games. Across there entire range you get a game free at the minute 7850 7870 just get far cry 3 but most of the bigger ones are getting 2-3 games.

Remember

8x MxAA is far from normal 4x MxAA is alot closer and you might double your FPS setting it to that level.

If you expected to set 8x MxAA on a 7850 your in dreamworld. or SSAO for that matter both suck performance from cards. Just cause 2 can go from a flawless 100+fps to below 30fps if you enable SSAO and mxaa to high levels on most cards out there at the moment ( 7970 670 and above excluded)

SSAO and MxAA are best avoided on anything but the high end cards running in sli or crossfire.
rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Nov 2012, 09:13   #19
damien c
Mad FPS Gamer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,040
damien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Well I bought a copy of Far Cry 3 and although it isn't officially released apparently in the UK till today, I was able to play it yesterday.

Have to say the graphics are good, but there is a few issues with the game for me.

Single Player I can pull over 100fps, with these new drivers from Nvidia on my GTX 680 and all the settings cranked up to the max including the AA, but as soon as I go on Multiplayer that drops to 30fps and the game feels awful to play.

It's using the stupid P2P hosting system, so you get the "Host Migration" when you are in the middle of match and the host quits because they are getting owned, you get clunky game play and massive amounts of LAG.

I also have to bind all my keys everytime I want to play the game, and there is no option for the Aim Down Sight Toggle so that you are either ads or not, instead you have to hold the button down on your mouse the whole time.

This for me is a failure of a game at the moment, because of the issues with the low fps on multiplayer, the constant need to bind the keys and a few other things.

Look's like I will only be playing the single player side of the game and will leave the multiplayer alone till they fix it, and unless you want to only play the campaign side of the game then I suggest you avoid it for now as at the moment, I don't think it's worth paying for.
__________________
Core I7 3930K, MSI X79A-GD45 Plus, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1600mhz, GTX 780Ti SLI, Samsung 840 Evo 500Gb, Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium, Corsair Air 540, Corsair H100i
Market Place Feedback
http://forums.bit-tech.net/showpost....&postcount=104
damien c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Nov 2012, 10:55   #20
Apocalypso
Fully armed and operational.
 
Apocalypso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Alderaan places.
Posts: 1,141
Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Apocalypso - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Hmm, the new drivers and the rig below gets me around 20-25fps and settings at Ultra. However the actual gameplay is very smooth, it's strange almost like Afterburner isn't reporting correctly.
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k | ASUS HD 7970 DirectCU II | 8GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz | Crucial M4 128GB | F3 1TB x 2 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | Corsair HX1050 | HAF 932 | Dell U3011
EK Supreme HF | XSPC RX360 | Scythe AP-14's | MCP355
ARCAM rDAC | Matrix M-Stage | KRK RP5 G2 | KRK 10s | Beyerdynamic DT990 600Ω
Apocalypso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
assassin's creed iii, beta driver, far cry 3, geforce, geforce gtx 670, geforce gtx 680, geforce gtx 690, graphics driver, nvidia

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:18.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.