bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th Mar 2013, 09:48   #1
Gareth Halfacree
WIIGII!
bit-tech Staff
 
Gareth Halfacree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 3,927
Gareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming Saiyan
EA's Origin hit by remote code execution flaw

Takes a leaf from Valve's Steam book.
http://www.bit-tech.net/news/bits/20...-origin-flaw/1
__________________
Author, Raspberry Pi User Guide Third Edition, 21 Brilliant Projects for the Raspberry Pi and more | gareth.halfacree.co.uk | twitter
bit-tech news correspondent, Custom PC columnist, other things to other people
I'm a filthy freelancer! Hire me!
Gareth Halfacree is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2013, 11:34   #2
Fizzban
Man of Many Typos
 
Fizzban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Standing Here Beside Myself
Posts: 3,029
Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.
Naturally they will patch this issue out, which will almost certainly break my Origin install. That is what usually happens when Origin updates, and what led me to cracking ME3 just so I could play it without issue... Although every time I start a new game I have to replace the legit .exe and give Origin permission to access the internet again so it can authenticate my DLC. Pah..I hate that bloody thing.
__________________
-Banana in disc drive error-

To win the battle, is to be prepared to die - Miyamoto Musashi

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedFlames View Post
Asking to pick between the main parties is like asking which testicle you want to be kicked in, you're gonna get kicked the nuts whoever you pick... Just have to hope whoever you pick aren't wearing steelies...
Fizzban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2013, 12:50   #3
damien c
Mad FPS Gamer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
damien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fizzban
Naturally they will patch this issue out, which will almost certainly break my Origin install. That is what usually happens when Origin updates, and what led me to cracking ME3 just so I could play it without issue... Although every time I start a new game I have to replace the legit .exe and give Origin permission to access the internet again so it can authenticate my DLC. Pah..I hate that bloody thing.
Strange I never had any issues with my Origin install apart from when I ran a beta version.

Have nothing but issues though with Steam constantly loading with no connection until I restart it.

Anyway EA will probably fix this pretty soon.
__________________
Core I7 3930K, MSI X79A-GD45 Plus, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1600mhz, GTX 780Ti SLI, Samsung 840 Evo 500Gb, Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium, Corsair Air 540, Corsair H100i
Market Place Feedback
http://forums.bit-tech.net/showpost....&postcount=104
damien c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2013, 13:09   #4
rollo
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,204
rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.
As much as i hate origin its been fine never had any issues, same with steam.

People make a big hubu over nothing 90% of the time
rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2013, 13:23   #5
Fizzban
Man of Many Typos
 
Fizzban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Standing Here Beside Myself
Posts: 3,029
Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.Fizzban is definitely a rep cheat.
I've had the occasional hiccup with Steam too, but I've found it to be far more reliable. Origin on the other hand seems to break every other update, necessitating me having to re-download and re-install it. Most frustrating when all you want to do is a play a game.

Thankfully all the other games I have on there don't require me to use Origin at all.
__________________
-Banana in disc drive error-

To win the battle, is to be prepared to die - Miyamoto Musashi

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedFlames View Post
Asking to pick between the main parties is like asking which testicle you want to be kicked in, you're gonna get kicked the nuts whoever you pick... Just have to hope whoever you pick aren't wearing steelies...
Fizzban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2013, 13:40   #6
schmidtbag
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 768
schmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youschmidtbag - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Quote:
Originally Posted by damien c View Post
Strange I never had any issues with my Origin install apart from when I ran a beta version.

Have nothing but issues though with Steam constantly loading with no connection until I restart it.

Anyway EA will probably fix this pretty soon.
Steam generally takes a long time to load, but it gets exponentially slower if you're downloading something else. While anything can load slower when you're multitasking your internet bandwidth, I've found Steam will often just stop trying to connect if I'm downloading something else. If you want to run Steam, I've found its usually best to just sit and wait until it logs you in.
schmidtbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2013, 14:46   #7
damien c
Mad FPS Gamer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
damien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
Steam generally takes a long time to load, but it gets exponentially slower if you're downloading something else. While anything can load slower when you're multitasking your internet bandwidth, I've found Steam will often just stop trying to connect if I'm downloading something else. If you want to run Steam, I've found its usually best to just sit and wait until it logs you in.

That's the problem it doesn't log in unless I manually restart it.

Steam and Origin both load on boot, and my net connection is active as soon as Windows loads so there should be no issues and there wasn't till the last 2 updates for Steam hit and now it just sits there with, no connection.

I also get random disconnects from Steam meaning I loose connection to the Call Of Duty servers for the likes of MW2/3, Black Op's and Black Op's 2 and then it reconnects after a few seconds even though my internet is still up and has nothing wrong with it.

I have none of that trouble with Origin not to mention I get my full download speed from Origin unyet Steam only let's me download at 30Mb instead of 100Mb.

I always hear people saying Origin is crap etc but, I have never once really had any issues with it other than when trying a beta version of it unyet Steam I constantly have issues with.

This happens on a fresh install of Windows 7 as well, but I cannot try it with Windows 8 because allot of the games I play just won't load on Windows 8 and my motherboard which is supposed to be Windows 8 supported, won't install any of the drivers and the graphics drivers won't install but that's just Windows 8 for you.

As soon as I can stop using Steam I will but until then I have no choice but to use it, because of some of the games I choose to play and if those games were available on Origin I would buy them on there instead of Steam.
__________________
Core I7 3930K, MSI X79A-GD45 Plus, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1600mhz, GTX 780Ti SLI, Samsung 840 Evo 500Gb, Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium, Corsair Air 540, Corsair H100i
Market Place Feedback
http://forums.bit-tech.net/showpost....&postcount=104
damien c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2013, 16:07   #8
LightningPete
Diagnosis: ARMAII-Holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: My Many Houses :)
Posts: 304
LightningPete has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollo
As much as i hate origin its been fine never had any issues, same with steam.

People make a big hubu over nothing 90% of the time
Apart from the fact is slow to load-up, slow to update, its yet another program for games without actually owning it and that all their newer titles like simcity can potentially be switched off so your paying to rent the game only in a certain timeframe, its server connections are never 100% and the fact that you cant just buy it for any other platform like Steam either. I dont know, maybe not 90% is nothing
LightningPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2013, 17:11   #9
tuk
Don't Tase Me, Bro!
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 486
tuk is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tuk is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tuk is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tuk is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tuk is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tuk is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tuk is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tuk is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tuk is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tuk is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.tuk is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollo View Post
People make a big hubu over nothing 90% of the time
While that may be generally true ..it has little bearing on this thread.

Quote:
A security vulnerability in EA's Origin digital distribution platform could allow attackers to use the software to load malware and other unwanted packages onto a target system
^^not exactly nothing
tuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2013, 00:27   #10
leexgx
CPC hang out zone (i Fix pcs i do )
 
leexgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 1,239
leexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremelleexgx has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by damien c
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
Steam generally takes a long time to load, but it gets exponentially slower if you're downloading something else. While anything can load slower when you're multitasking your internet bandwidth, I've found Steam will often just stop trying to connect if I'm downloading something else. If you want to run Steam, I've found its usually best to just sit and wait until it logs you in.

That's the problem it doesn't log in unless I manually restart it.

Steam and Origin both load on boot, and my net connection is active as soon as Windows loads so there should be no issues and there wasn't till the last 2 updates for Steam hit and now it just sits there with, no connection.

I also get random disconnects from Steam meaning I loose connection to the Call Of Duty servers for the likes of MW2/3, Black Op's and Black Op's 2 and then it reconnects after a few seconds even though my internet is still up and has nothing wrong with it.

I have none of that trouble with Origin not to mention I get my full download speed from Origin unyet Steam only let's me download at 30Mb instead of 100Mb.

I always hear people saying Origin is crap etc but, I have never once really had any issues with it other than when trying a beta version of it unyet Steam I constantly have issues with.

This happens on a fresh install of Windows 7 as well, but I cannot try it with Windows 8 because allot of the games I play just won't load on Windows 8 and my motherboard which is supposed to be Windows 8 supported, won't install any of the drivers and the graphics drivers won't install but that's just Windows 8 for you.

As soon as I can stop using Steam I will but until then I have no choice but to use it, because of some of the games I choose to play and if those games were available on Origin I would buy them on there instead of Steam.
I guess your on virgin then
__________________
i7-920 (4Ghz) <> Titian ferna <> Rampage extreme III<> GTX480 <> 6gb 3x2gb OCZ Gold 1600 <> SSD M225 256gb / segate .11 1.5TB <> X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty <> TK 1000w Toughpower <win7 x64> GreenFrog Computers Warrington
leexgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2013, 07:51   #11
damien c
Mad FPS Gamer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
damien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyandamien c is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by leexgx
Quote:
Originally Posted by damien c
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
Steam generally takes a long time to load, but it gets exponentially slower if you're downloading something else. While anything can load slower when you're multitasking your internet bandwidth, I've found Steam will often just stop trying to connect if I'm downloading something else. If you want to run Steam, I've found its usually best to just sit and wait until it logs you in.

That's the problem it doesn't log in unless I manually restart it.

Steam and Origin both load on boot, and my net connection is active as soon as Windows loads so there should be no issues and there wasn't till the last 2 updates for Steam hit and now it just sits there with, no connection.

I also get random disconnects from Steam meaning I loose connection to the Call Of Duty servers for the likes of MW2/3, Black Op's and Black Op's 2 and then it reconnects after a few seconds even though my internet is still up and has nothing wrong with it.

I have none of that trouble with Origin not to mention I get my full download speed from Origin unyet Steam only let's me download at 30Mb instead of 100Mb.

I always hear people saying Origin is crap etc but, I have never once really had any issues with it other than when trying a beta version of it unyet Steam I constantly have issues with.

This happens on a fresh install of Windows 7 as well, but I cannot try it with Windows 8 because allot of the games I play just won't load on Windows 8 and my motherboard which is supposed to be Windows 8 supported, won't install any of the drivers and the graphics drivers won't install but that's just Windows 8 for you.

As soon as I can stop using Steam I will but until then I have no choice but to use it, because of some of the games I choose to play and if those games were available on Origin I would buy them on there instead of Steam.
I guess your on virgin then
Yes I am, because if I was on any other provider I would only be able to get 4Mb where I live and when Infinity is available in my area I will only be able to receive around the 30Mb mark.
__________________
Core I7 3930K, MSI X79A-GD45 Plus, 16GB Corsair Vengance 1600mhz, GTX 780Ti SLI, Samsung 840 Evo 500Gb, Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium, Corsair Air 540, Corsair H100i
Market Place Feedback
http://forums.bit-tech.net/showpost....&postcount=104
damien c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2013, 16:34   #12
Horizon
Dremel Worthy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 761
Horizon has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuk
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollo View Post
People make a big hubu over nothing 90% of the time
While that may be generally true ..it has little bearing on this thread.

Quote:
A security vulnerability in EA's Origin digital distribution platform could allow attackers to use the software to load malware and other unwanted packages onto a target system
^^not exactly nothing
I believe that would be the 10%.
__________________
Vote for Freeman '09
Horizon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
digital distribution, ea, electronic arts, origin, revuln, security, steam, valve, vulnerability

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:20.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.