bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Apr 2013, 17:32   #1
adzc1987
Supermodder
 
adzc1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: West Lothian, Scotland
Posts: 490
adzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremeladzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremeladzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Using an Xbox 360 connect to track head movements in games?

Question is in the title really, specifically i would like to do this in Arma 2, has anyone heard of anyway to do this?
__________________
Like Spaceships? Like the idea of a one shard MMO? Get a free 21day E\/E Online trial here.

Drop me a PM if you buy an account and I can share the reward with you

Arma3 - VOLCBAT - Realism without the bollocks!
adzc1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2013, 22:09   #2
steveo_mcg
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 5,842
steveo_mcg is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.steveo_mcg is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.steveo_mcg is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.steveo_mcg is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.steveo_mcg is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.steveo_mcg is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.steveo_mcg is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.steveo_mcg is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.steveo_mcg is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.steveo_mcg is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.steveo_mcg is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
There was a head tracking software thing for Flight Simulator X, it used a couple of IR LED's attached to a baseball cap. Those were tracked by a simple web cam; there must be something better by now.
__________________
ook
steveo_mcg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Apr 2013, 00:15   #3
RedFlames
is not KidMod
 
RedFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The northern wastes of Geordieland
Posts: 4,201
RedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming Saiyan
The issue with the Kinect sensor is it's designed to capture someone stood up, stood a metre or so away. There was supposed to be a PC version to go with the SDK which was adjusted for close-up tracking.

But as Steveo_mcg pointed out head-tracking things have been around a while so there must be something that fits the bill.
__________________
I have the heart of a child... in a jar... on my desk...

RedFlames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Apr 2013, 00:18   #4
adzc1987
Supermodder
 
adzc1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: West Lothian, Scotland
Posts: 490
adzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremeladzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremeladzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
there is its called track IR, but i dont want to but it when i already have one :S

Apparently someone developed one that can use a regular webcam, afaik there is a way of turning the kinetic into one
__________________
Like Spaceships? Like the idea of a one shard MMO? Get a free 21day E\/E Online trial here.

Drop me a PM if you buy an account and I can share the reward with you

Arma3 - VOLCBAT - Realism without the bollocks!
adzc1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Apr 2013, 01:20   #5
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,359
RichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
there is a Kinect for windows, that allows you to use the separately downloadable sdk.

in the new sdk, there is a 3d scan capability :-) , it has face tracking as well

the xbox Kinect is no longer licensed for use on a pc
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands

Last edited by RichCreedy; 8th Apr 2013 at 01:47.
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Apr 2013, 01:20   #6
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,359
RichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
oops double post
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands

Last edited by RichCreedy; 8th Apr 2013 at 01:47.
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Apr 2013, 15:49   #7
adzc1987
Supermodder
 
adzc1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: West Lothian, Scotland
Posts: 490
adzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremeladzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremeladzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichCreedy View Post
there is a Kinect for windows, that allows you to use the separately downloadable sdk.

in the new sdk, there is a 3d scan capability :-) , it has face tracking as well

the xbox Kinect is no longer licensed for use on a pc
Actually it still works, installing the newest SDK for the Kinect (1.7) i can get it to work as a camera via the SDK no problem.

I managed to find a program by some guy which can turn the kinect into an actual webcam. Using a program i was shown from the Bohemia Forums i managed to get the webcam tracking software working in game i just need to adjust camera postion etc.

Ill post full details when im home.
__________________
Like Spaceships? Like the idea of a one shard MMO? Get a free 21day E\/E Online trial here.

Drop me a PM if you buy an account and I can share the reward with you

Arma3 - VOLCBAT - Realism without the bollocks!
adzc1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Apr 2013, 21:34   #8
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,359
RichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
it may work, but the license prohibits the use of the xbox Kinect.
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Apr 2013, 22:19   #9
adzc1987
Supermodder
 
adzc1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: West Lothian, Scotland
Posts: 490
adzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremeladzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremeladzc1987 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I have managed to get something to work here (copying from my arma clan forums)

"Ok here goes as a guide.

Using an Xbox 360 Kinect (do not connect to comp until told.) If you want to use a regular webcam go to step 7.
1. Make sure you have the correct Kinect, you need to have the power adaptor that looks a bit like this to be able to plug it into a PC.
2. Download the SDK and Tool Kit for Kinect from Windows and install.
3. Now plug in the kinect, windows should install all the drivers (may take few mins)
4. Test the kinect, start the "Developer Toolkit Browser" this will be in your start menu under SDK For kinect.
5. Goto the tools and run one of the Kinect Explorers (not the studio) this will let you see if its working and adjust the angle of the camera.
6. close it all down and install this this is what will allow the Kinect to be used as a webcam. You will probably need to restart the comp first and it normally starts by default on startup.

7. Now that you have a webcam goto this nifty wee thing you also need this the demo will do and i just put bollocks in the name address etc
8. Now start your webcam, launch Facetracker demo, you will see how it works here. Then when ready start the FaceTrackNoIR, from this you can adjust all sorts of settings.
9. Testing- Click start on the FaceTrackNoIR, you should see a little picture of your self with the facial tracking. Start Arma and just create a editor with a single man. Once in game you can goto options, controls, and controllers you will see 2 regarding a joystick controller already enabled. Enable the one called Track IR, the Freetrack dont seem to work well.
Start a Mission and mess around!"
__________________
Like Spaceships? Like the idea of a one shard MMO? Get a free 21day E\/E Online trial here.

Drop me a PM if you buy an account and I can share the reward with you

Arma3 - VOLCBAT - Realism without the bollocks!
adzc1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
arma, kinect

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:39.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.