bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 08:32   #1
Meanmotion
bleh
 
Meanmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Reading
Posts: 1,650
Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.
Bioshock Infinite Performance Analysis

Bioshock Infinite is awesome, but how does it push the current crop of graphics cards?
http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/201...-performance/1
Meanmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 09:07   #2
Jaybles
Hypermodder
 
Jaybles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 981
Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
I like these Performance Analyses. Awesome article.
__________________
i7 950 @ 3.8 1.192v|Noctua NH-U12P SE2|Asus P6X58D-E|12 GB DDR3 1600|1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3|Samsung 830 64GB|XFX Double D R7950|Asus Xonar DG|Antec Quattro 850w|Bitfenix Colossus|Dell U2311H|Dell E173FP
Steam|PSN:nythraln
Jaybles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 09:49   #3
Shirty
"It's old Shirty!"
 
Shirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saaf Inglund
Posts: 9,268
Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.
It's nice to see Ed and the team doing their best to return Bit to their former glory

Just some little notes and observations:
  1. The 7950 has 3GB not 2GB as in the performance graphs.
  2. If you can overclock your 7950 by 40 to 50% (as many can), it will never dip below 70fps on the 1080p graph, using the same settings
  3. I also wonder whether the 670/680 might have fared better in the multi screen table if you had tested the 4GB versions?
  4. The 7870LE should neatly fill the gap between the 7870 and 7950, and would trouble the 660Ti for the price of a vanilla 660.
  5. I wish you'd tested Eyefinity on the 7950, judging by it's bigger sibling's performance it would have done well there.

Do you sense that I might be a 7950 fanboy? I'm not, but it was 100 cheaper than my 670 and I love it!



FINAL EDIT: Let's see a review of a 7870 LE (aka 7930) soon lads.
__________________
My modest web browsing rig: 2 x Xeon E5-2699 v3 | 256GB RAM | 4TB Nytro WarpDrive BFH8-3200 | Quad SLI 12GB QUADRO K6000s | Windows 95

Last edited by Shirty; 23rd Apr 2013 at 10:27. Reason: I was pondering...
Shirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 10:45   #4
Adnoctum
Kill_All_Humans
 
Adnoctum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 482
Adnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for presidentAdnoctum should be considered for president
I will admit that I nerdgasmed a little bit when I saw this article, and then I got all weepy and sentimental about the good old days of game reviews. Afterwards I told those damned kids to get off my lawn.

Like any PC enthusiast (or "elitist" if you want) I blame consoles and their deleterious effect on game system requirements. It has been a while since I have needed to ask myself "Will Game X play on my system?". Now I ask myself "Will Game X play on my MITX system or will I need my main system?" and game reviews won't tell me any more. This article answers my question about Bioshock Infinite, and I will need to play it on my main system.

I haven't been visiting as much lately, so good work Bit-Tech/Harry, and I will visit more often if this is the future.
__________________
Main Rig: Amiga A1200 - Motorola 68EC020@14.2MHz + 68030@50MHz Acc. Card - Lisa Graphics - 2+8MB RAM - 80MB HDD
LAN Rig: Amiga A500 - Motorola 68000@8MHz - Denise Graphics - 512+512KB RAM
Adnoctum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 11:03   #5
Stanley Tweedle
Ultramodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,033
Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Bioshock Infinite is the worst performing game on my PC. The fps drops sometimes and it stutters. Any other game I can run maxed out (except crysis 3). I have an overclocked 680, 16gb ram and i5 2500k @ 4.9ghz. All games on SSD. Bioshock is the only one with performance issues.
__________________
The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later.

The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later.

The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later.
Stanley Tweedle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 13:11   #6
Doctor Hades
Dreamer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: East Yorkshire
Posts: 78
Doctor Hades has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I completed BioShock Infinite in about 15 hours at 1920x1200, Ultra settings with Alternate DOF enabled but it was a very jarringly stuttery experience on my Core i7-920 (@ 3.7 GHz), 12 GB, GTX 680 SLI, Windows 8 Pro PC. I suspect the stuttering was caused by excessive VRAM usage as it occurred when MSI Afterburner's on-screen display showed 1.9 GB or more being used and went away when entering a new area or when the VRAM usage dropped to 1.5 GB or thereabouts. Using the default DOF setting, which I personally don't like as much because it is too 'bloomy', does reduce the stuttering significantly but doesn't get rid of it completely, alas. Why this game uses 2 GB of VRAM is not really clear as it certainly doesn't look that great technically; most of its good-looks come from the art design itself not the modelling or textures.

A good game, perhaps the combat was a bit repetitive by the end, but it was made up for by a good story. Shame about the performance issues really. The developers are apparently away of this issue but have not yet released a patch to fix the issue.
Doctor Hades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 13:12   #7
r3loaded
Ultramodder
 
r3loaded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,076
r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.r3loaded is definitely a rep cheat.
Could you add benchmarks for previous-gen cards (at least one generation back would be fine). It's hard to tell whether my 560 Ti would be fine (it probably will be if it's not maxed out I'm guessing) or whether I'd gain some tangible advantage by upgrading.
__________________
Main: Silverstone FT03 | Asus P8P67-M Pro | i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz | CM 212+ | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz | XFX Radeon 7970 DD | 500GB Samsung 840 Evo | CM Silent Pro Gold 600W | Samsung XL2270HD | KBT Race (brown switches) | Sidewinder X8 | Arch Linux + Windows 8.1
Server: Asus M3N78-AM | Athlon II X3 400e | 4GB Corsair XMS2 | 4x 2TB Samsung F4EG (RAID-5) | LSI MegaRAID 8708EM2 | Corsair CX400 | Arch Linux
r3loaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 15:42   #8
badders
Neuken in de Keuken
 
badders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 2,548
badders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for presidentbadders should be considered for president
r3loaded, I noticed very little stuttering running at 1920x1200 @ High detail on my little Geforce 250GTS, and framerates were very playable.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver51 View Post
John Hanlon standing on an oil pipeline during a blizzard, punching an angry polar bear in the balls. I heard he really did that once.
badders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 15:48   #9
Shirty
"It's old Shirty!"
 
Shirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saaf Inglund
Posts: 9,268
Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanley Tweedle View Post
Bioshock Infinite is the worst performing game on my PC. The fps drops sometimes and it stutters. Any other game I can run maxed out (except crysis 3). I have an overclocked 680, 16gb ram and i5 2500k @ 4.9ghz. All games on SSD. Bioshock is the only one with performance issues.
Something's not working well there then, your card should eat the game on a single screen.
__________________
My modest web browsing rig: 2 x Xeon E5-2699 v3 | 256GB RAM | 4TB Nytro WarpDrive BFH8-3200 | Quad SLI 12GB QUADRO K6000s | Windows 95
Shirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 16:15   #10
Stanley Tweedle
Ultramodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,033
Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Stanley Tweedle is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shirty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanley Tweedle View Post
Bioshock Infinite is the worst performing game on my PC. The fps drops sometimes and it stutters. Any other game I can run maxed out (except crysis 3). I have an overclocked 680, 16gb ram and i5 2500k @ 4.9ghz. All games on SSD. Bioshock is the only one with performance issues.
Something's not working well there then, your card should eat the game on a single screen.
But other games work fine... BF3 is maxed out. Dishonored. Dirt 3 etc.

Only thing I can think is that the SSD it's on is nearly full (just 12gb free). It's not a constant low fps chugging sort of problem but an occassional stutter but it's noticeable. Latest nvid drivers.
__________________
The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later.

The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later.

The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later.
Stanley Tweedle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 17:55   #11
Eiffie
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 363
Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shirty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanley Tweedle View Post
Bioshock Infinite is the worst performing game on my PC. The fps drops sometimes and it stutters. Any other game I can run maxed out (except crysis 3). I have an overclocked 680, 16gb ram and i5 2500k @ 4.9ghz. All games on SSD. Bioshock is the only one with performance issues.
Something's not working well there then, your card should eat the game on a single screen.
I too have stuttering and fps dips into the 30's and it's not just when the next area is loading in, not sure if it's my computer. I play the game at ultra with everything enabled in-game and my drivers set to use application settings with v-sync on. It's really not enough to bother me and make me want to stop playing, I feel like it's just something that's going to be ironed over with a patch from either nvidia or 2k soon enough?
__________________
I5-750 @ 4GHz - MSI P55-GD65 - 8GB Crucial DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX 680 2GB - 1 Western Digital Black 1TB - 2 Western Digital Green 2TB - 700W Silverstone PSU - H50 Water Cooling Unit - Win7 64-Bit - Logitech G400 - Cooler Master QuickFire Pro MX Brown - Steelseries Icemat V2 - Blue Microphone Snowball - Logitech C920 Webcam
Eiffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 18:16   #12
Aterius Gmork
/r/pcmasterrace
 
Aterius Gmork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,503
Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I played the game on Ultra (albeit with no AA as usual) and it played very smooth on my 670 at 1440p. The vsync option of the game was terrible though and caused a lot of stuttering. Turning off vsync ingame and forcing it via D3DOverrider from the old Rivatuner package removed all stuttering though.
__________________
Feel free to correct this post per PN or otherwise to help me improve my English.
Aterius Gmork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 18:24   #13
Shirty
"It's old Shirty!"
 
Shirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saaf Inglund
Posts: 9,268
Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.
Sounds like vsync dropping the game to 30fps to me. The switch between 60 and 30 is noticeable.
__________________
My modest web browsing rig: 2 x Xeon E5-2699 v3 | 256GB RAM | 4TB Nytro WarpDrive BFH8-3200 | Quad SLI 12GB QUADRO K6000s | Windows 95

Last edited by Shirty; 23rd Apr 2013 at 23:00. Reason: Brain turd
Shirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 18:40   #14
Eiffie
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 363
Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
I have my V-sync set to both on in-game and on in the driver package. I didn't think I had it set to adaptive v-sync but if the in-game v-sync is wonky then I will try tonight with that disabled and see if it helps. It's never seemed to have been an issue in any game before this, I've always played every game with v-sync on in-game and in the drivers. Have I been doing it wrong all along?!@#$% D:
__________________
I5-750 @ 4GHz - MSI P55-GD65 - 8GB Crucial DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX 680 2GB - 1 Western Digital Black 1TB - 2 Western Digital Green 2TB - 700W Silverstone PSU - H50 Water Cooling Unit - Win7 64-Bit - Logitech G400 - Cooler Master QuickFire Pro MX Brown - Steelseries Icemat V2 - Blue Microphone Snowball - Logitech C920 Webcam
Eiffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 19:49   #15
Baz
I work for Corsair
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Reading
Posts: 1,793
Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eiffie
I have my V-sync set to both on in-game and on in the driver package. I didn't think I had it set to adaptive v-sync but if the in-game v-sync is wonky then I will try tonight with that disabled and see if it helps. It's never seemed to have been an issue in any game before this, I've always played every game with v-sync on in-game and in the drivers. Have I been doing it wrong all along?!@#$% D:
If you have a 6-series card, adaptive v-sync is your friend, use it!
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 19:50   #16
Baz
I work for Corsair
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Reading
Posts: 1,793
Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Baz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adnoctum
I will admit that I nerdgasmed a little bit when I saw this article, and then I got all weepy and sentimental about the good old days of game reviews. Afterwards I told those damned kids to get off my lawn.

Like any PC enthusiast (or "elitist" if you want) I blame consoles and their deleterious effect on game system requirements. It has been a while since I have needed to ask myself "Will Game X play on my system?". Now I ask myself "Will Game X play on my MITX system or will I need my main system?" and game reviews won't tell me any more. This article answers my question about Bioshock Infinite, and I will need to play it on my main system.

I haven't been visiting as much lately, so good work Bit-Tech/Harry, and I will visit more often if this is the future.
Awwwww thanks

The plan's to do this for as many big-ticket releases as possible tbh, as it works out to nicely integrate them into our benchmark suite.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shirty View Post
It's nice to see Ed and the team doing their best to return Bit to their former glory

Just some little notes and observations:
  1. The 7950 has 3GB not 2GB as in the performance graphs.
  2. If you can overclock your 7950 by 40 to 50% (as many can), it will never dip below 70fps on the 1080p graph, using the same settings
  3. I also wonder whether the 670/680 might have fared better in the multi screen table if you had tested the 4GB versions?
  4. The 7870LE should neatly fill the gap between the 7870 and 7950, and would trouble the 660Ti for the price of a vanilla 660.
  5. I wish you'd tested Eyefinity on the 7950, judging by it's bigger sibling's performance it would have done well there.

Do you sense that I might be a 7950 fanboy? I'm not, but it was 100 cheaper than my 670 and I love it!



FINAL EDIT: Let's see a review of a 7870 LE (aka 7930) soon lads.
  1. whoops, will fix; brain melted by graph overload
  2. People say you can OC 7950's by a lot, but i've killed three running at just the Boost clocks. We try to stick to official SKUs, otherwise we'd be testing forever!
  3. Everytime i've tested a GPU with more than stock memory, it's been pointless; i'd put my money on it being the same here except for maybe at 5760.
  4. We got a 7870 LE in, but it broke. I imagine AMD will legitimise the SKU shortly though...
  5. I've just gotten a fixed 7950 (our last remaining model's DisplayPorts were dead, hence its omission) so i'll add it in soon

Glad you like your 7950; they're good cards, and tidy bit-coin miners to boot.

Last edited by Baz; 23rd Apr 2013 at 19:55.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 20:30   #17
Shirty
"It's old Shirty!"
 
Shirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saaf Inglund
Posts: 9,268
Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.
I guess it's the luck of the draw how far you can OC, and understand why you didn't want/have time to overclock all the cards on test. I agree the 4GB SKUs wouldn't touch the single screen results, but I was surprised how far the 2GB 680 dropped off across 3 screens versus the 7970. It'd be great to see how AMD's number two card handles Eyefinity.

I loved my old 670 equally as much, but largely the same performance for two thirds the cash was hard to ignore after a minor financial crisis saw me selling off the green card and replacing it with a red one a few weeks later.

Either the 670 should be 50 cheaper or the 7950 more expensive (now that AMD have finally sorted the drivers out).
__________________
My modest web browsing rig: 2 x Xeon E5-2699 v3 | 256GB RAM | 4TB Nytro WarpDrive BFH8-3200 | Quad SLI 12GB QUADRO K6000s | Windows 95
Shirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 22:55   #18
Eiffie
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 363
Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Eiffie is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Okay wow, so I turned off v-sync in-game and left it to on in my drivers (not adaptive or anything else, just on) and now I'm getting a solid 60 fps with no dips for two whole sections of the game. Thanks for the suggestion guys! I can't believe this is what was giving me trouble after three playthroughs.
__________________
I5-750 @ 4GHz - MSI P55-GD65 - 8GB Crucial DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX 680 2GB - 1 Western Digital Black 1TB - 2 Western Digital Green 2TB - 700W Silverstone PSU - H50 Water Cooling Unit - Win7 64-Bit - Logitech G400 - Cooler Master QuickFire Pro MX Brown - Steelseries Icemat V2 - Blue Microphone Snowball - Logitech C920 Webcam
Eiffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2013, 23:09   #19
Shirty
"It's old Shirty!"
 
Shirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saaf Inglund
Posts: 9,268
Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.Shirty is definitely a rep cheat.
For future reference your other option is to use software such as Afterburner to cap your framerate to 60 (or whatever your monitor's refresh rate is). Then you can switch off vsync altogether.
__________________
My modest web browsing rig: 2 x Xeon E5-2699 v3 | 256GB RAM | 4TB Nytro WarpDrive BFH8-3200 | Quad SLI 12GB QUADRO K6000s | Windows 95
Shirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2013, 08:23   #20
Phil Rhodes
Hypernobber
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,210
Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Phil Rhodes is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
I have a GTX 470 and an i7 950. Need I apply?
Phil Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:13.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.