bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th May 2013, 00:54   #1
Combatus
Custom PC/bit-tech modding sections
Moderator
 
Combatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 1,929
Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.
Corsair outlines Haswell PSU compatibility

Corsair outlines Haswell PSU compatibility

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...ompatibility/1
__________________
My Mods Project: SFX | How to photograph your project | Join the Case Mod Index and WIN PRIZES! | Mod of the Month March 2014 is here! Vote now!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattmc91 View Post
Is the res loud, like, constantly making you need a piss loud?
Combatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 01:27   #2
ZeDestructor
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 159
ZeDestructor has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
When the first manufacturer responses started coming out, it was fairly obvious that most DC-DC based PSUs would be compatible. To me at least. Since only one massive 12V rail is loaded rather than a bunch of small rails that trigger weird regulation crosstalk, interference and whatnot...
ZeDestructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 01:35   #3
jonnyGURU
Power to the People
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
jonnyGURU has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Well, that was quick! :-p

(Posting this as news, that is. Seeing how the blog post just went live an hour ago.)
jonnyGURU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 01:37   #4
Aracos
Elite
 
Aracos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Posts: 1,337
Aracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run Crysis
Have power supply manufacturers found that there isn't much need for new power supplies anymore with low cost products now being very quiet, stable and reliable? Is this a coordinated scare story to cause knee-jerk reactions which will push power supply sales?

I'm not usually one for a conspiracy theory but this is all a little fishy.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubisoft CEO
Our clear goal today is to come more regularly with our top brands
Ragnarok: i5 750 @ 3200MHz | Titan Fenrir | MSI P55-GD65 | 8GiB Vengence 1600MHz CAS 9 | 1GiB 6950 DirectCU II | 60GB Crucial M4 | Samsung F3 500GB | Samsung F3 1TB | Seasonic X-750 | X-Fi XtremeGamer | HAF932 | Win 7 Pro | openSUSE
Aracos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 01:42   #5
jonnyGURU
Power to the People
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
jonnyGURU has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aracos View Post
Have power supply manufacturers found that there isn't much need for new power supplies anymore with low cost products now being very quiet, stable and reliable? Is this a coordinated scare story to cause knee-jerk reactions which will push power supply sales?

I'm not usually one for a conspiracy theory but this is all a little fishy.
You apparently are one for conspiracy theories.

It was Intel that started this. Not the PSU companies. And if you read the post, it says that most PSU's will already work, which would mean for most people that already have a quality power supply that they do NOT need to run out and buy a new PSU.
jonnyGURU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 01:45   #6
SchizoFrog
Hypermodder
 
SchizoFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East London
Posts: 986
SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aracos
Have power supply manufacturers found that there isn't much need for new power supplies anymore with low cost products now being very quiet, stable and reliable? Is this a coordinated scare story to cause knee-jerk reactions which will push power supply sales?

I'm not usually one for a conspiracy theory but this is all a little fishy.
Not at all... You can easily get older PSU's and test them. Feel free to also use a PSU that is not certified as compatible with your new Haswell CPU... It's your money after all.
__________________
Fractal Design Arc Midi Rev II - ASUS P5K Premium WiFi
Q6600 - SilverStone Argon AR01 - 6GB Corsair PC2-6400 DHX
ASUS nVidia 750 Ti OC - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit)
SchizoFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 01:49   #7
Aracos
Elite
 
Aracos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Posts: 1,337
Aracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run CrysisAracos can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyGURU
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aracos View Post
Have power supply manufacturers found that there isn't much need for new power supplies anymore with low cost products now being very quiet, stable and reliable? Is this a coordinated scare story to cause knee-jerk reactions which will push power supply sales?

I'm not usually one for a conspiracy theory but this is all a little fishy.
You apparently are one for conspiracy theories.

It was Intel that started this. Not the PSU companies. And if you read the post, it says that most PSU's will already work, which would mean for most people that already have a quality power supply that they do NOT need to run out and buy a new PSU.
But the idea has been planted in peoples heads. The sheer idea of something possibly not working with future upgrades is enough to send some people buying new products. Corsairs statement was definitely informative but they also know that if they're one of the first companies to state that their power supplies will work then there will be those who will buy their power supplies to be safe. Don't get me wrong Corsair aren't a bad manufacturer, neither are Enermax but there's definitely a hint of capitalising on a possible compatibility issue going on, especially when the stories get so much press :-)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubisoft CEO
Our clear goal today is to come more regularly with our top brands
Ragnarok: i5 750 @ 3200MHz | Titan Fenrir | MSI P55-GD65 | 8GiB Vengence 1600MHz CAS 9 | 1GiB 6950 DirectCU II | 60GB Crucial M4 | Samsung F3 500GB | Samsung F3 1TB | Seasonic X-750 | X-Fi XtremeGamer | HAF932 | Win 7 Pro | openSUSE
Aracos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 06:45   #8
fluxtatic
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 485
fluxtatic has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Correct me if I'm wrong, but this is only an issue if you sleep your PC, right? I don't know that many people that do - seems most either shut down every night, or leave it running 24/7. I used to try sleep here and there, but it never seemed to work right and I had to reboot anyway.
fluxtatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 07:00   #9
SchizoFrog
Hypermodder
 
SchizoFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East London
Posts: 986
SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.SchizoFrog is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Fluxtatic... I agree with you. Sleep mode has nearly always caused issues when trying to wake. However, I recently decided to try the Hibernate option instead and that works perfectly. I can now use my MCE remote to send my machine in to Hibernate state (which looks the same as powered off) and then wake it again with the remote. I think this state would also cause issues with the Haswell CPUs.
__________________
Fractal Design Arc Midi Rev II - ASUS P5K Premium WiFi
Q6600 - SilverStone Argon AR01 - 6GB Corsair PC2-6400 DHX
ASUS nVidia 750 Ti OC - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit)
SchizoFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 08:34   #10
Combatus
Custom PC/bit-tech modding sections
Moderator
 
Combatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 1,929
Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
Well, that was quick! :-p

(Posting this as news, that is. Seeing how the blog post just went live an hour ago.)
We don't muck about!
__________________
My Mods Project: SFX | How to photograph your project | Join the Case Mod Index and WIN PRIZES! | Mod of the Month March 2014 is here! Vote now!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattmc91 View Post
Is the res loud, like, constantly making you need a piss loud?
Combatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 09:47   #11
edzieba
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 449
edzieba is definitely a rep cheat.edzieba is definitely a rep cheat.edzieba is definitely a rep cheat.edzieba is definitely a rep cheat.edzieba is definitely a rep cheat.edzieba is definitely a rep cheat.edzieba is definitely a rep cheat.edzieba is definitely a rep cheat.edzieba is definitely a rep cheat.edzieba is definitely a rep cheat.edzieba is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluxtatic
Correct me if I'm wrong, but this is only an issue if you sleep your PC, right?
Further, it;s only an issue if you sleep AND use the new power states. Turn the new power states off (or run a BIOS/UEFI that does not support them), and the power usage will remain around - or slightly lower than - existing Ivy Bridge CPUs; i.e. no issues with current PSUs.

You could upgrade your PSU in order to use the new power states, but the savings (~10w to ~0.1w) are so small you'd never recoup your 'investment' in reduced electricity cost.
edzieba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 09:58   #12
loftie
Ultramodder
 
loftie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,477
loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.
I think corsair may need to make their list a bit clearer, or provide more information. As an example I own a TX750. There are 2 such TX750s - and that doesn't include the V2. Does this mean they all work? Considering that, iirc, I bought it pre lynnfield.
__________________
Sent from my PC using a keyboard
loftie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 11:01   #13
faugusztin
I *am* the guy with two left hands
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Posts: 5,818
faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluxtatic View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but this is only an issue if you sleep your PC, right? I don't know that many people that do - seems most either shut down every night, or leave it running 24/7. I used to try sleep here and there, but it never seemed to work right and I had to reboot anyway.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchizoFrog View Post
Fluxtatic... I agree with you. Sleep mode has nearly always caused issues when trying to wake. However, I recently decided to try the Hibernate option instead and that works perfectly. I can now use my MCE remote to send my machine in to Hibernate state (which looks the same as powered off) and then wake it again with the remote. I think this state would also cause issues with the Haswell CPUs.
No, you are incorrect. Since Nehalem Intel CPU has per core C-states. That means that while one core is in C6 or C7 state, other core is fully working; this is actually part of the Turbo feature set as well - put one, two or three cores in C6 state, while the one remaining runs at full Turbo clock.

And considering this slide, i am pretty sure they are talking about per core C7 state when the system is running and all cores enter C7 state :
http://www.tomshardware.com/gallery/...-3-1-jpg-.html
Note the "even when display is active" line.
__________________
Cerberus Core i7-2600K Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe GSkill RipjawsX 2x8GB DDR3-1600CL9 watercooled EVGA GTX670 Samsung 840 Pro 512GB+840 EVO 1TB Bitfenix Prodigy Seasonic X-460 Windows 8.1 Pro
Prometheus i5-4460 ASRock Z97 Extreme6 4x8GB DDR3-1333 NH-D15 Samsung XP941 256GB+6xWD30EFRX+2xWD20EARS+6xWD20EARX+WD40EFRX Seasonic X-460
faugusztin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 11:25   #14
Pranja
Blackwolf
 
Pranja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sisak,Croatia
Posts: 1,161
Pranja is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Pranja is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Pranja is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Pranja is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Pranja is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Pranja is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Pranja is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Pranja is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Pranja is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Pranja is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Pranja is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Any PSU will work if C6 and C7 are turned off.
Pranja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 13:13   #15
jonnyGURU
Power to the People
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
jonnyGURU has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by loftie
I think corsair may need to make their list a bit clearer, or provide more information. As an example I own a TX750. There are 2 such TX750s - and that doesn't include the V2. Does this mean they all work? Considering that, iirc, I bought it pre lynnfield.
Yes. That means they all work... for the same reason. They use DC to DC for the non-primary rails.
jonnyGURU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 13:35   #16
Salty Wagyu
moo
 
Salty Wagyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 449
Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Salty Wagyu - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
What about the first HX 750? (bought it around when the first Intel i5 came out) The site says it's compatible, but the HX 750 they show on product page is different from the CMPSU-750HXUK I have - which is discontinued on many shopping sites.
__________________
Main System & HTPC Specs
Salty Wagyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 17:00   #17
faugusztin
I *am* the guy with two left hands
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Posts: 5,818
faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
FYI Seasonic Rep statement :
http://www.overclock.net/t/1264890/o...#post_19888932

Quote:
Sorry we have not updated our website for this information.

The following series from Seasonic are Haswell compatible.
P, X, FL, G
M12II-650, 750, 850
__________________
Cerberus Core i7-2600K Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe GSkill RipjawsX 2x8GB DDR3-1600CL9 watercooled EVGA GTX670 Samsung 840 Pro 512GB+840 EVO 1TB Bitfenix Prodigy Seasonic X-460 Windows 8.1 Pro
Prometheus i5-4460 ASRock Z97 Extreme6 4x8GB DDR3-1333 NH-D15 Samsung XP941 256GB+6xWD30EFRX+2xWD20EARS+6xWD20EARX+WD40EFRX Seasonic X-460
faugusztin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 17:10   #18
jonnyGURU
Power to the People
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
jonnyGURU has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salty Wagyu
What about the first HX 750? (bought it around when the first Intel i5 came out) The site says it's compatible, but the HX 750 they show on product page is different from the CMPSU-750HXUK I have - which is discontinued on many shopping sites.
And it's compatible... again... for the same reason.
jonnyGURU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 22:09   #19
VaLkyR-Assassin
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 75
VaLkyR-Assassin has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I use sleep mode alot, never had any issues with it tbh. Not sure why others would have any unless there is a weakness in their hardware (i.e. failing components).
VaLkyR-Assassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2013, 10:07   #20
runadumb
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 384
runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.runadumb is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Looks like my HX 850 is compatible even though its around 3 years old. I don't think I care that much but its nice to know it will work if needed.
I do plan on upgrading my original i7 920 to Haswell but I rarely use sleep mode.
runadumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:25.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.