1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Project: Cu-stom [Update - 9th July]

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Greenmeister87, 24 Jun 2013.

1. Greenmeister87

Greenmeister87 What's a Dremel?

Cu-stom my first scratch build let alone mod. I was looking at some scratch builds and I didn't like the idea an all perspex case and I thought using copper tube would not only be easy for me but also add some character. I have some pictures below of my progress the frame has been relatively easy,

[​IMG]

the pipe bending was a drama as I used a pipe spring instead of and expensive bender. It is all very square it will need a shave of it here and there.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I have a fair bit hardware to put in the three 420mm radiators will go where the red boxs are on this picture.

[​IMG]

I would have done something on sketch up for you but I am still learning. As for the rest of the hardware I will have SLI 690's in EK water blocks a MSI Z77A-GD65 mobo with a 3770k cpu 8gb Kingston hyper x genesis. The next step is to drill holes to mount the hardware inside and order the mesh to cover the radiators and fans the rest will be transparent perspex. I am trying to source a few bits like socket head screws and washers, as soon as they arrive I can start with the outside of the case. This a sample of the mesh I will use to cover a lot of the computer.

[​IMG]

I will also make the rear panel out of this. I haven't decided on case feet yet or switches and I need ideas for my front I/O which will be mounted on the top, if anyone knows a good place for switches please let me know. I am also sorry for the picture quality my camera is getting on a bit. My next update should be in a couple of days and I should have a bit of progress for you. Any thoughts or ideas please give me a shout. Till Next time.

Last edited: 9 Jul 2013
  2. Cheapskate