1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Need help on building a new PC for gaming!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Petirrojo, 20 Jul 2013.

1. Petirrojo

Petirrojo What's a Dremel?

I have debated between getting a PS4 or gaming on a PC and i have decided to use PC for games such as Battlefield 4 and Skyrim. However, i am fairly new to all this and i understand i need a new PC to run BF4 and other games on high settings with a decent framerate. I would also prefer to stick with AMD/ATI instead of Nvidia and Intel. I also don't intend on overclocking the CPU.

Budget: £500 at the maximum but i would prefer to keep it under £400 (PS4 price range)

Main uses of intended build: Gaming and running high end games such as BF4.

Parts required: Completely new build (CPU, motherboard, memory, storage, graphics card, power supply and case. Hopefully no cooling)

Previous build information:
    Processor: AMD Phenom II X2 550 @ 3.1 GHz
    Graphics card: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (DirectX11
    Memory: 4GB RAM
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK M2N68-AM
    Storage: 300GB free on my hard drive
    Monitor resolution: 1920x1080 (Iiyama E2208HDS monitor)
    Storage requirements:500GB+

Thanks.

2. LightningPete

LightningPete Diagnosis: ARMAII-Holic

Re-use the following items to save money and to aid in your best build:

Monitor
    Windows 7
    RAM - (If DD3)
    DVD Drive
    Hard drive (just for extra storage its free afterall as you own it)
    Case (if decent and able to have 1 intake front fan and 1 rear exhaust fan)

All prices from Scan.co.uk (Inc VAT)- meets just a nudge over £500 and will make a formiddable gaming machine that will leave it wanting more after spitting out BF4 from the other end

1 TB Seagate 64mb cache HDD - £49.00

i5 3570k Intel Ivy Bridge Quad Core - £178.98

Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H motherboard - £77.72

600w Corsair Builder Series PSU - £57.12