bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 16:48   #1
Meanmotion
bleh
 
Meanmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Reading
Posts: 1,650
Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.
PC Hardware Buyer's Guide August 2013

Our regular guide to getting the best components for your PC build, whatever your budget.
http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/buy...-august-2013/1
Meanmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 17:02   #2
sotu1
Ex-Modder
 
sotu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bournemouth and London
Posts: 2,862
sotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousotu1 - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
"Windows 7 "

Either you really believe in Win 7 or you didn't update this. And I genuinely don't know your advice here!
__________________
Gaming PC, PS3 and XBOX 360 kits all for sale!
sotu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 17:30   #3
mi1ez
Game Boy Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,148
mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mi1ez - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
I'd stick with Win7...
__________________
The Angel Delights?
mi1ez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 17:32   #4
Combatus
Custom PC/bit-tech modding sections
Moderator
 
Combatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 2,036
Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotu1 View Post
"Windows 7 "

Either you really believe in Win 7 or you didn't update this. And I genuinely don't know your advice here!
The OS is down to your personal preference really but I'll refer you to our Windows 8 testing http://www.bit-tech.net/bits/softwar...e-benchmarks/7

In short we agree with mi1ez - we'd still buy Windows 7 over Windows 8, although addons such as Start8 do make it much more user friendly in a desktop environment.
__________________
My Mods Project: SFX | How to photograph your project | Join the Case Mod Index and WIN PRIZES!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattmc91 View Post
Is the res loud, like, constantly making you need a piss loud?
Combatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 18:19   #5
thogil
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
thogil is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.thogil is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.thogil is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.thogil is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.thogil is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.thogil is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.thogil is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.thogil is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.thogil is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.thogil is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.thogil is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Combatus
...addons such as Start8 do make it much more user friendly in a desktop environment.
The start screen in windows 8.1 is far better than the start menu in windows 7, due to a superior search system. What with search being the only reason you would ever open the start menu since Vista, I'm not sure why you would want to downgrade to Start8.

There really is not much in it, so much that its hard to recommend paying for an upgrade, but there are a few minor improvements (multi monitor taskbar and wallpaper, file copy pausing, task manager, native zip and iso opening, etc), and literally no disadvantages.

In other matters, it's good to see this feature back.
thogil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 19:42   #6
VipersGratitude
I *am* a Dremel
 
VipersGratitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,635
VipersGratitude is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.VipersGratitude is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.VipersGratitude is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.VipersGratitude is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.VipersGratitude is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.VipersGratitude is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.VipersGratitude is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.VipersGratitude is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.VipersGratitude is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.VipersGratitude is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.VipersGratitude is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meanmotion View Post
Our regular guide
If that's your definition of 'regular' I'd hate to use a bathroom after you

Joking aside, does anyone here anticipate AMD GPUs becoming a more sensible choice over the next decade due to a more similar architecture to the consoles?
__________________
"Power without love is reckless and abusive; Love without power is anemic and sentimental"
~- Dr. Martin Luther King
VipersGratitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 20:22   #7
Matticus
...
 
Matticus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,277
Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.Matticus is definitely a rep cheat.
Wow, when your GPU is worst than the affordable all-rounder you know it's time to upgrade!

Great to see this back though, I usually point people to this when they ask me about buying a new PC. That way I get none of the hassle and only 99% of the liability when it goes wrong :P
__________________
::i5 - 750::P55M-UD2::8GB Corsair::5850::CM Silent Pro Gold::F3 1TB::OCZ Vertex 2E::
::giffgaff::
Matticus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 20:26   #8
Hustler
Hypermodder
 
Hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Dark Side
Posts: 621
Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Hustler is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
The AMD FX 6300/6350 is a far better CPU than that i3 for the affordable all rounder, even though they're slower per core, 6 of them at 4GHZ or more will be far more useful over the next few years in games and apps.

Especially with all the multi-core console ports that will be incoming from 2014 onwards..
Hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 20:59   #9
barrkel
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 79
barrkel has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by thogil View Post
The start screen in windows 8.1 is far better than the start menu in windows 7, due to a superior search system. What with search being the only reason you would ever open the start menu since Vista, I'm not sure why you would want to downgrade to Start8.
I don't accept your priors; your argument depends on unwarranted assumptions.

I don't use Windows 7's start menu, since I prefer the XP menu, and I use ClassicShell to get it. It has the search functionality, but I seldom use it, I use a Cygwin terminal window if I want to type to start a program. I generally use the start menu for selecting a program based on categorization / spatial navigation / muscle memory.

Quote:
There really is not much in it, so much that its hard to recommend paying for an upgrade, but there are a few minor improvements (multi monitor taskbar and wallpaper, file copy pausing, task manager, native zip and iso opening, etc), and literally no disadvantages.
Windows has had "native" support for zips since at least XP SP2, and I've disabled it ever since it was implemented, because it bogs down Explorer and litters the treeview with in-zip directories. MS have had an ISO mounter freely downloadable from their site since at least the early 2000s too. Having these baked in is not an advantage to me.

Windows has supported multi-monitor wallpapers ever since it supported multiple monitors. The trick to it was that you had to compose your wallpapers on a single bitmap and set it as the tiled wallpaper.

Multi-monitor taskbars are another non-advantage. I have an infinitely configurable desktop at work (Linux) that can easily do that, but I'd rather spend the extra centimetre on my browser window. Widescreen monitors aren't high enough as it is.

I generally pause file copy / moves with Ctrl-Z. If you've never used the terminal, you may not know what I'm talking about...

The biggest disadvantage is encouraging MS's further adventures in TPM and locked down boot loaders.
barrkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 21:10   #10
deathtaker27
Backups ... Its a way of life
 
deathtaker27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,717
deathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyandeathtaker27 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/gigab...-%28x16%29-atx

your affordable motherboard is eol...
deathtaker27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 22:37   #11
loftie
I *am* a Dremel
 
loftie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,673
loftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the 670 faster than the 760? And considering it's 200 - or below if it's on offer like it is now on overclockers and probably scan too - would it not be the better choice? Assuming of course they don't all vanish.
__________________
Sent from my PC using a keyboard
loftie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 22:37   #12
Combatus
Custom PC/bit-tech modding sections
Moderator
 
Combatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 2,036
Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathtaker27 View Post
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/gigab...-%28x16%29-atx

your affordable motherboard is eol...
Plenty of stock here

http://www.ebuyer.com/276562-gigabyt...rd-ga-z68ap-d3
__________________
My Mods Project: SFX | How to photograph your project | Join the Case Mod Index and WIN PRIZES!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattmc91 View Post
Is the res loud, like, constantly making you need a piss loud?
Combatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 22:49   #13
Combatus
Custom PC/bit-tech modding sections
Moderator
 
Combatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 2,036
Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by loftie View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the 670 faster than the 760? And considering it's 200 - or below if it's on offer like it is now on overclockers and probably scan too - would it not be the better choice? Assuming of course they don't all vanish.
Funny you should mention that - I did nearly put it in! I think the margin is pretty slim though - it's down to 1-2fps in many of our benchmarks and as you say you're essentially relying on flash sales of the 670 to bring it down under 200, whereas the 760 is regularly available for under 190 which for this guide is what you want really. However if you can find one for for 180 or less it might be worth considering, but then the GTX 760 is also a pretty good overclocker, especially the MSI Twin Frozr we looked at recently.
__________________
My Mods Project: SFX | How to photograph your project | Join the Case Mod Index and WIN PRIZES!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattmc91 View Post
Is the res loud, like, constantly making you need a piss loud?
Combatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 23:40   #14
Edwards
Hypermodder
 
Edwards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 705
Edwards is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Edwards is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Edwards is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Edwards is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Edwards is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Edwards is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Edwards is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Edwards is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Edwards is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Edwards is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Edwards is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
New This Month
Lol.
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k - Maximus V Gene - 4x4 GB Corsair XMS3 1.65v 1600mHz - Asus GTX 570 - 256GB Samsung 830 - Samsung F3 1TB - Samsung F4 2TB - Corsair HX650 - Silverstone TJ08-E - LG IPS231P-BN x 2 - Corsair K70 - CM Storm Inferno
Edwards is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2013, 23:42   #15
roundyz
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: wolves
Posts: 139
roundyz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.roundyz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.roundyz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.roundyz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.roundyz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.roundyz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.roundyz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.roundyz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.roundyz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.roundyz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.roundyz is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Whats premium about this "8GB 1,600MHz DDR3" ? Its the same as the others..
roundyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Aug 2013, 00:44   #16
Combatus
Custom PC/bit-tech modding sections
Moderator
 
Combatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Watford, UK
Posts: 2,036
Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.Combatus is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by roundyz View Post
Whats premium about this "8GB 1,600MHz DDR3" ? Its the same as the others..
It's premium not pointless - we don't just ramp up the specs as we go through the article for the sake of it Seriously though, the testing we've done showed that very few situations benefit from more than 8GB of RAM, and even where they did the difference was small, while the move from 4GB to 8GB is far, far more beneficial. This is why the affordable all-rounder now includes it too. I dare say in the next buyer's guide (hopefully won't be as long this time!) the Premium Player may well include 16GB.
__________________
My Mods Project: SFX | How to photograph your project | Join the Case Mod Index and WIN PRIZES!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattmc91 View Post
Is the res loud, like, constantly making you need a piss loud?
Combatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Aug 2013, 00:46   #17
Apoptosis
Modder
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 50
Apoptosis has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Mostly what I would've gone for, although when I get enough scratch for a new system, I'm not going to be using any more mechanical drives. Thankfully, large-capacity SSD's are coming down in price!
Apoptosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Aug 2013, 00:58   #18
chrismarkham1982
amateur destroyer/Head not well
 
chrismarkham1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Peterborough UK,
Posts: 1,757
chrismarkham1982 is a Super Spamming Saiyanchrismarkham1982 is a Super Spamming Saiyanchrismarkham1982 is a Super Spamming Saiyanchrismarkham1982 is a Super Spamming Saiyanchrismarkham1982 is a Super Spamming Saiyanchrismarkham1982 is a Super Spamming Saiyanchrismarkham1982 is a Super Spamming Saiyanchrismarkham1982 is a Super Spamming Saiyanchrismarkham1982 is a Super Spamming Saiyanchrismarkham1982 is a Super Spamming Saiyanchrismarkham1982 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hustler View Post
The AMD FX 6300/6350 is a far better CPU than that i3 for the affordable all rounder, even though they're slower per core, 6 of them at 4GHZ or more will be far more useful over the next few years in games and apps.

Especially with all the multi-core console ports that will be incoming from 2014 onwards..
Agree in priciple (and im no amd fan) will say though that they trade blows in the various benchies so id imagine the fact that the I3 uses a fare bit less power for its needs is probably the reason it was chosen.

Xbitlabs have the i3-3240 (id imagine identical power usage to i3-3220) under load at 91w where-as the fx-6300 is at 162w, thats a big margin, 31w more than an i7-3770k in the same test/system!
__________________
NOT WELL IN THE HEAD-AMATEUR DESTROYER-FLUFFY SO AND SO....THE LIST IS ENDLESS
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamza_tm View Post
hard or soft to suit your taste

Sony Vaio SVE1513Q1EB (I5 3230m, 8GB DDR3-1600, 128 SSD/750GB HDD) - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1...now the Wife's...she dosn't seem to appreciate it - Samsung Galaxy Tab PRO 8.4
chrismarkham1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Aug 2013, 01:34   #19
Harlequin
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Harlequin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Eastbourne ,East Sussex ,UK
Posts: 4,790
Harlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming Saiyan
do I even need to click it to know intel have bought and paid for another BT article....


400 would get you a mini itx A10 based gaming rig or are you still `recommending` 1000 itx kit??
__________________
i have a 3dfx voodoo5 6000
Harlequin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Aug 2013, 01:35   #20
loftie
I *am* a Dremel
 
loftie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,673
loftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Combatus View Post
Funny you should mention that - I did nearly put it in! I think the margin is pretty slim though - it's down to 1-2fps in many of our benchmarks and as you say you're essentially relying on flash sales of the 670 to bring it down under 200, whereas the 760 is regularly available for under 190 which for this guide is what you want really. However if you can find one for for 180 or less it might be worth considering, but then the GTX 760 is also a pretty good overclocker, especially the MSI Twin Frozr we looked at recently.
Fair point. Even if there's not much in it I personally would still go for the OC 670 for the extra ~10, simply for the higher min frames on skyrim, though both push over 70fps, and the slightly lower power draw at load.

Also, @191 that's a standard 760 on scan, the OC ones hit ~200.
__________________
Sent from my PC using a keyboard
loftie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:30.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.