bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th Mar 2014, 11:39   #1
Meanmotion
bleh
 
Meanmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Reading
Posts: 1,650
Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.Meanmotion is definitely a rep cheat.
Crytek to add AMD Mantle support to CryEngine

Performance optimisations for AMD's CPUs and GPUs are heading to the latest version of CryEngine.
http://www.bit-tech.net/news/gaming/...t-to-cryengi/1
Meanmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2014, 11:42   #2
SimoomiZ
Modder
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 59
SimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for president
Should put to bed , the "but can it run Crysis?" question.

Answer: 'yes, if optimised for Mantle'.
SimoomiZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2014, 11:54   #3
Panos
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 234
Panos can run CrysisPanos can run CrysisPanos can run CrysisPanos can run CrysisPanos can run CrysisPanos can run CrysisPanos can run CrysisPanos can run CrysisPanos can run CrysisPanos can run CrysisPanos can run Crysis
The biggest benefits are shown to those having any AMD CPU. And from one side is a good thing making the building of medium-high game boxes with those Kaveri CPUs a possibility.

However if someone has an overclocked i7 (like my 4820K @5Ghz) doesn't matter at all. Rather use an Nvidia card for that matter.
Panos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2014, 11:57   #4
Dave Lister
Hypermodder
 
Dave Lister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France / UK
Posts: 672
Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
AMD cards with mantle seem to be developing a pattern of only coming neck to neck with Nvidia's closest cards. It's all well and good having a superior API but the hardware at least needs to match the competition.

Anyways it's good to see another developer jump on board !
__________________
Main Rig:Case: BitFenix Prodigy, Motherboard: MSI Z97I Gaming, CPU: Intel i7 4790K, RAM: 16Gb 2400Mhz Kingston HyperX Beast GPU: XFX ATI 5870, Primary HDD: 256Gb Samsung 850 Pro, Games Drive: 1Tb Toshiba SSHD, Cooler: Corsair H105, OS: Win 7 - 64
HTPC:Case: Gutted out VCR, Motherboard: Asus AT5IONT-I, CPU: Intel Atom D525 @ 1.94Ghz, RAM: 4Gb 1333Mhz Kingston GPU: Nvidia Ion 2, Primary HDD: Hitachi 500Gb, Optical Drive: NEC ND-6500A Laptop Drive, OS: Win 8.1 32
Dave Lister is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2014, 12:09   #5
rollo
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,220
rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.
Its nice in a way but we shall see how it pans out, With them also basically supporting the steam box in both cases now.

Star Citizen Dev already said Mantle will not be a easy Process for them to do as they are so far into the development process that all engine work is basically completed.
rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2014, 12:16   #6
SimoomiZ
Modder
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 59
SimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for president
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panos View Post
The biggest benefits are shown to those having any AMD CPU. And from one side is a good thing making the building of medium-high game boxes with those Kaveri CPUs a possibility.

However if someone has an overclocked i7 (like my 4820K @5Ghz) doesn't matter at all. Rather use an Nvidia card for that matter.
The current games that offer Mantle support (BF4, Thief) were built with the draw call limitations of DX fully accounted for . If devs can move on from that, as per the Star Swarm demo. rigs with high end CPUs will see big gains too.. current games are developed to use as few draw calls as possible.

Considering how games have been optimised for DX, the fact Mantle's arrived and matched or bettered D3D in games built for D3D is an impressive start.

Last edited by SimoomiZ; 20th Mar 2014 at 14:06.
SimoomiZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2014, 12:34   #7
SimoomiZ
Modder
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 59
SimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for presidentSimoomiZ should be considered for president
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollo View Post
Its nice in a way but we shall see how it pans out, With them also basically supporting the steam box in both cases now.

Star Citizen Dev already said Mantle will not be a easy Process for them to do as they are so far into the development process that all engine work is basically completed.
Mantle-esque DX12 will be interesting.

It's clearly a response to Mantle . MS was probably worried about Mantle going to Linux and the Steam OS and had to respond. It's got to be good for PC gaming.
SimoomiZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2014, 13:56   #8
Parge
ITX FTW
 
Parge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9,369
Parge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollo
Star Citizen Dev already said Mantle will not be a easy Process for them to do as they are so far into the development process that all engine work is basically completed.
Citation needed....
__________________

Parvum ITX - 3570k - GTX 770 - Asus P8Z77-I ITX - 8GB Tactical Tracer - 256GB SSD - 480GB SSD - H80
Parge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2014, 23:51   #9
SexyHyde
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 440
SexyHyde has yet to learn the way of the DremelSexyHyde has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parge
Citation needed....
Dude....it's on the internet.....of course it true!
SexyHyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2014, 08:26   #10
technogiant
Supermodder
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 321
technogiant is definitely a rep cheat.technogiant is definitely a rep cheat.technogiant is definitely a rep cheat.technogiant is definitely a rep cheat.technogiant is definitely a rep cheat.technogiant is definitely a rep cheat.technogiant is definitely a rep cheat.technogiant is definitely a rep cheat.technogiant is definitely a rep cheat.technogiant is definitely a rep cheat.technogiant is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panos View Post
The biggest benefits are shown to those having any AMD CPU. And from one side is a good thing making the building of medium-high game boxes with those Kaveri CPUs a possibility.

However if someone has an overclocked i7 (like my 4820K @5Ghz) doesn't matter at all. Rather use an Nvidia card for that matter.
It helps in any cpu limited scenario....this would apply not only to those using amd cpus but also to high end systems using mutli gpus where the added cpu load they cause may cause cpu limitation even on overclocked Intel cpu's like yours.
technogiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2014, 09:14   #11
Harlequin
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Harlequin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Eastbourne ,East Sussex ,UK
Posts: 4,691
Harlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Lister View Post
AMD cards with mantle seem to be developing a pattern of only coming neck to neck with Nvidia's closest cards. It's all well and good having a superior API but the hardware at least needs to match the competition.

Anyways it's good to see another developer jump on board !
400 R9 290 matching a 1000 Titan black.....
__________________
i have a 3dfx voodoo5 6000
Harlequin is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:03.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.