bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th Jun 2014, 13:03   #1
Gareth Halfacree
WIIGII!
bit-tech Staff
 
Gareth Halfacree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 4,409
Gareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming SaiyanGareth Halfacree is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Google's Chrome for Windows goes 64-bit

Improves performance and stability.
http://www.bit-tech.net/news/bits/20...hrome-64-bit/1
__________________
Author, Raspberry Pi User Guide Third Edition, 21 Brilliant Projects for the Raspberry Pi and more | gareth.halfacree.co.uk | twitter | keybase.io
bit-tech news correspondent, Custom PC columnist, other things to other people
I'm a filthy freelancer! Hire me!
Gareth Halfacree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jun 2014, 14:17   #2
Dave Lister
Hypermodder
 
Dave Lister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France / UK
Posts: 701
Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
I've been using a 64bit browser (pale moon) now for about 6 months and haven't seen any difference in speed from chrome 32bit, so i'll be looking forward to trying this new chrome out.
__________________
Main Rig:Case: BitFenix Prodigy, Motherboard: MSI Z97I Gaming, CPU: Intel i7 4790K, RAM: 16Gb 2400Mhz Kingston HyperX Beast GPU: MSI GTX 970 Gaming, Primary HDD: 256Gb Samsung 850 Pro, Games Drive: 1Tb Toshiba SSHD, Cooler: Corsair H105, OS: Win 7 - 64
HTPC:Case: Gutted out VCR, Motherboard: Asus AT5IONT-I, CPU: Intel Atom D525 @ 1.94Ghz, RAM: 4Gb 1333Mhz Kingston GPU: Nvidia Ion 2, Primary HDD: Hitachi 500Gb, Optical Drive: NEC ND-6500A Laptop Drive, OS: Win 8.1 32
Dave Lister is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jun 2014, 15:45   #3
Corky42
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3,227
Corky42 is a Super Spamming SaiyanCorky42 is a Super Spamming SaiyanCorky42 is a Super Spamming SaiyanCorky42 is a Super Spamming SaiyanCorky42 is a Super Spamming SaiyanCorky42 is a Super Spamming SaiyanCorky42 is a Super Spamming SaiyanCorky42 is a Super Spamming SaiyanCorky42 is a Super Spamming SaiyanCorky42 is a Super Spamming SaiyanCorky42 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
When i tried 64bit browser, same one as you mention Dave (pale moon) i had problems running 64bit plugins, like flash player. IIRC flash player either didn't do a 64bit version, or it kept crashing when viewing Youtube clips, is 64bit plugin support working better than it did a few years ago ?
Corky42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jun 2014, 17:07   #4
Dreamslacker
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: An idle mind
Posts: 132
Dreamslacker has yet to learn the way of the DremelDreamslacker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corky42 View Post
When i tried 64bit browser, same one as you mention Dave (pale moon) i had problems running 64bit plugins, like flash player. IIRC flash player either didn't do a 64bit version, or it kept crashing when viewing Youtube clips, is 64bit plugin support working better than it did a few years ago ?
I've been running Waterfox and more recently (past few months), pcxFirefox. Both are rather stable and I've not encountered any issues except with plug-ins that simply do not work with 64-bit browsers - e.g. Unity player used for some Facebook games.

One thing to note though, pcxFirefox is a standalone package so you will need to create your own shortcuts and there is no installer to run.

You obviously need to install 64 bit Java, which should not be an issue. Aside from that, the rest of the extensions from Firefox x86 work just fine for me - Adblock Plus, Tab Mix Plus, Flashgot etc.

There isn't any real perceptible performance difference between them and regular Firefox except that the browser can use far more memory for caching (both content and closed tabs). I've gone up to ~6GB of memory used so far when loading lots of image heavy tabs.

Since I'm on 100M/ 50M (and now 150M/ 75M) Fibre since I started using the 64 bit browsers, I can't say for sure that users on slower links wouldn't see a difference.
__________________
A mind without purpose will walk in dark places.
Dreamslacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jun 2014, 19:47   #5
ssj12
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 652
ssj12 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I have been running FireFox Nightly x64 for ages now. I hope that this move by Google will force Mozilla to move x64 into general production instead of a testbed app.
ssj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jun 2014, 10:46   #6
impar
2n-1
 
impar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 2,865
impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!impar - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Greetings!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamslacker View Post
I've gone up to ~6GB of memory used so far when loading lots of image heavy tabs.
Thats my main problem with Firefox 32bits, it usually crashes when using 3,2-3,3GB of RAM. A regular 64bits version would be the ideal solution, meanwhile I started using this addon, UnloadTab:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...don/unloadtab/
It works!
__________________
"Dispatch War Rocket Ajax to bring back his body!"
impar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jun 2014, 15:54   #7
Vigilante
Minimodder
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 36
Vigilante has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
There's very little reason to worry about 64-bit for Chrome since every tab/extension is hosted in it's own process, meaning the primary limitation for 32-bit (memory) is basically non-existent. However, HEMR will help secure the browser more and requires the extended memory range provided by 64-bit, though the sandbox in chrome mainly mitigates this anyhows.

As for 64-bit flash, bear in mind that Chrome comes with it's own version of pepperflash that's built and maintained by Google, I doubt 64-bit chrome will be released to stable without it being at least as effective and perform as well as the 32-bit version included with chrome currently. For other plugins, basically only Silverlight (for netflix) and Java, there have been 64-bit versions that are as stable as the 32-bit versions for a long time now. Extensions in Chrome are not binary so they should work properly in 64-bit chrome with no issues.

Basically, I see this as an evolutionary step instead of revolutionary - the main improvement will be stability and security, potentially performance increases in future depending on how long the 32-bit version of chrome remains maintained for, but nothing we'll see immediately.
Vigilante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Jun 2014, 22:08   #8
Dave Lister
Hypermodder
 
Dave Lister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France / UK
Posts: 701
Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Dave Lister is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corky42
When i tried 64bit browser, same one as you mention Dave (pale moon) i had problems running 64bit plugins, like flash player. IIRC flash player either didn't do a 64bit version, or it kept crashing when viewing Youtube clips, is 64bit plugin support working better than it did a few years ago ?
I still have problems a bit, my ad blocker works and youtube and other video streaming sites work most of the time, form what i've read there are still a lot of unsupported plugins though.
__________________
Main Rig:Case: BitFenix Prodigy, Motherboard: MSI Z97I Gaming, CPU: Intel i7 4790K, RAM: 16Gb 2400Mhz Kingston HyperX Beast GPU: MSI GTX 970 Gaming, Primary HDD: 256Gb Samsung 850 Pro, Games Drive: 1Tb Toshiba SSHD, Cooler: Corsair H105, OS: Win 7 - 64
HTPC:Case: Gutted out VCR, Motherboard: Asus AT5IONT-I, CPU: Intel Atom D525 @ 1.94Ghz, RAM: 4Gb 1333Mhz Kingston GPU: Nvidia Ion 2, Primary HDD: Hitachi 500Gb, Optical Drive: NEC ND-6500A Laptop Drive, OS: Win 8.1 32
Dave Lister is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2014, 00:11   #9
debs3759
Was that a warranty I just broke?
 
debs3759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northampton
Posts: 1,604
debs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Does FireFox Nightly x64 work nicely alongside Firefox x86, or will it replace my current browser? If I can have both running, I'll try out the x64 version for work related stuff
__________________


HeatWare
debs3759 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2014, 00:15   #10
RedFlames
is not KidMod
 
RedFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The northern wastes of Geordieland
Posts: 4,239
RedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by debs3759 View Post
Does FireFox Nightly x64 work nicely alongside Firefox x86, or will it replace my current browser? If I can have both running, I'll try out the x64 version for work related stuff
This is decent enough guide to getting multiple different versions of firefox working alongside each other [best practice is to have one profile per version]...
__________________
I have the heart of a child... in a jar... on my desk...

RedFlames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2014, 00:33   #11
debs3759
Was that a warranty I just broke?
 
debs3759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northampton
Posts: 1,604
debs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Even using that guide, i can't figure out how to have both running at the same time. Not sure if I'm having a blonde moment or if i need to just stick with what works
__________________


HeatWare
debs3759 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2014, 00:44   #12
RedFlames
is not KidMod
 
RedFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The northern wastes of Geordieland
Posts: 4,239
RedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by debs3759 View Post
Even using that guide, i can't figure out how to have both running at the same time. Not sure if I'm having a blonde moment or if i need to just stick with what works
You have your standard FFinstall as normal, you then launch the second one [the x64 version in your case] from the shortcut [with the -noremote flag and pointeing at a different profile folder]...


It's a bit of a faff but it does work [or it did when I used to run the FF nightlies]....


EDIT: from what i can recall this is how i had the shortcut

Code:
/path/to/x64/firefox -noremote -p /path/to/x64/profile
And that allowed the second FF to be run alongside the regular FF install without buggering anything up... iirc without '-noremote' the shortcut just opens another instance of whichever version of FF is running...
__________________
I have the heart of a child... in a jar... on my desk...


Last edited by RedFlames; 8th Jun 2014 at 00:55.
RedFlames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jun 2014, 16:31   #13
Dreamslacker
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: An idle mind
Posts: 132
Dreamslacker has yet to learn the way of the DremelDreamslacker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by debs3759 View Post
Even using that guide, i can't figure out how to have both running at the same time. Not sure if I'm having a blonde moment or if i need to just stick with what works
You will need multiple profiles for it to work. You can concurrently run different Firefox based browsers but only if each instance loads a different profile (use the -p -noremote option).

What you can do is to clone the profile. To do so, start the profile manager to create a new profile.
Start this profile once, then close all instances of Firefox (or any variants).

Head over to the AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Profiles.
Your first profile containing the customizations (bookmarks and such) should be in the folder ending with ".default". Copy all the contents of that folder to the new profile folder ending with ".<profile name>".
Overwrite files where necessary.

Once you've done that, all your bookmarks and such should be replicated to the new profile.

You can then create separate shortcuts to run whichever browser variant you want as long as you load the different profiles for each instance.
__________________
A mind without purpose will walk in dark places.
Dreamslacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
64-bit, aslr, browser, chrome, chromium, google, security, web browser, will harris, windows 7, windows 8, windows 8.1

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:32.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.