bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd Feb 2005, 00:26   #1
Dad
You talkin to me?
 
Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Central NY
Posts: 5,375
Dad has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Cell phone reprogramming

Can anyone give me a heads up on how to reprogram my Motorola V600? I want to change the external display message when in use and change the function of one of the buttons. I have the USB cable, driver and a bunch of software, but I'[m not exactly sure where to start...
__________________
I used to be with it, but then they changed what "it" was. Now, what I'm with isn't it, and what's "it" seems weird and scary to me.
Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2005, 03:22   #2
The Savior
Supermodder
 
The Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA (Minnesota)
Posts: 262
The Savior has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
www.cellphonehacks.com has many informative posts about, well, cell phone hacking. It would be a great place to look.
The Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2005, 05:34   #3
Dad
You talkin to me?
 
Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Central NY
Posts: 5,375
Dad has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Actually, figured it out -- I was getting tired of the AT&T logo all over the place and having a soft key mapped to a function I don't use. I was able to change the outside display to read "Jamie's Phone" when open, boosted the earpiece volume and changed the soft key mapping.. Still digging into the code
__________________
I used to be with it, but then they changed what "it" was. Now, what I'm with isn't it, and what's "it" seems weird and scary to me.
Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Feb 2005, 02:08   #4
Coutsos
Multimodder
 
Coutsos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 91
Coutsos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Sounds cool. Do you have any other links to share on the topic of cellphone reprogramming? Cellphonehacks.com just seems full of people trying to unlock their phones or asking how to get free internet or other stuff. Nothing really interesting.
Coutsos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Feb 2005, 14:45   #5
A[L]C
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 293
A[L]C has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
mmm how do i reprogram my D500 so the middle button brings up the menu instead of WAP?
__________________
MSN (do not email): alc_uk@hotmail.com Email: Here Hexus Rating: Here
A[L]C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Feb 2005, 21:11   #6
Deviate
I *am* a Dremel
 
Deviate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL, US
Posts: 1,515
Deviate has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hey Dad...I just got a Motorola v220. And I just ordered myself a USB data cable off ebay (why they had to make the plug on the phone different from my digital camera I'll never understand). Anyway...I have a bunch of software and some drivers ready to install when I get my data cable. So I may be coming back in here and hitting you up for some tips if'n you don't mind.
__________________
"On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate drops to zero."
--Tyler Durden--
Deviate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 17:02   #7
Dad
You talkin to me?
 
Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Central NY
Posts: 5,375
Dad has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deviate
Anyway...I have a bunch of software and some drivers ready to install when I get my data cable. So I may be coming back in here and hitting you up for some tips if'n you don't mind.
No prob... I've got my V600 pretty much all figured out now - I kind of assume that the V220 is at least similar...
__________________
I used to be with it, but then they changed what "it" was. Now, what I'm with isn't it, and what's "it" seems weird and scary to me.
Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 21:10   #8
[Tom]
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 504
[Tom] has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Ooh glad I found this thread- I have a v500 coming in a few days ready to flash to a v550 so i can record videos. May well be asking for help!
[Tom] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Mar 2005, 00:39   #9
Deviate
I *am* a Dremel
 
Deviate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL, US
Posts: 1,515
Deviate has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad
No prob... I've got my V600 pretty much all figured out now - I kind of assume that the V220 is at least similar...
Yeah apparently my v220 is a lot like your v600. Even in one guide I found for mobile phonetools it said to tell the program that the v220 was a v600 so it would work.

I removed the Cingular text from the main screen, changed the text on the lcd when the phone is open. It says, "Bite me!" for now. I'll come up with something better eventually. And I've cleaned off some of the crap wallpapers and ringtones that came on the phone. And I've set up my own wallpaper and made my own ringtone from the muppet's Mahna Mahna song.

Next up is changing the startup and shutdown animations. I just need to find something that I like. And I'd like to play with setting up my own color scheme. I just need to play around with it a little more.
__________________
"On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate drops to zero."
--Tyler Durden--
Deviate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Mar 2005, 20:32   #10
Deviate
I *am* a Dremel
 
Deviate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL, US
Posts: 1,515
Deviate has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Dad, how did you remap the softkey? Was it in a SEEM file or somewhere else? I'm wanting to remap one as well, and so far I'm not having any luck finding any information on it.
__________________
"On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate drops to zero."
--Tyler Durden--
Deviate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2005, 09:00   #11
brianpodskalny
ladies night!
 
brianpodskalny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sunny Virginia
Posts: 852
brianpodskalny has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
http://cellphoneanarchy.bravehost.com/custvxxx.html

try that!
__________________
Pastime Activities :
Smokin' with the homies
Bustin caps in whitey
brianpodskalny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2005, 09:37   #12
brianpodskalny
ladies night!
 
brianpodskalny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sunny Virginia
Posts: 852
brianpodskalny has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
scratch that i just found the best software so far.

its called motokit, google it. its in chineese but some common sense on the toolbars lets you cahnge it once youve installed it
__________________
Pastime Activities :
Smokin' with the homies
Bustin caps in whitey
brianpodskalny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2005, 12:01   #13
Deviate
I *am* a Dremel
 
Deviate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL, US
Posts: 1,515
Deviate has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yeah I have been using Motokit for some things....p2k style for others, p2k manager for others, etc., etc. :-)

I have discovered that on the v180 and v220, you can remove the carrier logo from the main screen by editing some SEEMs, just like you can for other vxxx models. However, it will screw up your 5-way function button. So I had to get a little creative.

I created myself a new wallpaper...it's a blue dragon with a black background. Then using p2kStyle, I created a new color theme. I set the main text, main text when selected, and main text outline all to black. Then I made the carrier logo left justified. And voila! No more carrier logo and I got back my 5 way function key.

So far I have edited my outter lcd text, created and uploaded my own mp3 ringtones, new wallpaper, new color scheme, new wakeup and shutdown gifs, and I have deleted a bunch of unnecessary sound files and pictures. I still want to create a good start up and shutdown sound. I've done most of that with just xvi32 and p2kMan.

It's a shame you can't remove the very first HelloMoto flower gif. It is apparently coded into the BIOS of the phone. It may be able to be changed with a flash, but no one has been able to decode the flash files to find out where the image is yet. So in the meantime, I just made it so that my wakeup gif starts with that and ends where I want it.
__________________
"On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate drops to zero."
--Tyler Durden--
Deviate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:55.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.