bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Feb 2005, 16:33   #1
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
512MB GeForce 6800 Ultra pictured

We have just come across some pictures of the latest 512MB GeForce 6800 Ultra that we talked about at the end of last week. You can find that discussion in this thread.

It appears that the video card is not just a Gainward-only technology - from the looks of the pictures it seems to be an NVIDIA reference board, however this is just our speculation. It is also worth noting that there is a new power layout at the end of the board, much different to previous versions of the GeForce 6800 series on both AGP and PCI-Express.

There is also memory on the back as we discussed last week - interestingly this is not cooled. There are some fancy heatsinks added to the card; the one close to the power connector on the front of the card looks to be cooling the warmest part of the new power regulation layout. At the moment, we are unsure what the ones on the back are cooling right now - we can only guess that it is related to power circuitry again. Notice that there are less capcitors, less chance of them breaking off, or being broken off in the post.

We'll bring you more information when we get hold of it - for now, enjoy the pictures:





UPDATE: I was actually shown these images in an MSN conversation, but not linked to their source. For more pictures, please check this thread on Guru3D
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.

Last edited by Tim S; 28th Feb 2005 at 20:15.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 17:12   #2
planki
...
 
planki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 1,132
planki has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
very nice indeedy!!
__________________
Whoopa
planki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 17:25   #3
Rufus-Seal
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I want a card like that .. But who is better?:
the 6800ULTRA 512MB ore Ati x850xt (PE?) 512 MB?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 17:38   #4
-Xp-
Hypermodder
 
-Xp-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 862
-Xp- is definitely a rep cheat.-Xp- is definitely a rep cheat.-Xp- is definitely a rep cheat.-Xp- is definitely a rep cheat.-Xp- is definitely a rep cheat.-Xp- is definitely a rep cheat.-Xp- is definitely a rep cheat.-Xp- is definitely a rep cheat.-Xp- is definitely a rep cheat.-Xp- is definitely a rep cheat.-Xp- is definitely a rep cheat.
You need to get two......in SLI....and barracade your house while you're at it.
-Xp- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 18:13   #5
Firehed
Why not? I own a domain to match.
 
Firehed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: An hour north of Boston
Posts: 12,574
Firehed has yet to learn the way of the DremelFirehed has yet to learn the way of the DremelFirehed has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Xp-
You need to get two......in SLI....and barracade your house while you're at it.
Yep, because I'll be dropping by, that's for sure
__________________
hire me @ eric-stern.com - web developer and php ninja
pics @ my smugmug :: Twitter @firehed :: blog @ firehed.net
40D|580EXII|285HV|AB800|70-200f/4LIS|17-50f/2.8|150f/2.8Macro|50f/1.8
MacPro @ 8x2.8GHz, 10GB FBDDR2, 3TB HD :: MBP @ 2x2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2, 320GB HD
Firehed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 18:14   #6
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firehed
Yep, because I'll be dropping by, that's for sure
heh
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 19:06   #7
automagsrock
Ultramodder
 
automagsrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Great Falls, Montana, US
Posts: 1,181
automagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremelautomagsrock has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Is it just me or is the NVIDIA board longer then the ATi board??
__________________
PS3 network name: Myrmccheese

My computer sucks
automagsrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 19:15   #8
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by automagsrock
Is it just me or is the NVIDIA board longer then the ATi board??
yes, NVIDIA's boards are typically longer than ATI's - this one is no exception, it actually looks longer than a 256MB GeForce 6800 Ultra.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 19:26   #9
blknoel
Supermodder
 
blknoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London UK
Posts: 303
blknoel has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
slightly off topic , but I think you have mentioned "long" :

http://pcweb.mycom.co.jp/photo/artic...mages/007l.jpg

PS: its a Mac version though
__________________
Asus P5B Dx | E6300 3.5Ghz| 2GB D9 500Mhz 4-4-4-8 | 6600GT | X-fi XtremeMusic | PCP&C 510 SLI
blknoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 20:09   #10
Kipman725
When did I get a custom title!?!
 
Kipman725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,753
Kipman725 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
aught to have seen a voodoo 6000 that thing is so big (with 4gpus) that is so big that the hard disk rack has to be removed. /off topic when nvidia bought voodoo up they aquired some working voodoo 6000's which aparently they keep in their headquarters *drool*
__________________
Sn45g game server mod My Electronics Site
Hardware: 3400+ Sempr0n, 1GB RAM, 1.28TB local storage, x1950pro,Razer Viper,M$ comfort curve 2000,L70S + 17", Fujitsu 17" CRT
Audio: HD-650's, PE congress amp, Sound Blaster AWE64, Soundblaster 24bit
Kipman725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 20:12   #11
DeathAwaitsU
I'm Back :D
 
DeathAwaitsU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 2,104
DeathAwaitsU has yet to learn the way of the DremelDeathAwaitsU has yet to learn the way of the DremelDeathAwaitsU has yet to learn the way of the DremelDeathAwaitsU has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by blknoel
slightly off topic , but I think you have mentioned "long" :

http://pcweb.mycom.co.jp/photo/artic...mages/007l.jpg

PS: its a Mac version though
Wtf, whats so special about that card? bigz, anyone?? .

Death
__________________
DeathAwaitsU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 20:45   #12
bynary
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 1
bynary has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
What's so special is...

That card was specifically designed to run the Apple 30" Cinema Display. Here's the link to Apple's site. Here's a Google search on it too. The 30" Cinema Display requires dual GPUs: one to run the top half of the screen, and one to run the bottom half. See a 30" in person, it's quite impressive.
bynary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 21:10   #13
Mr T
4 Left Into Long 3 Right
 
Mr T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Bradford
Posts: 1,742
Mr T has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It seams he dude from Guru3d put it up on ebay http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...sPageName=WD2V
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.4Ghz - 4Gb Corsair 6400C4 - Abit IP35 - 256mb nVidia 7900GS
Corsair HX 520w PSU - Pioneer DVR-212 DVD-RW - 74Gb Western Digital Raptor - 320Gb Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Mr T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 21:20   #14
insanarchist
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Michael, MN
Posts: 4
insanarchist has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hmmm, that's interesting. I call shenannigans!
insanarchist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 21:40   #15
Zephyr
Go V-Boy, Go!
 
Zephyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,024
Zephyr has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr T
It seams he dude from Guru3d put it up on ebay http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...sPageName=WD2V
Item Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

I may have to drop by this guys humble abode and...examine that card .

Quote:
Originally Posted by bynary
That card was specifically designed to run the Apple 30" Cinema Display. Here's the link to Apple's site. Here's a Google search on it too. The 30" Cinema Display requires dual GPUs: one to run the top half of the screen, and one to run the bottom half. See a 30" in person, it's quite impressive.
I don't believe it requires dual GPU's, just two DVI outputs. Note it says that the 30" display will run on the Mac version of the ATi 9700 for G4 sytems, plus I know of a few people that run that display on single-GPU desktop systems. Still, was looking at this beast about a month ago. If only I had a couple thousand dollars to throw at this thing .
Zephyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 21:51   #16
JADS
Et arma et verba vulnerant
 
JADS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 2,918
JADS has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by bynary
That card was specifically designed to run the Apple 30" Cinema Display. Here's the link to Apple's site. Here's a Google search on it too. The 30" Cinema Display requires dual GPUs: one to run the top half of the screen, and one to run the bottom half. See a 30" in person, it's quite impressive.
No it most certainly doesn't

What it does need is a dual-link DVI socket, i.e one with two TDMS links providing effectively double the bandwidth of a single 165MHz TDMS link. The word you are looking for is expensive.
__________________
[AMD A64 2800+ + Zalman 7700][MSI K8N Neo Platinum][1GB Corsair PC3200][Leadtek Geforce 6600GT][Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 80GB + Maxtor Diamond Max Plus10 200GB + Maxtor Diamond Max16 120GB][Plextor PX-716 DVD-RW + 2x Plextor Premium 52x32x52 CD-RW + 16x Samsung DVD][Coolermaster ATC-201 BXT][Antec TruePower 430][Dell 2405FPW + Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070u][Logitech MX1000][Matias Tactile Pro][Griffin Technology PowerMate Black]
Email Me
JADS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 23:15   #17
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JADS
No it most certainly doesn't

What it does need is a dual-link DVI socket, i.e one with two TDMS links providing effectively double the bandwidth of a single 165MHz TDMS link. The word you are looking for is expensive.
I think he meant dual DVI's that were able to run as a pair, rather than dual GPU's. All of this SLI and multi tasking does get a bit confusing from time to time
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 23:24   #18
RotoSequence
Lazy Lurker
 
RotoSequence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 'States
Posts: 4,588
RotoSequence has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Impressive technology, but holy shlimoly thats a bigass card

I pity the fool that trys to put than in a SFF case
__________________
Technology Schmecnology
RotoSequence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2005, 23:58   #19
unclean
SMP obsessive
 
unclean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 1,194
unclean has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hmm, most dodgy stuff. And it does look a lot like the Quadro card.
__________________
i7 920 @ 4GHz 6GB Tracer 4870X2 || Dual Xeon X5340 @ 3GHz 12GB FBDIMM 4TB RAID5 w/27" Dell 2707WFP || Dual 1.6GHz LV Xeons @ 3.2GHz || Dual Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2350MHz || Dual Athlon MP2400+ || Dual Celeron 366 @ 550MHz
unclean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Mar 2005, 00:01   #20
Tim S
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,878
Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.Tim S is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclean
Hmm, most dodgy stuff. And it does look a lot like the Quadro card.
yes, it does have similarities. If you read through the thread on Guru3D, some of the screenshots show it is either a 512MB Quadro running a modified 6800 Ultra bios, or it is a 512MB 6800 Ultra. It could really be either - we will have to wait and see what they look like at CeBIT.
__________________
My words don't necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:50.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.