bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Sep 2005, 21:55   #1
TJK
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 276
TJK has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
how do i update Emachines bios

I have an emachines t1742 that is giving me some problems. First, i cant find the bios flash jumper. Second, I would like to get another bios for it so i can use the full capabilites of the motherboard and not have to see the emachines boot screen every time i start up. It is an intel celeron - like 1.7 ghz i think, and i am lookig for help
__________________
Current specs - AMD 2600+ Mobile - OC'd to 2.05 Ghz, 512 DDR 400, Zalman 7000Cu, a crappy NVidia 64mb video card, and an Abit NF7-S. Dual 200GB PATA drives, and dual 16x dual layer dvd burners
TJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2005, 04:08   #2
CaseyBlackburn
Network Techie
 
CaseyBlackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mckinney,Tx,US Geek:75.7%
Posts: 1,846
CaseyBlackburn has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Mind posting what motherboard it is?
__________________
Casey Blackburn
My art - CaseyBlackburn @ dA
Get Firefox - Take Back The Web
CaseyBlackburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2005, 03:04   #3
Colonel Sanders
Ultramodder
 
Colonel Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Middle of nowhere(in USA)
Posts: 1,193
Colonel Sanders has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
1) Sorry you have an eMachine. . .

2) eMachines product support is em, worthless- it does not say what type of motherboard is in you PC, nor do they supply a BIOS update.

3) Are you sure a BIOS update will unlock the "full capabilities" of your motherboard? Sure they've slapped on an annoying boot screen (I know Intel also does the same, I hate their boards. . .) but I doubt a BIOS would change much about your PC.

4) Every motherboard I have ever seen has had a jumper to clear the CMOS. If not, you can pull the battery on the board and clear the CMOS that way. I have not yet seen a motherboard with a jumper specifically for flashing the BIOS, instead you either have to download a utility and a BIOS file on a floppy and flash that way. There might also be options from within the BIOS to flash a update the BIOS.

Good luck.

L J
__________________
"Play a Windows CD backwards and hear satanic messages. Thats nothing, play it forwards and it installs Windows."
Colonel Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2005, 05:07   #4
TJK
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 276
TJK has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
ok i am mistaken. I cannot find the jumper to clear the cmos. Also, emachines does not tell me what board i have, other than the fact that it is a trigem??? I am using Phoenix bios right now, and i havent found a way to get rid of the emachines boot screen. and yes, i too am sorry that i have an emachines, but it was free, and 1.7ghz was better than the 800mhz i had for doing school work. If anyone can find a manual, i have been unsuccessful, as emaichines support is "worthless"..
even if i am unsuccessful in updating the bios, can i possibly remove the emachines screen so i can sell the comp to someone without them knowing its an emachines - only the proc and mobo are original, i added new ram, hdd, dvd-rw etc.

any help is appreciated
Tim
__________________
Current specs - AMD 2600+ Mobile - OC'd to 2.05 Ghz, 512 DDR 400, Zalman 7000Cu, a crappy NVidia 64mb video card, and an Abit NF7-S. Dual 200GB PATA drives, and dual 16x dual layer dvd burners
TJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2005, 06:48   #5
Colonel Sanders
Ultramodder
 
Colonel Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Middle of nowhere(in USA)
Posts: 1,193
Colonel Sanders has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Simply put, your going to have to search for some markings on the motherboard, that will identify the board. Otherwise, the odds of finding someone here with a manual for that PC are pretty low.

If the board is made by a company called "trigem" then I have never heard of such company and I doubt the board has much quality at all. I would upgrade the board to something farily cheap from a decent brand before selling the computer.

L J
__________________
"Play a Windows CD backwards and hear satanic messages. Thats nothing, play it forwards and it installs Windows."
Colonel Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2005, 18:53   #6
cpemma
Ecky thump
 
cpemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: S.Yorkshire, OK
Posts: 12,329
cpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysiscpemma can run Crysis
You can get the latest T1742 mobo drivers from here, and the BIOS for a T1742 from AMI/Phoenix, but it will cost you $30. And it will still (I bet money) show the same boot screen. You can't just swap to any Phoenix 6.x BIOS, it has to fit the mobo hardware chips, so you need brand, model and revision.

With a popular board you'll find information on modded bioses and changing the ROM graphics, with an old cheapo odd-ball, fat chance,
__________________
Nobody's perfect.
But being a Yorkshireman is as close as you can get.
cpemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2009, 21:23   #7
rmac2001
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
rmac2001 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
mother board ID

pc-chips.com.tw made/makes emachines motherboards (pardon the 4 year delay
http://www.pcchips.com.tw/PCCWebSite...nuID=0&LanID=2
rmac2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2009, 21:41   #8
M7ck
Ⓜod Ⓜaster
 
M7ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Dark Side
Posts: 3,596
M7ck is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.M7ck is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.M7ck is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.M7ck is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.M7ck is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.M7ck is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.M7ck is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.M7ck is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.M7ck is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.M7ck is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.M7ck is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmac2001 View Post
pc-chips.com.tw made/makes emachines motherboards (pardon the 4 year delay
http://www.pcchips.com.tw/PCCWebSite...nuID=0&LanID=2
I wonder if he still has the machine?
__________________
M7ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2010, 07:42   #9
songzila
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 38
songzila has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
install cpuz and it will tell you the detail of motherboard and hardware,than you can download the latest bios chipset drivers.
songzila is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
windows

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:50.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.